Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gold OEM Toyota yaris

• 24-09-2015 12:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,119 ✭✭✭

Nothing special just starting a tread on my yaris.

Okay, so bought a yaris back in April 2013, along with my dad for my mother .New n.c.t. 100k miles, new tires and full service history but the history kinda stopped after we bought it. I'm starting to drive on my own poilicy and at 22 it's not before the time. :P So I bought it off my mother.

Day I bought it.

Photo0411_zps6a9e8690.jpg?t=1365944918

Photo0418_zpsaa6864cd.jpg?t=1365944955

(Water pump not done that long ago, so that only sweetens the deal.)

Got a bit rough, since my brother got insured on it. The intension of this car is that, I'm going to try and tidy it up ect. will take pics later or tomorrow of bit's and bobs which needs to be done.

So lets see how this goes... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

What have you planned, looks fairly clean already!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,119 ✭✭✭job seeker

What have you planned, looks fairly clean already!

The OEM Alloys that come on some yaris, then just kinda clean it up. Them pics are from the day we bought it. So its not that clean any more. Will get recent pics up soon. Then it's just push it as far as it will go mileage wise. 138,000 miles so far on the clock.

Toyota-Yaris_2003_1600x1200_wallpaper_3a.jpg

I'm also open to suggests on how I can improve it also. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,358 ✭✭✭kev1.3s

job seeker wrote: »
    The OEM Alloys that come on some yaris, then just kinda clean it up. Them pics are from the day we bought it. So its not that clean any more. Will get recent pics up soon. Then it's just push it as far as it will go mileage wise. 138,000 miles so far on the clock.

Toyota-Yaris_2003_1600x1200_wallpaper_3a.jpg

I'm also open to suggests on how I can improve it also. :)

138,000 on a Yaris is only run in, good luck with her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 mech123

my advice to you if you want to save lots of money or dont care what you drive is to keep that thing forever, service it every 5K miles with oil and filter, THE RIGHT OIL AND FILTER i believe 10w 40 is the right grade of oil,buy a decent enough brand oil too but no need to go crazy. change the spark plugs every few years if it needs them.. they usually last a long time. use oem spec denso or ngk ones. if they ever fail to start its always something very simple an if you've ever done anything to a car you should be able to get it going yourself, its usually something very simple.. the efi relay can be a bit odd and if you swap it with one of the other 2 relays that are the same it gets going again no problem.. i know its strange.. other problems ive came across is just a dirty crankshaft sensor.

my dad has one and its going to be turning 250k miles this week thats over 402k km, there isnt many cars that will o that and be still going strong with minimal servicing and no problems and being driven everyday and passes nct no problem. the drivers window motor is worn out and the window can get stuck down sometimes but if you take it out and clean it it works good again for months, thats to be expected for 1/4 of a million miles of work. all the car has ever got is oil and filter and 3 sets of spark plugs a back wheel bearing and a wash :P i think its still on the original pads and discs but not 100% sure.

theyre the best car ever imo if you dont care what you drive and want to save money.

Picture perfect

364987.jpg
    364988.jpg
    364989.jpg
    364990.jpg

Now for the bad points... :eek:

lekvq.jpg
    Caused by bikes in the boot...

2ec3cjq.jpg
    Paint flaking off...

dmr04w.jpg
    Rusty wiper....

25rpe13.jpg
    Inside of the drivers door..

2pzwdhf.jpg
    Bottom corner of the driver door... It looks alot bigger. But I have zoomed in on it when taking the pic. it's actually only the size of half a finger nail.

2hxlrvl.jpg
    Rear wheel mud guard...

16lh5e1.jpg
    Rear wheel arch...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 694 ✭✭✭5W30

I still have mine with 93k miles on the clock, got it with 67k. They are solid bullet proof cars.

Mine was still running on the original water pump which started to leak coolant over time through the bearing. I noticed the coolant level going down by like 1 cm every 6 months :pac:

Good luck with it!

kev1.3s wrote: »
    138,000 on a Yaris is only run in, good luck with her.

Cheers
    mech123 wrote: »
    my advice to you if you want to save lots of money or dont care what you drive is to keep that thing forever, service it every 5K miles with oil and filter, THE RIGHT OIL AND FILTER i believe 10w 40 is the right grade of oil,buy a decent enough brand oil too but no need to go crazy. change the spark plugs every few years if it needs them.. they usually last a long time. use oem spec denso or ngk ones. if they ever fail to start its always something very simple an if you've ever done anything to a car you should be able to get it going yourself, its usually something very simple.. the efi relay can be a bit odd and if you swap it with one of the other 2 relays that are the same it gets going again no problem.. i know its strange.. other problems ive came across is just a dirty crankshaft sensor.

my dad has one and its going to be turning 250k miles this week thats over 402k km, there isnt many cars that will o that and be still going strong with minimal servicing and no problems and being driven everyday and passes nct no problem. the drivers window motor is worn out and the window can get stuck down sometimes but if you take it out and clean it it works good again for months, thats to be expected for 1/4 of a million miles of work. all the car has ever got is oil and filter and 3 sets of spark plugs a back wheel bearing and a wash :P i think its still on the original pads and discs but not 100% sure.

theyre the best car ever imo if you dont care what you drive and want to save money.

Cheers, Ya. I just hope I won't get bored with how slow it is...
    5W30 wrote: »
    I still have mine with 93k miles on the clock, got it with 67k. They are solid bullet proof cars.

Mine was still running on the original water pump which started to leak coolant over time through the bearing. I noticed the coolant level going down by like 1 cm every 6 months :pac:

Good luck with it!

Cheers..

P.S.

Hi all

Whats your opinions on the bit of rust on the inside of the door.. Would that be an N.C.T fail????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Main body shined up well.

Those doors will be worst to fix, they might even be beyond fixing because of where the rust is, might be easier to get a set at a scrapyard but finding the same colour could take time.

Wiper arms not too hard to spray, get a matt black spray...

Main body shined up well.

Those doors will be worst to fix, they might even be beyond fixing because of where the rust is, might be easier to get a set at a scrapyard but finding the same colour could take time.

Wiper arms not too hard to spray, get a matt black spray...

would the door be an n.c.t fail?

I must do that, as it's only surface rust so far... :)

5W30 wrote: »

Good luck with it!

my dads still has the original water pump .. a 250k mile water pump ? not many of those around :P

no the rust wouldnt be an nct fail imo. id leave it alone if i was you... but you could botch it up with some isopon or else easiest option is a new door. but thats a lot of unnecessary work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

would the door be an n.c.t fail?

I must do that, as it's only surface rust so far... :)

No but if left alone it will soon crumble and be letting water in. Not easy to fix because you would need to mould a fresh section on with fibreglass or isopon, hard to get it exactly right as it's not a simple hole in a panel your filling.

I see what your saying.. I might just sand down the inside and try and fill it with fiberglass then if that fails go door hunting... Just as a matter of interest, how much would a second hand door set me back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭Muckie

Nice project.

Great cards to work on.

Second hand passenger door from a scrap yard cost me €50 about two years ago.

Muckie wrote: »
    Nice project.

Great cards to work on.

Second hand passenger door from a scrap yard cost me €50 about two years ago.

Not bad really that price... But really id prefer repair it while it's not a major problem.....

Update-a-rooney time.

Got the wiper arms sprayed matt black came out well. Such a small thing makes a big difference... Day light nearly gone so Il call it a day.

Will post pics tomorrow as I have more stuff to do.

Also on reexamination of the inside of the drivers door it appears to be alot worse than the passenger side door as there isn't a single spot on it at all.... So came to the conclusion that the passenger door isn't the original..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,709 ✭✭✭blackbox

Cheers

Cheers, Ya. I just hope I won't get bored with how slow it is...

I had a 1.3 and it wasn't too slow. Never any problems until water pump failed at around 120k miles.

A great car except noisy at motorway speeds.

blackbox wrote: »
    I had a 1.3 and it wasn't too slow. Never any problems until water pump failed at around 120k miles.

A great car except noisy at motorway speeds.

I find the 1.0 l kinda slow.. It's not bad, but sometimes I wish it had a bit more power.

Here is the wipers

365637.jpg
    365638.jpg
    365639.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 694 ✭✭✭wush06

Hello all we have our 99 wex reg about 5 years now and have to say never gives us any problems great little car. But winter is coming and for some reason the footwell on the passenger side and boot become wet which then on cold mornings makes the car very damp.
    I would say that some seal is gone but can never find from where any ideas.

Op hope you don't mine me posting here.

Started on the rear bumper... Applied body filler and sanded it down...

365643.jpg
    365644.jpg

Hmmm, not sure why the pics turn sideways.. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

Nothing special just starting a tread on my yaris.

Okay, so bought a yaris back in April 2013, along with my dad for my mother .New n.c.t. 100k miles, new tires and full service history but the history kinda stopped after we bought it. I'm starting to drive on my own poilicy and at 22 it's not before the time. :P So I bought it off my mother.

Day I bought it.

Photo0411_zps6a9e8690.jpg?t=1365944918

Photo0418_zpsaa6864cd.jpg?t=1365944955

(Water pump not done that long ago, so that only sweetens the deal.)

Got a bit rough, since my brother got insured on it. The intension of this car is that, I'm going to try and tidy it up ect. will take pics later or tomorrow of bit's and bobs which needs to be done.

So lets see how this goes... :)

I have the same car and colour, its so cute. Its my first car as well so its pretty special. :):) I love when I see other gold yaris's when driving around.

fin12 wrote: »
    I have the same car and colour, its so cute. Its my first car as well so its pretty special. :):) I love when I see other gold yaris's when driving around.

Gold Yaris friend..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,934 ✭✭✭✭fin12

I find the 1.0 l kinda slow.. It's not bad, but sometimes I wish it had a bit more power.

Ya I know what you mean, mine can struggle quiet a bit on the hills otherwise then that I think she's perfect. :):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Would be better to take the mudflap off if you're filling the bumper

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Would be better to take the mudflap off if you're filling the bumper

Probably, but because the bumper is pushed in, it means the mudflap isn't sitting right. So I didn't take them off, incase they wouldn't go back on..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

You need to take them off, otherwise you won't be able to sand or paint it properly. the mudflap is bendy enough anyway.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    You need to take them off, otherwise you won't be able to sand or paint it properly. the mudflap is bendy enough anyway.

Ya, I see what you're saying.. Off work tomorrow and the day after so will have a look at it then.

Nothing really to report.. Changed a blown headlight bulb...Didn't get around to do anything with the rear bumper...

Some of ye may know I tackled the back bumper yesterday and made a balls of it.. So Il give that another go next week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,509 ✭✭✭SpitfireIV

Nice little project! ;-)

Just a little tip re: filling/painting, filler will absorb water, albeit a microscopic amount, so its best to get the filling and priming done ASAP, but even primer is prone to absorbing water, so basically to get it done right and sealed you'd want to get the top coat on in a matter of hours. Trapped water on the filler/primer will reappear in the form of little blisters later on.

Edit, never mind, just seen the above post/pic. What filler are you using? It should be going on smoother.

Nice little project! ;-)

Just a little tip re: filling/painting, filler will absorb water, albeit a microscopic amount, so its best to get the filling and priming done ASAP, but even primer is prone to absorbing water, so basically to get it done right and sealed you'd want to get the top coat on in a matter of hours. Trapped water on the filler/primer will reappear in the form of little blisters later on.

Edit, never mind, just seen the above post/pic. What filler are you using? It should be going on smoother.

Thanks, I was using Davids isopon 38 easy sand and 130 grit sandpaper.. Not sure why its not going on right.

UPDATE:

So christmas day, I got a dash cam and installed it. Had to remove it again later as the rubber door seal went belly up.

I then bought alloys:
    WP_20160104_001_zpsecbccuyn.jpg
    I cleaned the insides of them
    Before:
    WP_20160106_013_zps1fswitbj.jpg
    After:
    WP_20160106_012_zpsfydgvsle.jpg

I will post a pic when all four alloys get new centre caps and are sprayed. So will get back to the alloys later. :)
    So that brings us up to today.
    WP_20160118_002_zpszzijbcjk.jpg
    WP_20160118_001_zpslzris2xq.jpg

Really happy how the stickerbombing turned out. The black rim around it is just insulation take to prevent the stickers from peeling. :)

Thats all folks. :)

.....And it's update time again! :)
    Stickerbombed ashtray and glove box reinstalled.. :) :cool:
    WP_20160119_002_zpsukf1uoze.jpg
    WP_20160119_003_zps3uscf4rj.jpg

This is the head unit I picked up from a friend for free.. will get that installed in the next two or three weeks. ;)
    WP_20160120_001_zpsmscragwh.jpg

These are the centre caps I picked up for it. 6Euro for the lot. :cool:
    WP_20160119_001_zpsox4pwy5e.jpg

But unfortunately they are to big. I was then telling this to another boards member who I was talking to on FB. He suggested to push them in a bit harder and two clips broke. but now they fit perfectly.. :confused: :pac: :cool:
    WP_20160124_005_zps3bagr92d.jpg

I also finished spraying the alloys, very happy with how they turned out.
    (Didn't bother masking, as they have wires coming through the tyres, so they will see the silage pit come summer time.)
    WP_20160124_002_zpsa7kwnzuz.jpg

One of the alloys with the centre cap. will get my current tyres swapped over and alloyes on the car soon.
    WP_20160124_004_zpscjsktukg.jpg

What do ye think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

I wonder who this mystery FB person is. :pac:

The wheels look good. Put them on and take another photo. :)

I wonder who this mystery FB person is.

The wheels look good. Put them on and take another photo.

Haha! :D

I'll fit them this weekend as I'm back at college now during the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

coming together for you :)

Cheers

haha Ya, slowly but surly.. :) Back at college now so progress will become even slower. :eek: But ya, still a list of jobs/Items to sort out. but heading in the right direction, not too everyone's taste. but sure look, it I like it! :) Spraying the alloys was one of my favorite things so far! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

May have another crack at that rear valance now. Or how did that ever go for you in the end?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

...still a list of jobs/Items to sort out. but heading in the right direction, not too everyone's taste. but sure look, it I like it!...

That's what it's all about :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Those wheels are going to look great on it I feel. Looking forward to seeing it :)

GvidoR wrote: »
    That's what it's all about :)

Amen. :)
    Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    Those wheels are going to look great on it I feel. Looking forward to seeing it :)

Cheers, only after finding out the centre bore is 5mm too big! :eek: icon_smile_clown.gif

May have another crack at that rear valance now. Or how did that ever go for you in the end?

Never even looked at it since. I have to look away everytime I walk behind the car.. :o

Nearly 4 months since my last update! :eek:

Okay, first off, I was sick of the lack of interior lighting. So I added a Fancy pants bright purple light! Get your groove on! :p
    WP_20160322_001_zpsdelojb5v.jpg?t=1463614270
    cc86a268-23cd-4683-a59f-71e60a40a58f_zpstwcuiaw7.jpg?t=1463614529

I added a "Hoonigan" sticker! No Hoots Given! :pac:
    WP_20160516_001_zpsmf9ahbew.jpg?t=1463614601

I then added A square plate, really transforms the front imo!
    WP_20160518_002_zpsgbk4b5mw.jpg?t=1463614664

Now, onto the rear... ;) (Only done today!)
    WP_20160519_004_zpsdhtgeicg.jpg?t=1463614735

Sanded down and primed ready for paint tomorrow morning...!
    WP_20160519_006_zpsr0a7fcxi.jpg?t=1463614890

Update time!

So sprayed the bumper yesterday and fitted it today!

Also just making a template for positioning the number plate!
    WP_20160522_001_zps4r2svbcw.jpg?t=1463871141

Before (Day)
    WP_20151201_005_zpsmayyygzk.jpg?t=1463871488

Before (night)
    e520edfb-1231-4525-8a77-4c1bfcd6c9c3_zpskskxarsu.jpg?t=1463871898

After (Day)
    WP_20160522_006_zpsvnkw8qav.jpg?t=1463871636

After (night)
    WP_20160522_007_zpsi90lbpqe.jpg?t=1463872309

That's better!

So, I'm going to do the lower half of the bumper in the next few weeks, but it's going in the right direction.. :) Plenty more tricks up the oul sleeve.. ;)

Got the alloy fitted.. A great day for the parish! :pac:
    WP_20160523_006_zps00dxsqkm.jpg?t=1464040680
    WP_20160523_007_zpsulcqn2yy.jpg?t=1464040944
    Bit a' farming, before a lock a' spuds!
    WP_20160524_002_zps35ngxd6c.jpg?t=1464041226
    WP_20160524_001_zpssqujbxqd.jpg?t=1464041326

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

That's coming together really nicely! Fair play to ya!!

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    That's coming together really nicely! Fair play to ya!!

Cheers, happy with the alloys...