Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Luas Red Line beyond a joke..

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Ironically, that stop is "south of the river"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭aphex™

It's just some skanger looking for attention.

Everything these kids do boils down to looking for attention. You fueled it by posting this thread.

The reality is there are far more problems on the Red luas than a horse that somebody brought on and took off again after being asked by the driver.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Well last feb, I was on the luas, minding my own business when 4 teenagers thought it would be okay to start spitting spitballs at me, me being female, on my own and there being 4 of them. This continued on for ages, when I eventually asked them to stop spitting at me, which made one of them hack up right onto me.

I was rushing for a train so couldn't get off the luas (and why should I? I pay for my trips) and there was absolutely NO security, from 4 courts to heuston, at 7:30.

When I got off at heuston I alerted the driver but the scrotes had jumped off by now and were in heuston station, hiding out watching as the luas had stopped.

I made a complaint to the luas customer care the next morning because I assumed they could check the CCTV and identify the guys in question. I was told this would be investigated and that they would contact me.

7 months later, no contact. I called last week and was told I'd receive a call by the end of the day. No call.
    I called again on Thursday and the girl who assured me she was taking it seriously and was passing it onto her supervisor didn't even take my name or phone number. Her supervisor also told her to tell me she wasn't in and would contact me later on that day.
    A call didn't suit and I asked if I could receive it in an email instead. No problem. She didn't even ask for my email address, instead told me I'd get an email by 3pm.

So, I emailed them and I was pretty annoyed. At 2pm I recieved an email back saying there was nothing they could do as the lads in question had ran off before security got there and that i should have been told that in February, and they apologised, and then very sarcastically asked me what I expected them to do going forward.

Clear as day Luas have absolutely no problem ferrying people in and out to methadone clinics and court appearances, or bringing piebalds around tallaght but have absolutely no interest in making the red line any safer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭thomasj

Del.Monte wrote: »
    I shudder to think what the cross-city link up is going to bring south of the river.

Yes because we see nothing but upstanding citizens who behave impecibly on both the red and green luas lines

How dare they try to bring trouble to the otherwise troublefree luas on these lines......

In fairness the horse behaved better than some of the characters we see on both lines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

aphex™ wrote: »

Everything these kids do boils down to looking for attention. You fueled it by posting this thread.

The reality is there are far more problems on the Red luas than a horse that somebody brought on and took off again after being asked by the driver.

You're right of course, much better to pretend that everything is wonderful and bury our heads in the sand. You really think the kids with the horse are reading posts on Boards. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

aphex™ wrote: »

The Horse was led on at Belgard and travelled to the Red Cow (:D) before being noticed,possibly during a Driver change.

I find it surprising that the Tramdriver did not notice the Horse & Jockey AT the Belgard Stop and take the appropriate action there...unless the prevailing situation there suggested to him that getting to hell outa Dodge was the best option ?

But,you are correct...it's no longer any big-deal in terms of the Red-Line.

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

LexieOnRale, like your story, I sent so many complaints to them over the years when I got the red line daily and nothing ever happens. They'll happily tell you that "there is 24/7 security on the red line", but decline to mention that that may mean one pair of security guards manning the entire thing, who are often 10 stops away from where you need them to be. I've written about various incidents on here before, but the things I've sent complaints about include being shoved about by 2 unrelated groups of feral teenagers on the same tram, being groped as I tried to board one evening, a bunch of guys exposing themselves and pissing out the door, a guy carrying a weapon sitting beside me, a young tourist being punched and the driver opening the doors to let the punchers back on... Granted, these were over 5 years, but nothing ever came of any complaints. You get the same email templates back constantly: they even have a long and heartfelt "final-straw" apology one where they tell you about all the hard work they put in to stopping anti-social behaviour in schools (my friend and I got the same one, months apart).

It's not ALL Luas's fault, of course, it's a problem in Dublin at large. They should really put more security on every tram though. I kind of wish Ireland had a Transport Police...
    antodeco wrote: »
    Ironically, that stop is "south of the river"

As is about 80% of the red line!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

LexieOnRale, like your story, I sent so many complaints to them over the years when I got the red line daily and nothing ever happens. They'll happily tell you that "there is 24/7 security on the red line", but decline to mention that that may mean one pair of security guards manning the entire thing, who are often 10 stops away from where you need them to be. I've written about various incidents on here before, but the things I've sent complaints about include being shoved about by 2 unrelated groups of feral teenagers on the same tram, being groped as I tried to board one evening, a bunch of guys exposing themselves and pissing out the door, a guy carrying a weapon sitting beside me, a young tourist being punched and the driver opening the doors to let the punchers back on... Granted, these were over 5 years, but nothing ever came of any complaints. You get the same email templates back constantly: they even have a long and heartfelt "final-straw" apology one where they tell you about all the hard work they put in to stopping anti-social behaviour in schools (my friend and I got the same one, months apart).

It's not ALL Luas's fault, of course, it's a problem in Dublin at large. They should really put more security on every tram though. I kind of wish Ireland had a Transport Police...

As is about 80% of the red line!

Problem is that the scumbags know that security can do nothing and when the Gardaí are called they just let the scumbags walk away, as they know that there's a shed load of paper work for the Garda for the scumbags to get a slap on the wrist (at best) in court. The whole system is broken and laying the blame on the operator is blaming the wrong end of the system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,717 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Seems the Luas operators are aware of the problems
    LUAS has called for greater help to battle anti-social behaviour and other problems on its transport network as it reported 644 incidents on trams so far this year.

Transdev, the company running the light-rail network, wants a special group set up to tackle a number of problems that the service faces. Of the 644 instances of anti-social behaviour on the Luas, 53 were classified as “threats to public” and 23 incidents were of a racial nature. Gardai and members of Dublin City Council gathered at a meeting with Tansdev in which incidents of anti-social behaviour were discussed. The company said it has an “excellent working relationship” with An Garda Siochana and that on occasions plain-clothed officers would travel on the trams.
    A spokeswoman called for a “collaborative effort” between a number of groups and stake holders to combat a number of issues, not just on the trams but in and around stations as well.“The company is asking not just gardai but organisations such as the HSE and Dublin City Council to work in a collaborative approach,” the spokeswoman said.
    Earlier this year, the Herald revealed how €1.5m is spent every year on policing the light-rail network.

The cost works out at five cent from every Luas ticket sold going towards policing the city’s tram network.Private firm STT Rail Security, which is charged with keeping passengers safe while travelling on both tram routes, said the Red Line sees more incidents of anti-social behaviour than the Green Line.
    Transdev said that this is because the Red Line is 4km longer than the Green Line and runs through the busy city centre, making it more prone to unruly incidents..

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/luas-calls-for-help-battling-antisocial-behaviour-after-644-complaints-this-year-34226215.html