Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Man flu has struck

• 17-09-2015 6:34am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Or maybe it's actuall flu.. Who knows...
    Coughing and spluttering.. Feels like getting kicked in the chest everytime i cough... It's lovely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

If it were flu, you wouldn't be physically able to post on boards ;)

Sounds more like a very nasty cold, or a chest infection.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭Brian from Bray

Get yourself down to the quacks pronto.

Merely coughing and spluttering is not the flu anyway.

Not sure what man flu is beyond some internet/00s phenomenon in the "men are so different to women" genre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,731 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Man-Flu germs are more powerful than He-Man, The Thundercats and The A-Team combined. They are too strong for weak, nasty tasting 'lady medicines' like Lemsip, so don't bother trying to force them on a victim of Man-Flu.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

I tells ya.... Lemsip flavoured phlegm is lovely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,879 ✭✭✭Jude13

Lemsip and a peddle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

The best cure is to put some crushed garlic mixed with kiwi fruit skin up your nostrils and drink a litre of warm pineapple juice that has three bayleaves and a dozen cloves in it.

*This may or may not work but will distract you from moaning about been sick for a while*

Menas wrote: »
    The best cure is to put some crushed garlic mixed with kiwi fruit skin up your nostrils and drink a litre of warm pineapple juice that has three bayleaves and a dozen cloves in it.

*This may or may not work but will distract you from moaning about been sick for a while*

Yes that could kill 20 mins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭OneOfThem

Start hitting the flat seven up hard. Did your Mammy teach you nothing?

It struck me this morning too.

Have just gotten up now..going to fight. I reckon I can hold it off until Friday evening then succumb to its power.

I know the men here will understand completely.

So women I'd imagine the feeling to be up there with a treble dose of childbirth...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

If it were flu, you wouldn't be physically able to post on boards ;)

Sounds more like a very nasty cold, or a chest infection.

Of course you could.it's the flu ,not ebola.so much exaggeration

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

A day down the bookies then is it OP?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,019 ✭✭✭ct5amr2ig1nfhp

Time to get a subscription to Netflix!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

smurgen wrote: »
    Of course you could.it's the flu ,not ebola.so much exaggeration

A proper flu leaves you in a heap on bed, barely able to move. What people call a flu once or twice a year isn't a flu

Time to get a prescription for Netflix!

FYP

already have the auld Netflix... Have to go into work unfortunately...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

There's an awful dose going round. I've had it for the last week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 394 ✭✭Brian from Bray

A day down the bookies then is it OP?

On the virtual football haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

Whatever you do be sure to whinge. A good whinge exercises the lungs at just the right frequency to vibrate the man flu microbes out. The only person who's not at risk of these microbes is a woman who loves you, so either your Mammy or wife.

I'd be careful with a girlfriend, they might not have built up a resistance to your whinge germs yet, so they'd be at risk of telling you to cop the feck on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

kylith wrote: »
    There's an awful dose going round. I've had it for the last week.

That's what you get for not wearing a rubber pal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I don't usually get my annual dose until the clocks change back but this year it came early it took two weeks to shift

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

OneOfThem wrote: »
    Start hitting the flat seven up hard. Did your Mammy teach you nothing?

And Marietta biscuits. Just in case his t-cell count is dropping.

So it's a nasty chest infection... Lovely

I feel rotten as well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭To Elland Back

I've had it since last Friday. (currently on Benylin Night & Day tablets). Don't want to tempt fate, but I'm optimistic I might pull back from the brink

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,387 ✭✭✭glynf

Nasty dose going for sure. I rarely get colds but felt crap last Thursday-sore throat, snot factory. By Saturday could not move from bed, there for 2 days, fever for first day or so-sweating like Jimmy saville at Tayto park.

Still not right, I googled 'white phlegm' and auto complete gives me 'white phlegm lung cancer'. Lol that escalated..

Benylin Day & Night, Exputex and plenty of honey & lemon will knock the worst out of it OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

this years deadly strain lasts for two weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Jaysus I don't know about ye lads but I'm flyin' it :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,710 ✭✭✭Corvo

Dear brother,

I have taken a picture of my cure. (Took a snapchat of it yesterday)

Go in peace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭Dr. Zaius Dr. Zaius!

Had it since last Friday too, cant stop coughing. Feel really run down today. :(

Woe is me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

Corvo wrote: »
    Dear brother,

I have taken a picture of my cure. (Took a snapchat of it yesterday)

Go in peace.
    My cure...

https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/f2/bc/14/f2bc14badfea0f22088c034fdc6b8612.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

I loathe the term 'man-flu' in any context.

Flu and some varieties of broken bones are pretty much the only thing that'll keep a guy from going to work for a couple of days and we're treated like a bunch of big jessies for being flattened. I bet you the last slice of pizza that the ladies take more sick days for flu than men.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Housemate got a bad flu a few weeks back. Poor guy had difficulty keeping anything down. Got himself a big bag of weed and smoked it up. Sure enough a few days he was better! /recommendation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

this years deadly strain lasts for two weeks

I have it 3 weeks and counting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

What is "man flu?" How is it different from the flu?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,552 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

TheTorment wrote: »
    So women I'd imagine the feeling to be up there with a treble dose of childbirth...
    It's way worse, women often choose to have more kids but no-one would choose another dose of man flu.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Struck down here too.. I was suppose to fight today, but Manflu has left me a broken man and I had to withdraw.

Trained like an animal for the last eight weeks only to be taken out by flu

Get yourself down to the quacks pronto.

Don't bother, not for a while. It's more than likely to be a virus and all you can do is rest, drink lots of fluids, and wait it out.

Antibiotics do nothing for a virus, save your time and money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Had a touch of it during the week, body was aching everywhere but now I've just been left with the sniffles and a cough! Disaster trying to sleep tho!

I am only getting over my dose...including confined to bed last weekend and still wrecked during the week. The cough I had was so heavy I thought id be bursting blood vessels. It was actually quite painful.
    I wasn't sure I'd be making in through at times.
    I've a wicked chesty cough left.

Horrid dose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,540 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

I hate the term too.

It strikes me as reminiscent of those ads that mock men and the women say "sure aren't they useless" and roll their eyes and fix the hapless guy's problem.

I don't subscribe to Man Flu and I wish blokes wouldn't humour it and encourage men being patronised.

If you're sick - you're sick. If you can get our of bed and walk around, you've a cold - just call it that ffs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,824 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

It's a cold. I hate the whole idea of man flu, I get colds a keep going, my missus gets one and it's sympathy time for her being so sick boo hoo hoo.
    Man flu is a nonsense invented to perpetuate the idea that men are lazy weaklings who are looking for a matriarchal figure to look after them because they're too stupid to look after themselves.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,768 ✭✭✭✭fits

I got a fever two weeks ago. Took a day off but went back to work then. Felt moderately bad but still able to work until last thurday i turned into a snot factory. Absolutely exhausted all weekend. Tiny tasks and id be puffing after. No energy at all. Its a bad enough cold.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭cowboyBuilder

How's the OP ?

Been 10 days or so ..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Massimo Cassagrande

fits wrote: »
    I got a fever two weeks ago. Took a day off but went back to work then. Felt moderately bad but still able to work until last thurday i turned into a snot factory. Absolutely exhausted all weekend. Tiny tasks and id be puffing after. No energy at all. Its a bad enough cold.

This thread is reassuring as I appear to have the same dose and thought I was dying. The sympathy I got around here amounted to almost nathing. Nathing I tells ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,977 ✭✭✭johnny_adidas

I had a serious dose of man flu last February! Pushed through the first two weeks before exhausting the sympathy at home and herself booked me into doctor. List of flu drugs and 3 further weeks of coughing, spluttering & feeling crappy later, I collapsed at home. Turned out I'd had leukemia all along! :eek:

On our first holiday now since treatment and I've the same coughing and phlegm ye are describing. So annoying at night!

What I have learned though is its just a cough to clear your airways & most likely a cold or chest infection. If you are the same with fevers, constantly rundown for longer than three weeks, then it may be time to go to doctor (and one who isn't just trying to grab your €50)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,768 ✭✭✭✭fits

There are various strains of flu with varying degrees of severity too though. Last one i got was january 2013. First night in new apartment in finland with few enough contacts locally. Thankfully there was a supermarket downstairs or i would have been in trouble. Was absolutely fecked for a week.

I have definitely been hit with the man cold. But dont feel sorry for me...I will just struggle on bravely.

How's the OP ?

Been 10 days or so ..

I'm alive!
    Dose of antibiotics and steroids did the job.