Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Stag party - for lads based in the North.

• 12-09-2015 8:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭

Looking to get a stag sorted for my cousin. We are based around North Armagh area and would be after something with 2 hours away on a bus. I was looking at Kilkenny but it is a 3 hour drive away. It would be serious craic on the bus on the way down. Complete horror show of a drive on the way home though! Carlingford was mentioned also. Been in it plenty of times but seems very small.

Carrick on Shannon has been mentioned also but I've never stepped foot in the place before.

Any ideas lads or recommendations on where we could go?

It's around March time as well so would be great if we could match it up with some sort of event that was on at that time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,881 ✭✭✭One More Toy

Go down the shankill road wearing celtic jerseys.

It'll be a hoot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭To Elland Back

Jim Stynes wrote: »
    Looking to get a stag sorted for my cousin. We are based around North Armagh area...................

.............It's around March time

Sorry, that's all I could focus on in your post

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Stay North! We've enough stags of our own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Another Love Ulster parade ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Stay North! We've enough stags of our own.

Say No To Ulster!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭Lando Griffin

Amsterdam maybe, an hour to the Airport, a few minutes in the train and off you go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Jim Stynes wrote: »
    It's around March time as well so would be great if we could match it up with some sort of event that was on at that time.

Don't come down here, it's far too expensive for you guys. I would recommend the likes of Liverpool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Brought my brothers stag to Carrick.
    Good crack to be had there, plenty of stags and hens about, pubs welcome in the groups.
    We did indoor shooting and archery in Leitrim Village which is close by, not fancy but good crack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Jim Stynes

Sorry, that's all I could focus on in your post

You've lost me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭Jim Stynes

Another Love Ulster parade ?

Not our side of the fence!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Get 100 cans of harp, go to a nearby field and fight and experiment sexually.

Good for a budget and cuts down on travel time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 Jalopy81

Carrick on Shannon Jim.
    Was best man a few years back and 16 of us rented a boat out for 4 days. Stopped at every pub with a front door. Wild craic.
    Would do it again in the morning.
    We are 'north armagh' as well. Drive down was grand
    No problems with groups pulling up to pubs either. PM me if you need details etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭freethearmy

dont come to cavan its a kip....enniskillen has a good night life check it out...an hour away from armagh city

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Tbh, just stay north in my suggestion
    Check out
    Bundoran
    Belfast
    Coleraine
    Derry
    Warrenpoint

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 367 ✭✭justchecked

fvck the driving, the train allows everyone to get pissed and is a public area with poles which you can handcuff naked grooms to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Isn't Sligo selling itself as Stag Central these days?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭winnie the schtink

what about syria?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭Reiver

Go down to south Kerry for the weekend! Places like Sneem, Waterville would be a bita craic.

Either that or Inismaan. Achill Island could be a bit wild too.

Up north, around Carlingford looks nice, you'd have your pick between Dundalk and Newry. I've heard Bangor can be a bit of craic too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

Galway is great, I was at a stag there a few months back and we had a great time. I hear good things about Carrick on Shannon but haven't been and I think it's quite small.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭Buckfast W

Carrick would be savage for a stag I was there in July.
    I stayed in Acara houses which is just across the bridge opposite Glancys. Great fun with a nice relaxed atmosphere in the pub and an early drink if you want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Head over to Glasgow.

Ask for a Glasgow kiss.

Within Glasgow itself the term 'Gorbals kiss' is often used, referring to the most dangerous area of Glasgow.

It is hypothesised that within Gorbals it is known as a Crown Street kiss; and on Crown Street it is called a Number 73 kiss; and at Number 73 it is known as Steve's kiss. Steve, however, calls it whatever the **** he wants to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Rogpodge

Jalopy81 wrote: »
    Carrick on Shannon Jim.
    Was best man a few years back and 16 of us rented a boat out for 4 days. Stopped at every pub with a front door. Wild craic.
    Would do it again in the morning.
    We are 'north armagh' as well. Drive down was grand
    No problems with groups pulling up to pubs either. PM me if you need details etc

I'm best man to my brother and arranging his stag for carrick this summer- looking around online and can't find any one day boat rentals for a big group.
    Any chance you would have the details of where/who you rented the boat from? Would really appreciate it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

I'm mid thirties,so most of childhood gang are at 'marryin age'.Naturally,I've been on many stags in the past seven or eight years,at least one a year and I've never ever heard of Carrick on Shanonn being vented as a stag destination idea.Plenty of posters have mentioned it though.I've rolled through the place a few times,it doesn't scream out as a stag place to me.Back to the op,have you considered Waterford? It's crawling with single young women,nightlife is great and with the right research it's possible to get pints 24/7.