Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Women harrassed while running

• 09-09-2015 11:06am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22

Not sure if this has been discussed before but read an article in the Guardian recently ( I can't post the link but it's titled 'Why should women run the gauntlet of harassment while out jogging) and was surprised, maybe naively, by how bad and severe it was.

Do women running here in Ireland have to put up with a similar amount of abuse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

HenryGreen wrote: »
    Not sure if this has been discussed before but read an article in the Guardian recently ( I can't post the link but it's titled 'Why should women run the gauntlet of harassment while out jogging) and was surprised, maybe naively, by how bad and severe it was.

Here ya go

http://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/womens-blog/2015/aug/20/why-should-women-run-the-gauntlet-of-harassment-while-out-jogging

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,356 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Maybe they need to wear less revealing clothes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭chickey2

I was harassed by aquinn at the lakes 10k on Saturday. She shouted "nice arse" as I ran by. I took it as a compliment!

Seriously though, the reason she did it was because I mentioned in my log that it happens regularly to me. I've had cars beep at me and various obscenities shouted at me. I just ignore it and keep going, I won't let arseholes like that stop me running. I've never had anyone touch me or bar my way though which would freak me out. It's not fair women have to deal with it but sadly it happens. If I ever caught my son doing that he'd be murdered, but I know he wouldn't as he'd being brought up to have respect for women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,790 ✭✭✭Enduro

walshb wrote: »

WTF!

Enduro wrote: »
    WTF!

What?

Women are complaining about being leered at. Do something about it and stop moaning. No point in trying to control or reason with or change the leery men! My post was an actual suggestion/possible fix for women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭desertcircus

What?

Women are complaining about being leered at. Do something about it and stop moaning. No point in trying to control or reason with or change the leery men! My post was an actual suggestion/possible fix for women.

The problem is the leery men, not the clothes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭chickey2

What?

Maybe we could poke all leery men in the eyes with pencils to blind them so they wouldn't have to look at women in their revealing outfits?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭Mousewar

Hmmm, is that you Chrissie Hynde?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,790 ✭✭✭Enduro

What?

Unbelievable. what year is it? I could have sworn it was 2015

Yes, and women can maybe do something to combat the leery men. Make it less appealing to the leery men. It's like a woman arriving into the office every day in revealing clotes and moaning because some men are gawking or leering at her. Fcuk sake, do something about it. Change your strategy, or better, your clothes.

I would think that most of these women running are ones with nice appealing figures, made more appealing by tight fitting shorts or pants. I can't imagine some heffer with bellies hanging everywhere getting suggestive/sexual comments. She may get nasty comments about her appearance, but unlikely leery/suggestive comments. So, yes, if it's a problem then it;'s up to the group to help themselves to tackle it. No point in moaning and whingeing about a section of leery men that are in every human society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

What?

You're really blaming the women here?

But back to the original question, I have a had a few comments while out running mainly about my weight.

chickey2 wrote: »
    Maybe we could poke all leery men in the eyes with pencils to blind them so they wouldn't have to look at women in their revealing outfits?

Yes, that may work as well. Basic advice. Quit moaning about something that you have little control over. If you feel that you do have control, then exercise it and act accordingly.

Lux23 wrote: »
    You're really blaming the women here?

But back to the original question, I have a had a few comments while out running mainly about my weight.

I am saying that the women need to act, take the bull by the horns and try and change it. I do not condone it. I think it's nasty and wrong, but at the same time, there surely is some advice that these women can heed and implement to tackle it? Otherwise just get on with it and shut up.

Mousewar wrote: »
    Hmmm, is that you Chrissie Hynde?

I read that article, and Hynde made valid points. In this horrible world, safety responsibility lies firstly with you the person.

I think the article is a complete non story. Get over it. Fcuk sake. This has been happening since the dawn of man. Men leering at women!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

What?

I'm going to give you the benefit of the doubt and assume that you are joking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,557 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

It's mostly about the catcallers for sure

But it's also a little bit about the gear. Other then professional athletes; is there any reason for anyone to wear skin tight running gear?

Maybe I'm missing something but I'm sure the skin tight running gear seems to have crossed over into gear for almost every occasion as well..

Anyone remember Linford Christie? Now there was a chap whose skin tight gear caused a few blushes lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 HenryGreen

It's not just leering its physical and I'd imagine intimidating as well, no?

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    I'm going to give you the benefit of the doubt and assume that you are joking.

Why would I joke? Like I said, a non story. Quit moaning and get on with it. What advice would you give? Or are you just appalled that it is happening? At least I am giving a view, and a possible alternative.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 436 ✭✭Old Jakey

The women who write for the Guardian tend to be hysterical men-hating feminists. I wouldn't take much notice of it.

That is another issue. I have never encountered a woman being intimnidated out running. I am not saying it doesn't happen. It happens to men and women.

what do you mean by physical?

assault?

I'm pretty sure that's not what's being discussed here

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Chemical Byrne

Baggy stuff tends to bind and restrict movement. Anyway, you shouldn't have to choose your clothes on the basis of avoiding the hollers of a small few fellas who have no concept of basic manners or socially acceptable behaviour. That is their problem, not the runners'.

Can you imagine a woman runner in her tight shorts and spandex going to the cop shop to moan that some man or some group of men shouted nice arse at her out running?

Or, some not so attractive woman going to the cop shop to report a man or group of men for shouting "who let the diogs out.":rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,899 ✭✭✭✭28064212

I think the article is a complete non story. Get over it. Fcuk sake. This has been happening since the dawn of man. Men leering at women!
    You clearly didn't actually read the article. It is not about simply "leering"

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/boardsie-enhancement-suite/

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

Baggy stuff tends to bind and restrict movement. Anyway, you shouldn't have to choose your clothes on the basis of avoiding the hollers of a small few fellas who have no concept of basic manners or socially acceptable behaviour. That is their problem, not the runners'.

running shorts and a standard running top bind and restrict?

quick someone should tell those marathon runners.. they've been doing it wrong for years

bollo(ks do they bind and restrict...

No, in a perfect and polite and respectable and civil world you shouldn't have to.

BTW, the problem is the runners. They are the ones complaining. That is clear.

28064212 wrote: »
    You clearly didn't actually read the article. It is not about simply "leering"

I read it, and I decided to focus more on the leering. I can also comment on the whole article, and did. I didn't realise that we couldn't comment in certain parts only?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

As long as the narrative is entertained that women bring it on themselves with their clothing choices, perpetrators have an easier time justifying their behaviour.

If the blame is instead squared solely on perps, they may feel more social pressure to stop?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭ultrapercy

Enduro wrote: »
    Unbelievable. what year is it? I could have sworn it was 2015

What's unbelievable is the way ye keep taking the bate, heading for 30000 posts now 90% trolling the other 10% arguing with himself yet he still never fails to hook. I'm beginning to admire him.

Neil3030 wrote: »

If the blame is instead squared solely on them, they may feel more social pressure to stop?

True. So some people need to start a movement and tackle it. Maybe a march in O'Connell Street?

lawred2 wrote: »

quick someone should tell those marathon runners.. they've been doing it wrong for years

Well not shorts but someone was on about less revealing gear. I took that to mean full length tracksuit pants or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,220 ✭✭✭circadian

They said baggy clothes bind and restrict, not running gear but sure....

ultrapercy wrote: »
    What's unbelievable is the way ye keep taking the bate, heading for 30000 posts now 90% trolling the other 10% arguing with himself yet he still never fails to hook. I'm beginning to admire him.

You deserve a thanks for that. Kills me, but there you go.

As long as the narrative is entertained that women bring it on themselves with their clothing choices, perpetrators have an easier time justifying their behaviour.

If the blame is instead squared solely on them, they may feel more social pressure to stop?

but that's based upon the incorrect premise that society currently accepts or condones such behaviour..

It doesn't.

Some people are assholes. Some people are dangerous. That's the reality.

True. So some people need to start a movement and tackle it. Maybe a march in O'Connell Street?

Oh I know, I know. They should start a facebook campaign - the weapon of choice for all lost causes.

Even better. FB seems to be the way to go. Tagline?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,876 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

No, in a perfect and polite and respectable and civil world you shouldn't have to.

BTW, the problem is the runners. They are the ones complaining. That is clear.

Was a marathon routed under your bridge?

Well not shorts but someone was on about less revealing gear. I took that to mean full length tracksuit pants or something.

so no middle ground

it's either head to toe in cotton or skin tight lycra and spandex

McGaggs wrote: »
    Was a marathon routed under your bridge?

What?

circadian wrote: »
    They said baggy clothes bind and restrict, not running gear but sure....

but this thread is about runners right?

so it should have followed that it wasn't baggy jeans and an aran sweater that was being suggested

Well yeah, but I just interpreted it as some sort of sharia law type clothing solution.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

What?

Think your been called a Troll :) I'm shocked

Well yeah, but I just interpreted it as some sort of sharia law type clothing solution.

such ludicrous interpretations make for nonsense discussions

but that's based upon the incorrect premise that society currently accepts or condones such behaviour..

It doesn't.

Some people are assholes. Some people are dangerous. That's the reality.

My point wasn't based on that premise at all. My point regarded people who find leering unacceptable, yet who suggest women are (even in part) to blame with their clothing choices, and how that feeds into the problem.

How does it feed into the problem?

I don't condone leering, catcalling or intimidation of any sort.

I do however know that the creep down the road might hold no such inhibitions and his warped mind might be a little aroused by a nice girl jogging by in skin tight luminous pink running gear.

It's not right. But it's going to happen.

You and me saying whatever we like isn't going to change that.

shels4ever wrote: »
    Think your been called a Troll :) I'm shocked

Disgarceful. I think I'm the only one who thinks this is a joke of a story. A nonsense. People feigning shock and horror at a problem that has existed, and will exist for thousands of years.

What's the betting those who suggest women who get jeered by leery guys are at fault for wearing form fitting gear are the very same ones who would enthusiastically engage in victim blaming if someone got raped. Oh she shouldn't have been running down there if she didn't want to get raped etc etc.

If you got the reg of the car it was shouted from could this be brought to the attention of a community guard? Don't they normally deal with smaller antisocial behaviour type stuff?

I presume most of this type of jeering comes from younger males from bad backgrounds, ie council estates etc?

Young disadvantaged males driving about in cars are a scourge in this country. My friends and I got egged on several occasions by these types of gob****es driving around thinking their cock of the walk. Phoned gaurds and they didn't want to know.

How does it feed into the problem?

Let me put it to you like this - suppose the same leery guy sees a woman out jogging, in these two scenarios

(A) He knows most people will find it unacceptable but many will blame her for what she is wearing.

(B) He knows most people will find it unacceptable and will solely point the finger at him and his character flaws.

Which is more likely he leers?

What's the betting those who suggest women who get jeered by leery guys are at fault for wearing form fitting gear are the very same ones who would enthusiastically engage in victim blaming if someone got raped. Oh she shouldn't have been running down there if she didn't want to get raped etc etc.

If you got the reg of the car it was shouted from could this be brought to the attention of a community guard? Don't they normally deal with smaller antisocial behaviour type stuff?

I presume most of this type of jeering comes from younger males from bad backgrounds, ie council estates etc?

you're a lunatic