Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New TaylorMade clubs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

Let me guess, 15 yards longer with each club and more forgiveness than ever before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭Dbu

YayaBanana wrote: »
    Let me guess, 15 yards longer with each club and more forgiveness than ever before.

or if your swing is goosed like mine at the mo, it wont matter one little bit whether Im hitting it with a shovel or a new M driver

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭Dr Devious

YayaBanana wrote: »

They wouldn't be always going down that road if there weren't enough eejits buying in to it every time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,893 ✭✭✭alxmorgan

People get far too worked up about this lark IMHO
    Nobody is forcing you to buy it and you hardly expect them to come out and say "it might be a little bit better but really it just looks different"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭Mike1961

15 yards longer ... I'll have some of that :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭NapoleonInRags

The crown on the driver and fairways woods is damn ugly.....

http://www.golfwrx.com/326198/first-look-taylormade-m1-drivers-fairway-woods-and-hybrids/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

Ye I wouldn't like the look of that myself. Those 2 sliding weights might be useful though...

Rick likes it

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=54A4gvrUMIE

though to be fair he seems to like most clubs :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭benny79

Seriously though people must be sick of them launching new Drivers every 5 Mins!!

This is what they say about the new M1

"TaylorMade has unveiled the M1 driver, which features a multi-material construction that’s been 20 years in development. TaylorMade say the combination of titanium and a seven-layer carbon composite creates the longest driver and most easy to fit product in company history."

"20 years in development" how can they get away with saying that when there bringing new ones out every month or so!

Don't get me wrong I was a fan of TM and all my clubs are TM but am getting sick of them at this stage! I bought the R11 when it was nearly a year on the market and nearly every player on tour was using it (first white head I think) asked in the shop were they bringing out a new one soon, Told no. Two weeks later R11's came out, month after that the R1 :mad: Suppose I should of know better. :)

But I find most people are getting sick of them and this must have effect on their sales as people wont be buying their brand as they know a new model be out soon & there's no resale valve. Like when your buying a good second hand car ;) :P

benny79 wrote: »
    Seriously though people must be sick of them launching new Drivers every 5 Mins!!

This is what they say about the new M1

"TaylorMade has unveiled the M1 driver, which features a multi-material construction that’s been 20 years in development. TaylorMade say the combination of titanium and a seven-layer carbon composite creates the longest driver and most easy to fit product in company history."

"20 years in development" how can they get away with saying that when there bringing new ones out every month or so!

Don't get me wrong I was a fan of TM and all my clubs are TM but am getting sick of them at this stage! I bought the R11 when it was nearly a year on the market and nearly every player on tour was using it (first white head I think) asked in the shop were they bringing out a new one soon, Told no. Two weeks later R11's came out, month after that the R1 :mad: Suppose I should of know better. :)

But I find most people are getting sick of them and this must have effect on their sales as people wont be buying their brand as they know a new model be out soon & there's no resale valve. Like when your buying a good second hand car ;) :P

It's great for golfers really though as all you need to do is wait a while and you get older range at massive reductions. If you have the money to get the newest drivers more power to you. The rest of us can wait a year and get them new at half price or pick some up on second hand market

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,244 ✭✭✭rrpc

alxmorgan wrote: »
    It's great for golfers really though as all you need to do is wait a while and you get older range at massive reductions. If you have the money to get the newest drivers more power to you. The rest of us can wait a year and get them new at half price or pick some up on second hand market

It's more the retailers that suffer than the punters. New kit comes out and suddenly they have expensive stock worth half the money.

The canny ones will know that new stuff is coming down the line and be already running down their stock with discounts, but there will always be those guys who didn't and will get caught.

But I'm the guy who picks up last years model for half nothing, so I'm happy :D

Rick likes it

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=54A4gvrUMIE

though to be fair he seems to like most clubs :D

For scientific purposes ;), I went back to his review of the R15 and discovered that he was getting 15 yards less carry from that. So Yayabanana was right :D

rrpc wrote: »
    For scientific purposes ;), I went back to his review of the R15 and discovered that he was getting 15 yards less carry from that. So Yayabanana was right :D

True but was also swinging 10 mph slower !!!

He was swinging the M1 at 125mph? :o

Double checked....110 avg in R15 video and 116 avg with M1
    Some could be down to the club being lighter of course.

Double checked....110 avg in R15 video and 116 avg with M1
    Some could be down to the club being lighter of course.

The video I watched he had a few 115mbh swings. Carry was still a good bit less than 290 yards.

Justin Rose has been testing it and his caddy is impressed:

https://twitter.com/Fooch1993/status/642092856895737857

The video I watched he had a few 115mbh swings. Carry was still a good bit less than 290 yards.

Justin Rose has been testing it and his caddy is impressed:

I should stop coming into this thread. I am starting to feel compelled to put clubs on adverts to scrape money together to buy one of these :D

Patience grasshopper! You know that they'll be on sale this time next year for €150 ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

McGuirks are now selling the M1 for the low-low price of only €600!

http://www.mcguirksgolf.com/p/taylormade-m1-430-driver-mens-right-hand-2015/p-ta5c614rhmens

Insane money to spend on what is essentially a marketing exercise.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Mental money alright....................... am trying it out on monday!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,956 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

ronnie3585 wrote: »

http://www.mcguirksgolf.com/p/taylormade-m1-430-driver-mens-right-hand-2015/p-ta5c614rhmens

599 euro ,that has to be the most expensive off the shelf club I have ever seen .
    What makes it even more outrageous ,is the fact that the golf market is suffering,Taylor Made sales dropped 28 percent in 2014.

You'd get a decent set of clubs for 600 euro nowadays .

If anyone was going to spend anywhere near that sort of money on a driver you'd get a quality custom fit instead of some off the shelf adjustability malarky.
    Taylor Made need to stop crying wolf every year .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 748 ✭✭✭Axel Lamp

All my clubs are TM and once was a big fan. Till I bought the R11 & 2 weeks later the price almost halved and there was a new model out!.
    So I wont be changing for a long time but I think when I do I wont be going with TM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭newport2

It looks like a driver wearing white socks and black slip-ons. Manky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,956 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

benny79 wrote: »
    All my clubs are TM and once was a big fan. Till I bought the R11 & 2 weeks later the price almost halved and there was a new model out!.
    So I wont be changing for a long time but I think when I do I wont be going with TM.

Its very disengenous of a company to constantly proclaim their new product as being radically superior to the previous years model.
    Year after year Taylor Made do this ,saying the new driver goes x yards further and is much more forgiving ,its becoming a joke at this stage .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Hoof Hearted2

ronnie3585 wrote: »

Well you know what they say, fools and their money are easily parted, fortunately for TM there is no shortage of them in golf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭mickelson

anyone who buys a driver for 600 euro wants their head examined. absolute craziness . how many drivers have taylormade released in the last 2 years.....??? 3 or 4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Hoof Hearted2

mickelson wrote: »
    anyone who buys a driver for 600 euro wants their head examined. absolute craziness . how many drivers have taylormade released in the last 2 years.....??? 3 or 4.

Yeah...but...no...but....but...this ones goes 15 yards further and you'll be the envy of all your mates ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Kingswood Rover

599 euro ,that has to be the most expensive off the shelf club I have ever seen .
    What makes it even more outrageous ,is the fact that the golf market is suffering,Taylor Made sales dropped 28 percent in 2014.

If anyone was going to spend anywhere near that sort of money on a driver you'd get a quality custom fit instead of some off the shelf adjustability malarky.
    Absolute nuts 600 lids for a club, a years subs in our gaffe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Tilikum

There's a big difference between this club and the usual TM driver you'd buy over the yrs.

If you went in and bought the R15 from last year, you would have paid €430 (I think)?? With that driver you get the stock fujikura speeder 57 shaft - it's essential a piece of sh1t shaft. A lot like every other stock shaft they've put in their drivers over the yrs. You can upgrade the shaft and get the TP shaft. Fujikura speeder 661 tour spec - which is a 'real' shaft. That's an extra €100 I think the TP's were €499 last year? Maybe €€530?

With the M1 you're getting custom fit from a range of 28 shafts. A shaft like a tour ad can cost as must as €400 alone.

That's why they're charging €550, because you're getting to choose between the best shafts on the market.
    There's no 'stock' shaft with the M1, all the shafts are TP (tour preferred) offerings. Although, some folk are worried that the fujikura pro 60 is dodgy.

I won't be buying one myself. Maybe after a few price drops

• Closed Accounts Posts: 879 ✭✭✭Montgolfier

I recently changed my Taylormade R11s for a ping i15 and I'm bombing it 20 yds past the R11s and that cost me 70€. I will say it's not pretty or forgiving though but then again I want to improve not mask my poor swings with a super forgiving driver that costs a fortune.
    I will also admit there's no better feeling out driving a fella that dropped €400 to €600 with a €70 driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭saintastic

I have recently moved to the West Coast of the US and you would be amazed at the amount of golfers that turn up at a public / semi-public golf course and buy a new driver off the shelf in the pro shop just before they go out for a round. $400 odd just handed over. A lot of these guys can well afford it but it is just crazy.

It makes me wonder if they see the newest driver on TV, buy it and try it for a few rounds. There is no custom fitting being done either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭WheresMyPar

Tilikum wrote: »
    There's a big difference between this club and the usual TM driver you'd buy over the yrs.

If you went in and bought the R15 from last year, you would have paid €430 (I think)?? With that driver you get the stock fujikura speeder 57 shaft - it's essential a piece of sh1t shaft. A lot like every other stock shaft they've put in their drivers over the yrs. You can upgrade the shaft and get the TP shaft. Fujikura speeder 661 tour spec - which is a 'real' shaft. That's an extra €100 I think the TP's were €499 last year? Maybe €€530?

With the M1 you're getting custom fit from a range of 28 shafts. A shaft like a tour ad can cost as must as €400 alone.

That's why they're charging €550, because you're getting to choose between the best shafts on the market.
    There's no 'stock' shaft with the M1, all the shafts are TP (tour preferred) offerings. Although, some folk are worried that the fujikura pro 60 is dodgy.

I won't be buying one myself. Maybe after a few price drops

Got the R15 TP version cost best part €500,
    Getting no extra distance from my last driver but my off hits are much better,
    Got fitted, I think it was worth the money because I can't see myself changing for at least 3 years,

Got the R15 TP version cost best part €500,
    Getting no extra distance from my last driver but my off hits are much better,
    Got fitted, I think it was worth the money because I can't see myself changing for at least 3 years,

I have the same driver and I can honestly say, I've lost 10-15yrs on my old R11 with ****ty R11s stock shaft.

What suits you, suits you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 879 ✭✭✭Montgolfier

I have the same driver and I can honestly say, I've lost 10-15yrs on my old R11 with ****ty R11s stock shaft.

Sounds like a long time between drivers, did you try swapping shafts to gain back those lost years :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭WheresMyPar

Shaft might be too stiff for you so

I think that's it, but shouldn't I be hitting it straight right if it's too stiff? I'm hitting it dead straight. Just 10 yrds shorter than usual.

Tried out the TM M1 in the range last night have to say I wasn't at all impressed with it. (Thank god :)) now the lads in the range just give me the demo they had to try out as I know them so I wasn't really asking just passing.

So bear in mine I wasn't fitted had a stiff shaft which I use and 10g heavier (70g) Me R11 is 60g.

It just felt dead off the face! and no matter how well I struck it I was getting no distance at all. My R11 was miles further. The head on the M1 seems much flatter to and shiner much prefer my R11 head and funny enough I taught the M1 looked lovely in pictures that I have seen of it.

But I'm glad I did try it and thank god I hated it :D Now I know this is a club like most you have to be fitted for, but that was enough for me. I'm out. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭Alrite Chief

I think Taylormade really attract the newcomer to the sport. And we so many each year. They even seem to target the newcomer with their marketing. Its all very unrealistic promising all this extra yardage and extra launch every new club. Surely by now you'd be carrying over 1km off the tee picking up snow on the way out.

Practically everything I bought from the beginning was Taylormade and I'm really moving away from them. The mini driver is about the best thing they have brought out in the last 5 years and it wasn't even their idea really. They just marketed it like it was.

Yea apart from my Irons ( TM Tour Preferred CB's) which I got last year in Foregolf Id be inclined to move away myself. But wont be buying new woods for a good few years..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭sydneybound

I still think there irons are generally good and consistent. Drivers and woods less so but to be honest I don't like looking down on a white headed club which they seem to keep on making these days.

The odd thing is that a lot of the pros that are signed up to other brands are using TM dirvers/woods. Luke Donald is one that I can think of who uses Mizuno irons and TM woods. There are a few others but can't think of them off the top of my head.

I don't want to say too much here, but I won't be buying a certain brand of TM irons again, pm if anyone wants more info.

charlieIRL wrote: »
    I don't want to say too much here, but I won't be buying a certain brand of TM irons again, pm if anyone wants more info.

I thought you were very happy with them? Remember you saying that they were better than your old ones after only a couple of rounds.

Unless I'm mistaking you for someone else in which case, my apologies.

I thought you were very happy with them? Remember you saying that they were better than your old ones after only a couple of rounds.

Unless I'm mistaking you for someone else in which case, my apologies.

No, its me alright.
    They're excellent clubs and I was hitting them way more consistent than any club I've hit before in my life.

PM on its way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭Dr.Rieux

charlieIRL wrote: »
    No, its me alright.
    They're excellent clubs and I was hitting them way more consistent than any club I've hit before in my life.

PM on its way.

Have you replaced them? Can you send me on a pm with the issue. Just sounds curious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭Gandalph

Need help.

Want to get m'athair the new M1 driver for xmas as I heard him banging on about it. The main issue is I wouldn't know what shaft to go for which is key for him. How would I go about finding out what shaft he would most be suited to without actually asking him, would a quick gander at his current Driver collection be an indicator or would it not matter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

Gandalph wrote: »
    Need help.

Want to get m'athair the new M1 driver for xmas as I heard him banging on about it. The main issue is I wouldn't know what shaft to go for which is key for him. How would I go about finding out what shaft he would most be suited to without actually asking him, would a quick gander at his current Driver collection be an indicator or would it not matter?

Something like the M1 really needs a custom fit. If you're spending that kind of money it would probably be better to book a fitting with a pro and that way you won't be taking any chances. It will also give him the opportunity to hit other clubs as he may find he doesn't like the M1 when he actually hits it.

Gandalph wrote: »
    Need help.

Firstly - can I adopt you ? :D

But seriously bar a fitting I'd imagine a look at his current driver should be ok unless his current one is completely wrong for him.