Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

La Vuelta a España, September 6, Stage 15: Comillas to Sotres, 175km *SPOILERS*

• 06-09-2015 8:27am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,513 ✭✭✭

Date: Sunday 6th September
    Type: High Mountains
    Distance: 178Km
    Start/Finish: Comillas/Sotres

Stage map:
    361314.jpg

Profile:
    361315.png

First Climb - Km 115.1 - Alto del Torno - Category 2:
    361309.jpg

Final Climb - Km 175.8 - Alto de Sotres - Category 1:
    361311.png
    361310.jpg

Last 5km:
    361313.png

The General Classification after Stage 14:
    361312.jpg

Preview (© cyclingnews.com):
    A second consecutive summit finish with devilishly steep gradients towards the top

Head in any direction in Asturias and you’ll find a little known but fearsome ascent that’s waiting to have its reputation sealed by the Vuelta’s passing.

On this occasion, it’s the Jitu de Escarandi, which rises from the town of Cabrales up to and beyond Sotres. Although not especially high, it’s tough enough to rattle anyone’s composure this far into a grand tour and beautiful enough to make a lasting impression on spectators.

Its gradient of eight per cent over 13km doesn’t appear obscenely difficult but it almost flattens out for a kilometre between some steep ramps on the first half and some super steep ones in the second, particularly above Sotres. It could produce quite a shake-up.

LIVE TV:
    British Eurosport - 3.00pm
    TG4 - 3:00pm

HIGHLIGHTS:
    ITV4 - 7:00pm
    Eurosport 2 - 8:00pm
    TG4 - 8:45pm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭Andre 3000

Quintana has to go for it here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭death1234567

The end of tom's challenge today. He'll lose over a minute.

Quintana to win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,256 ✭✭✭MPFGLB

Another day for the breakaway for me as teams not strong enough or willing to to chase down ..Astana have only 7 riders and Aru did not look top yesterday (though he could be alot better today) and I wonder will they bother ...Also other teams like Movistar will keep reserves till end for Quintana long attack. Giant & OGE need to protect their men and haven't the riders ot chase breaks same with Ag2R. TinKoff will also not chase ..(btw McCarthy was pretty strong yesterday)

SKY will be in breakaway again today and it could be Nico if his legs & head are back. (I think its his head that is really the issue now). He is strong enough to get in the break and win on a climb like this but does he believe he can ??

I think Dumoulin will last today but tomorrow will be the changer

Pozzovivo is also coming back up the charts . Chaves looks so wrecked on the OGE Back stage pass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Quintana to win.

He can beat Aru by maybe as much as 3 minutes in the TT, so a minute isn't the end by any means.

Movistar controlled all breaks and not letting SKY go ...they must want the Team prize as well. SKY wanting the team prize may stop their chances in breaks....swings & roundabouts

But break does include Pierre Rollnad & Hamair Zubeldia ....should be interesting

Love the area the Vuelta finishes in today ...Picos de Europa National Park
    Beautiful..... one of my favourites after the Dolomites

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

The stage map always looks way more complex than the TDF ones.

Really looking forward to the last 10 or 15k today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,660 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

jaysus...quintana just stopped

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,660 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

rodriguez into red?? - missed it by a second

fantastic by dumoulin...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭Andre 3000

It'd be incredible if Purito finally gets his GT win here. Would be delighted for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭death1234567

Great stuff from Doumoulin. If he can survive tomorrow he'll have a huge chance. I think JRod is the worst time 'trial-er' of all the top GC men so he won't win this Vuelta.

EDIT: Just looking at the profile for tomorrow's stage and I think Doumoulin will suffer. He might get dropped on the second last climb of the day and if he does he'll ship alot of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

MPFGLB wrote: »
    Love the area the Vuelta finishes in today ...Picos de Europa National Park
    Beautiful..... one of my favourites after the Dolomites

Had a week there in July. Incredible scenery. I've almost convinced the OH of the need to return.
    Great win for Purito. It's his to lose now IMHO. Another good performance tomorrow and stage 20 putting some more time into Tom and Aru. Quintana looks done.

Daroxtar wrote: »
    Had a week there in July. Incredible scenery. I've almost convinced the OH of the need to return.
    Great win for Purito. It's his to lose now IMHO. Another good performance tomorrow and stage 20 putting some more time into Tom and Aru. Quintana looks done.

I think its the best chance for Purito alright. No Froome or Nibali & Quintana not in top form & Valverde not great at the mo either

Needs to put loads of time into Dumoulin tomorrow which I think will happen and also get seconds on Aru and stay ahead of him on TT

But I think it will all be decided on the last stage next saturday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

MPFGLB wrote: »
    I think its the best chance for Purito alright. No Froome or Nibali & Quintana not in top form & Valverde not great at the mo either

Needs to put loads of time into Dumoulin tomorrow which I think will happen and also get seconds on Aru and stay ahead of him on TT

But I think it will all be decided on the last stage next saturday

Ya, everyone was focused on stage 11 but tomorrow's and Saturdays are monsters too. I just hope for Rodriguez sake he doesn't get attacked on the second last climb on Saturday again ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,338 ✭✭✭Lusk_Doyle

Quintana to win.

Wrong and wrong! Fair play Tom!

Great stuff from Doumoulin. If he can survive tomorrow he'll have a huge chance. I think JRod is the worst time 'trial-er' of all the top GC men so he won't win this Vuelta.

EDIT: Just looking at the profile for tomorrow's stage and I think Doumoulin will suffer. He might get dropped on the second last climb of the day and if he does he'll ship alot of time.

I think that if he takes heart from his save today then his mental strength might save him tomorrow in the knowledge of his superiority in the TT.

Lusk_Doyle wrote: »
    I think that if he takes heart from his save today then his mental strength might save him tomorrow in the knowledge of his superiority in the TT.

God I'm on fire lately with my predictions!