Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting new members for the local macra

• 06-09-2015 8:24am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭

After joining up with the local macra again. Hadn't bothered for last 2 yrs cause I was busy at other things.
    Any way very little interest in it around locally and it's gone a bit stale as a result.
    Any ideas how I could renew the interest?
    Any county or national events I have been to have been great Craic

Any ideas greatly appreciated. TIA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭jfh

Organise an open night, put flyers everywhere people wait, don't just go for the usual clientel & on that night put on a good show with an agenda of events for the next few months. Take names & numbers so you can send out reminder texts of upcoming meetings

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

jfh wrote: »
    Organise an open night, put flyers everywhere people wait, don't just go for the usual clientel & on that night put on a good show with an agenda of events for the next few months. Take names & numbers so you can send out reminder texts of upcoming meetings

What sort of stuff would you be doing at open night? Have asked a few already amd got 2 yes's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭jfh

Sorry green grass, can't help you there, I was involved with another club not macra where we had to generate new members. But it would be a taster for people who have preconceptions about what they think macra is & what it actually is. Pull out all the stops and be as friendly as possible to all new comers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

After joining up with the local macra again. Hadn't bothered for last 2 yrs cause I was busy at other things.
    Any way very little interest in it around locally and it's gone a bit stale as a result.
    Any ideas how I could renew the interest?
    Any county or national events I have been to have been great Craic

Any ideas greatly appreciated. TIA

Get your GF to bring a few of her female class mates to join. There'll be lads flocking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭Lord Riverside

A very underrated organisation.

Bowling nights, quiz nights, day trips to the likes of tayto park etc. etc. ?

Get your GF to bring a few of her female class mates to join. There'll be lads flocking

Must do that. That's the first question I've been asked by most I've asked already.
    'Many women in it'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Must do that. That's the first question I've been asked by most I've asked already.
    'Many women in it'

Mate of mine joined Macra especially for the ladies , reckons they are much better craic than the average women he would meet out on a saturday night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭Lord Riverside

A well run local Macra, with plenty of activities, is a excellent place for getting to know other people and making friends and contacts in your own age group, people you'll know for life, and even perhaps potentially getting to meet a decent partner, rather than taking pot luck at a 'niteclub' with God knows what.

I'd say a good 70% of partners in rural ireland met through macra. My parent's and many more like them did

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

I'd say a good 70% of partners in rural ireland met through macra. My parent's and many more like them did

Do something easy for your 1st few events, is there any BYOB bowling near by etc?

Timmaay wrote: »
    Do something easy for your 1st few events, is there any BYOB bowling near by etc?

There is. That's what they do at start of every yr with all clubs in the county.
    Maybe time for something different?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,275 ✭✭✭orm0nd

was in macra in the early 1970's

helped organize many field evenings , barn dances , macra skills , stock judging, etc., from sept. on wards

, during the winter, quiz nights, public speaking. debating, card drives, darts, bowling , tag rugby , indoor soccer,

we ran first aid classes, arts & crafts & cookery classes etc, tractor maintance courses, welding classes . wood work, to name just a few

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭AP2014

Bullocks wrote: »
    Mate of mine joined Macra especially for the ladies , reckons they are much better craic than the average women he would meet out on a saturday night

Better craic alright but I can't see too many lookers joining macra :)

AP2014 wrote: »
    Better craic alright but I can't see too many lookers joining macra :)

Will ya stop , have you been to any ? There are some great looking girls involved in farming these days .
    They just mightn't use as much paint as your office colleagues

Will ya stop , have you been to any ? There are some great looking girls involved in farming these days .
    They just mightn't use as much paint as your office colleagues

The thicker the thighs the sweeter the surprise! :D

[mod]Comments like these are border line distasteful and will annoy a good proportion of the readership.

Anyone with a record of such posting should really be careful of what they post.

G.[/mod]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

The thicker the thighs the sweeter the surprise! :D

[mod]Comments like these are border line distasteful and will annoy a good proportion of the readership.

Anyone with a record of such posting should really be careful of what they post.

G.[/mod]

Jaysus AP your the Paul Galvin of F&F. Yellow cards and black cards galore. No red yet!!!!!

Sorry will tone it down, I'm a marked man. There has been worse posted the last few days and it's ignored. I see the W word used in a thread or two. At least mine was an attempt at some humour.

Back on topic though and one for greengrass or some other members of macra. What exactly is it? Advantages? Is it a youth club for farmers kinda thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Ask people directly. Either get on the phone or or face to face. It's very easy to ignore a mass text or a facebook post. Not saying don't do those things cause you will get the odd person you hadnt thought of but the personal touch is always more effective.

The competitions are the strongest suit we have for recruiting. Find a lad/girl and say "I could do with you for a debate/farmskills/capers. Will you do it for me?" Get not the county officers and see what the county competitions cake see is like

Capers is actually the best completion for bringing a club together if you can twist some arms.

If you can get a few down to the rally they'll be in for the long haul.

Don't get hung up about asking Farmers. At one stage we had 70 members in the club and I was 1 of only 2 farmers in the club at the time.
    We're doing a mystery tour in a few weeks to recruit new members. If doing a social night like that get onto the other clubs in the county for a rent-a-crowd. The more people there the better the first impression

Sorry will tone it down, I'm a marked man. There has been worse posted the last few days and it's ignored. I see the W word used in a thread or two. At least mine was an attempt at some humour.

Back on topic though and one for greengrass or some other members of macra. What exactly is it? Advantages? Is it a youth club for farmers kinda thing?
    While it is the representitive body for young farmers it is probably more accurately describe as a rural youth organisation for 17-35 year olds. 6 key areas:
    Travel
    Sport
    Performing arts
    Public speaking
    Community involvement
    Agriculture

Also probably the largest unofficial dating agency in the country. (And yes there are some stunning looking girls in the organisation)

While it is the representitive body for young farmers it is probably more accurately describe as a rural youth organisation for 17-35 year olds. 6 key areas:
    Travel
    Sport
    Performing arts
    Public speaking
    Community involvement
    Agriculture

Also probably the largest unofficial dating agency in the country. (And yes there are some stunning looking girls in the organisation)

Good stuff, interesting to hear the amount of non farming members. Have you a facebook page for your one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Good stuff, interesting to hear the amount of non farming members. Have you a facebook page for your one?

On the hunt are ya :D

Reggie. wrote: »
    On the hunt are ya :D

Would ya stop Reggie. A farmers daughter would never be good enough for our AP!!

Depends on her SFP I guess!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Depends on her SFP I guess!

Ahh so the days of marrying for quota are gone...quickly replaced by sfp

ganmo wrote: »
    Ahh so the days of marrying for quota are gone...quickly replaced by sfp

A friend of dad says he got the wife free with 50k gallons of quota

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Blackgrass

Sounds like a classy bunch so, no wonder its packed full.

A friend of dad says he got the wife free with 50k gallons of quota

How many tokens did he have to collect?

Are ya sure it wasn't bottle caps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

id join this if i was at home. Was actually talking about it to a lad from home a few weeks ago. He reckons its great craic. And a godsend for lads who wouldnt be mad drinkers etc.

Right up my street. Was thinking of joining up with bogman_bass but I think I'm getting too close to 35 to join now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

Right up my street. Was thinking of joining up with bogman_bass but I think I'm getting too close to 35 to join now

i have to keep reminding myself im 27 and not 17 anymore :D:D

Ah a few years left in ya yet

But you aint there yet.....

Won't get my money's worth or I'd have ye all tramazised :D

Can't hack the sesh more like it!

I'm gonna recruit Kovu instead

She'll end up taking over and where will ya be then!

Wouldn't be too hard since I don't drink

She'll end up taking over and where will ya be then!

Kovu rat pack

Wouldn't be too hard since I don't drink

Neither do I but it doesn't stop me being the last to go to bed at events

Does it strictly stop at 35 or do a few older people still go to a few functions? I'd imagine it'd be hard to give up when you like it

Ah yeah. You can be a member up to 40 but you can't enter competitions (bar sports) after 35

Jesus may tell the lads thstin my group there all over 35 :D

Ah that's a different story now lad I thought you had to leave at 35

Had first meeting last night in the local only git a few due to the ploughing being on and sone not back from college until a Friday night.

Next meeting in 2 wks we hope will catch alot more and hopefully get a good club going.

We have officers elected now so up to us to get the finger out and recruit

Had first meeting last night in the local only git a few due to the ploughing being on and sone not back from college until a Friday night.

Next meeting in 2 wks we hope will catch alot more and hopefully get a good club going.

We have officers elected now so up to us to get the finger out and recruit

Green for president

Give me a few yrs will ye :D

You'll be running for the Dail before ya know it and then a new shiney ag minister and we'll be giving out stink bout ya on here!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Have to say Macra is an outstanding organisation. Non denomination, class less and very inclusive regardless of back ground and ability.

It caters for most interests and from a social point it's really good as the "shyer" members have the comfort of meeting other people in a small group setting.

It's the closest to a skii holiday for being really social as when clubs meet they have a lot in common already. Along with my siblings I enjoyed many years with Macra

You'll be running for the Dail before ya know it and then a new shiney ag minister and we'll be giving out stink bout ya on here!

What more than we already do :D

Sure being one of out own he should know better than simple simon.