Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you mind people hearing you have sex?

• 05-09-2015 11:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭

Good evening to all you fellow saturday-night-stayer-inners.

There was a thread in another forum a while back about someone who had a problem with their housemate hearing them having sex and wanted to know was this normal

I'm uncomfortable with the idea of my housemate hearing myself and the boyfriend at it, and as we're both on boards, we both read it, and discussed it a little. I was trying to figure out why it is I'm uncomfortable with it, and it seems it's at least in part down to my actual housemate. I've been living with her for a year and almost 6 months. In that time she's never had anyone over, never spoken about men (or women), never mentioned dates, or anything of the sort. She has a jesus cross in her room. I mentioned something jokingly one day about her being pregnant, and she didn't take it too well. So I think her apparent celibate / jesus loving ways may have something to do with my discomfort with the sex noises around her - it's a house where you can hear everything.

I mean in my last place, I'd have had much less of a problem with it. Though you'd be less likely to hear as much. But my housemate there was a regular guy, he'd have girls over etc.

So do you have any issue with someone hearing you have sex? Does it depend on who it is?

I guess for me, it's sort of down to humility / modesty, or privacy. I mean, I know it's not quite the same thing, but in thinking about explaining why I don't like it, I'd say well I wouldn't like people to be able to see us having sex either. Privacy, ya know?

Well, do ya? 135 votes

Yes I do
    0% 0 votes
    Maybe, depending on who it is (parents, friends etc)
    42% 57 votes
    No, I'm happy for anyone to hear me at it
    39% 53 votes
    Get the fcuk away with yer wall of text at this hour
    18% 25 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

I wouldn't mind if they heard the bed squeak a bit, but not my moans or what I'm saying

I hate hearing people have loud moany sex, sometimes it feels like they're putting on a show and doing it on purpose instead of enjoying themselves!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 Le Surge Eyed Amant

Ideally I'd have total privacy, but housemates hearing is most certainly not a deal breaker. Parents would be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Hearing what though? Do you mean the moans and groans or the headboard hopping off the wall getting faster with every thrust?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

Well I suppose I don't mean the light squeak of the bed. Hard to ignore type of noises.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

I was fed up with being kept awake by my parents noisy lovemaking.

I finally snapped and screamed, "For fcuks sake can't you do that in your own room?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭Pink Lemons

I make sure and roar out "Can ya hear me Johnny??!" to make sure the housemate knows what's going down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Maybe your housemate needs an exorcist what with the cross and all.

NSFW unless you are a priest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭Tubberadora

I wouldn't like anybody to hear, especially my kids. Hence I haven't had a good no holds barred ride in years!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Your housemate needs an oul rogering by the sounds of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

I wouldn't like anybody to hear, especially my kids. Hence I haven't had a good no holds barred ride in years!

ah **** that.
    my young fella has walked in on me and it's his loss not mine

parents would be different...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

I walked in on my parents going hammer and tong at it once, they got really mad at me though and kicked me out. I suppose I should have asked first before I joined in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

I don't like being heard (by anyone) and I don't think there's anything abnormal about this. It's something I prefer to keep private.

I think it's far more abnormal to be keen to be heard - or at least to have no concerns about it whatsoever.

It might disturb others trying to get to sleep, for starters.

It's not always avoidable to be a bit noisy at the same time though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

What sort of noises? Upload them there and we can proceed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,446 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

I don't like at all the idea of people hearing when I'm having sex, and I sure as hell don't want to know or hear other people having sex! It's nothing to do with any kind of modesty or anything else, just that, well, some things are private, and for good reason! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Drown out the noises with some Celine Dion or whatever you kids like these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Medusa22

Well I suppose I wouldn't be delighted with people hearing me having sex, and I'd rather that they didn't. On the other hand though, it wouldn't put me off having sex if I thought that people could hear. I'm a devil for enjoying a bit of danger sex though, nothing like thinking that your parents might walk in the door to get me off :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

No but I do mind when they stand over me and jack off while I'm doing it
    That's just rude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

It never bothered me a bit to hear anyone else having sex- I think it's perfectly normal and I wouldn't expect anyone should be embarrassed to know I'd heard them but when if it were me, I'd be morto.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 367 ✭✭justchecked

Im embarrassed by the idea of anyone hearing me having sex, including my partner or even myself.
    Its one of those things like seeing yourself dancing or hearing a tape of yourself singing.
    The thoughts of myself let alone another person having to experience that...just awful.

Thats why I keep an expressionless face through the sex, I stay fully dressed in a business suit, missionary for 4 or 5 seconds, then apologise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,611 ✭✭✭✭blade1

When I was about 21 I was seeing this girl and one night I called over to hers.
    Her parents were going out so we were staying in "watching DVDs" for the night.
    I'd say the parents were just gone out the door and we had the clothes ripped off each other and were going at it Hell for leather!

Next thing, the living room door opens and the parents walk in!!
    Me with their daughter bent over the couch and giving her one from behind.

The mother then proceeds in giving me lecture which I can't really concentrate on because there is only one thought in my mind now.
    Do I stay as I am with the girl still bent over the couch and keep my Mickey inside her and at the same time try and apologise to the parents?

Or do I whip it out and get into a wrestling match with the horn I had and somehow try and get it back into my trousers?
    A match which may have taken a considerable amount of time and one I could easily have lost!

So decided to stay with the girl bent over the couch and soak up the onslaught coming from her mother!

Fair play to the mother though.
    I stayed over that night(not in the same bed as the Girl)and in the morning she made me a big Fry up!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Yer fooling no one lads. As if people who type on the intenet forums have sex.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭Autonomous Cowherd

Wait till the kids get older, lads, like late teens/early twenties and they're home for a weekend or whatever, and they roll their eyes when they meet you coming out of the bedroom. :( Turn that radio up good and loud is my advice. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,938 ✭✭✭galljga1

Mint Aero wrote: »

Good point. I would love someone to hear me have sex.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

Mint Aero wrote: »

One handed sex :D

Ahhh lovely thanks for that Mint.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

Hmmm we got ourselves quite a divide on this. Interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

arayess wrote: »
    ah **** that.
    my young fella has walked in on me and it's his loss not mine

parents would be different...
    Careful now. Wouldn't want the young fella developing an Oedipus complex :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Medusa22 wrote: »
    Well I suppose I wouldn't be delighted with people hearing me having sex, and I'd rather that they didn't. On the other hand though, it wouldn't put me off having sex if I thought that people could hear. I'm a devil for enjoying a bit of danger sex though, nothing like thinking that your parents might walk in the door to get me off :pac:

Thinking about my parents is the last thing that would get me off tbh!!!

I think most people don't want to be heard, I suppose it's a bit of respect for your housemate too but we all know headboards can bang when ye get into it!

It's great tho when ye have the place to yourselves, ye can do what ye want, where ye want and at what noise level ye want!

blade1 wrote: »
    Fair play to the mother though.

When I got to this point I was expecting the next line to be, "she wanked me off to a finish telling me, 'Never let a boner go to waste!!'" :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Could give a ****e. Had one housemate who used to bring guys back to her room never slept with and walked around the room all night talking to him in her stiletto. F**k off and lay down in the bed would you, or stay down stairs in the living room. Would not have bothered me if, she was hooking up, all that walking around from 3am-6am. The State of floors when the lease expired, I was pretty relieved my name was not on the lease.

So she brought guys back, threw on her stilettos and never had sex with them? :confused: Was she some kind of fetish brazzer or something??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

kfallon wrote: »
    So she brought guys back, threw on her stilettos and never had sex with them? :confused: Was she some kind of fetish brazzer or something??

And if so, what're her contact details?:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

entropi wrote: »
    Careful now. Wouldn't want the young fella developing an Oedipus complex :pac:

LOL. It wasn't his mother.

I'd rather cut off my balls and stab my eyes out rather then even look at his mother in a sexual way again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,589 ✭✭✭Reg'stoy

If by hear you mean not having earphones plugged into my laptop and if by sex you mean, my nightly visit from palm and her five sisters; then yes.

That's a lot more than any of the guys she brought back were!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,511 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

listening to "dirty talk" is cringe. You like that don't you baby.... shut up you plonker.

Even weirder when the guy in the next room starts answering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

I recall on a similar thread one of you posting that you maximised the occasion of your neighbours going at it by timing a Mortal Combat 'Finish Her!' at the right moment.

What you failed to realise however is that this was a Street Fighter 2 fan, and he promptly replied 'Round 2'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭Pink Lemons

listening to "dirty talk" is cringe. You like that don't you baby.... shut up you plonker.

There's nothing dirty about that..something more along the lines of "Take that **** up your *****ed up **** you ******** ***** ** ****, spit all over my ***** then ******** my ****** with your ****, baby"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Wouldn't mind someone hearing the odd moan or groan but would prefer if they didn't hear anything at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,958 ✭✭✭DopeTech

Really depends on who and the circumstances. If it was my parents in the next room then I wouldn't want them to hear. If it was a hotel room and some strangers in the next room could hear I wouldn't really care. I'd care even less with a few fizzy waters!

When I got to this point I was expecting the next line to be, "she wanked me off to a finish telling me, 'Never let a boner go to waste!!'" :P

You're one sick Fûck Mr. Fallon!!:pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

Years ago my husband and I were staying with friends. We had to abandon the bed in the middle of the night cos it was so squeaky and ended up on the bedroom floor. I wouldn't mind if it was in a hotel though cos you don't know the people in the next room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭mark_jmc

I asked my housemate once what he wanted for Christmas, he said I wanna watch, ......so I let him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

No, she wore them out and then never took them off. You would think after walking around in them all night she would want to get them off and put on something more comfortable.

Other house was in a serious relationship and occasionally had her OH stay over. Never bothered me when I overheard them and she was a moaner.
    blade1 wrote: »
    That's a lot more than any of the guys she brought back were!

Cheeky, Cheeky, I had to go. Go back to the originally quote to make sense of what you were saying. Didn't make any sense with the bold face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,622 ✭✭✭blue note

You need to broaden what you watch on th Internet!

blue note wrote: »
    You need to broaden what you watch on th Internet!

I'm not getting into 'scat' or 'snuff', no effin' way!!

I kind of like the idea of people heating me to be honest, depending on who it is. I also slightly l like the idea that someone might see, so I wouldn't close the curtains all the time. had sex in the living room yesterday and left the curtain open. Someone could easily have seen. :)

Bet you own a flasher's coat :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,938 ✭✭✭galljga1

A nice fire? Electric blanket?

I also had decent **** listening to one of m my housemates a couple of times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Im embarrassed by the idea of anyone hearing me having sex, including my partner or even myself.

My wife doesn't really like hearing me make noises during sex.

I probably shouldn't phone her in the first place...