Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Telephone Box

• 05-09-2015 12:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22

Anyone got any idea where I might get an original Irish Telephone Box. Preferably with the old telephone (but not necessary). Know about the reproduction company in Dublin but I would prefer to have the original one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,938 ✭✭✭galljga1

Salvage yards are your best bet. They come and go. Expect to pay a few grand at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 Chocchip1989

So I believe. Apparently the Gov. are hoping to reinstall them in certain towns around the country (for tourism sake). I think that's a good idea. They were nice to look at and traditional. That will bring down the value again if that does happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

So I believe. Apparently the Gov. are hoping to reinstall them in certain towns around the country (for tourism sake). I think that's a good idea. They were nice to look at and traditional. That will bring down the value again if that does happen.

I doubt that, even the remaining 'shower cabinet' type boxes are now rapidly disappearing too.

Here's a link to some salvage yards. :)

http://collectireland.com/salvage/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 billymc1

there is one on dondeal but needs a bit of work !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

billymc1 wrote: »
    there is one on dondeal but needs a bit of work !

42375658.jpeg

Looks good to me but no price. They are mainly concrete and clean up quite easily.

https://www.donedeal.ie/antiques-for-sale/old-telephone-box-/9564370

Fair play to ye. I ll check that out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,113 ✭✭✭✭L1011

That seriously looks like its been in a lake for a while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,293 ✭✭✭Fuzzy Clam

L1011 wrote: »
    That seriously looks like its been in a lake for a while.

Lick of paint and it’ll be grand :)

Are they concrete? How would you go about bringing it back. If it is concrete its spell in the lake shouldnt have done it too much damage. The surface would have to be smoothed out in some way and then repainted. Guess it would need a lot of TLC

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,293 ✭✭✭Fuzzy Clam

Are they concrete? How would you go about bringing it back. If it is concrete its spell in the lake shouldnt have done it too much damage. The surface would have to be smoothed out in some way and then repainted. Guess it would need a lot of TLC

If its reinforced concrete, hopefully the steel is alright. If the steel has started to rust, it could cause the concrete to split or flake. I know because this has happened with my external window ledges.
    Farmers use a chemical to clean concrete. Might be suitable here.
    I dont see a major issue.
    Given the chance, I would take it on........if I could find one cheap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭hexosan

Good luck finding one cheap

Going to have a look at it tomorrow. Its not cheap. Thanks