Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The full Irish - should beans be included?

• 31-08-2015 6:59am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 647 ✭✭✭

I am feeling somewhat delicate after yesterday and need to be on the ball this week. Popped down to the nearest cafe that opened up at 7am for the fry.

Pot of tea, juice and the full Irish please. Any morning papers?

'Take a seat'.

Two fried, bacon, sausages, fried spud, mushrooms.....

But covered in beans.

I ate around the red devils and paid up.

Beans should be nowhere near a fry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 982 ✭✭✭amber69

I am feeling somewhat delicate after yesterday and need to be on the ball this week. Popped down to the nearest cafe that opened up at 7am for the fry.

Pot of tea, juice and the full Irish please. Any morning papers?

'Take a seat'.

Two fried, bacon, sausages, fried spud, mushrooms.....

But covered in beans.

I ate around the red devils and paid up.

Beans should be nowhere near a fry.

Don't know about the beans like them myself. Nice user name..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭Blingy

Oh I disagree but only a small few and they should be piping hot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,334 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Are you mad? They're an essential part.

Yeah they're pretty much what brings it all together for me. But the other food shouldn't be covered in them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

'Some' beans are nice with a fry, but not a sea of beans.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 647 ✭✭✭RichardCeann

Yeah they're pretty much what brings it all together for me. But the other food shouldn't be covered in them.

If they have to be included, then they should be lobbed into a ramekin.

Are you mad? They're an essential part.

Do you think so? Fair enough, I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,443 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

The rest of the food shouldn't be covered in them, but it sounds like a crap full Irish breakfast anyway - no tomato, no pudding, no toast or offer of brown bread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭wally1990

A few beans is nice like 1/4 a can full but not a load of them but yes it is a must or else I feel like I'm missing something :P

The rest of the food shouldn't be covered in them, but it sounds like a crap full Irish breakfast anyway - no tomato, no pudding, no toast or offer of brown bread?

Black and white pudding are definitely my favorite part of a big breakfast.
    Getting one without would be like been served Guinness with no head.

Black and white, tomatoes, soda breads etc are optional. Boss Hoggs. The white pudding can be spread like butter. Exceptional.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Fupping love beans, I do. Maybe they should serve the beans in a little bowl so that the weirdos who don't like them can give them to me more easily.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Beans is in an English Fry, not an Irish one.

Scummy yolks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,519 ✭✭✭Oafley Jones

Black and white, tomatoes, soda breads etc are optional. Boss Hoggs. The white pudding can be spread like butter. Exceptional.

The pudding in particularly White is what defines a Full Irish. Otherwise it's the same as a full English.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭wilhelm roentgen

Wise words from Alan Partridge....

'Actually I've made some notes. Bacon, 10 on 10. Black pudding, fantastic. One minor criticism, more distance between the location of the eggs and beans on the plate, maybe use a sausage as a breakwater. I may want to mix them, but I want that to be my choice'

I was/am surpised beans are so popular. A good breakfast stands on its own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,733 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

I like them, but if we are strictly talking about an Irish fry, they shouldn't be there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

I think officially they're not supposed to be in an Irish fry but I love the little feckers so I'll give them a pass!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

Menas wrote: »
    Getting one without would be like been served Guinness with no head.

Wow, could I get head with just a lager or cider though?

If people enjoy them, I guess. For me, a full Irish is bacon, sausage, mushroom, tomato, puddings, choice of egg and bread. With oceans of tea and juice.

Do you lads also have chips with your beans?

Christ! Chips on a fry! Begone!

I do like the Ulster fry with the potato farls... Yummy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,334 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

theteal wrote: »
    I think officially they're not supposed to be in an Irish fry but I love the little feckers so I'll give them a pass!
    And who gets to decide that? Denny's???

The bastards don't even make beans, of course they wouldn't have beans as part of an "official" Irish fry.

Beans??? Why not peas? Urgh no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Wise words from Alan Partridge....

'Actually I've made some notes. Bacon, 10 on 10. Black pudding, fantastic. One minor criticism, more distance between the location of the eggs and beans on the plate, maybe use a sausage as a breakwater. I may want to mix them, but I want that to be my choice'

That episode was on UK Gold last night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Not on a fry no, although I do like beans with other stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭Polo_Mint

2x Sausages
    2x rashers
    1x Egg ( Sunny side up )
    2x black pudding
    2x white pudding
    2x Hashbrowns
    1 scoop of beans
    1 scoop of fried mushrooms

4x Triangle toast

You live in CZ? My missus is from Karlovy Vary. Our breakfasts are one of the things that we excel at.

Let us not ruin it with beans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Yep as said earlier if beans are present on the plate you're being served an English Fry and not an Irish Breakfast and you are obviously a west brit if you consume it!!! ;)

gandalf wrote: »
    Yep as said earlier if beans are present on the plate you're being served an English Fry and not an Irish Breakfast and you are obviously a west brit if you consume it!!! ;)
    You can take our lives, but you'll never take our freedom!

I am sooo impressionable. This thread has made me hungry and at this stage the only question is which local eatery will be serving me breakfast!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

If people enjoy them, I guess. For me, a full Irish is bacon, sausage, mushroom, tomato, puddings, choice of egg and bread. With oceans of tea and juice.

Do you lads also have chips with your beans?

Juice? Can't handle a bit of salt wha? The scald burns out the grease, grand, but far from juice we were raised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

I don't mind beans on a fry myself. Myself and the mrs watch Four in a Bed a lot, the B&B contest. The worst thing I have ever seen on a breakfast plate is tinned tomatoes, have seen it a few times on the show....vom

Giblet wrote: »
    Juice? Can't handle a bit of salt wha? The scald burns out the grease, grand, but far from juice we were raised.

Tea is the only acceptable drink with a fry. Strong enough to stand a spoon up in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

kylith wrote: »
    Tea is the only acceptable drink with a fry. Strong enough to stand a spoon up in.

Coffee is ok too but none of this poncy latte or cappuccino ****e it has to be boiled for at least 24 hours and give you heartburn for 48 hours after drinking it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Love beans, mop the sauce up with toast,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,158 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Eugh no Beans are gross. If you want a moist fry then the egg should be runny and the sausage and bacon shouldn't be overcooked.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Ruu wrote: »
    Love beans, mop the sauce up with toast,

I'm sorry, but what toast does be left after stacking the bacon, egg and toast and cutting all three together into a square, and using the bottom toast layer to mop up the runny egg. Beans? Beans can go f**k themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Beans are yum.

I'll have a few beans if they are on the go!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭BabysCoffee

Beans all the way

Eugh no Beans are gross. If you want a moist fry then the egg should be runny and the sausage and bacon shouldn't be overcooked.
    No, no, no. The yolk of the egg is not to be touched, and is to be left till last and consumed whole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,731 ✭✭✭✭Penn

The "Full" Irish has to include everything which would be considered standard, and as much as I hate them, that includes beans.

That being said, I ask for mine without beans, and use the egg yolks as my dippage/moppage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Spud??

Spud??

Stayed in a hotel once that had potato cubes on the plate too! I was hungover so anything that was seen as not good for me was a welcome addition!

kfallon wrote: »
    Stayed in a hotel once that had potato cubes on the plate too! I was hungover so anything that was seen as not good for me was a welcome addition!

A very welcome addition! Lob on a bitta salt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

beans and hash browns have no place in an irish breakfast they are foreign invaders that must be eradicated

fryup wrote: »
    beans and hash browns have no place in an irish breakfast they are foreign invaders that must be eradicated

Throw them all on the plate, just don't darken my door with tomatoes, no place for them at all! Mushrooms don't add a lot either but I'll let them stay on the plate cos I'm sound :P

Potato products are fine, except chips. Fried slices of spud are definitely welcome, as are hash browns. Love mushrooms myself so you can lash those on, as long as they're kept away from the beans.

Grilled tomatoes are an abomination.

If you put chips on a fry, it's not breakfast, but can be had for tea on a Saturday.

I do think that if in a cafe, beans should be served in a little bowl on the side of your plate. Otherwise there could be a tsunami of beans ruining everything in its path.