Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

La Vuelta a España - Stage 8 - Saturday 29th August *SPOILERS*

• 28-08-2015 8:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,513 ✭✭✭

Type: Sprint/Rolling
    Distance: 182.5Km
    Start/Finish: Puebla de Don Fadrique/Murcia

Stage map:
    360399.jpg

Profile:
    360401.png

Main Climb - Alto de la Cresta del Gallo - Category 3:
    360402.jpg

Finale:
    360403.png

The General Classification after Stage 7:
    360404.jpg

Preview (© cyclingnews.com):
    Two sharp climbs late on may well scupper the sprinters' chances

It may seem odd to describe a stage that descends most of the way to a shark-toothed finishing circuit as being hard for the sprinters, but Spain rarely offers anything that’s completely straightforward for the bunch finishers.

Many riders will know the finale from the Vuelta a Murcia, where the Cresta del Gallo’s appearance is almost de rigueur. Extending to 5.5km at an average of 6.8 per cent, it could be a launchpad for attacking climbers. But the 12 flat kilometres to the finish provide hope to those in pursuit. Norway’s Thor Hushovd won in Murcia in 2010 but that stage only crossed the Cresta del Gallo once. An intriguing contest is in store for us.

LIVE TV:
    British Eurosport - 3.00pm

HIGHLIGHTS:
    ITV4 - 7:00pm
    TG4 - 8:30pm
    British Eurosport - 10:30pm

Stage Winner 10 votes

Peter Sagan
    0%
    John Degenkolb
    40%
    steclearyZzippyMelodeonSolobally8 4 votes
    Alejandro Valverde
    0%
    Nacer Bouhani
    0%
    Tom Dumoulin
    0%
    Luis Leon Sanchez Gil
    0%
    Esteban Chaves
    0%
    Sylvain Chavanel
    0%
    Caleb Ewan
    20%
    BGTTrev De rev 2 votes
    JJ Rojas Gil
    0%
    Stephen Cummings
    0%
    Simon Gerrans
    10%
    lukegjpotter 1 vote
    The Field
    0%
    Have no idea tbh
    30%
    InquitusPudsy33Undercover Elephant 3 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,971 ✭✭✭fat bloke

Can I be unbelievably petty and ungrateful and ask that you include the day or date with the stage info?

Puhleeeze? :)

I keep getting mixed up with my multiple eurosport and tg4 recordings and replays and extras and live's :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭stecleary

John Degenkolb
    I honestly can't describe how much I'm looking forward to this stage. It's going to be completely it of the norm. There could be big gaps that could hold out before the first decent is even finished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭j0hn1

How many stage 8's are there in this years Vuelta?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭pelevin

j0hn1 wrote: »
    How many stage 8's are there in this years Vuelta?

I think the organisers were saying they're thinking of going down the Irish EU referendum path this year that if they consider the result of a stage to be really not at all the desired one, they'll make them re-do the stage. So if for example the Spanish lads Purito & Valverde get involved in a crash & lose 5 minutes each, in all likelihood there'll be a second stage 8. If something similar were to happen again, it's up in the air what they'll do as having a 3rd go at the same stage might, admitted Vuelta race director Javier Guillen, be "taking the piss."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,836 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Have no idea tbh
    Adam Hansen ftw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Pudsy33 wrote: »
    Adam Hansen ftw

I suspect a breakaway winner too. Don't see OGE, Giant, or any big GC team doing any chasing, so all down to Tinkoff Saxo (assuming Sagan isn't in the break himself, in which case game over)

Have no idea tbh
    I suspect a breakaway winner too. Don't see OGE, Giant, or any big GC team doing any chasing, so all down to Tinkoff Saxo (assuming Sagan isn't in the break himself, in which case game over)

Not sure it'll be a break but I reckon we will get an attacker from the final climb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,256 ✭✭✭MPFGLB

This would be a great stage to put a leaders team under pressure . Controlling breaks will be nigh impossible ...(well it would be if any of the GC guys wanted to take on the current leader )

Also think a few roulers to have a go on the last climb ...like Dumoulin or Dan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,513 ✭✭✭Melodeon

John Degenkolb
    fat bloke wrote: »
    Can I be unbelievably petty and ungrateful and ask that you include the day or date with the stage info?

Puhleeeze? :)

I keep getting mixed up with my multiple eurosport and tg4 recordings and replays and extras and live's :rolleyes:

I've edited the thread title to include the day and date, does that work?
    The start/finish towns are noted in the thread text near the top so having them in the title was a bit repetitive anyway.
    Or would it be better the other way around: start/finish in the thread title and day/date in the text???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭mirrormatrix

MPFGLB wrote: »
    This would be a great stage to put a leaders team under pressure . Controlling breaks will be nigh impossible ...(well it would be if any of the GC guys wanted to take on the current leader )

Also think a few roulers to have a go on the last climb ...like Dumoulin or Dan

Personally, I think the likes of Dan would be mad to attack on the Cat3 climb. He'd never hold off a charging peloton for the remaining 15km, and that climb isn't enough to really string things out I don't think.

I'll probably get this horribly wrong, but i'm gonna back a bunch finish with Sagan for the win.

Gosh that final downhill looks very tricky...could be an issue

John Degenkolb
    Very disappointed where eurosport have picked up coverage!
    Didn't get to see any of the big decent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

Looks like Van Garderen is out

Big crash

I think Dan Martin has crashed

Dan Martin on the ground ?

Nico Roche in group behind ?

Dan still on the ground

Nico is back on

But not sure about Dan ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Have no idea tbh
    Dan Martin on the ground ?

Nico Roche in group behind ?

No I see Nico at the front.

Have no idea tbh
    Is it definitely dan? This is beyond a joke at this point

Pretty sure, it's Dan.

Red Jersey having to chase back on

Wonder if Giant put down the hammer

Red Jersey back

That hill going down will be very messy

Already a crash on downhill

Is that not the same place Sastre came a cropper in 2001

Have no idea tbh
    Any idea where Dan is at?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,558 ✭✭✭at1withmyself

Kris Beckmans [Lotto] is on the way on hospital and seems not too bad, looked horrific when he was on the ground under everything.

Van Gardener [BMC] is also out after the crash, no word on Dan yet...

Reports that Dan has abandoned

Hop ethat is just twitter gone mad ...as no offical statement

Have no idea tbh
    Bugger! Game over for Dan, hope he's ok.

https://twitter.com/Ride_Argyle/status/637639353385287680

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

confirmed on twitter by garmin

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,558 ✭✭✭at1withmyself

Its official from the Team now :mad:

Dan has abandoned, gone to hospital

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,502 ✭✭✭spock.

I'm so gutted for Dan. He could have had a really good Vuelta
    :(

Its feels like it is gone beyond misfortune and unluckiness that Dan Martin has being involved in yet another crash. In such good form too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,235 ✭✭✭Solobally8

John Degenkolb
    Aaaagghh poor Dan. Feck sake!

Have no idea tbh
    Is Roche in the front group?

Inquitus wrote: »
    Is Roche in the front group?

nearly sure, I saw him in front group.

No, it wasn't him I saw, but he could be there.

Nico in front group of GC guys

Sagan crashes and goes mental

sagan going mad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,599 ✭✭✭djemba djemba

Sagan not at all happy

Sagan was run over by a bike!!! #lavuelta #LV2015

Hansen on the attack now.

roche about 10th?

Have no idea tbh
    godtabh wrote: »
    roche about 10th?

Yep

I am so gutted for Dan Martin I can't bring myself to even think about it

John Degenkolb
    Segan looks like he has lost a lot of skin!