Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dress code for a coffee shop?

• 27-08-2015 12:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭

Fitness instructor in the UK was asked to cover up or leave a Costa Coffee shop just because she was wearing her gym gear (lycra leggings and sports bra):
    Personal trainer was thrown out of a Costa coffee shop because she was wearing her revealing gym kit

Davina Ward was dressed in leggings and a sports bra with a friend when a member of staff at the Sutton High Street branch in Surrey asked her to cover up or she would have to leave.

With nothing else for her to put on, furious Ms Ward said she had no option but to leave and asked for a refund for both coffees she had purchased.

The gym enthusiast, who runs her own company Davina Ward Fitness, left Costa 'embarrassed' and went to rivals Starbucks, where she was welcomed, before having a meal with her friend at Nandos.

Ms Ward, 35, said: 'I've never been so angry in my life. I'm absolutely fuming.

'Why would they let me sit down and then embarrass me by telling me to leave?'

She said: 'I spend all my life in my gym kit, that's how I get most of my business.

The Costa barista involved said she had not asked Ms Ward to leave the store, but simply to cover up.

Although there had not been any complaints made to staff, she claimed other customers had been heard talking about how the personal trainer was dressed.

The barista said: 'It's health and safety and common sense.

Personally I think this is load of baloney. I see lots of women (and men) wearing lycra gear in cafes and coffee shops. There is a gym not to far from Cineworld and I have seen many girls come in there wearing lycra bras and drink or eat in the bar. I mean, if it was a restaurant, fair enough perhaps, but a fecking coffee shop? Who cares ffs and if someone does care, let 'em care away. I'm sure they'll live.

What says you?

Do you think the Costa staff member was right to ask the woman to cover up? 110 votes

Yes and I shall explain why..
    0% 0 votes
    No and I shall explain why..
    45% 50 votes
    Neither of your poll options suit me and so I'm off to play Atari Jaguar
    54% 60 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Wonder if she was taking selfies as well?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Health and Safety? Well then... if a barrister says it, it must be legally binding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭my teapot is orange

I don't think its the lycra that's the issue. It sounds like she was just wearing a sports bra on top.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Health and safety? Yeah riiiiigggghhhhttt.

Thrown out though? She left of her own accord. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭jenn1984

She took many many selfies so I doubt she's losing sleep over it. I don't care as long as someone is covered but sports bras are for working out and wearing them on their own outside the gym kind of screams 'Look At Me'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭newacc2015

Personally I wouldnt care. It beats half of the smelly people who constantly are on Dublin Bus. Would costa kick out someone who smelt like ****?I seriously doubt it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Where will they draw the line on this? Those cropped tshirts? Older women with ham hocks for arms and sleeveless tops?

It's all a bit mad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

I wonder if the Nando's afterwards was as cheeky as her Lycra pants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Is she good looking???????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

jenn1984 wrote: »
    She took many many selfies so I doubt she's losing sleep over it. I don't care as long as someone is covered but sports bras are for working out and wearing them on their own outside the gym kind of screams 'Look At Me'.

Depending on the weather, that could describe an entire streets clothing at any given time. Still no reason for putting somebody out of a coffee shop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 415 ✭✭FelineOverLord

Meh, she was looking for attention and got pissed off when she didn't get the 'right' kind of attention. Yes, going out in a bra is fine for the beach or gym but not for cafes. I'll sit back and wait for the stampede of posters rushing to accuse me of 'victim blaming':D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,635 ✭✭✭donegal.

she wasn't asked to leave. And its hardly unreasonable to ask a woman, whos only wearing a bra, to cover up.

Jeez, she's got more muscular arms than a lot of guys I know.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,733 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

If she was out of the gym and minging with stinking sweat then yes she should be covered up as it's fooking disgusting and flies will be attracted to her, if not out of the gym I don't see any problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Meh, she was looking for attention and got pissed off when she didn't get the 'right' kind of attention. Yes, going out in a bra is fine for the beach or gym but not for cafes. I'll sit back and wait for the stampede of posters rushing to accuse me of 'victim blaming':D

You could be right but any chance the staff member was a little jealous of the attention she was getting?

Any chance the staff member was a little jealous of that attention?

Possibly, but hardly envious of the God awful leggings, those should be a hanging offence. Tbh, I think her upper body is too masculine for most women to envy. Plus, we don't want to start a trend where we add skanks wearing only their underwear in public to the skanks who wear their pajamas in public.

Sweaty girl in sports bra walks into coffee shop thinking she's the bees knees. Barista gets narked. Girls takes many many selfies to console herself and makes it into the Daily Mail. Attention wanted, attention received. Job done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,082 ✭✭✭enricoh

Need a photo before commenting - if she's hot, its up there with the Birmingham 6 as a miscarriage of justice! If she's a minger, yeh chuck her out ta fuq!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Lycra.
    Costa's
    Starbucks
    Nandos.

There's more branding in that article than in a John Wayne Western.

Lycra.
    Costa's
    Starbucks
    Nandos.

There's more branding in that article than in a John Wayne Western.

Don't forget her personal training business also got a plug! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Boring username

So, a quick summary: Dolly bird provokes confrontation with coffee shop, sells story to newspapers, and gets a pic of her chest in article.

Well played.

Edit: Beaten to it by Jenn1984.

Is she good looking???????
    enricoh wrote: »
    Need a photo before commenting - if she's hot, its up there with the Birmingham 6 as a miscarriage of justice! If she's a minger, yeh chuck her out ta fuq!

There are loads of pics in the link :confused:

So, a quick summary: Dolly bird provokes confrontation with coffee shop, sells story to newspapers, and gets a pic of her chest in article.

Well played.

Edit: Beaten to it by Jenn1984.

You snooze, you lose. Just kidding :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

"Davina Ward was dressed in leggings and a sports bra with a friend",

Perhaps if they both had their own clothes, instead of sharing them, they might have been dealt with more considerately?

As a side note, has anyone noticed the standard of Mail comments has improved immensely in the last few months? Maybe it's just they are getting so much worse elsewhere, but I usually get a chuckle out of the Mail ones these days

• Closed Accounts Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Boring username

jenn1984 wrote: »
    You snooze, you lose. Just kidding :D

I shouldn't have stopped to fap one out to that pic :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

Exactly which part of her body was offending the server (dont be giving me that barista shite). Is it arms she finds unacceptable? Shoulders? Perhaps stomachs are what will bring about the downfall of civilisation?

Coffee shops are wanker palaces anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Jogathon

I exercise loads, and often wear my gym gear (Lycra) to coffee/lunch places. I always wear a top over my sports bra though. I wouldn't go for coffee in my normal bra...why is a sports bra different?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

I've actual bras bigger than what she was wearing, and I wouldn't expect it to be ok to walk into a café wearing only one of them.

Exactly which part of her body was offending the server (dont be giving me that barista shite). Is it arms she finds unacceptable? Shoulders? Perhaps stomachs are what will bring about the downfall of civilisation?

Coffee shops are wanker palaces anyway

Especially when there are women in tight pants and bras.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

That whole article is just free advertising for her business (and her chest, judging by the photos). She wasn't even asked to leave, she was asked not to sit there in just her bra.

Idiot. If she'd spilled the coffee and scalded her uncovered stomach she'd probably have blamed them and sued for compensation...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

That whole article is just free advertising for her business (and her chest, judging by the photos).

The article linked was just picked up on from a local paper.
    All the pics have been taken off Twitter.
    She wasn't even asked to leave, she was asked not to sit there in just her bra.

Essentially she was asked to leave tbf as she had no other clothing with her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

When I read "Sports Bra" I pictured one of the ones that would look like a tight top but leaving the tummy free.
    Then I clicked the link - that's just a bra. The woman walked into a coffee shop just wearing a bra and people don't get why that's not appropriate attire?

I can't see how the actual bra is the problem. I bet if she wore it as a balaclava she would have got whatever she wanted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,431 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Jogathon wrote: »
    I exercise loads, and often wear my gym gear (Lycra) to coffee/lunch places. I always wear a top over my sports bra though. I wouldn't go for coffee in my normal bra...why is a sports bra different?
    it is different.

Sports bra "oh there's a woman after an oul jog, fair play to her"
    Bra "oh there's a woman with no top on ....how odd...."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

While I wouldn't be overly bothered for modesty reasons but I do wish people would stop wearing gym outfits to lunch. Nobody goes to gym after lunch so you are either giving impression that you are just pretending to work out or that you stink.

it is different.

Sports bra "oh there's a woman after an oul jog, fair play to her"
    Bra "oh there's a woman with no top on ....how odd...."

Bikini top "oh there's a woman after an auld swim", but she probably still wouldn't get served in it.

I worked in gyms for years and I don't think I ever saw anyone wear just a sports bra in the café in the gym, let alone outside.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Brought to you by Starbucks and Nandos...

So either she just worked out in that bra, in which case WHY would she not have changed out of it, or she put it on especially to go to the coffee shop. Again, WHY? She's obviously put the work into her body and she's proud of it and wants to show it off, but even in Costa?

Also, I'm not a gym person or a busty person (:(), but she looks like she's too busty for that thing even to give her enough support for when she's exercising?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,475 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

If she had just finished ninja skills training she should have dropped her smoke bomb and disappeared.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

There's no better promotion than a bit of self-promotion. Well played Ms Ward.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭Diamond Doll

I'd find it very strange if I walked into a coffee shop and saw someone there in a bra and leggings.

For anyone who thinks it's OK ... how would you feel if you walked into a coffee shop and saw a hairy overweight man wearing only his Speedos, would it make it OK because he was "just back from a swim"?

I don't think wearing underwear is acceptable attire for any normal coffee shop, to be honest, and I can see why it would make staff and customers uncomfortable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

I think she looks nice enough in the pics.

Nice free bit of advertising for her business.

I can't see much wrong with wearing sports gear if you are popping into the coffee shop on the way too or from the gym.

Yes, it might be a bit revealing but no more so than you'd see people in the street on a fine day. Or in a nightclub for that matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,431 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

I'd find it very strange if I walked into a coffee shop and saw someone there in a bra and leggings.

For anyone who thinks it's OK ... how would you feel if you walked into a coffee shop and saw a hairy overweight man wearing only his Speedos, would it make it OK because he was "just back from a swim"?

I don't think wearing underwear is acceptable attire for any normal coffee shop, to be honest, and I can see why it would make staff and customers uncomfortable.
    to be honest i thought it was normal enough occurrence until now. (the women bit not the speedos)

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I was in Potsdam last week and was at the lake, this boat arrived that sold ice cream, beer, pommes, bratwurst....somewhat like a ice cream van except a boat.
    People where lining up in their nip to get served. Not one person was turned away.
    We should adopt the German appraoch and just be in our nip all the time. What is this thread about again?

kylith wrote: »
    I've actual bras bigger than what she was wearing, and I wouldn't expect it to be ok to walk into a café wearing only one of them.
    Shenshen wrote: »
    When I read "Sports Bra" I pictured one of the ones that would look like a tight top but leaving the tummy free.
    Then I clicked the link - that's just a bra. The woman walked into a coffee shop just wearing a bra and people don't get why that's not appropriate attire?

Nowhere in the article does it say that what she's wearing in the pictures is what she was wearing at the time. I'd be very wary of taking anything form a Mail article that was "implied" rather than explicitly stated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭Wizard!

Attention junkies...

Brought to you by Starbucks and Nandos...

So either she just worked out in that bra, in which case WHY would she not have changed out of it, or she put it on especially to go to the coffee shop. Again, WHY? She's obviously put the work into her body and she's proud of it and wants to show it off, but even in Costa?

Also, I'm not a gym person or a busty person (:(), but she looks like she's too busty for that thing even to give her enough support for when she's exercising?

shes's not a "gym person" she works there as a personal trainer. I take a bootcamp class in the mornings and the guy who takes it spends his whole day in his gym gear. could you be arsed changing every time you wanted to leave the place for 10 minutes?

Nowhere in the article does it say that what she's wearing in the pictures is what she was wearing at the time. I'd be very wary of taking anything form a Mail article that was "implied" rather than explicitly stated.

I bet that I still have bigger bras than anything she was wearing.

kylith wrote: »
    I bet that I still have bigger bras than anything she was wearing.

well far be it from me to comment on your own personal dimensions, kylith