Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What exactly is a wedding band??

• 26-08-2015 12:25am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭

My daughter is getting married next year...grand.

Anyway, she's vibering me about ''wedding bands''.

I have to say, I'm a bit confused as to how a ''wedding band''can cost 3000 of our common currency. :confused:

All the ''wedding bands'' on the site she's showing me..I've never heard of..nor has anyone else I'd say :D

Soooo..what is a wedding band?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

A pretty average band who cover popular songs and don't inflict their own music on your guests.
    Oh and they're available for weddings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I'll sing at her wedding!! For free!

I know Toby Keith, Merle Haggard, Pink Floyd, Bon Jovi and Belinda Carlisle!

That covers everybody, right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭Falthyron

It's the thing that goes on the finger after they both say "I do".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

No, we want both types of music...

Country and western.

We'll pay extra if you have any good yarns about bringing home turf and eating floury spuds.

boobar wrote: »
    No, we want both types of music...

Country and western.

We'll pay extra if you have any good yarns about bringing home turf and eating floury spuds.
    I can do the Blues Brothers too!:pac:

Rollin rollin rollin, keep those wagons rollin'

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

You definitely don't want this, especially on a Monday

Stheno wrote: »
    You definitely don't want this, especially on a Monday
    If I can keep the citizens of AH regaled on a damp Monday evening, surely a wedding, where everyone is in fine form anyway, would be a walk in the park for me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

If I can keep the citizens of AH regaled on a damp Monday evening, surely a wedding, where everyone is in fine form anyway, would be a walk in the park for me?

Fek it, one of these days I'll marry yer man here beside me, just so I can have a Monday pint with you :)

Anyway...wedding bands. 3 grand???

Chucken wrote: »
    Fek it, one of these days I'll marry yer man here beside me, just so I can have a Monday pint with you :)

Anyway...wedding bands. 3 grand???
    Aye that's a bit steep. Dearest I know of around here is €1900, and that includes the disco and shagging the ugly bridesmaid.

Tell her to get married in Vegas select family only and a 'tour guide' ie me.

Not saying it will be any cheaper but I can get you on the Invited Guests check-in queue in three strip hotels, a free climb on the Twin Peaks wall, a couple or three free breakfasts and backstage access at the Donny Osmond show. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

If she doesn't get the Dan Band it'll be a shít wedding!

Aye that's a bit steep. Dearest I know of around here is €1900, and that includes the disco and shagging the ugly bridesmaid.

Tell her to get married in Vegas select family only and a 'tour guide' ie me.

Not saying it will be any cheaper but I can get you on the Invited Guests check-in queue in three strip hotels, a free climb on the Twin Peaks wall, a couple or three free breakfasts and backstage access at the Donny Osmond show. :)

Ohhhh. Donny? Really?

Fec this,I'm goin to to tell this fella we,re gettng hitched!!!

Ohhhh. Donny? Really?

Fec this,I'm goin to to tell this fella we,re gettng hitched!!!
    Don't spring it on him to soon, Donny has a bad throat at the minute, singing too many cheesy songs takes its toll!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 360 ✭✭The Dogs Bollix

€1900-3000 on a wedding band

And other wedding costs

It's just one big party for one day.

The cost of it all, its mad.

I'm running off to Vegas when I get married. He can follow me if he wants to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭The Randy Riverbeast

I heard one direction are great for weddings. See if they can get them.

Don't spring it on him to soon, Donny has a bad throat at the minute, singing too many cheesy songs takes its toll!

We have a window in 3 years... :D

I love Donny :o

Ya, I was a teenager once!

Anyway,back to the wedding band.

Nibbling on sponge cake, watching the sun bake,
    All of those tourists covered with oil,
    Strumming my six string, on my front porch swing,
    Smell those shrimp, they're beginning to boil.

I really should upload a recording of myself singing this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭Sever Tomorrow

I have to say, I'm a bit confused as to how a ''wedding band''can cost 3000 of our common currency. :confused:

All the ''wedding bands'' on the site she's showing me..I've never heard of..nor has anyone else I'd say :D

Rehearsal time, transport, gear maintenance, lighting rig, PA, possibly more than your standard 4/5 musician band members to be paid etc. I don't see why a very good band wouldnt charge that, and even more if they are a top notch corporate band. Though, you can definitely hire a good band for less.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

OOOH Baby do you know what that's worth?

It might seem like a lot, but you have to factor in quite a lot -

1) They might have to play for a few hours and often quite late.
    2) Travel expenses, petrol, etc.
    3) Outfits.. Yes, sometimes the bride and groom want them to wear specific items
    4) Rehearsal times. It's never just the hours you see them play, wedding bands are sometimes asked to learn entirely new songs, which would take a lot of hours of work to perfect.
    5) It depends on how big the band is.

Source: A lot of my family members are involved in the wedding entertainment industry. It was always the saving grace of not at all being musically talented that I was never asked to perform.

But any decent wedding band would ask you to shop around for a better price.

Edit: have they tried negotiating the price?

Nibbling on sponge cake, watching the sun bake,
    All of those tourists covered with oil,
    Strumming my six string, on my front porch swing,
    Smell those shrimp, they're beginning to boil.

I really should upload a recording of myself singing this

You should! I'd walk up the oil to that :D
    Rehearsal time, transport, gear maintenance, lighting rig, PA, possibly more than your standard 4/5 musician band members to be paid etc. I don't see why a very good band wouldnt charge that, and even more if they are a top notch corporate band. Though, you can definitely hire a good band for less.

Do you know one? :/

Corporate band??

I'm not paying. Fec that.

Where is the wedding going to be held?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭Sever Tomorrow

You should! I'd walk up the oil to that :D

Do you know one? :/

Corporate band??

I'm not paying. Fec that.
    When I say corporate I'm sort of referring to bands big MNCs like Google might hire for their staff dos. They don't mind shelling out good dough for a great band. It's the dream for the working musician :D I might know a few wedding bands, but it depends what style of music?

Where is the wedding going to be held?

As the Dubs say: down the country ;)

The point I'm making is that ''wedding bands''charge 3000 euro!

Holy sheet,the reception is costing a fraction of that.

If they're having a low budget wedding, they should just look into hiring some musicians as opposed to a whole wedding band. Say if they got two talented musicians, then it would likely be a fraction of the cost of a whole wedding band.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Bunch of my mates just put together a pair of playlists on their ipod; one for the meal, one for the dancing. 'Twas great, and exactly what a dj would do anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭Turquoise Hexagon Sun

OK, say you have 5 members in the band. They all have to eat, sleep, pay rehearsals, possibly accommodation, travel expenses, upkeep of their equipment. Whatever is left from that 3,000 gets divided.. But people think they just have to show up and play. They also forget about the advertising, the emailing couples back and forth, the people that email for enquiries but never get back. All the time consumed, practicing all the songs, together in rehearsal space.. basically all the time that has to go in to get to who they are, so when they are playing you just get the final product.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭Turquoise Hexagon Sun

OK, say you have 5 members in the band. They all have to eat, sleep, pay rehearsals, possibly accommodation, travel expenses, upkeep of their equipment. Whatever is left from that 3,000 gets divided.. But people think they just have to show up and play. They also forget about the advertising, the emailing couples back and forth, the people that email for enquiries but never get back. All the time consumed, practicing all the songs, together in rehearsal space.. basically all the time that has to go in to get to who they are, so when they are playing you just get the final product.

If you are genuine and really want to educate yourself on Irish wedding bands, listen to this doc. It will give you some insight to your questions.

Google RTE Radio - Band of Gold or I can email
    rte.ie/radio1/doconone/2015/0703/712473-band-of-gold/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Get Ed Sheeran. Apparently he's doing birthdays, weddings, and bar mitzvahs now…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

Wow - that's more than our entire wedding cost.

What's wrong with just putting together some good play lists on a few ipods? Chances are the quality would be better, too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

OP, if you want I can see if I can get you a decent wedding band for a lot less than that. Could you be a bit more specific than 'down the country' :)

Drop me a pm if you want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

"How much for that cake?"

"€10"

"Thanks, it will be great for our wedding"

"A wedding cake is it? That'll be €30 so please"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,078 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

A wedding band is the name given to the ring you receive from your spouse.
    A wedding band is a part time music group/band who play 'old hits' at weddings etc . . .

Wedding Banns (sounds like bands) is announcement in church of your intention to marry and a chance for anyone to put forward a reason why the marriage may not lawfully take place. Banns are an ancient legal tradition and have been read out every week in churches across the land for millions of couples, over many centuries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭fortwilliam

kylith wrote: »
    Bunch of my mates just put together a pair of playlists on their ipod; one for the meal, one for the dancing. 'Twas great, and exactly what a dj would do anyway.

Oh dear....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

A band that plays moderately, but you are so hammered it sounds good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Oh dear....

Vested interest in wedding bands?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

These guys are turning into the main wedding band around these parts

Been to a few weddings where they have played and have to say it was good craic,the drink of course helped :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭TrustedApple

Sister had one of Ireland beat cover bands at hers there a few years ago. J90 no idea what they cost but they played for about 2 hours and then dj for amother 2 hours and was so much fun as it wasn't your basic chessy covers band.

They played what was in the charts and songs that where poplar in the last few years. They mustly played stuff from too fighters, the killers, snow partol, Kings of Leon that kind of stuff for the night.

There is even a video of me singing sex on fire with J90 and doing gangham style the full dance with the lead singer of the band ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Do they get paid 3k when they're playing in a pub/club somewhere at the weekend?

Still have all the "expenses" you mention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,260 ✭✭✭Mink

As the Dubs say: down the country ;)

The point I'm making is that ''wedding bands''charge 3000 euro!

Holy sheet,the reception is costing a fraction of that.

There are definitely a handful that charge that much - they'd be the ones that are around donkey's years, they're out playing 5-6 nights a week, manager & roadies to pay for on top of usual overheads.

I would have thought the majority would be 1500 to 2000.

Try Panic Animal, they'd def by under 2k & will do DJ set as well. Very good reviews on their website

... ok I'll be honest... I know them personally ... but they are actually savage & will make the afters brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

mdwexford wrote: »
    Do they get paid 3k when they're playing in a pub/club somewhere at the weekend?

Still have all the "expenses" you mention.

As mentioned, 3k is on the higher end of the scale for these kinds of bands (on average, anyway), but yes. The price for a wedding may be slightly higher, but it only makes sense. They do not have all the typical expenses when playing a club, a massive one being that clubs will all have their own PA. They may have to travel futher. It's also essentially a private show, and almost all that I know of do requests. That's a lot of extra work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭Ms. Pingui

Mink wrote: »
    There are definitely a handful that charge that much - they'd be the ones that are around donkey's years, they're out playing 5-6 nights a week, manager & roadies to pay for on top of usual overheads.

I would have thought the majority would be 1500 to 2000.

Try Panic Animal, they'd def by under 2k & will do DJ set as well. Very good reviews on their website

... ok I'll be honest... I know them personally ... but they are actually savage & will make the afters brilliant.

My sister has them booked for her wedding! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

Get married as cheaply as possible in a registry office. Buy the cheapest ring available.

You'll still be just as married as the clowns who spent thousands on their special magical princess day.

There's a fairly good chance the entire thing will end in failure anyway after a few years so don't waste your money on it.

This is reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Yes 3k is at the upper end, but it does depend on number of members in the band and what they're doing. In most cases, you're looking at four or five guys doing a 90 - 120 minute set providing professional-quality music, along with a van's worth of professional kit (that's probably worth close to €20k in all).

You're paying for performers. People who can energise a crowd and get people to enjoy themselves. That's not easy.

If all you want is music, you could get your mate Jim to do up an iTunes playlist and plug that into a laptop and not really have any kind of decent buzz going on at all. A DJ is cheaper option, but rarely gets people going like a band can.

Sometimes a band might throw in a DJ in with the cost of the band.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭Mightydrumming

As mentioned above, that price range is for the upper end of the scale. 9 times out of 10, the band will have different packages to suit different couples and not just one set price.

1500 -1700 would get you a good 4 piece band and DJ. Get her to shop around and go to different showcases. My own band (with the couples consent of course) sometimes allow a couple or two to come into a wedding that we are playing to allow them to see what the craic is - so that may be an option for her.

Best of luck with it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Websters dictionary describes a wedding as 'The process of removing any undesirable or troublesome plants, especially ones that grow profusely where they are not wanted.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

As mentioned, 3k is on the higher end of the scale for these kinds of bands (on average, anyway), but yes. The price for a wedding may be slightly higher, but it only makes sense. They do not have all the typical expenses when playing a club, a massive one being that clubs will all have their own PA. They may have to travel futher. It's also essentially a private show, and almost all that I know of do requests. That's a lot of extra work.

Some bands seem to play a pub for 400-500 but then charge 2k for weddings. For doing the same thing, seems nonsense to me but each to their own. Won't be paying that for mine though :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭blindside88

3k would be at the higher end of the scale. We had a brilliant band for our wedding 2 years ago "the great escape" if you google them they have a very professional website with some video and audio. If memory serves they were about €1800 and they travelled from Louth to Carlow for that and also provided DJ. I would highly recommend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

Some bands seem to play a pub for 400-500 but then charge 2k for weddings. For doing the same thing, seems nonsense to me but each to their own. Won't be paying that for mine though :p

That's grand, you don't have to, but I'm just saying it's not the same thing at all in most cases.

The bands doing this full time have their regular gig circuit/schedule. A wedding is a once-off, and could be anywhere. That alone would justify a price hike in my mind. The market dictates in that regard. Then along come PA costs, other things I mentioned......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭Mightydrumming

It sounds crazy to a normal Joe Soap but there are a lot more factors involved with weddings compared to a pub or club gig.

As it was touched on before in the thread - Most (or atleast some) pub/club venues around Ireland provide PA's and Lighting rigs. That takes a lot of the pressure and time setting up/lugging in gear etc...

For the weddings :

- In some cases, The band is requested by the Wedding Venue to have Public Liability (Like any business).

- Most Wedding Bands sit down with the couple on a few occasions prior to the big day to organise the setlist etc...

- Again, in a Wedding situation - the band would put in hours behind the scenes learning songs that are requested by the couple.

- The setlist for a wedding is not your normal 10:30 -12:30 it could be a 3 hour set in some cases.

- Getting into the Wedding scene is hard - it requires a lot of advertising, your Promo video, Website and traveling all around Ireland to play at showcases (For free!).

Then you have the maintaining of the gear, transport, accommodation, rehearsals, food, outfits etc...

Even at that, I have probably left out a good few things there. So it all boils down to 'what you get is what you pay for' :)