Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

renting a slatted shed

• 25-08-2015 12:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭

looking at renting a 3 bay slatted or dry bedded shed for the winter.

Probably be Nov - March time frame. Have my own silage

So what price would I be giving for a 2 or 3 bay shed? Where I supply labour, silage and spread slurry/dung for the 4 or 5 months

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

So what price would I be giving for a 2 or 3 bay shed? Where I supply labour, silage and spread slurry/dung for the 4 or 5 months
    I think rule of thumb was €400/bay for the winter, also you could have to pay to remove the slurry/FYM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭wiggy123

Farrell.. that's expensive

to me be less that that---depending on size of shed,etc...facilities!
    say under a €1000, for shed be good bucks..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭kingstown

Just enquiring -- if you rent the shed and move you cattle in for the winter, is that one move on the blue cards?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭IH784man

kingstown wrote: »
    Just enquiring -- if you rent the shed and move you cattle in for the winter, is that one move on the blue cards?

I don't think so if the cattle are still yours.

Thanks IH784MAN

So if you rent the shed and feed them yourself there isn't a move counted, if you move the stock off your own farm to a shed down the road.

But if you move the same stock into a shed on a B&B basis i.e. someone else feeds your cattle on a contract basis for the winter (even though you still own the cattle) Then that's counted as a move?
    Sorry for the questions but i am a little confused on this one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Thanks IH784MAN

So if you rent the shed and feed them yourself there isn't a move counted, if you move the stock off your own farm to a shed down the road.

But if you move the same stock into a shed on a B&B basis i.e. someone else feeds your cattle on a contract basis for the winter (even though you still own the cattle) Then that's counted as a move?
    Sorry for the questions but i am a little confused on this one.

You'd need to check with the dept ag, but I checked it out for someone two years ago and it was counted as two moves, ie one out and one in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭50HX

i think if you move them in for feedlot/grazing it doesn't count as a move on the cards as far as i know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭Panch18

rangler1 wrote: »
    You'd need to check with the dept ag, but I checked it out for someone two years ago and it was counted as two moves, ie one out and one in

Yeah i think you are right

Which is absolutely ridiculous. 2 moves on an animals Cards depending on who Feeds them for the winter - a joke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭Carrigogunnell

Panch18 wrote: »

Which is absolutely ridiculous. 2 moves on an animals Cards depending on who Feeds them for the winter - a joke

I did it last yr took in cows and weanling when they came into my herd it was 1 movement another another when they went back to the farmer it's a joke been honest not too bad for cows who are a few yrs old but for the younger cattle it's so stupid a bit of common sense is really needed here. The only way out of it is to not actually transfer them wrong but I'd say there are guys doing that. And also if ur annual herd test falls in this time period all those cattle have to be tested to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,448 ✭✭✭Charliebull

€500 per bay for a proper shed with crush and creep

2 moves in and out, if you go by the books

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭50HX

Panch18 wrote: »

when do the cards get stamped if you do it all thru agfood.ie or is it when you go to the mart that it shows up?

50HX wrote: »
    when do the cards get stamped if you do it all thru agfood.ie or is it when you go to the mart that it shows up?

you have to notify the department each time you're doing it and yes it can show up in the mart without it being on the card.
    You have to be careful when you're buying cattle farm to farm

I'm thinking of taking a slatted shed (renting) for it the winter, for about 120 cattle. I have 75 of my own now on grass and would be buying in 40 /45 weanling bullocks later in the backend to go straight in this shed.

The man that has the shed is a tillage farmer with no cattle of his own therefore no herd number, hasn't used it himself for over 15years and used to rent it out every year. Have to let him know this week if i'm going ahead.

I have a guy lined up to feed them with his digger / loader and my silage every day and throw out a couple of bags of nuts etc.

I dont think this would count as a move on the cards as i'm not moving them into another herd??

This set up would suit me as i dont get home from work until 7 / 7.30pm every evening and by the time i have something to eat and then tear into feeding cattle on a winters evening etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

this is my plan also

Just want a straight forward shed, not B&B arrangement.

Only my cattle in the shed, my silage, I feed and I remove the slurry

I'm thinking of taking a slatted shed (renting) for it the winter, for about 120 cattle. I have 75 of my own now on grass and would be buying in 40 /45 weanling bullocks later in the backend to go straight in this shed.

The man that has the shed is a tillage farmer with no cattle of his own therefore no herd number, hasn't used it himself for over 15years and used to rent it out every year. Have to let him know this week if i'm going ahead.

I have a guy lined up to feed them with his digger / loader and my silage every day and throw out a couple of bags of nuts etc.

I dont think this would count as a move on the cards as i'm not moving them into another herd??

This set up would suit me as i dont get home from work until 7 / 7.30pm every evening and by the time i have something to eat and then tear into feeding cattle on a winters evening etc...

I did it last yr took in cows and weanling when they came into my herd it was 1 movement another another when they went back to the farmer it's a joke been honest not too bad for cows who are a few yrs old but for the younger cattle it's so stupid a bit of common sense is really needed here. The only way out of it is to not actually transfer them wrong but I'd say there are guys doing that. And also if ur annual herd test falls in this time period all those cattle have to be tested to

Or if you get a cross compliance inspection and the cattle aren't on the land that you submitted on your maps...at least if you get a herd test you'll have a few days notice to get them home

as matter of interest why would you want to move them home for a herd test, vet wont care where he tests the cattle

Depends on the vet, but if he put a beast down in a shed where there was other herds, it'd be unlikely that he'd ignore them

This is where it can get messey say u take it cattle 2 different herds but go into ur herd number. My annual test is March one of them goes down wat happens. I've heard in cases of cows calving they can go back to original farm but he then is locked up wat happens on the case of the other farmer do u get me.

Wel that's it if u get inspected cattle in sheds no paper work or nothing for them wel then your fairly goosed.in my situation is actually be hoping to have majority of them gone away by the time of my test

ah right, two different herds, i was assuming only 1 owners cattle in rented shed

the other scenario is a disaster waiting to happen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭RD10

What's the going rate for renting a slated shed these days?

Looking at renting a two bay slated shed to house weanling heifers over the winter.

Anyone in the know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭Who2

around 14-1500 for a two bay shed around me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭lmk123

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭148multi

Between 500 to 700 per bay here, for what ever length with slurry spread

the winter usually depending on how long it lasts but usually allows for October to April. I know of one place they have to be out by a set date in March.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭Farm365

Is that just for the shed? No labour or fodder?

you’d be a fool to build a shed at those rates

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭RD10

Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

neighbour trying to charge me a grand a bay here. Shed only

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,965 ✭✭✭mr.stonewall

Ay the cost of a shed it makes it cheap.

The killer with renting sheds is the hidden additional costs of time getting to these, moving fodder and then the slurry. Unless these sheds are beside out blocks or extremely close, they stack up then. If there is other people's cattle in the shed it's tricky as it becomes a b+b and movements

Post edited by mr.stonewall on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭Dunedin

Agree that it would need to be close and handy for the farmer.

Would the biggest issue not be that the owner could change their mind at short notice and you’d be left with a bunch of stock and no shed for them.

I know what you mean but let’s say it costs €20k/ bay to build a shed, if you can get a shed for €500-€700 / bay even at the other end of the country it sounds cheap to me. I might send back the steel for my tank altogether and just rent a shed going forward

You won't regret the shed in your own yard. Is see lads all winter dragging bales here there and everywhere and at every hour of the day and night often one by one and with a tractor with one light. A lot of folk here are part time so time is precious.

Add the cap ex allowances into the equation and if you are on the higher tax rate, the revenue will pay half of it. That works out at now the shed and barriers depreciated over 7 years, but the tank and slats over 2 years. A bit of careful planning of a loan schedule to match the capex allowances and the accelerated capex would make it a cheap shed. And that before tams has been mentioned. If you can get tams it's a no brainer

Renting sheds on a year to year basis is only a stop gap measure until you can do something. The lifetime of a slatted shed will be ate away with inflation, but the cost of the rent will probably rise with inflation. Personally I would only rent a shed if I was stuck, it was very near and it didn't add much extra time to my day. I would sell some stock before really going that route

Post edited by mr.stonewall on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭Dunedin

ah ya I know, I was exaggerating, I just didn’t expect it to be so cheap to rent a shed, I’m building one at the moment, didn’t know about the 2 year depreciation for tank and slats so that’s good to know, as far as I can see my accountant doesn’t exactly make me any wiser about things, not the first time I’ve found out something I’d have expected him to tell me, time to go looking elsewhere I’d say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭Tileman

my accountant is the same . Not sure why I pay him. He never seems to be aware of any of these things when I ask him

Well There's one very cute lad here that built a slatted unit, he rents it out for 500 a bay. He keeps sheep him self and reckons the slurry is the cheapest fert he can get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,003 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

He is making the best of it but he won't be covering cost of the shed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭Tileman

well if he was that cute he would could easily buy a bit of slury from a few intensive dairy farmers without huge money being tied up in a shed he doesn’t use.

He's an ex dairy farmer with a good trade, a wife and young family, shed was well paid for before it was rented.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

It's like renting anything the first day value may seem cheap but ten years down the line you are still renting......and usually it's gone up by 50%

Slava Ukrainii

A two bay shed say @50k claim back the vat which will be about 6k draw 40% grant another 17.4k, leaving 26.6k to depreciate @ high tax rate. Net cost 13.3k. It's a nine year pay back @1500 in rental costs, but rent goes up

Give A shed a 40 year life span, it's 340 a year.and it's in your yard

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭tellmeabit

Would it be 50k for 2bay ?

ya and I think ypu would go a bit of a way on a three bay with 50k

Slava Ukrainii

a 2 bay would be an expensive shed to build for its size, the end walls of the tank and both ends of the building cost the same no matter how many bays long it is

I would agree entirely. Anytime I would be building a shed I be going 4 bay if possible. I say you would build a 5 bay for double the cost of a two bay if not less.

Post edited by Bass Reeves on

Slava Ukrainii

I’m dying to hear how that can be done bass.

That’s a bit more realistic.