Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Animal Cruelty Attack in Cork by Teens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

Sick fcuks, hope they rot in hell, little sh!ts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

Scummy C*unts!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Much more serious than these kids just being scumbags, whoever did this is a psychopath in the making.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Boring username

I keep posting a link that sums up the state of criminality in Ireland. The cold hard reality is that nothing is going to change until we, the public, demand it. Here is that post yet again:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=96193247&postcount=18

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭the_monkey

Awful.

This is what happens with benefit states that award people money for having kids, you have 1000s of unwanted little ****s that were never shown love, so they are sociopathic themselves.

These people should be paid NOT to have kids, you introduce that, next generation anti social behaviour will plummet.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,501 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

the_monkey wrote: »
    Awful.

This is what happens with benefit states that award people money for having kids, you have 1000s of unwanted little ****s that were never shown love, so they are sociopathic themselves.

These people should be paid NOT to have kids, you introduce that, next generation anti social behaviour will plummet.

Is this really necessary? These people in no way represent the unemployed.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭tobsey

Where is the evidence that this was a teenage gang?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

Oh look, we already have a completely ridiculous dole bashing post. Just waiting for the "why aren't we all giving out about *insert other random cause here*" posts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭petrolcan

There's more holes in that story than there are in my colander.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭testaccount123

I keep posting a link that sums up the state of criminality in Ireland. The cold hard reality is that nothing is going to change until we, the public, demand it. Here is that post yet again:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=96193247&postcount=18

Thats great mate, except it doesnt reduce crime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Antarctica wrote: »
    What is wrong with these evil people torturing an innocent animal. They and anyone associated with them should be sterilised and/or jailed for life/executed.

Best of luck with that.

I am all for punishing people appropriately, but let's not shriek "sterilise 'em" every time something does someone bad.

It's a bit...weird. As for executing them, come on, that's just silly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭superfurry1

Would love to hear a good news story for a change? maybe tommorrow, Local Teen kidnapped and tortured for animal cruelty would put a smile on my face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,729 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

Id like to suggest a few threads get re-titled.

Irishman Corkman treats Indian migrant to day out at Ferrari World in Abu Dhabi.

Teenagers castrate, torture and slit throat of dog in Cork Ireland

Thats great mate, except it doesnt reduce crime.

A revolving door prison system doesn't reduce crime, I agree with you there. If Johnny scumbag is doing 20 years without parole, he's not really going to have a chance to break into a pensioners house and beat them to a pulp.
    That's not to say you'll prevent all crime, but every low life you can get off the streets for a long time is a success.
    Most of the crime taking place is by repeat offenders, sometimes with convictions in the hundreds.
    And I'll bet my right nut the people who did this have multiple prior convictions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

I dunno, people really make me scratch my head...or in this case gag. Do they think animals dont feel physical pain? What do they get out of this? A thrill of seeing a defenseless animal in agony?

Fckin people.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 647 ✭✭✭RichardCeann

Poor oul Marvin. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,709 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

I am all for punishing people appropriately, but let's not shriek "sterilise 'em" every time something does someone bad.

It's a bit...weird. As for executing them, come on, that's just silly.

Yeah that probably is over the top.

Hard to argue with a punishment beating though isn't it? Let's face it, the justice system will neither phase nor discourage the type of people that carry out acts that appear on the spectrum of 'future serial killer'.

As my dear old Grandma used to say, "don't care was made to care".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭RomanKnows

Torturing animals in childhood is one of the early indicators of psychopathic behaviour.

Larbre34 wrote: »
    Hard to argue with a punishment beating though isn't it?

No.

The only forum for dealing with these people is the Courts.

You may disagree with some of the sentencing handed down, but that does not mean mob justice is good. I mean, if the person who did it was very calculating, should he get two broken legs, but if he suffers from some intellectual disability should he only get one, or none? Do you think mob rule actually addresses any nuances?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭testaccount123

A revolving door prison system doesn't reduce crime, I agree with you there. If Johnny scumbag is doing 20 years without parole, he's not really going to have a chance to break into a pensioners house and beat them to a pulp.
    That's not to say you'll prevent all crime, but every low life you can get off the streets for a long time is a success.
    Most of the crime taking place is by repeat offenders, sometimes with convictions in the hundreds.
    And I'll bet my right nut the people who did this have multiple prior convictions.
    They tried this in the US, it doesnt work. The have half the country in prison and crime is still rampant, much much higher than it is here.

Simplistic revenge based solutions dont work in the real world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

RomanKnows wrote: »
    Torturing animals in childhood is one of the early indicators of psychopathic behaviour.

These kids should be monitored by gardai for the foreseeable future

Yes, but it is only an indicator, it is not inevitable.

Hitler loved animals. It doesn't mean that liking a dog leads to trying to murder millions and taking over the world.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Awful.

Exactly.

And leave the Bertie aherns and Michael Lowry's walk around in there fancy suits untroubled.

But not a guarantee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

People who do this are scary, and their lack of empathy is a danger to the wider society they live in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

tobsey wrote: »
    Where is the evidence that this was a teenage gang?
    not evidence but found this.

EDIT: warning - picture of dog post attack in the link.
    http://www.herald.ie/news/family-in-despair-after-beloved-pet-dog-marvin-has-throat-slashed-31458129.html
    Gardai have previously investigated reports that two gangs are using dogs, including a greyhound, to hunt down and kill pet cats and terriers around Cork. Some areas of Cork have been left virtually cat-free because of the gangs' actions

No.

The only forum for dealing with these people is the Courts.

You may disagree with some of the sentencing handed down, but that does not mean mob justice is good. I mean, if the person who did it was very calculating, should he get two broken legs, but if he suffers from some intellectual disability should he only get one, or none? Do you think mob rule actually addresses any nuances?

Oh here we go, more hand-wringing nonsense.

If these kids had a couple of legs broken, I for one, wouldn't have a shred of pity for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭hytrogen

Awful.

http://journals.plos.org/plosone/article?id=10.1371/journal.pone.0132886

Sterilizing could be the key here if that's what you're implying.. 8-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

These kids should be monitored by gardai for the foreseeable future

They should be in prison anyway, so that will be easy enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭hytrogen

Larbre34 wrote: »
    Yeah that probably is over the top.

Hard to argue with a punishment beating though isn't it? Let's face it, the justice system will neither phase nor discourage the type of people that carry out acts that appear on the spectrum of 'future serial killer'.

As my dear old Grandma used to say, "don't care was made to care".

Bring back ye olde ways of public flogging & humiliation. That would send them on the right path

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Warning to any of those following rubadub's link: it has a picture of the dog post-attack.

In fairness, there is no concrete links, so far, to this being the work of teenagers. "Locals suspect" and "Gardai have investigated reports of gangs" doesn't make it true. If it was "Gardai suspect" and "Gardai have warned about gangs targeting animals" than there'd be a bit more to it.

This could be the work of anyone and some posters have used the headline to already have a go at their favourite targets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Cormac... wrote: »
    If these kids had a couple of legs broken, I for one, wouldn't have a shred of pity for them.
    I wouldn't pity them either, tbh.

However, encouraging a culture of vigilantism is not the way to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 eire81

The law is never going to sort these type of scumbags out.the reality is that these type of psychopaths will continue to reoffend.They have no fear of the judicial system or going to jail.the simple fact is that they only understand violence and I agree a punishment beating/kneecapping would soon teach these b#stards some respect.

They tried this in the US, it doesnt work. The have half the country in prison and crime is still rampant, much much higher than it is here.

Simplistic revenge based solutions dont work in the real world.

The US is a different country, with massive gun crime, different laws, and a huge problem with gang criminality. The US was also the target of Castro's crime waves, where he shipped Cuba's undesirables to the US mainland to wreak havoc.

So it's not quite fair to compare the two. Apples and oranges...

Oh here we go, more hand-wringing nonsense.

So you would rule out any plea for mitigation based on severe or profound intellectual disability as "hand wringing nonsense"?

I wouldn't. It should be assessed, and the Court is the only place to do so, not some baying mob on the doorstep. Vigilantes have often beaten and even killed those with intellectual disabilities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

Do they know who it was?

If so why aren't they arrested and if not, why are they reporting it as teenagers as is that's a fact?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Disgusting.....what exactly were these people hoping to achieve.

Any person that does this kind is clearly disturbed and needs psychiatric help.

Do they know who it was?

My guess is no. The reports are vague to say the least.
    why are they reporting it as teenagers as is that's a fact?

Sensationalist headlines. They also report that the dog had 'his head was half cut off' when the picture posted show otherwise.

I believe there's more to this story not being told.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Faith+1

Only last month I had to have my Jack Russell put down (old age). I was heartbroken and to see what these evil b*stards have done just bewilders me.

Scary to think there's people like that in todays society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,267 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

First post about a dog being brutally killed. Sixth post about incentivised sterilisation of unemployed people.

After Hours, you never fail to disappoint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

I would love to know what Mayfield's famous son and dog lover Roy Keane makes of this.Reward of €5,000 now for any info.Rumours are that it was kids/teenagers.Hopefully one of the fcukers will let slip.

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/reward-of-5-000-offered-to-find-killers-of-dog-in-cork-1.2320679

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

If they're caught? Suspended sentences all around. Can almost guarantee it.

Animal torture should carry mandatory jail time, as should several other categories of offence.

So you would rule out any plea for mitigation based on severe or profound intellectual disability as "hand wringing nonsense"?

I wouldn't. It should be assessed, and the Court is the only place to do so, not some baying mob on the doorstep. Vigilantes have often beaten and even killed those with intellectual disabilities.

What are you even on about?

These echo-chamber statements hold no water at all as it's merely you talking about Intellect Disabilities (For whatever reason, I don't know)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Ace Attorney

:mad: Absolute scum! i hate the thoughts of a poor defenceless animal being harmed. Poor little fella , I hope they get caught and get a lengthy jail sentence.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 436 ✭✭Old Jakey

Honestly these people should get a bullet in the back of the head.

What are you even on about?

These echo-chamber statements hold no water at all as it's merely you talking about Intellect Disabilities (For whatever reason, I don't know)

You can't follow the issue?

It was pretty straightforward. Someone was going on about beating the perps. I pointed out that mob justice can overlook matters, for example if the perp had some intellectual disability (still with this?). I pointed out that frequently in the past people with questions over their ability to form the intent to do wrong were targetted by vigilantes and Court is the only forum to assess such matters.

Not sure how you didn't get the reason before, but now you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Absolute cuunts.

I hope they are caught, jailed, and banned from ever having pets. I wouldn't ever trust these fckups with a child either.

You can't follow the issue?

It was pretty straightforward. Someone was going on about beating the perps. I pointed out that mob justice can overlook matters, for example if the perp had some intellectual disability (still with this?). I pointed out that frequently in the past people with questions over their ability to form the intent to do wrong were targetted by vigilantes and Court is the only forum to assess such matters.

Not sure how you didn't get the reason before, but now you know.

Dunno what your obsession with bringing Intellectually Disabled people into this is, no one else is discussing it, just you, you keep bringing it up.

Women were burned at the stake by mobs for being witches in the past, and they even had a court case/trial. - shock horror, nothing vigilante about it

Why don't we start saying theres nothing wrong with this cause the ole Aztecs used to slit many animals throats back in the day to appease their sun-gods or whatever

You're talking garbage in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

The US was also the target of Castro's crime waves, where he shipped Cuba's undesirables to the US mainland to wreak havoc.

LOL