Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Blur vs. Oasis - 20 Years Ago Today!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

I was there - it was hell man! No one stood a chance.

Of course while Blue won the battle Oasis won the war.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

And in Blur's case, worst...video...ever!

Except for yer wan in the yellow top...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 929 ✭✭✭whatawaster81

It was great how Blue nipped in and won. Duncan James what a talent!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭The Golden Miller

Listening to Blurs Parklife really brings back that 90's nostalgic feeling more so than any other record of the time in my opinion. For me, defined the era and sound most bands were going for at the time. Although I was in the Oasis camp at the time. If nothing else, at least that "battle" put proper bands back in the limelight and got rid of the nirvana gunge nonsense and pop ****e bands like east 17

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

"Oasis or Blur Dougal?"

"Blur"

"WHAAAAAA?!?!"

"Oasis, I mean Oasis!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

It was great how Blue nipped in and won. Duncan James what a talent!

Don't mind me - I was cheering for The Divine Comedy anyway!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

I'll have No.5 over both of 'em.
    I seen a rainbow yesterday
    But too many storms have come and gone
    Leavin' a trace of not one God-given ray

Is it because my life is ten shades of gray, I pray all ten fade away
    I seldom praise Him for the sunny days
    And like His promise is true only my faith can undo
    The many chances I blew To bring my life to anew
    Clear blue and unconditional skies have dried the tears from my eyes
    No more lonely cries..

My only bleedin' hope is for the folk who can't cope
    With such an endurin' pain that it keeps 'em in the pourin' rain
    Who's to blame for tootin' 'caine into your own vein
    What a shame you shoot and aim for someone else's brain
    You claim the insane and name this day in time
    For fallin' prey to crime

I say the system got you victim to your own mind
    Dreams are hopeless aspirations
    In hopes of comin' true
    Believe in yourself
    The rest is up to me and you

Don't go chasing waterfalls..

Peace to my sister Lisa Left-Eye Lopes. One love homie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

They were both pretty good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,732 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Roll on Electric Picnic, enough said. :D

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Thats debatable! I'd rather listen to blur than oasis now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

No he meant Blue!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

The won the album war anyway, What's the Story ending up outselling the Great Escape album by 5,000,000 units worldwide.

I was too young to be in a camp, but I was introduced to both by my parents, my Dad had Oasis albums and I remember my Mum having a Blur tape in the car. So I ended up liking both and really got into them in my teens about ten years after both were at their peak.

I vividly remember the hype around the Be Here Now album being released in 97 and my Dad pre booking it in the local music store.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

They both had their moments. Oasis with liam on vocals had the raw balls and I would rather have gone to an oasis gig at their hight than a blur gig at their hight. I think Blur had the edge in finesse, musicality and sometimes, lyrically.

"Do you feel like a chain store - practically floored"

Come on, that's good writing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,050 ✭✭✭nokia69

They won, of course - 'Country House' selling 274,000 copies, whilst 'Roll With It' sold 216,000.

Blur were selling two different versions of country house so in effect most of their fans bought 2 singles instead of one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

I voted in the other thread for 1995 as the year that music died and here we have the proof!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,821 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

They were both pretty good.

They both dreadful. The bands were crap too.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Remember at the height of the blur v oasis hype, I was in a restaurant one evening in Manchester, and after enquiring about the evenings specials, I was told oasis soup was the soup of the day.

When I asked the waiter what it came with, he said "you get a roll with it".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭Vinculus

I saw blur in Mcgonagles before they released their first album and they were heavy. At that time they were more like a punk group and Damian didn't bother his arse with a microphone, he screamed into a loud speaker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

whiskeyman wrote: »
    Except for yer wan in the yellow top...

And jo guest in the nurses uniform.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭TheLastMohican

Oasis everytime. Pity they stopped jelling. That Patsy effing Kensit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Filmer Paradise

Oasis everytime. Pity they stopped jelling. That Patsy effing Kensit!

Was that like Yoko with the Beatles?

Ah fook it anyway. I can't believe that this happened 20 years ago!

Crap. I'm gettin old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭shane9689

Two cr ap bands making cr ap music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Listening to Blurs Parklife really brings back that 90's nostalgic feeling more so than any other record of the time in my opinion. For me, defined the era and sound most bands were going for at the time. Although I was in the Oasis camp at the time. If nothing else, at least that "battle" put proper bands back in the limelight and got rid of the nirvana gunge nonsense and pop ****e bands like east 17
    Best band of the nineties...

Anyway, loved Blur and Oasis as a teen/young adult...and still love Blur.

Oasis' music has aged terribly...like, really badly...they got away with the basic chords and childish lyrics at the time as it was Oasismania...they could do wrong...British working class heroes and all that. And it had mass appeal, even the druggy raving types liked it. But it's a chore to listen to most of their stuff now.

Three decent albums...then they fell off a cliff. Even letting Liam write songs...Jesus.

Blur, on the other hand, started off dodgy, then just got better and better... Some gems on the new album, even in 2015.

People used to say "Blur won the battle but Oasis won the war"...not true any more really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,050 ✭✭✭nokia69

KungPao wrote: »
    Best band of the nineties...

can you be best band of the 90s with just two albums

They both had their moments. Oasis with liam on vocals had the raw balls and I would rather have gone to an oasis gig at their hight than a blur gig at their hight. I think Blur had the edge in finesse, musicality and sometimes, lyrically.

"Do you feel like a chain store - practically floored"

Come on, that's good writing.

They'd want to.

Oasis lyrics were often utter utter nonsense. What is a a wonderwall? What's a champagne supernova landsliding in the sky like? Why does anyone need more time because of a blister?

They just threw words at a page.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

They'd want to.

Oasis lyrics were often utter utter nonsense. What is a a wonderwall? What's a champagne supernova landsliding in the sky like? Why does anyone need more time because of a blister?

They just threw words at a page.
    Ya.

I feel cheated now listening to Oasis stuff. I'm not some twat to wants all songs to like, blow my mind, maaan. But stupid ****e about Alka Seltzer and being on a supersonic train is just terrible.

I like stuff that either tells a story ( a lot of blur stuff) or has interesting lyrics (like Nirvana, Radiohead for example).

Ya.

I feel cheated now listening to Oasis stuff. I'm not some twat to wants all songs to like, blow my mind, maaan. But stupid ****e about Alka Seltzer and being on a supersonic train is just terrible.

I like stuff that either tells a story ( a lot of blur stuff) or has interesting lyrics (like Nirvana, Radiohead for example).

To be honest, I don't care about lyrics at all. I could listen to the Aphex Twin or Boards of Canada all day.

But the idea that Oasis wrote great lyrics always struck me as just so obviously false. They really got away with it.

Ya.

That was early stuff though, Supersonic was Noely trashing around writing stuff between working with his Dad on the building sites and doing roadie for the Inspiral Carpets. It was the melody and song which mattered not the lyrics. Like the way the Beatles used to laugh at the arsehole Oxbridge 'Arts' professor losers trying to take meaning from their intentional nonsensical lines. The only purpose they served was to rhyme.

Like the Beatles though I thought Noel's lyrics got more insightful as he aged and matured as a songwriter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,900 ✭✭✭RayCon

Vinculus wrote: »
    I saw blur in Mcgonagles before they released their first album and they were heavy. At that time they were more like a punk group and Damian didn't bother his arse with a microphone, he screamed into a loud speaker.

I was at that ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

nokia69 wrote: »
    can you be best band of the 90s with just two albums

Who that's been mentioned had just two albums?

Nirvana?

Presume as in studio albums, as oppose to Unplugged...

Nirvana?

Presume as in studio albums, as oppose to Unplugged...

You're forgetting their first studio album Bleach in 1989 released on the subpop label. They had three studio albums in total. Incesticide was a b side collection, unplugged and the other live albums and greatest hits came after.

I'm not.

You're forgetting that 1989 was not in the 90s...;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,605 ✭✭✭✭blade1

I remember some friends going to see Sonic Youth with Nirvana supporting them in Sir Henry's(before the rave science) and me telling them I wouldn't go to see that shîte!
    Much preferred my Slayer and stuff back then.

Btw my favourite place for gigs was McGonigle's, also had good times in the Top Hat in Dun Laoghaire!
    The good old days!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 360 ✭✭The Dogs Bollix

Wasn't Garth Brooks big in the 90s. Where does he come into this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Blur were always far superior to Oasis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭Chain Smoker

Wasn't Garth Brooks big in the 90s. Where does he come into this.
    He was pretty much making more money than everyone else combined, but in a completely boring* way that didn't make an engrossing news story (compilation albums charting high in the US for years, constant radio play, filling up stadiums bigger than anyone else would've managed at the time with no band members to split the big money with).

* with the exception of that weird alt-rock alter ego thing he done, I mean, it sucked too, but what on earth was he at there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭happytramp

Not in the long run though. Blur have been far more influential on the musical landscape of the last decade than oasis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

On this day, 20 years ago! :eek: :eek: :eek:

Blur and Oasis went head-to-head in the UK singles chart with 'Country House' and 'Roll With It'. Hardly the best songs in either band's catalogue!

And in Blur's case, worst...video...ever!

They won, of course - 'Country House' selling 274,000 copies, whilst 'Roll With It' sold 216,000.

Directed by Damien Hirst, strangely enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭fatknacker

I liked both, omg!

Oasis were good for the oul singalong but blur come out as the winner in the longrun. Their songs were more creative and experimental, Oasis sort of dried up after producing the same sort of thing over and over. Although I don't think anyone can doubt Noel Gallagher had tremendous influence on a generation and will go down as one of the UK's most talented artists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

I liked both of them. Slightly preferred Oasis back then but I think Blur aged better.

Oasis became a bit cringe after the turn of the century. The music was dreadful and Liam Gallagher stated to bring out some cheesy clothing.

The Gallagher brothers individual bands were a bit pants too and Noel Gallaghers songwriting became as if he was taking the piss out of people. That "What A Life" song is dreadful.

Blur aged much better. They went away for a while, did their own things and came back. Oasis just struggled along getting worse.

If Oasis were playing a gig and I got free tickets. I would enjoy the concert but I'd probably be a bit morto to be going to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

Oasis were crap after Morning Glory imo. So that's about two years of being good. But they were great - and I preferred them to Blur at the time. Didnt like The Great Escape era Blur at all. Ultimately though, Blur are the better band by miles. I like Noel a lot however. Seems good craic. And some of his solo stuff isn't bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

I like Noel a lot however. Seems good craic. And some of his solo stuff isn't bad.

His "The Ballad of the Mighty I" is one of the best songs I've heard in a long time. However I find his solo stuff is either really good or really bad, no inbetween. Too many songs like Oasis "The Importance of Being Idle" which was absolutely awful imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,762 ✭✭✭The Golden Miller

Vinculus wrote: »

Ye I always find it funny when the media tried to portray Blur as this soft pop band for toffs, yet live they were very very heavy for a long time in the early days, and Damon Albarn was off the rails during that period, jumping around and rolling and just falling all over the place pissed for a whole gig while hardly even singing. Like a monkey on acid. This is a funny video

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

I think there are some fantastic songs from Blurs newest album and overall their song range/diversity is far superior to that of Oasis. With that said I do think Oasis first two albums individually are better than Blurs greatest hits which would make Oasis the better band imo.

Oasis playing live was a pretty ferocious experience too that gives them the edge over Blur. They just became somewhat stale as a live act in their later years as they grew further and further away from their best material. I'd prefer to see Blur live in concert today but that shouldn't take away from Oasis legacy that their best was better than Blurs best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea

still love listening to oasis and belting out the songs in liams accent, drunk. :P
    i love blur too, listening to them now actually, prep for ep! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 314 ✭✭ON ZEE BRIDLE

as always a grunger,oasis are ****e,first album is ok though