Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wedding DJ or not?

• 12-08-2015 4:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33

Hi,looking for some advice on this topic with people from experience please. I have a band sorted for my wedding but I'm not overly keen on getting a DJ as I've never enjoyed any at the weddings I've been at. My wedding is quite small with a max count of 60 people so I'm thinking of making a playlist. What are peoples thoughts on this? I have PA system available from a professional which includes uplighting. I plan on using spotify to design a playlist and my guests have been giving me input on what they would like to hear. My only concern is the lack of "DJ buzz" that comes along with a good DJ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭kandr10

I was at a wedding where the couple did this and it worked out fine, despite a few technical glitches with equipment (not a professional setup). You might not have as many people up dancing as with a dj but I don't think that matters for a wedding of that size. At the wedding I was at, people were happier just chatting and mingling so I don't think anyone noticed. Unless you think a large portion of your guests are big into it, I wouldn't bother if it's not your thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,658 ✭✭✭Milly33

I think youll be fine, we were at two weddings that had just the laptop running. With a pre made set list. One of them himself done and he had songs kinda of running into eachother so there was no gap, the other was just a small gap in between songs but I am talking seconds.. And they were both great,we never got off the dance floor and we aren't dancers.

We are doing the same with the tunes around the castle using Spotify. It is very handie as if anything goes askew you can control it by your phone...

For the DJ experience or ambiance ye have the PA so that is sorted. Would ye think of a fog machine or anything. You can buy these in Halfords and they are great. Or I have one if you wanted to borrow it for a bottle of wine... The lighting then you are fine as the uplighters would suit or these little lights are great http://shopping.rediff.com/product/360-degree-rotating-led-disco-bulb-light/12707466 this is just a random link but you can get them on Ali Express for a few euro.. Just watch the connection, but you can also buy these in any home store for a few euro....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,771 ✭✭✭✭fits

We got our mate from the band to dj. It was great, the children danced the night away, they are at a really great age right now. He played a great selection too. So i would recommend having one anyway.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭sasta le

From working in the industry id say pay out for a dj.Now dont get ripped off with very high prices or too low prices.Plenty of djs from 200 to 300 for 3 hours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,749 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

For the fun of it stick up a cardboard cut out of a dj. It's a bit out there but I think it would be funny! And I guarantee it would get people up!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭sasta le

For the fun of it stick up a cardboard cut out of a dj. It's a bit out there but I think it would be funny! And I guarantee it would get people up!

That is funny

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭Preset No.3

I will also comment on the fact that I am a DJ.

I hate the fact that you mist have seen some amount of crap DJs in the past that have you thinking like this. It is true that are some really bad DJs out there, just like really bad bands.

For the amount of money that you will spend on your day, pay the extra few quid and get a really good dj to round off the night. Do the research and get a professional. Look for their website and social media. Ask them piles of questions and tell them exactly what you like and don't like.

Tonight for instance I was here at the same time as the band, got set up and will go on after the band. My rig cost me about €9k but it shows in what I do. I will always be looking at the crowd noticing that type of music that this crowd is into and change accordingly. A good DJ would know how to do this and be able to read the crowd. Unlike other DJs who will rock up 30 mins before they are due to start, set up a pair of speakers bought in maplin, lights too and play the music they like because thats all they have.

Either way, do all the research before your big day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 902 ✭✭✭lainey316

weddings I have been at with playlists have ended up with very few people dancing, however that might have been because in some cases bride chose the music she wanted (fair, it is her wedding) not what the crowd wanted to hear so it was kind of stop / start, you'd be up to one song and the next would be totally different speed / genre, it's the main thing I remember of that wedding tbh, was happy to go away home early. If you make a few playlists and choose the right one for the time (and stick to it, not change when you want to hear something else if the crowd is into the current playlist) with a good flow to it and thinking of your friends, it should be ok. If people have been having a great time dancing to the band then they'll want to keep dancing.

The DJs bands supply are often crap too (ETA in the weddings I've been to, I'm sure some are great), I've had much better fun at weddings where the DJ was a separate, researched hire. Preferably limited talking as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭clint_silver

lainey316 wrote: »
    weddings I have been at with playlists have ended up with very few people dancing, however that might have been because in some cases bride chose the music she wanted (fair, it is her wedding) not what the crowd wanted to hear so it was kind of stop / start, you'd be up to one song and the next would be totally different speed / genre, it's the main thing I remember of that wedding tbh, was happy to go away home early. If you make a few playlists and choose the right one for the time (and stick to it, not change when you want to hear something else if the crowd is into the current playlist) with a good flow to it and thinking of your friends, it should be ok. If people have been having a great time dancing to the band then they'll want to keep dancing.

If creating your own, try stick to 20 minute genre playlists. you can repeat genres later on, but 20 minutes is usually a good rule of thumb
    The DJs bands supply are often crap too (ETA in the weddings I've been to, I'm sure some are great), I've had much better fun at weddings where the DJ was a separate, researched hire. Preferably limited talking as well.

Hire DJs are often crap too. Do homework. go and view. View early, view often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

If I was doing it again I wouldn't bother with a dj. We had one after the band finished at about 12 midnight and our venue closed at 2am so we'd have been happy enough to wrap things up by just having a few drinks and heading home, we went to our house on the night. It was fun having the dj but I wouldn't have missed it, especially at a smaller wedding.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭Preset No.3

Plenty of couples that I have dealt with have told be that if they were going to do it again, they wouldnt bother with a band. I suppose some people have seen so many really bad bands that they all get tarred with the same brush. Of course I am biased, but I just dont see the point in paying all that money for a band to come on and murder the classics. One band I worked with recently looked so bored going through the same set they always use. At least with a DJ he can change the genre all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

Our band was great. I just wouldn't have bothered extending the entertainment after them and wouldn't have felt we missed out if we'd had a couple of hours chatting before heading off instead of dancing. The dj was actually really good, it just wasn't necessary.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 214 ✭✭Smartguy

We had a dj but no band for a wedding of 65 people. The floor was full all night and the dj really worked the audience. It worked out a lot cheaper also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Smartguy wrote: »
    We had a dj but no band for a wedding of 65 people. The floor was full all night and the dj really worked the audience. It worked out a lot cheaper also.

Similar here for around 75.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,797 ✭✭✭sweetie

As a dj I much prefer doing a full 4/5hr wedding than a 90min - 2hr afters especially when many afters sets get reduced due to delays throughout the day. Fitting a specific amount of client requests into 5hrs is much easier and continuity of the set is better. Guest requests can be easier accomodated and more genres covered. In saying that I love live music too and a really good, tight wedding band is hard to touch. It all comes down to budget in the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 KimBlaides

All this has been great advice. Thanks so much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Hrududu

KimBlaides wrote: »
    All this has been great advice. Thanks so much

I've been to two weddings where there was no band or dj, just a playlist. Everybody danced and had fun. If people missed the band/dj they didn't say. Though I'd say picking the playlist was some craic/stress

• Closed Accounts Posts: 279 ✭✭umop apisdn

KimBlaides wrote: »
    Hi,looking for some advice on this topic with people from experience please. I have a band sorted for my wedding but I'm not overly keen on getting a DJ as I've never enjoyed any at the weddings I've been at. My wedding is quite small with a max count of 60 people so I'm thinking of making a playlist. What are peoples thoughts on this? I have PA system available from a professional which includes uplighting. I plan on using spotify to design a playlist and my guests have been giving me input on what they would like to hear. My only concern is the lack of "DJ buzz" that comes along with a good DJ.

I'm sure you've seen one or two bad chefs as well, are you going to run around doing you're own cooking on the day as well ? Bad idea.