Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Backdating tax...

• 12-08-2015 6:41am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭

Last week I spent a nice bit taxing the car and backdating it two months, my own fault. It came up in conversation with the lads about 'selling' a car if you wanted to get around backdating tax, and buying it back when taxed then. He was convinced this worked, we were not so sure. I remember it being mentioned here before but couldn't find the thread.
    It can't be a simple as what he said?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,806 ✭✭✭GerardKeating

Last week I spent a nice bit taxing the car and backdating it two months, my own fault. It came up in conversation with the lads about 'selling' a car if you wanted to get around backdating tax, and buying it back when taxed then. He was convinced this worked, we were not so sure. I remember it being mentioned here before but couldn't find the thread.

Tax evasion is sometimes simple, but always a crime..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Can't see how that would work. It's the car that matters not the number of owners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,406 ✭✭✭sjb25

It works yes
    iv done it owed 4 months + the 6 months I was going to tax it for so I filled out the log book in my girlfriends name sent it off to Shannon so I "sold" it to her she then owned the car got log book back I then just taxed it at this point for just 6 months

she then filled it out in my name again sent it to Shannon again so "sold" it back to me and I got the log book back again a week or so later job done

yes not right etc etc and you shouldn't do it etc but hey I saved four months tax

Can't see how that would work. It's the car that matters not the number of owners.

As iv said it works you only owe tax on a car from the date of sale so if you "sell"your car today and "buy" it again tommorow you only owe tax from tommorow weather you owe ten years tax it don't matter yes it's dishonest but it works cause iv done it

sjb25 wrote: »
    It works yes
    iv done it owed 4 months + the 6 months I was going to tax it for so I filled out the log book in my girlfriends name sent it off to Shannon so I "sold" it to her she then owned the car got log book back I then just taxed it at this point for just 6 months

she then filled it out in my name again sent it to Shannon again so "sold" it back to me and I got the log book back again a week or so later job done

yes not right etc etc and you shouldn't do it etc but hey I saved four months tax

Wow! Any harm in asking how ye spent the four months tax that ye saved?

Went into the holiday fund :)

The only problem with it is the car would now have an "extra" owner now listed on the log book so if you go to sell it so if you have a newish car you mite not want that but my car 03 so really don't matter il be driving it into the scrappy when it gives up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

Filled the car with petrol and a snack box on the way home...

Aw shucks, what part of Ibiza are ye going to?

Filled the car with petrol and a snack box on the way home...

My car is diesel so I didn't do that 1.9 diesel to be exact so I saved the guts of €200 if I remember right was last year I did it so can't remember ha

Been taxed up to date since also :)

Aw shucks, what part of Ibiza are ye going to?

I'm gone to old got Ibiza Salou maybe :)

Maybe Costa Del Sol? A lot of criminals spend time out there.

Lol :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Tax evasion is sometimes simple, but always a crime..

Tax avoidance though is 100 percent legal.
    This is about the only tax avoidance scheme available to the man on the street. These schemes are usually only available for the big guys so I wouldn't have any issues with people doing this.

Having said that, I've never driven my car without tax so it wouldn't apply but if I drove a thousand euro car that cost 1809 to tax, I think the logbook might be spending more time in the post than at home.

mickdw wrote: »
    This is about the only tax avoidance scheme available to the man on the street. These schemes are usually only available for the big guys so I wouldn't have any issues with people doing this.

Having said that, I've never driven my car without tax so it wouldn't apply but if I drove a thousand euro car that cost 1809 to tax, I think the logbook might be spending more time in the post than at home.

Exactly lol I'm tempted to do it again only I do a lot of driving so don't like driving with no tax ha but hey it worked out well the last time nice few euros saved

mickdw wrote: »

Still, I think being dishonest is a bit like being pregnant, you can't be just a little bit pregnant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Exactly lol I'm tempted to do it again only I do a lot of driving so don't like driving with no tax ha but hey it worked out well the last time nice few euros saved
    Be more the insurance situation I'd be worried about if you just kept driving away as if it was your car in the few weeks that it wasn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

Still, I think being dishonest is a bit like being pregnant, you can't be just a little bit pregnant.

But there is no case of tax avoidance.
    There is no law in this country requiring every vehicle to be taxed. Vehicles only need to be taxed when used in public places.
    So if vehicle is not being used then you can either declare it off the road or not - its up to you.
    I you decide not to declare it off the road and not tax it, then its perfectly fine to do provided you don't use it.
    No areas are due just because you didn't tax it.
    Arrears only might become due when you decide to tax it in the future.
    If you sell it though without taxing then no arrears are due, so there is no case of tax avoidance or evasion.

CiniO wrote: »
    But there is no case of tax avoidance.
    There is no law in this country requiring every vehicle to be taxed. Vehicles only need to be taxed when used in public places.
    So if vehicle is not being used then you can either declare it off the road or not - its up to you.
    I you decide not to declare it off the road and not tax it, then its perfectly fine to do provided you don't use it.
    If you sell it though without taxing then no arrears are due, so there is no case of tax avoidance or evasion.

But there is a law in this country requiring every vehicle to be taxed if its being driven on the road.The car was never off the road. Himself and his girlfriend bought and sold the car to each other, although why you would want to add another 'new' owner to the cars history I don't know.Straight away it reduces the value of the car.

I agree with you I even said it in one of my posts But if the car like mine is of very little value anyway and I intend to drive it till I scrap it don't matter then really but yes if I had a newer car I wouldn't like to do it as quick for sure

Also yes I broke the law not taxing the car I had other thing I had to pay and I decided I'd chance it anyway.... Once I had the money I was faced with backtaxing or not so I chose to not and did what I did and iv taxed the thing on time ever since not saying what I did was correct it was not at all

OP asked could it be done and the answer is yes it can

would I do it again........ Yep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Be more the insurance situation I'd be worried about if you just kept driving away as if it was your car in the few weeks that it wasn't.

If fully Comp he would most likely be covered with driving other cars when it was in the other persons name.
    CiniO wrote: »

Exactly I have a Project car in the driveway at home that hasn't been taxed or declared off road for a year and half, its in the wifes name,when its finished and ready for the road i'll change it into mine and tax it then.

The Muppet wrote: »
    If fully Comp he would most likely be covered with driving other cars when it was in the other persons name.

Exactly I have a Project car in the driveway at home that hasn't been taxed or declared off road for a year and half, its in the wifes name,when its finished and ready for the road i'll change it into mine and tax it then.

I have fully comp and can drive other cars yes but I'd only be third party on the other car so I can see the point he was trying to make

I agree with you I even said it in one of my posts But if the car like mine is of very little value anyway and I intend to drive it till I scrap it don't matter then really but yes if I had a newer car I wouldn't like to do it as quick for sure

Also yes I broke the law not taxing the car I had other thing I had to pay and I decided I'd chance it anyway.... Once I had the money I was faced with backtaxing or not so I chose to not and did what I did and iv taxed the thing on time ever since not saying what I did was correct it was not at all

OP asked could it be done and the answer is yes it can

would I do it again........ Yep

Well if your girlfriend is OK with you being dishonest and you are OK with her being dishonest then everything is cool, ye seem to be well matched.

I have fully comp and can drive other cars yes but I'd only be third party on the other car so I can see the point he was trying to make
    There are various conditions on that third party extension, ranging from no conditons to "must not be registered to someone living with you". Worth double checking your documents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Well if your girlfriend is OK with you being dishonest and you are OK with her being dishonest then everything is cool, ye seem to be well matched.

Dude relax, he is paying tax now. It is not morally wrong what he did, he exploited a loop hole, good for him. I am paying 1080 euro tax a year, thats the real crime.

Thanks for you're blessing :)

Dude relax, he is paying tax now. It is not morally wrong what he did, he exploited a loop hole, good for him. I am paying 1080 euro tax a year, thats the real crime.

Tell me about it it's a joke

There are various conditions on that third party extension, ranging from no conditons to "must not be registered to someone living with you". Worth double checking your documents.

If Mine does say that she wasn't living with me at the time different address look it's done now anyway and unless like last time I can't afford it it won't happen again but yes you are right people would want to check that out

I didn't say it was morally wrong, just dishonest. You are paying 1080 tax because you chose a car that is rated for that amount, your choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Which insurance company has the "must not be registered to someone living with you" clause?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 287 ✭✭NeverWaining

Given how it irks you when the small man tries to do best with his finances, it must absolutely destroy you how the rich and richer get to the top and keep at the top? Does it?

Or maybe your high horse is not a very very high horse and just a standard high horse, just higher than the common man? How high is your high horse realdanbreen?

Given how it irks you when the small man tries to do best with his finances, it must absolutely destroy you how the rich and richer get to the top and keep at the top? Does it?

Or maybe your high horse is not a very very high horse and just a standard high horse, just higher than the common man? How high is your high horse realdanbreen?

Only a 1ltr horse for cheap tax

Classic 'whataboutery' . Typical, 'i'm not paying because ,blah bl;ah blah....

I presume you're just an average man realdanbreen? The horse doesn't suit you at all. The kids are pointing and asking "Who's the silly man on the high horse and does he really think that arguing with others makes his horse grow higher?" Silly kids.

???, You are sober right?

Very sober dan. Let's not get started on those drunks eh?

The Muppet wrote: »
    Which insurance company has the "must not be registered to someone living with you" clause?
    Only heard it on here tbh. But yeah, considering this covers seems to have a million urban myths attached to it - maybe it was just someone paraphrasing the "does not belong to your spouse/partner" condition that some insurers apply.