Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tor & The Deep Dark Wet Web

• 11-08-2015 2:48pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭

No not the god Thor the web browser Tor.

I was watching a vid on y/t the other day & this guy was basically giving a tutorial on how to use it & some names of sites not links to them & what they do.

Anyway there was one site in particular I thought it was pretty mad,. He didn't go into site but showed the sites front page, it was a site were you can illegally by guns & other weapons & stuff like that, he even said he came across hand grenades & small bombs before.

So as I'm too scared to go on these sites I was wondering has anybody browsed (not purchased anything) any of these weapons sites & come across anything real mad like an Atomic Bomb or something for sale or something like that?

And if not just a nice story about some other strange stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Can you say whatever you like about DOB there?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭DarkyHughes

Nah it's not as disturbing as AH.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Anyway there was one site in particular I thought it was pretty mad,. He didn't go into site but showed the sites front page

So he went into the site then...

No not the god Thor the web browser Tor.

I was watching a vid on y/t the other day & this guy was basically giving a tutorial on how to use it & some names of sites not links to them & what they do.

Anyway there was one site in particular I thought it was pretty mad,. He didn't go into site but showed the sites front page, it was a site were you can illegally by guns & other weapons & stuff like that, he even said he came across hand grenades & small bombs before.

So as I'm too scared to go on these sites I was wondering has anybody browsed (not purchased anything) any of these weapons sites & come across anything real mad like an Atomic Bomb or something for sale or something like that?

I used to buy some things on SilkRoad. I saw some mad stuff on it at the start like cyanide and stuff, not quite an atomic bomb but still not what you want to see for sale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

I bought a used birthday suit on silkroad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

I've bought stuff on silk road before. Just LSD, because it's impossible to get good stuff here.

The joke of it is that the dealers on SR are probably worth millions now. At one point bitcoin was at €1.20 per coin, it's peak was around €1000. These guys were making a ton on money before bitcoin went wild. I would say there are easily guys with 20-30 million from SR.

What I don't like about it is the ease you can get to pedofile site. There is this site called the hidden wiki which actually has a list of pedo sites you can access along with a status of each of them. The FBI are clamping down, but the content still exists and when one site goes down, two take it's place.

I do like the anonymity of TOR, I route all my torrent traffic through it so my IP won't be seen by well Sony.

kjl wrote: »
    I've bought stuff on silk road before. Just LSD, because it's impossible to get good stuff here.

The joke of it is that the dealers on SR are probably worth millions now. At one point bitcoin was at €1.20 per coin, it's peak was around €1000. These guys were making a ton on money before bitcoin went wild. I would say there are easily guys with 20-30 million from SR.

What I don't like about it is the ease you can get to pedofile site. There is this site called the hidden wiki which actually has a list of pedo sites you can access along with a status of each of them. The FBI are clamping down, but the content still exists and when one site goes down, two take it's place.

I do like the anonymity of TOR, I route all my torrent traffic through it so my IP won't be seen by well Sony.

When I was buying stuff from SilkRoad even though it was 'anonymous' I only bought stuff that I was willing to get caught buying. Like I wouldn't ever buy more than a few grams of weed or a netflix account etc. I was always paranoid that it was being watched and clamp down could happen at any minute.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

The joke of it is that the dealers on SR are probably worth millions now.

I doubt it. The U.S. government seized more than 94,000 bitcoins when they shut it down.
    This is a common misconception of TOR as a browser. Numerous JS exploits have been found. To remain anonymous you'd want all javascript turned off and be routing through a VPN and even at that, it's not all that anonymous. These days, unless you're doing something seriously illegal then there's zero need to use it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭StaticNoise

Tor is a truly powerful and wonderful tool for defectors and whistle blowers, as well as those restricted and censored by their governments. It's a brilliant tool. Sadly, it is also abused, as are all things, for items such as child images, weapons, drugs, hitmen, trafficking and more.

I've come across some nefarious sites, similar to those above but kept well away from some of them. As much as drugs for sale and violent pornography isn't great, I really have an issue with the abuse of young people. It's beyond vile.

Tor has some strange hidden oddities but it also has a dark, sinister underbelly in some corners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

I wouldn't fancy giving out my card details or address to the dealers on those sites. I've never really looked into them but that's been the no1 thing putting me off.

Jayop wrote: »
    I wouldn't fancy giving out my card details or address to the dealers on those sites. I've never really looked into them but that's been the no1 thing putting me off.

You use bitcoin. Do you honestly think anyone was going to give their bank card details to actual criminals?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭Lockheed

afaik a lot of them deal in bitcoin so you won't need to give them your credit card details

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

http://www.swirlcard.com/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

And whatever you do - dont install and access Tor on your work laptop....your IT guys will be all over you like a rash!!

You use bitcoin. Do you honestly think anyone was going to give their bank card details to actual criminals?

Like I've said I've not really looked into it and I know feck all about bitcoin. Still, even giving them my address would have me on edge.

Where would the stuff like drugs generally be sent from?
    Lockheed wrote: »
    afaik a lot of them deal in bitcoin so you won't need to give them your credit card details
    Mesrine65 wrote: »
    Never thought of that. Cheers.

Menas wrote: »
    And whatever you do - dont install and access Tor on your work laptop....your IT guys will be all over you like a rash!!

Install foxtails OS on a disc and boot from disc. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

I wonder how many people got ripped off on it?

You send bitcoins to a dodgy site where they sell illegal stuff.

What's stopping them from cashing in your bitcoins and fcuking off without sending you what you ordered?

You can hardly go to the police and complain that the child you bought didn't arrive. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

If you run an exit node boards stops working. So you need another VPN or something to get on a lot of sites. Either because the site admins had bother with tor users before or else the site is run by the 'high and mighty' moral highground fun police folks who thinks the government should have access to everyone's private stuff and every packet on the internet must be easily traceable to it's human owner

Like I've said I've not really looked into it and I know feck all about bitcoin. Still, even giving them my address would have me on edge.

Where would the stuff like drugs generally be sent from?

Never thought of that. Cheers.

I used to buy my weed from the dispensaries in Canada and California, I don't anymore mind since the clampdowns. I must have made lots of orders and it was never once stopped. Fine quality weed and a fair price, I'd rather not smoke than buy the **** you get in Ireland for 50 quid.

smash wrote: »
    This is a common misconception of TOR as a browser. Numerous JS exploits have been found. To remain anonymous you'd want all javascript turned off and be routing through a VPN and even at that, it's not all that anonymous. These days, unless you're doing something seriously illegal then there's zero need to use it.

I'm not talking about the browser I'm talking about The Onion Routing network. You can route bittorrent traffic though and remain anonymous to the tracker.

Last time I checked downloading music is illegal, Sony are not forcing UPC to have a 3 strikes policy, if they see a UPC IP address on the tracker for some of their copyrighted work, they will report you to UPC

I did read though that even resizing your web browser can reveal you identity. But in saying that, the FBI ran a pedo hunny pot for two weeks on one of the largest sites after it was seized. All that came out of it was 2 convictions while something like 250,000 people had visited.

BattleCorp wrote: »

What's stopping them from cashing in your bitcoins and fcuking off without sending you what you ordered?

You can hardly go to the police and complain that the child you bought didn't arrive. :pac:

People did get ripped off, it was/is the wild west. If you treated it like ebay and only bought off people who had really good revies then generally you would be okay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

I used to buy my weed from the dispensaries in Canada and California, I don't anymore mind since the clampdowns. I must have made lots of orders and it was never once stopped. Fine quality weed and a fair price, I'd rather not smoke than buy the **** you get in Ireland for 50 quid.
    BC Budmail? ;)

I'm not talking about the browser I'm talking about The Onion Routing network. You can route bittorrent traffic though and remain anonymous to the tracker.

Last time I checked downloading music is illegal, Sony are not forcing UPC to have a 3 strikes policy, if they see a UPC IP address on the tracker for some of their copyrighted work, they will report you to UPC

I did read though that even resizing your web browser can reveal you identity. But in saying that, the FBI ran a pedo hunny pot for two weeks on one of the largest sites after it was seized. All that came out of it was 2 convictions while something like 250,000 people had visited.

If I got a warning letter from my ISP I would just get a decent vpn and then that would provide some level of safety.

Cheers for the info.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭OneOfThem

Just like on the surface web with legitimate sites, there are certain websites that have been around a while and have built up a positive reputation. They make a fortune and so have no reason to try to rip people off. In the same way eBay isn't likely to start stealing from its customers. They're making a lot of money operating reputably, and doing so would put them out of business.

On the sites, in general, there's a review system, like eBay etc. Good sellers, reliable, product matching description, good delivery time, product actually being delivered etc, have high ratings, get all the business, and make a fortune. Sellers that steal do not, are revealed pretty quick, and are generally removed from the site and the bond they pay to sell on the site is confiscated.

The risk of being scammed is really no higher than the risk of being scammed on the surface web buying a phone or tablet or whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭conorh91

I presume you have to buy that card with an existing bank card, which wouldn't make it difficult to trace if people were up to no good on Tor.

BC Budmail? ;)

Can't even remember the names, I remember one guy had doctor in his name.
    Mind is gone blank but it was nice being able to access different strains and actually have a choice in what I want to smoke. Pity the government still wants to tell people what they can or can't put in their bodies.
    Jack Daniels == Okay..... Some purple kush == criminal. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Mind is gone blank but it was nice being able to access different strains and actually have a choice in :confused:

Ha Ha. Too much weed eh? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

my mate bought drugs of SR that he said were like the drug in Limitless, he didn't become a millionaire stock broker but did score

Ha Ha. Too much weed eh? :pac:

I don't smoke much at all being honest. Id smoke a few times a year, if I never smoked again I wouldn't be to disappointed but I would like the option to be there for the few times that I want it. Reason I can't remember is because its been so long since I ordered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

TOR is but one example of a "Darknet", others being e.g. I2P, Freenet and GNUnet. All the Darknets comprise the seedy undercarriage of the Wibbly Wobbly Wonder known as the "Dark Web".

You need a TOR-enabled browser unless the TOR software is installed low-down in the networking stack of your computer. On an Android device for example this will require rooting.

Be careful out there, kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

I downloaded some ram from there once

If I got a warning letter from my ISP I would just get a decent vpn and then that would provide some level of safety.

but tor is free

BC Budmail? ;)

zippybud was better.

but tor is free

That is true I suppose. Would slow the torrent down a lot more than a vpn Id imagine though?

my mate bought drugs of SR that he said were like the drug in Limitless, he didn't become a millionaire stock broker but did score

Ritalin I would imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,036 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

If you run an exit node boards stops working. So you need another VPN or something to get on a lot of sites. Either because the site admins had bother with tor users before or else the site is run by the 'high and mighty' moral highground fun police folks who thinks the government should have access to everyone's private stuff and every packet on the internet must be easily traceable to it's human owner

Given the plague of obvious re-reg bigots on some threads in the past, I'd say the former is far more likely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

I'd imagine using the TOR network would attract more attention to you? You don't know where or who is operating the exit nodes as far as I know, so while the data is encrypted up it's ass en route, the exit could be going straight the feds?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Just want to make sure the vpn or network your using is not active log recording and permanent storage. But if your seriously into some dark illegal sh*t, eventually you will get caught out.

Other stuff is pretty harmless and unlikely to have gardai breaking down your door, say using a vpn for US Netflix or BBC player, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

KungPao wrote: »
    I'd imagine using the TOR network would attract more attention to you? You don't know where or who is operating the exit nodes as far as I know, so while the data is encrypted up it's ass en route, the exit could be going straight the feds?

Most of the truly underground stuff is kept wholly within the network on hidden services. The trouble is, there are rumours of a serious vulnerability in that protocol at the moment and nobody seems to know exactly what that might be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,376 ✭✭✭The_Captain

I don't do anything illegal enough to bother paying for a decent VPN. They cost about the same as a Netflix or Spotify subscription, so what's the point?

It is not just for hiding. You can also unlock geographically locked content with a vpn which can be handy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

Ritalin I would imagine.

Modafinil was my first thought. Ritalin isn't popular anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Same.

I download torrents like most people (very often of music I have already actually bought over the years but lost/abandoned the CDs and tapes) and of films (again, I have a huge DVD collection dumped in my Mother's house, so I download stuff I've already bought). Same with downloading ROMS of games I bought back in the day. So my conscience is pretty clear :)

I have been doing this since the late 90s, never got a letter telling me stop.

Years ago I used Peer Guardian to block IPs associated with the guys trying to catch you - think it's obsolete now...now I use Peerblock - same idea.
    It is not just for hiding. You can also unlock geographically locked content with a vpn which can be handy.
    Indeed. But I have used the free addon "Hola" for that, generally works well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

KungPao wrote: »
    Indeed. But I have used the free addon "Hola" for that, generally works well.

I read somewhere recently that hola was a zombie seller of your bandwidth.

Haven't a clue what that means:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Transfers are held in escrow type system for a period, you can make a complaint.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 279 ✭✭umop apisdn

Given the plague of obvious re-reg bigots on some threads in the past, I'd say the former is far more likely.

Much easier to spot the bigots that don't re-reg though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Suppose you still need to be careful. I use the vpn for Netflix. Once I forgot to disable it, was on on reddit clicked a link for a pic of Captain PicardPans Ruler wearing a Wooly hat, brought me to 4chan and said my IP was blocked for spam.

smash wrote: »
    So he went into the site then...

No a page came up saying "click to enter site"

Probably all the people trying to buy Atomic bombs on it.