Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

George Hook vs Collette Fitzpatrick

• 05-08-2015 10:07pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 803 ✭✭✭

Just watched the full interview between George Hook and Collette Fitzpatrick there.

LINK: http://www.tv3.ie/3player/embed/801/97167/

Any thoughts on it?

The whole women are to blame for the current PC attitude argument was ridiculous in fairness. I don't know how he came to that conclusion. The way he said "it's all your fault" was a bit bitter.

From then on in though, she was baiting him big time. Especially over the "implied consent" point. He was hosting a show where one of the topics was about a man raping his wife and how he got a suspended sentence. Hook got legal council on the matter and tried to see why the judge would let this man off with rape, suggesting that implied consent would be the only reason a judge would do such a thing (which he was advised could be the case by three different legal councils).

Fitzpatrick then used this as a "you are endorsing rape" line of questioning. Which was utterly bizarre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,720 ✭✭✭Schwiiing

Fitzpatrick has a lovely pair of tits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Wild Garlic

Schwiiing wrote: »

As does Hook

Can we agree they make a lovely pair of tits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 803 ✭✭✭jungleman

Ah...but they all have lovely tits!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

Collette Titzpatrick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

Different weight classes,light-heavyweight vs super-heavyweight,WBO won't sanction it.(no smartarse references to Billy Conn vs Joe Lewis please)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

I'm a big George Hook fan and love his radio show. I do think he tries a bit too hard to be the grumpy old dinosaur though, to the point of almost becoming a parody of himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

Somehow I think your summary tells the best parts of a shi'ite conversation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

That interview was a hit job. George handled her quite well, she wanted to take a scalp and walked away without it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭johnny osbourne

the bookies have collette at 7/2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,276 ✭✭✭Memnoch

Watched a couple of minutes and had to stop when he waded into the whole, the world is pc cause of women nonesense. Just cringeworthy. I can never really watch people making fools of themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,840 ✭✭✭lertsnim

jungleman wrote: »
    The whole women are to blame for the current PC attitude argument was ridiculous in fairness. I don't know how he came to that conclusion. The way he said "it's all your fault" was a bit bitter.

Quickly followed by him saying he only said it because that's what she wanted. What I got from that interview is that she is a hopeless interviewer. She should stick to reading the news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,585 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Didn't see any direction to the interview except get at George.

It was a bit of a hatchet job. And in parts he fell for it Hook, line and sinker. :pac::pac::pac:

She made a bigger fool out of herself though. She baited him, he responded, he saw what she was up to, he took her to task on it, and she fluffed her lines.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 843 ✭✭✭QuinDixie

I'm a big George Hook fan and love his radio show. I do think he tries a bit too hard to be the grumpy old dinosaur though, to the point of almost becoming a parody of himself.

That ship has long sailed.

He doesn't do himself any favours.

But looking at the bigger picture, she was criticising him for asking a question about rape, which she suggested people might have found offensive.

Is that really what journalism has come to? Not asking question because they might hurt people's feelings? The guy actually did his research, spoke to legal professionals, asked his questions based on what they advised, and she has the neck to come out and say he was wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,689 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Schwiiing wrote: »

Throw us over those x-ray goggles when your finished with them...

jungleman wrote: »
    He doesn't do himself any favours.

But looking at the bigger picture, she was criticising him for asking a question about rape, which she suggested people might have found offensive.

Is that really what journalism has come to? Not asking question because they might hurt people's feelings? The guy actually did his research, spoke to legal professionals, asked his questions based on what they advised, and she has the neck to come out and say he was wrong?

Bit ironic that she was so shocked by women being the cause of PC and then giving out about a non PC question.
    Think he saw her coming a mile off.Not nearly as stupid as he lets on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,689 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Think she's trying not to be a feminist but coming across as a SJW, not sure which is worse.
    Either way I think, she thinks masculism is evil and George is one of the few left on the air that's not afraid to embrace it and she was hoping to portray him as someone who belongs in the flinstones but she failed badly at it.

We need a few more Georges on the air and on TV to stop this kind of crap before we become completely sterilised by the media.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

In fairness, it's what the liberal media tend to do when they don't like a person who regularly expresses views which are opposed to theirs: they are attack them personally and attempt to undermine their credibility. It is so condescending to snigger at someone and suggest that they only say things to "wind people up". That the opinions they express are not truly held and only uttered "for the sake of it". Not saying he's an angel, and often plays the devil's advocate to full effect when needed but that's a far cry from what she was so pompously implying.

She played the man rather than the ball and unfortunately George came across as being tired for whatever reason. Usually he is a little more articulate than that in fairness. Met the man once back in 2011 as he's a big Bill Murray fan and The Right Hook screened a few of his films (which George attended) at the Screen cinema. After the screening I was at he made a point of hanging around as people were leaving and thanking almost everyone individually for coming along. Lovely man imo and I'm glad Collette didn't get the scalp she so clearly and desperately wanted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,665 ✭✭✭dirkmeister

"Some questions are clearly off limit"

Wow...just wow.....

Colette Fitzpatrick bit off more than she could chew there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

This was just a bit of an oul promo for Colette's show on Sunday mornings.

The new show y'know.

They are bessie mates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

In fairness, it's what the liberal media tend to do when they don't like a person who regularly expresses views which are opposed to theirs: they are attack them personally and attempt to undermine their credibility.
    No, it's what the media tend to do when they don't like a person - liberal, conservative, or otherwise.

Definitely agree she came out badly in it though, and I am happy for it. Comes across as a right c**t, while I have very briefly met George when I was working on South William Street (the odd time in that newsagents across from Break for the Border or whatever it's called these days, with the big AIB bank machine that there is a 90% chance of a homeless person being beside), but he came over as a good guy and affable.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,549 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

As someone too lazy to watch the video, can anyone summarise the controversy so I can choose a side?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭obezyana

I know im getting old when im looking forward to listening to Hook in the evenings. :) From 1:30pm to 10pm Newstalk is good radio.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

As someone too lazy to watch the video, can anyone summarise the controversy so I can choose a side?

Girl boobs or man boobs. You decide.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Collette: A person wrote to you and said that had you been aborted, the world would have been a better place.
    George: Ah sure I'm old and I have a thick skin.

Collette: You hanker for the old days when you could be sexist and racist, dontcha?
    George: I do in my arse.

Collette: Ah you do, you don't like the new PC world.
    George: It's only PC because of you women :)

Collette: Because of us??? We get paid less?? :mad:
    George: It's a fairer world these days in general though.

Collette: Women in Nigeria!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :mad:
    George: Men in Nigeria?? :)

Collette: You implied rape in marriage is fine ya neanderthal!
    George: I did not ya mad cow. I need to pose tough questions!

Collette: Some questions should not be asked!!!!
    George: Nooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!

Collette: You feed off winding people up. You love it!!
    George: You're calling me a fake! That's outrageous!!!!

Collette: No I didn't!!!
    George: You did!!!!!!!

Collette: Will we get to the semis?
    George: No, France will beat us and injuries will plague us.

Collette: Thank you.
    George: And I believe that by the way, I'm not saying it to stir up controversy :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Hook is a wankery old troll who has been paid for it, mind boggles. Shame on you all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭obezyana

Hook is a wankery old troll who has been paid for it, mind boggles. Shame on you all.

How dare you talk about old George like that. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

I take it back, he is a top bloke.
    Sorry to all offended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭TheLastMohican

George Hook? A low life guy who got lucky ....... but still low life.
    Rugby's quivelant of Dunphy.
    Both egotistical motormouths who have FA to contribute to rational discussion.

Oul' Georgie has come out today and said he was "set up" by TV3, which is fairly obvious.

Kinda feel a little bit sorry for him. Collette knew she'd get a reaction out of him and he duly obliged. The way she backtracked on basically calling him a phoney was stupid, either make a point because you believe it to be true or just shut your gob.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

Nothing story about 2 Arseholes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

Have yis nuttin better to talk about?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Genuinely don't see the reason for this being news

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Another quality tv3 production there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

http://m.independent.ie/entertainment/radio/colette-fitzpatrick-announced-as-new-presenter-on-newstalk-fm-31408670.html

In a totally unrelated development, Collette has just joined George on the Newstalk airwaves with her own show on Sunday mornings......

http://m.independent.ie/entertainment/radio/colette-fitzpatrick-announced-as-new-presenter-on-newstalk-fm-31408670.html

In a totally unrelated development, Collette has just joined George on the Newstalk airwaves with her own show on Sunday mornings......

"The show will feature a wide range of topics including psychology, parenting, book and TV and reviews as well as women's health and well-being."

"“Without bragging, I think I’ve proven myself in journalism over the last couple of decades."

Yeah proven yourself to be a clown. I can see myself giving this show a wide berth.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 103 ✭✭Nom De Guerre

3 pages and no colette pics yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,864 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

because this whole debate/argument was played out on TV3 makes it null & void.

next on TV3, Exposé, where the girls will be glorifying lots of other Irish girls for being talented (pretty).
    oh look, pretty dresses & shoes.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

That vile cunt is still bragging about that gushing fanmail he got. I would rather see that fucker dead than some cyclist knocked over by a "teach you a lesson" taximan riled up by his irresponsible rants.

rubadub wrote: »
    That vile cunt is still bragging about that gushing fanmail he got. I would rather see that fucker dead than some cyclist knocked over by a "teach you a lesson" taximan riled up by his irresponsible rants.

His cyclists rants are out of order in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Why?

He's made it aware of the hatemail he got and wishes to be an example to others as to how he deals with it.

Collete asked him "what do.you think other people think of you?" and he answered in the best way possible "I don't care!".

I like Georgie alot though admittedly some of his opinions are a little strong, the chap has received some truly horrible things and I stand by him in how he handled himself on Ms Fitzpatricks show.

Maybe you could elaborate your point as opposed to being just nasty..?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭RomanKnows

Context, dude. Context.

Thought cycling was meant to be a relaxing hobby. You wouldn't think it from some of the Lycra Lunatics around here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

3 pages and no colette pics yet?

Yeah........ all this talk of tits and not 1 boob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭nelly17

You know what you get with George he cant help himself and Colette T1tspatrick knew it, she was clearly looking to get a rise out of him. Hes the same on The Right Hook he cant help but give his opinion on things when hes supposed to be facilitating and ensuring balance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭RomanKnows

nelly17 wrote: »
    You know what you get with George he cant help himself and Colette T1tspatrick knew it, she was clearly looking to get a rise out of him. Hes the same on The Right Hook he cant help but give his opinion on things when hes supposed to be facilitating and ensuring balance.

It's entertaining radio though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭gordongekko

the bookies have collette at 7/2

I had her at 8.20

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭nelly17

RomanKnows wrote: »
    It's entertaining radio though.

It is indeed thats why I listen

nelly17 wrote: »

Doubt she had a coherent plan,but if that was it what was the point of it?