Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lending Hair Clippers

• 03-08-2015 7:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭

A neighbour of mine has just asked me can she lend my hair clippers to cut her son's hair. I don't want to seem mean but, I don't know, it seems a bit gross to me. I mean, I wouldn't ask her to loan me her toothbrush.

Would ye lend things like hair clippers out? Or would ye be grossed out?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Borrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭play4fun1

do you think barber has individual set for each person ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,594 ✭✭✭jaykay74

Borrow

You teach something new every day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

Neither a bender or a borrower be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,644 ✭✭✭cml387

I have an image of some poor young fellow being restrained in a chair while the pudding bowl comes out and he gets the short back and sides. Though maybe that's a fashion statement now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Very Bored

Borrow

Borrow would be correct so it would, to be sure, but I was using her words so I was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

It's hair not plutonium.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭d.pop

sugarman wrote: »
    No, but they have a sterilization jar they pop the bits into between cuts.

Not any barbers I've been too unless it's very quiet, if busy- quick shake/brush and on to the next customer...,

They may very well have what you describe. I've never seen them actually use it.

They went out with the Indians.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭newacc2015

They are less than €20 in TK Maxx or Argos.

I would be more worried, that she is just being a cheap skate and is actually manscaping her husband.

What is it that the barber actually sterilises? Is it the combs or is it the actual clipper itself? I cut my hair to a grade one so if barbers only sterilise the combs then she can lend away. At least, I'm guessing she doesn't want to cut her four year old's hair so close he ends up looking like a member of the Hitler Youth lol.

newacc2015 wrote: »

I would be more worried, that she is just being a cheap skate and is actually manscaping her husband.

Or womanscaping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭d.pop

They went out with the Indians.

Didn't they used to take the top of the head off as well? Not much repeat business there I'd say...

She doesn't have one.

Very Bored wrote: »
    She doesn't have one.

Well that puts things in a whole new light.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,352 ✭✭✭alias no.9

The OP could just tell her that he uses the clippers for a bit of manscaping himself and they can agree to never speak of hair clippers again!

OP I don't see the big deal here at all. Just wash the clippers when you get them back, if you're cocnerned.

I'm thinking of borrowing some clippers and shaving my entire head of hair this evening. I'm growing a beard and I want to see what the combo looks like. How long does it take to regrow, say, 3 cms of hair? I have a big wedding in early September, don't want to go like a convict.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭bodhi085

A neighbour of mine has just asked me can she lend my hair clippers to cut her son's hair. I don't want to seem mean but, I don't know, it seems a bit gross to me. I mean, I wouldn't ask her to loan me her toothbrush.

Would ye lend things like hair clippers out? Or would ye be grossed out?

Is the neighbour still waiting for the answer while you ask for advice on boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

OP I don't see the big deal here at all. Just wash the clippers when you get them back, if you're cocnerned.

I'm thinking of borrowing some clippers and shaving my entire head of hair this evening. I'm growing a beard and I want to see what the combo looks like. How long does it take to regrow, say, 3 cms of hair? I have a big wedding in early September, don't want to go like a convict.

I've shaved my head a few times in my teens and early twenties. Did make me look like something out of a concentration camp, but so easy to keep. Allow 6 weeks give or take a few days, if it's 3cm you usually wear it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭eet fuk

Average person's hair grows an average of 15 cm/year. So it could take 6-12 weeks.

If you do shave it, keep track of the length and let me know! I'm curious.

bodhi085 wrote: »
    Is the neighbour still waiting for the answer while you ask for advice on boards.

She asked me on Facebook. She can wait.

So I can pretty much gather from the posts here that I am just being squeamish.

Now how to handle the fact that I think she's the type that when you lend her something you never see it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

Ask her does she want your bottle of nit treatment also..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,731 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

"Sure, no problem. Just bear in mind that the blades might be a bit blunt because the hair on my balls is fairly thick and wiry."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

I'd personally have no issue with lending a hair clippers. What's the worst that you'd get back? The worst thing I can think of is nits and it's a pair of blades, not a cloth. It's not like you can't wash them. I wouldn't share a toothbrush, but hair clippers are fine as far as I'm concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Robsweezie wrote: »
    Neither a bender or a borrower be.

Not much choice with the first one, you either are or are not.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭ihavenoname3

if you think you wont get them back, don't lend them to her. Tell her you were testing it out before you gave it to her and found out it is broke. let her go buy one, it will do her for years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,409 ✭✭✭✭endacl

jaykay74 wrote: »
    You teach something new every day

Did know one ever learned you to talk proper?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,638 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

She asked me on Facebook. She can wait.

So I can pretty much gather from the posts here that I am just being squeamish.

Now how to handle the fact that I think she's the type that when you lend her something you never see it again.

she is a neighbour and and she asked you on facebook? tell her to feck off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

They take a nip of someones head with a disease such aids/HIV youd know all about it.

Well, you wouldn't though, would you?

"I need to get tested for the AIDS as I got my hair cut today, Doctor"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭Tubberadora

How does she know you have one?