Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Greenfield dairy setup costs.

• 03-08-2015 4:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭

For 300 cow herd only fag box figures.

300 cows incalf heifers 390000
    300 topless cubicles 90000
    slurry storage lagoon don't know cost. 40000
    parlour 24 unit second hand bare building 50000
    milk tank second hand 20000
    water to paddocks 10000
    roads 20000

total so far 620000

how much more can ye add to this i only put this together very quick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭IH784man

caseman wrote: »

water to paddocks 10000
    roads 20000

total so far 620000

Dunno anything about them prices,but are you ever gonna see it back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

water to paddocks 10000
    roads 20000

total so far 620000

300/acre for reseeding
    Fencing? 100e/ac?
    Water troughs inc in your water to paddocks?

IH784man wrote: »
    Dunno anything about them prices,but are you ever gonna see it back

If you owned the land definitely.
    Questionable if being leased

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

water to paddocks 10000
    roads 20000

total so far 620000

Land. Bought owned or leased.

If you owned the land definitely.
    Questionable if being leased

How much milk would a cow produce a day if your milking 2 times a day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,489 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Isn't greenfield kk turning profit and sitting on a nice big balance with 330 cows ,leased land ,paid labour ,majority of farm work contracted out and also had to convert arable land to tillage ,build parlour ,lagoon and standoff pad etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,932 ✭✭✭jaymla627

water to paddocks 10000
    roads 20000

total so far 620000

By the time everything's up and running you'll be alot closer to a million then 620,000 to put in a proper road network/paddock system alone on a 300 acre block would be 30 to 40 grand more then your budgeting for, your parlour/cubicle costs are way to low aswell and you've not even budgeted for calving sheds/calf houses

How much milk would a cow produce a day if your milking 2 times a day?

Depends on cow type tbh. Jex between 5000-5500l for there lactation when they get up to 3 plus.
    Hol/fr 6000l maybe? Not sure they would do much more with the distance if the walks

http://www.greenfielddairy.ie/node/88

Costs and projections are in one of these.
    Not sure which 9ne

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭caseman

300/acre for reseeding
    Fencing? 100e/ac?
    Water troughs inc in your water to paddocks?

And lots of p+k ibc used for water troughs.
    Dawggone wrote: »
    Land. Bought owned or leased.

Shared farming.
    jaymla627 wrote: »
    By the time everything's up and running you'll be alot closer to a million then 620,000 to put in a proper road network/paddock system alone on a 300 acre block would be 30 to 40 grand more then your budgeting for, your parlour/cubicle costs are way to low aswell and you've not even budgeted for calving sheds/calf houses

Lots of road's on the land already
    Don't think i'm to far of the the mark with parlour and cubicle costs.
    sheds on the farm that would be easily converted to calving pens and calf housing.
    I'd have 70 cows and their followers to bring with me.

And lots of p+k ibc used for water troughs.

Shared farming.

Lots of road's on the land already
    Don't think i'm to far of the the mark with parlour and cubicle costs.
    sheds on the farm that would be easily converted to calving pens and calf housing.
    I'd have 70 cows and their followers to bring with me.

Re building I assume your planning on doing building work yourself, 300 a cubicle space plus feeding area would just about cover concrete mats barriers maybe....
    Can you tell us the price of a meter of concrete by any chance in you area

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

If your sending a million and a half litres a year 100 grand repayments are 6.6 cents per litre.

Not a daunting when you look at it like that.

But if you had 3/400 acres of land youd probaly make a living out of drystock and take it handy.

Re building I assume your planning on doing building work yourself, 300 a cubicle space plus feeding area would just about cover concrete mats barriers maybe....

I'd be doing building work myself 20 years in construction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭stretch film

75€ / meter3 was a figure I heard last week

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

OP don't forget interest.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Interesting post , how are the costs of setup being shared, what is the long term outlook for ownership of the land , who will own the cows, when you say doing alot of the building work yourself, cant see you doing any building work in a 300 cow set up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭cute geoge

If ye went to the trouble of reading up about greenfields in killkenny , i think it cost 1.2 millon to setup for 300 cows , i cant see you doing it that much cheaper as there setup was barebones
    So roughly an interest bill of 60k per annum on top of repayments
    I think you might need your head examined if you went ahead with such a daft idea

cute geoge wrote: »
    If ye went to the trouble of reading up about greenfields in killkenny , i think it cost 1.2 millon to setup for 300 cows , i cant see you doing it that much cheaper as there setup was barebones
    I think you might need your head examined if you went ahead with such a daft idea
    Op says he has 70 cows plus followers aswell as a s/h parlour and tank

Given that irish banks don't place any value on stock, won't allow them to be used as collateral would imagen they would do alot of head scratching when looking at a application where the op wants nearly 400 k to buy cows alone....

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Given that irish banks don't place any value on stock, won't allow them to be used as collateral would imagen they would do alot of head scratching when looking at a application where the op wants nearly 400 k to buy cows alone....

Is this true?

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

keep going wrote: »
    Interesting post , how are the costs of setup being shared, what is the long term outlook for ownership of the land , who will own the cows, when you say doing alot of the building work yourself, cant see you doing any building work in a 300 cow set up

No talk of who will pay for what yet.
    But i think he'd be putting in topless cublices and lagoon and roads and water.
    I'd be putting in parlour and cows.
    i'd own cows
    He'd own the land, don't think i'll ever be in a position to buy 300 acres
    All work would need to be done before cow's on site.

Probably do need to get my head examined to even think about taking on so much work.
    Greenfield was set up by our state dose that answer the question about costs.

This is the main problem raising the money needed.
    blue5000 wrote: »
    Is this true?

They will only finance stock over 12 months.
    mf240 wrote: »
    If your sending a million and a half litres a year 100 grand repayments are 6.6 cents per litre.

Not a daunting when you look at it like that.

But if you had 3/400 acres of land youd probaly make a living out of drystock and take it handy.

He'd still have a few hundred acres to pass the time i'd only be using one corner of it.

blue5000 wrote: »
    Is this true?

In the case of ulster bank it is, was basically laughed at on the phone when I tried to get the point across of my stock value when trying to arrange a loan last year, apparently 80 cows, 25 incalf heifers and 40 heifer calves built from scratch in three years didn't offset the fact that my account wasn't preforming and generating surplus cash, the prick on the phone dealing with us didn't seem to grasp the fact over a 120000 euros worth of stock had been built up from noting...
    Further to this a 20 unit parlour, 110 cubicles, 100 acres reseeded, and 2km of roadways was done nearly all from cash flow, it's a myth that banks are actively supporting farmers the problem in my situation was I wouldn't put up land for what was a minor loan to cover us over last spring, it isn't talked about alot but a serious amount of expanding farmers have a good proportion of the farm up as collateral and have rolled the dice that milk is going to stay rosy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

In the case of ulster bank it is, was basically laughed at on the phone when I tried to get the point across of my stock value when trying to arrange a loan last year, apparently 80 cows, 25 incalf heifers and 40 heifer calves built from scratch in three years didn't offset the fact that my account wasn't preforming and generating surplus cash, the prick on the phone dealing with us didn't seem to grasp the fact over a 120000 euros worth of stock had been built up from noting...
    Further to this a 20 unit parlour, 110 cubicles, 100 acres reseeded, and 2km of roadways was done nearly all from cash flow, it's a myth that banks are actively supporting farmers the problem in my situation was I wouldn't put up land for what was a minor loan to cover us over last spring, it isn't talked about alot but a serious amount of expanding farmers have a good proportion of the farm up as collateral and have rolled the dice that milk is going to stay rosy
    in my case while it was noted that we had done a lot of work and built up infrastructure but the way its looked at was that it was a risk element gone out of the equation but if I hadn't being up building cash and had a working wife in gov job and a couple of more outside income streams that's what they really want is cash generation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

On the KK greenfield setup costs:

1QLhjVe.png
    http://www.greenfielddairy.ie/files/image/2011%20GF%20open%20day%20booklet.pdf

The 326k on the winter housing/slurry seems quite steep, for 300cows thats working out over a grand/cow. As is the milking parlour 228k is 7.6k per unit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

Timmaay wrote: »

1QLhjVe.png

The 326k on the winter housing/slurry seems quite steep, for 300cows thats working out over a grand/cow. As is the milking parlour 228k is 7.6k per unit.

Lol. They spent €25k on the office and ony 4k on feeding equipment !

Agreed, 5/6k would have got them a full pig feeder and augers installed, throw in 1/2 a 12inch land drain pipe as mangers if they have none now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,327 ✭✭✭jfh

Lol. They spent €25k on the office and ony 4k on feeding equipment !

How did a farm office cost 25k?
    Like to see the breakdown on that 😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

jfh wrote: »
    How did a farm office cost 25k?
    Like to see the breakdown on that 😀

Enda Kenny's office hardly cost that :rolleyes:

staying on the kilkenny Greenfield, anyone read up in the ifj about them not getting the full milk topup, due to not having enough shares in GII. 2bh sounds like a right own goal for Glanbia...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

25000 for an office supposed to cost 5000.....

what the fcuk?

were the lads from irish water involved in that....?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

staying on the kilkenny Greenfield, anyone read up in the ifj about them not getting the full milk topup, due to not having enough shares in GII. 2bh sounds like a right own goal for Glanbia...

Very simple, a Ltd Company cannot be a share holder in Glanbia co op.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,141 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

Very simple, a Ltd Company cannot be a share holder in Glanbia co op.

Frazz, how does that work. Does the director have to own the shares and the ltd company gets the support price, or are all company suppliers excluded from supports?

They must be held by an individual and that person can be operating in a company. It's meant to stop large companies who could be competitors buying up blocks of shares.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

I wonder can a limited partnership hold them -

kowtow wrote: »
    I wonder can a limited partnership hold them -

No, same applies

1QLhjVe.png

Their very high costs.
    But a green setup would take alot of money to get going.
    The only way i think i could get the money is sell my own place,and i think the neighbours would send for the men in white coats if i done that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

What about putting in s/h 16 unit parlour, 50% paddocks roadways etc with room for expansion and begin with say 100+ cows, work the lease of % profits

Agreed with Kev, no need to hit full production immediately. On what the neighbours think about selling up, fookem, if it makes economic sense and you dont see much of a viable future there go for it, the main thing to check out is the tax consquences of selling.

Definitely worth trying to meetup with some of the KK boys if your serious about all this, I'm sure they could clarify some of them costs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭Panch18

Agreed with Kev, no need to hit full production immediately. On what the neighbours think about selling up, fookem, if it makes economic sense and you dont see much of a viable future there go for it, the main thing to check out is the tax consquences of selling.

Definitely worth trying to meetup with some of the KK boys if your serious about all this, I'm sure they could clarify some of them costs.

It sounds like pure madness to me to sell an existing block of land to fund the set up of a dairy on a rented block of land

Better of burning the money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

Their very high costs.
    But a green setup would take alot of money to get going.
    The only way i think i could get the money is sell my own place,and i think the neighbours would send for the men in white coats if i done that.

Lease your own place, tax free income, will give the banks comfort.Lease new place you start from scratch tax wise . Stock relief and capital allowances and tax won't bother you for a while. Coming with stock and expertise with a bit of luck, hard work and the right deal you could end up with a 300 acre farm after 15 years.

Could you not use your own home farm and add on to that

kevthegaff wrote: »
    What about putting in s/h 16 unit parlour, 50% paddocks roadways etc with room for expansion and begin with say 100+ cows, work the lease of % profits

I was thinking of going this route aswell.
    The farm could handle 150 cows without spending any money on roads and water,put parlour in place and b+b the cows for the winter.

When the land owner could see a return he might be more confident to spend money on infrastructure.
    Panch18 wrote: »
    It sounds like pure madness to me to sell an existing block of land to fund the set up of a dairy on a rented block of land

Better of burning the money

It would be economic madness,don't think i'll go burning it either.
    Could you not use your own home farm and add on to that

Keep looking over the ditch till i'm grey in the hair and their looking back at me wondering.
    Might have to