Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Premature aging

• 02-08-2015 4:39am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭

Any tips to prevent this lads ? I'm starting to get a few forehead lines and few creases around my eyes . BTW I'm only in my early twenties, is this normal for a young man of my age ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Miley30 wrote: »
    few creases around my eyes
    How much sleep do you get, and how much on average?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭Miley30

the_syco wrote: »
    How much sleep do you get, and how much on average?

6-8 hours most nights. Perhaps it's the way I lay on the pillow, I'm a side sleeper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭SVJKarate

Miley30 wrote: »
    Any tips to prevent this lads ?

Don't smoke, or take any kind of drugs.
    Drink alcohol only moderately, if at all.
    Manage your diet, especially the amount of sugars you take.
    Fresh fruit and vegetables daily.
    Exercise regularly.
    Avoid face exposure in sunlight, or use a factor-30 (or higher) suncream.

Change your parents (yeah, genetics plays a huge role in determining how you age).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

SVJKarate wrote: »
    Don't smoke, or take any kind of drugs.
    Drink alcohol only moderately, if at all.
    Manage your diet, especially the amount of sugars you take.
    Fresh fruit and vegetables daily.
    Exercise regularly.
    Avoid face exposure in sunlight, or use a factor-30 (or higher) suncream.

Change your parents (yeah, genetics plays a huge role in determining how you age).
    Jaysus I think I'll take the wrinkles instead :)

Sam Kade wrote: »

I'm sure many people feel the same way, and act accordingly.
    We are all a result of the choices we make and the genetics we carry.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Sun damage is about the biggest reason for appearing older in the skin. Much of the damage is in childhood too. There's a reason "Black don't crack", because Black folks have built in sunblock. Asians too. Though they're pale in general the genes and mechanisms are different to the European ones, so the skin ages slower and can take much more sun. Europeans got the worst of the skin genetic lottery. Late nights, dehydration, smoking and a crap diet add up to ageing people prematurely.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭Mr_Muffin

I always see people who eat terrible diets, don't exercise and generally live unhealthy lifestyles with great skin.

It's 90% genetics. Just try to look after yourself somewhat and enjoy life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

Like Wibbs says, the sun does the most damage; more so than cigarettes and alcohol.

If you are going to be outside in daylight for an extended period of time, use high SPF sunblock, a hat and sunglasses on bright days. The sunglasses will protect the area around your eyes too.

The other stuff is not unimportant but is less important than being aware of the sun.

Nothing you can do about genetics so apart from taking sensible precautions, don't worry about it too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Wibbs wrote: »
    Sun damage is about the biggest reason for appearing older in the skin. Much of the damage is in childhood too. There's a reason "Black don't crack", because Black folks have built in sunblock. Asians too. Though they're pale in general the genes and mechanisms are different to the European ones, so the skin ages slower and can take much more sun. Europeans got the worst of the skin genetic lottery. Late nights, dehydration, smoking and a crap diet add up to ageing people prematurely.

The thinking on this one might change drastically over the next few years - it's been confirmed recently that people age at different rates.

http://www.iflscience.com/health-and-medicine/scientists-confirm-people-age-different-rates

All participants were age 38, but one had a "biological age" of around 61!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

If you are going to be outside in daylight for an extended period of time, use high SPF sunblock, a hat and sunglasses on bright days. The sunglasses will protect the area around your eyes too.
    It can be one reason why lifelong spectacle wearers can look really odd when they take them off, the area around their eyes has had some protection from UV because of their glasses, so tends to be smoother.
    The thinking on this one might change drastically over the next few years - it's been confirmed recently that people age at different rates.

http://www.iflscience.com/health-and-medicine/scientists-confirm-people-age-different-rates

All participants were age 38, but one had a "biological age" of around 61!
    Oh sure. I've seen it among peers down the years. Some go "off the boil" much younger than others. I knew men at 25 who had the look of suburban dads with three kids and a mortgage 20 years their senior. Genes seem to be a lot of it(though lifestyle makes a helluva diff especially internally). I can think of an example where both guys were born within a few days of each other, but one really looks his age, even though he would be the physically fitter, by quite a margin. Then again his dad died young as did many of his male relatives. Genes.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Like Wibbs says, the sun does the most damage; more so than cigarettes and alcohol.

The other stuff is not unimportant but is less important than being aware of the sun.

Nothing you can do about genetics so apart from taking sensible precautions, don't worry about it too much.
    Fcuk it at 51 I'm well past that nonsense :) Sun cream doesn't do your skin any favours either with all them chemicals soaking through your skin. Six of one half dozen of the other type of thing ;)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Fcuk it at 51 I'm well past that nonsense :) Sun cream doesn't do your skin any favours either with all them chemicals soaking through your skin. Six of one half dozen of the other type of thing ;)
    The sun cream is not damaging your skin. I'd rather take my chances and wear it than not!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

I've posted this before but I'm a 41 year whom everyone apparently thinks looks about 26. Not 24. Not 29. Twenty Six. Everyone says 26 and has said that exact number for several years. Might simply be that that number is the most statistically likely number for people to pick when they don't think you look like you're in your 30's but don't think you look early 20's either. Kinda like the mentalist who knows most people will imagine the Jack of Clubs or something. Funnily enough though, that Microsoft age guessing app that did the rounds on Facebook a few weeks ago also guessed 26 for my photo IIRC :D Anyway, I digress. I am afraid I can't point to any one reason for my youthful looks either. I can't say, "Its Genetics!! cause I drink like a fish, smoke like a trooper and work in the mid day sun". Thats because I don't. It could be partly or all genetics because my parents look at least a decade younger than their ages. My father at 67 looks mid 50's and still has most of his hair with less grey than some poor 20 somethings I know. It could be partly or mostly because I never drank or smoked much and don't do any of either for a decade in the case of drink and in 3 years in the case of my SilkCut ultra/Silver habit (Vape now). It could be partly or mostly because I never worked outside, played sport outside and was never a sun worshipper so my cumulative Skin Sun exposure over my 41 years of life is probably equivalent to the average 26 year old. I can count the number of grey hairs on my head on my fingers and toes. (More grey on chin which I keep clean shaven)

I disagree. We are not just talking about cosmetics here. The purpose of sunblock is to stop damage from the sun and Irish people who are predisposed to pale skin tend to be vulnerable in that regard.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I disagree. We are not just talking about cosmetics here. The purpose of sunblock is to stop damage from the sun and Irish people who are predisposed to pale skin tend to be vulnerable in that regard.

Same here I'm religious about taking care not to expose my skin to sunlight

Now I look in my age range but regularly get taken for a few years younger and that's purely down to suncare imo

My family age badly with lines etc, and looking at photos of me and sisters ten years younger you'd not think that gap existed.

Calibos wrote: »
    I've posted this before but I'm a 41 year whom everyone apparently thinks looks about 26. Not 24. Not 29. Twenty Six. Everyone says 26 and has said that exact number for several years. Might simply be that that number is the most statistically likely number for people to pick when they don't think you look like you're in your 30's but don't think you look early 20's either. Kinda like the mentalist who knows most people will imagine the Jack of Clubs or something. Funnily enough though, that Microsoft age guessing app that did the rounds on Facebook a few weeks ago also guessed 26 for my photo IIRC :D Anyway, I digress. I am afraid I can't point to any one reason for my youthful looks either. I can't say, "Its Genetics!! cause I drink like a fish, smoke like a trooper and work in the mid day sun". Thats because I don't. It could be partly or all genetics because my parents look at least a decade younger than their ages. My father at 67 looks mid 50's and still has most of his hair with less grey than some poor 20 somethings I know. It could be partly or mostly because I never drank or smoked much and don't do any of either for a decade in the case of drink and in 3 years in the case of my SilkCut ultra/Silver habit (Vape now). It could be partly or mostly because I never worked outside, played sport outside and was never a sun worshipper so my cumulative Skin Sun exposure over my 41 years of life is probably equivalent to the average 26 year old. I can count the number of grey hairs on my head on my fingers and toes. (More grey on chin which I keep clean shaven)

Do you use Oil of Ulay though?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭RoadhouseBlues

I'm late 30's but people assume I'm in my 20's. I will say one thing though. I feckin' feel my age. Going out I'm not able for the mad nights anymore. Apparently my eyebrows are like feckin hedges, so I have to get them trimmed at the barber. Never heard of that before. I think the sun thing is true about ageing the skin. In Ireland we should all look young so.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I'm late 30's but people assume I'm in my 20's. I will say one thing though. I feckin' feel my age. Going out I'm not able for the mad nights anymore. Apparently my eyebrows are like feckin hedges, so I have to get them trimmed at the barber. Never heard of that before. I think the sun thing is true about ageing the skin. In Ireland we should all look young so.

Sun barrier is needed 12 months a year, I wear suncream all year round. When I was 35 I got carded twice in Tesco trying to buy booze, then I aged.

People still tell me I don't look my age.

Trimming your eyebrows is normal, you get hairier as you get older ime

I fear you are right about the hairier thing:-). The first time the barber asked me about the eyebrows I was a bit embarrassed and I just said they were grand. Then the next time I was at a different barber and they asked me too. I never heard of that before....It must be an ageing thing:-)

Now i'm female so I groom my eyebrows.

As a bloke you need to worry when they give you a unibrow and grow over the space between your eyes and nose (google for examples)

If they are just getting mad bushy you'll get away with them, unibrows are the look of the devil

Stheno wrote: »
    Now i'm female so I groom my eyebrows.

As a bloke you need to worry when they give you a unibrow and grow over the space between your eyes and nose (google for examples)

If they are just getting mad bushy you'll get away with them, unibrows are the look of the devil

Damien Thorn:D. I don't think they are too bad, but it was a shock that two people commented on them:). I haven't got the grey hairs yet, so I'm wondering when they will appear. If I tried to grow a beard, its still so light that people would think I got highlights in it:). So I can't grow one at my age...feck.

Going out I'm not able for the mad nights anymore.

That's not age. That's lack of practise!

Damien Thorn:D. I don't think they are too bad, but it was a shock that two people commented on them:). I haven't got the grey hairs yet, so I'm wondering when they will appear. If I tried to grow a beard, its still so light that people would think I got highlights in it:). So I can't grow one at my age...feck.

My partner is in his fifties and can't grow a beard :D

Are you based in Dublin?

My partner is in his fifties and can't grow a beard :D

Are you based in Dublin?

Leitrim:D. It must be the water:D. You have given me hope:). I always thought there was something wrong with me because I couldn't grow a beard:D

Lol he's desperate takes him a week to get a patchy five o clock shadow

I spent many a childhood holiday up in rossinver lovely spot

Find yourself a decent eyebrow place and you'll be sorted salons are not just for ladies :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

The issue with sun creams isn't that they might damage your skin but that they may have other health risks associated with their use. Lots of commonly used uv filters contain chemicals that also act as endocrine (hormonal) disrupters. The skin is your largest organ and it is a semi permeable membrane. It is theorised that these chemicals are absorbed into the blood stream and can increase risk of beast cancer in women and fertility issues in men amongst other problems There's debate over the veracity of the concerns but it's enough to warrant some research anyway.
    Read up and make your own mind up though.

Another thing to remember with suncream is that it's not enough to use a moisturiser that boasts an spf, cosmetic companies get away with selling moisturisers with spfs because they need only satisfy the advertising standards criteria for the claim, that only requires that "some" spf of added, a drop would be enough. If you want proper sun protection you have to buy something that markets itself as a sun cream as they have to satisfy scientific and medical criteria to advertise an spf.

Lol he's desperate takes him a week to get a patchy five o clock shadow

I spent many a childhood holiday up in rossinver lovely spot

Find yourself a decent eyebrow place and you'll be sorted salons are not just for ladies :)

Rossinver. Be the feck:). I never thought I would be on Boards talking about that:). I would be beside Carrick on Shannon. Rossinver would be further north, but not far away:). Can you imagine me trying to find somewhere here for the eyebrows:D. I can imagine the gossip. I hear yer man was at the salon the other day. Aye I heard that. I hear he wants his eyebrows done now. Oh he must be one of them..an eyebrow person:D:D:D

The issue with sun creams isn't that they might damage your skin but that they may have other health risks associated with their use. Lots of commonly used uv filters contain chemicals that also act as endocrine (hormonal) disrupters. The skin is your largest organ and it is a semi permeable membrane. It is theorised that these chemicals are absorbed into the blood stream and can increase risk of beast cancer in women and fertility issues in men amongst other problems There's debate over the veracity of the concerns but it's enough to warrant some research anyway.
    Read up and make your own mind up though. .

Interesting. I can't find a study which compares risks of melanomas versus breast cancer though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

I've the opposite problem, looking young thanks to plenty of water, green tea, admiration of the female form and the odd pint of Guinness.

Do NOT ever wear any type of chem-sunscreen, unless you're Ed'Sherry, an albino or surfing along the beaches of the equator 8hrs per day.
    At around 53-55o North it's highly likely most of the country will be deficient in vitamin D for most of the year already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

Don't use Oil of Ulay :D as someone asked. Don't use suncream either. Just don't expose myself to sun much. Don't actively avoid it either though. Lifestyle just means I don't get a huge amount. Think I suffer from SADS though and will be starting to supplement with VIT D this year.

Have started trimming eyebrows though and physically I feel my age if not older. Creaking bones, injuries taking a lot longer to heal, general energy levels etc.

Medical or biological tests/indicators would likely peg me at my real age if not older than that (slightly overweight, High BP, metabolic syndrome) but it just so happens that outwardly my skin and hair make me look younger. In my case my youthful looks are quite literally only skin deep.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

I've the opposite problem, looking young thanks to plenty of water, green tea, admiration of the female form and the odd pint of Guinness.

Do NOT ever wear any type of chem-sunscreen, unless you're Ed'Sherry, an albino or surfing along the beaches of the equator 8hrs per day.
    At around 53-55o North it's highly likely most of the country will be deficient in vitamin D for most of the year already.
    We should be wearing no sun cream? That's very poor advice. The skin cancer rate in Ireland is rising and it's down to people thinking sure it's cloudy I don't need to wear any sun cream. We should be wearing it everyday of the year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭BrianD3

If you keep your hair (easier said than done!) and are in good shape and haven't had excessive sun exposure, you'll look pretty good in my view. I think men are judged less harshly for having wrinkles than woman and also men's skin may be better able to cope with sun exposure than women's.

It goes without saying that you should never smoke, limit drinking and look after your teeth and gums, floss etc.

IMO what makes young men look middle aged is not light wrinkles but a fat face, double chin and no definition in the jawline. It's so common. Staying in good shape with low bodyfat should reduce this effect.

However it depends on what stage you're at in life. I have an uncle in law who has always been fat and he is now in his mid 80s. He never paid any attention to avoiding the sun exposure or covering up. Looking back at photos when he was in his early 30s, he had a fat face and looked middle aged but with no wrinkles. His appearance hasn't actually changed that much in 50+ years and he has kept most of his hair so now looks considerably younger than his true age. He's been crocked for many years though and his obesity is a big factor - gets out of breath easily, walking and mobility are poor.

Me, I'm late thirties, hairline has receded a bit, I have some light forehead lines and the early stages of of Marionette lines. However I can realistically pass for 10 years younger. Also was told recently by a market research person in Tesco that i look 22 :eek: But maybe she was just instructed by Tesco to compliment the customers to make them feel good.

I'm naturally slim and did pretty well in the genetic lottery. Mother has always looked at least 10 years younger than her age and is the same and weight in her late 70s as when she was 21. She tells me me that she was regularly burnt as a kid as nobody gave a crap about that sort of thing back then.

I don't drink or smoke and have been weight training consistently for 12 years and am at about 10% or less bodyfat with a six pack and 18 inch "drop" between my chest and waist measurement which is unusual. I do eat too much junk food and not enough fruit and veg. But my energy levels are very good and I'm still getting stronger and looking better each year. Also I do my kegel exercises and get hornier and harder than I did when I was a teenager :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,539 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

My landlord had a friend of his down for a few days a while back. He works as a hospital manager in Leeds and was talking about how skin cancer rates had exploded. I started wearing factor 50 sunscreen when he told me that.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

Interesting. I can't find a study which compares risks of melanomas versus breast cancer though.

Well you can buy sunscreens that use physical uv filters as opposed to chemical ones. They tend to be more expensive, harder to find and a bit thicker and a tiny bit chalky in my experience so not great for your face. There might be better ones since I looked last though. Generally you're looking for something containing non-nano particles of zinc oxide or titanium dioxide as these can't be absorbed into the blood stream and provides a physical barrier on the skin by scattering UV rays. If you google you'll find some.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Keano wrote: »
    We should be wearing no sun cream? That's very poor advice. The skin cancer rate in Ireland is rising and it's down to people thinking sure it's cloudy I don't need to wear any sun cream. We should be wearing it everyday of the year

Wearing it 'every day' in Ireland? Very terrible advice. Were further North than most of the cities in Canada and not far off from Moscow, only for the gulf stream we'd have snow tyres on for most of the winter.

There are reports of skin cancer rates doubling in Australia AFTER the widespread introduction of sun screens in the 70's.

The only reason for localised increases is due to the popularity of direct sun holidays since the 80's. In which case just bring a hat and shelter from the midday sun as locals there would also do, simple.

As a general rule if humans have survived fine without something like chemical laden semi-toxic sunscreen for the last 1,000 million years or so, it really isn't such a necessity that it's made out to be.

Explosions in cases of Diabetes, Obesity, Autism, Cancer and Arthritis is more of a concern...

The only reason for localised increases is due to the popularity of direct sun holidays since the 80's.
    More like the early 70's.
    In which case just bring a hat and shelter from the midday sun as locals there would also do, simple.
    Diet plays a part too. A diet rich in tomatoes for example gives sun protection.
    As a general rule if humans have survived fine without something like chemical laden semi-toxic sunscreen for the last 1,000 million years or so, it really isn't such a necessity that it's made out to be.
    Well… white skin is relatively recent as an adaptation(in us, neandertals may have had it for much longer). 20,000 odd years and it evolved in a cycling set of ice ages and when said ages retreated deep dar forest ruled the place. Sunlight was at something of a premium back in the day. Plus those folks were outdoors from an early age, so would have built up a protective tan in childhood. Bit of a diff from some yahoo from Galway or wherever, white as a milk bottle going red in Majorca. Clearly white skin was an advantage as it spread rapidly through the European population. However it may have been a bit of a fudge. As I mentioned earlier Europeans got the crappy version of it. Asian folks who are pale have the same rates of skin cancer and ageing skin as African folks. They got more robust white skin.

Though I am with you re Vit D. Most don't realise a) how important it is(it's more a hormone than a vitamin), b) how easy it is to be deficient, c) how hard it is to get a decent amount in food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

Well, between the age of 16 and 24 I didn't really change very much physically, I've stayed the same. Now at 25 I can see slight changes from last years pics, I would point those at very stressful times in my life (breakup, final year of college, degrading stressful job, hit the bottle hard, horrifically stressful 2015). There is a lot to be said for a decent quality of life...!

It'll be interesting to see if at age 32 how much I've changed since :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I'm 40 and still look late 20s, the old man was the same didn't have one wrinkle on his face.

Only thing that gives the game away is I'm light on top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

I'm aging like Milk.

Must start getting more vitamin D and sleep into my life.

I'm in my fifties. Most people would say I'm in my early forties based on my appearance.

When my father was my age he looked like a man in his late sixties or seventies. He did not spend any more time in the sun than I, but he smoked 20+ a day and his skin was wrinkled, grey and thin. Anyone I know who smokes looks older than their years. I would not dismiss the importance of not smoking for OP's query.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,529 ✭✭✭Mike Guide 69

Along with the sun exposure and diet, I might add that STRESS is another contributing factor that could assist the aging process. In my own case, i've noticed the heavy indention of crows feet around my eyes in the last few years and along with an excessive thinning hairline has defintely added many years to my appearance.
    A combination of work and other personal mitigating factors have definitely contributed to this and I suppose my own outlook on how I deal with stress and stress related incidents, i.e the "over analysis" factor (mountains out of a molehill!!!) didnt help either.
    Now I tend not to worry to much or overplay situations that I deem are stressful, just "go with the flow".
    As the ad says "look after your mental health", its important folks,as it can play its part in how you look physically!!!! :)

SVJKarate wrote: »
    I would not dismiss the importance of not smoking for OP's query.

Neither would I.