Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's the most you've ever drank...at home...

• 01-08-2015 11:03pm

Was never into drinking at home for my first 40 years, in fact always said I'd avoid it, but as baby landed in 7 months ago have had to remove myself from the pub and get used to cans in the house. So far the most I've managed is 10, how about you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,720 ✭✭✭Schwiiing

A pint of water. Fierce thirsty I was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Schwiiing wrote: »
    A pint of water. Fierce thirsty I was.

You rebel

I had forgotten, I drank a bottle of vodka about 2 months back when I was giving out about not getting out any more. That was a bad weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭NotCominBack

youre having kids at 40??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭colossus-x

I recall one even drinking a full bottle of Bushmills whiskey , think it was going cheep for 18 euro in lidl. Yes a large bottle but not the huge sized ones. I did the same with a bottle of gin once followed by a red wind I'm not sure how much. Think I went out after too after that as I was well tanked up but prolly didn't have much as I was pretty full. Yes , I can drink a lot. I've given up now in case anyone is concerned lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,472 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

nice going..10 cans at home with a baby....:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭brembo26

An 8 pack of Heineken is the most I reckon unless I have friends over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,628 ✭✭✭brevity

A 700ml bottle of Jameson. A bad night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,959 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

Bought a 320 box of Barry's tea a week last Friday, ran out this morning, and there's only 2 of us :pac:

I haven't drank from a can since Mosney '97, when my tennis partner pressed a Coca Cola to my brow, as refugees coming over the crest of a hill sang the Battle Hymn of the Republic. O Jesus.

I've been half-cut on six-euro grapes of wrath ever since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 245 ✭✭lanomist

Five cans of Carlsberg and a half bottle of wine. My wife drank the other half bottle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Was never into drinking at home for my first 40 years, in fact always said I'd avoid it, but as baby landed in 7 months ago have had to remove myself from the pub and get used to cans in the house. So far the most I've managed is 10, how about you?

A small baby could have a bottle every three hours , so over a weekend the baby might drink ... erm , 8 times 3 by .. how many hours in a weekend ? Maybe 30 bottles ? Your baby is harder than you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,817 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

I wouldn't say I'd be able for 8 cans but I did finish off a 20 box of bottles.

They go down far too easily

Edit. That was a once off. It will never happen again.

Just in case that Minimum pricing crowd is on boards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭johnny osbourne

i found a barrel of Guinness from a neighboring pub, i drilled a hole in the bottom and drank all the guinness from a bowl,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭NotCominBack

i found a barrel of Guinness from a neighboring pub, i drilled a hole in the bottom and drank the guinness from a bowl,

but it was in a barrell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Poitín. I'm not sure how much I drank but I remember thinking 'oh shit' and then woke up the next morning hammered and spent the day retching. Haven't drank spirits since. Stick to the beer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Too much.

Spent most of the following day discovering God while hugging the toilet bowl, wishing I was dead, promising to never ever drink again.

Told the story to a few lads in the pub couple weeks later, over a pint.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭johnny osbourne

but it was in a barrell

yes, but it went into a bowl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭the_monkey

Irish people don't have a drink problem at all ... 10 cans with a Baby in the house - good parenting there ...

Poitín. I'm not sure how much I drank but I remember thinking 'oh shit' and then woke up the next morning hammered and spent the day retching. Haven't drank spirits since. Stick to the beer.

An uncle of mine used to use Poitin mixed in a spray for cleaning dog kennels. Said it was very effective.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

the_monkey wrote: »
    Irish people don't have a drink problem at all ... 10 cans with a Baby in the house - good parenting there ...

You'd think he'd offer the baby one the greedy fecker

An uncle of mine used to use Poitin mixed in a spray for cleaning dog kennels. Said it was very effective.
    I've woken up from a house party to see a bottle of poitin having stripped the paint from a sideboard along a line from where the condensation dripped.

I wouldn't even touch the stuff these days tbh. There's nothing in it you cannot get from a good healthy overdose of Burgundy!

It's mad stuff. I wouldn't touch it ever again after that experience. I didn't even think I was drinking a lot of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭Pretty fast

Blazer wrote: »

I thought about passing a comment like yours but then I thought to myself no, who the hell am I to judge anyone.

Last year I drank 14 cans of guinness while up all night playing online poker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭conorh91

oh get over yourself... since when is it unacceptable for a drunk person to be in the same house as a baby? They're not necessarily looking after the little tyke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

conorh91 wrote: »
    oh get over yourself... since when is it unacceptable for a drunk person to be in the same house as a baby? They're not necessarily looking after the little tyke.

They're just jealous of you being able to change a ****e loaded nappy while gargled.

Well drunks and babies do have some things in common, both speak gibberish, can't really stand up, some even wet themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,233 ✭✭✭shamrock55

I drank 3 bottles of white wine out of a pint glass in under 2hrs once, i think it took me another 2hrs to get up the stairs to bed:D i dont drink at home at all now as we have 2 small kids

Quick, someone call social services - OP is undoubtedly going to juggle his baby with watermelons while standing on the roof of the house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

I've a load of Wheat Beer,Pils and came home with a 20 pack of Miller this evening...........The strongest thing I drank all night is tea:o

10 cans of either Magners or Strongbow (was living in the UK at the time, can't remember which I had but there was a deal on 20 cans) is the most I've managed in one (quite long) sitting. I contemplated stopping at 7 but I decided I had to keep going so I could build a nice symmetric pyramid on my desk.

I also had two bottles of red wine one night. I think that was worse than the ten cans tbh. :(

Very rarely ever drink spirits at home. I did once buy a bottle of Wray and Nephew's Overproof rum as a friend had recommended. It tasted like what I imagine nail varnish remover is like. I did finish the bottle but it took several shots spread over several nights. >_<

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

A litre bottle of whiskey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Tonigh I drank two naggins and watched Miriam on da telle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Give over the both of you. Unless the drunk person is the only person there to look after the baby you are being over sensitive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Drank half a naggin of whiskey over a few hours one night, feel like a lightweight compared to some of the hard drinkers on the thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭Miley30

3/4 of bottle whiskey, I bloody well felt it the next morning.

Ha! Apparently a couple of people are appalled that I consumed alcohol while in the same building as a child!

Her mum was here too, so it's not like I was solely minding her.

When I thunk up this thread last night I'd had 8 cans. I'm now up making her bottle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Ha! Apparently a couple of people are appalled that I consumed alcohol while in the same building as a child!

Her mum was here too, so it's not like I was solely minding her.

When I thunk up this thread last night I'd had 8 cans. I'm now up making her bottle.

I think you and I missed the section in 'Good Parenting 2015' magazine that said both parents needed to be sober at all times when in the same building as a child.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

On my own at home - two vodkas or a glass of wine.

With company at home, a bottle of wine.

At his house (with company), a bottle of wine and four beers. I was falling around the place :o

Need help with those beer goggles?! :D

Menas wrote: »
    I think you and I missed the section in 'Good Parenting 2015' magazine that said both parents needed to be sober at all times when in the same building as a child.

Ooops, put 8 tots of whiskey instead of formula into her bottle, and gave her matches instead of her soother to play with while it was cooling. What am I like?

Need help with those beer goggles?! :D

Being dared to keep up with the lads is a nasty, evil thing. Never again :o

Wine and then beer- makes you feel queer.
    Beer and then wine- you will be fine.

Holds true for me.

Wine and then beer- makes you feel queer.
    Beer and then wine- you will be fine.

Holds true for me.

I've heard that, but if I mix beer and wine in any combination, it doesn't bode well :pac:

youre having kids at 40??

Yep.

Packed in loads of fun in my 30s, time for a new chapter. Hence drinking at home instead of crashing in at 6am. Or when I do get out now, it's home for 10 or 11.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

brevity wrote: »
    A 700ml bottle of Jameson. A bad night.
    I thought I was bad drinking a half bottle :( One good thing is that you won't have a hangover from whiskey :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

shamrock55 wrote: »
    I drank 3 bottles of white wine out of a pint glass in under 2hrs once, i think it took me another 2hrs to get up the stairs to bed:D i dont drink at home at all now as we have 2 small kids
    Wine is a killer, last time I drank it I kept missing the bed and ended up on the floor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

I can't do wine at all. Someone gave me a bottle of Wolfblass Eagle Hawk Chardonnay for a birthday one year and I drank the bottle. It was lovely! Wine gives you a great buzz! I'd been missing out all those years! So I went to the shop for another of the same, bumped in to 2 schoolfriends I hadn't seen in years and invited them back. Cracked open the bottle, had another 3 glasses and had one of those moments of clarity when you hear yourself slurring. Went to go to the jacks and realised I'd ****ed up badly. Stumbled through the apartment and had to be carried to bed. Came very very close to crying when I woke up the next morning and realised how bad the hangover was. Never again. Sticking to beer and vodka from now on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Sam Hain

I slept in the bath last night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭eoins23456

Sam Hain wrote: »
    I slept in the bath last night

There was a spider in the bath last night