Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Beards!

• 29-07-2015 12:45am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭

This is something which we are going to have to address sooner or later. The current fascination with beards, I'm sorry folks, but those aren't really beards. A five 'o clock shadow does not constitute a beard. If you're going to grow a beard it's like growing tomatoes or strawberries, grow the bloody thing right! This is a beard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭TheLastMohican

It's all about self esteem bro. The longer the beard the less self esteem. Simples Ask anyone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Longer the beard the more axe murderer you are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Old sailors and mountainy sheep farmers and union reps are allowed beards,anybody else it looks wrong.
    Particularly on a twenty five year old.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

kneemos wrote: »
    Old sailors and mountainy sheep farmers and union reps are allowed beards,anybody else it looks wrong.
    Exactly.

You don't grow a beard. You earn it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭Subcomandante Marcos

Beards and tattoos, disguising the absolute vapid banality of hispters and gob****es since 2009.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭Putin

It's all about self esteem bro. The longer the beard the less self esteem. Simples Ask anyone!

The shorter the bread or lack of a beard, the greater the Mangina.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Beards are gross. Manky looking yokes especially the ones that look all wirey and pube like. Alright Ronnie drew, swear to god, the sooner that trend and the douchebag knot dies a death, I'll be a happy woman

Would you not even go for this?

That's a beard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

The main problem is that some people are growing them as they are fashionable now rather than because it suits them. Hence you see many wallies out there that just have big pube faces.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Yiz are all just jealous of my macho man beard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

I thought top knots were uncool now? Haven't seen one in ages and friend has gotten rid of his

Yiz are all just jealous of my macho man beard
    *flutter*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Would you not even go for this?

That's a beard

It's not too bad, just not my cup of tea!
    My oh sometimes lets his grow a few days without shaving and I hate it because he looks like he would be arrested if he was anywhere in the vicinity of a school or playground. Sometimes when he shaves he will leave a moustache and tell me he's going to grow one. Even though I know he's only trolling me, it still winds me up. If it came to him going through with it, I would happily shave it off while he slept.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,817 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

Q. I didn't know you were growing a beard!

A. I'm not, I've just been lazy the last few days.

It's not too bad, just not my cup of tea!
    My oh sometimes lets his grow a few days without shaving and I hate it because he looks like he would be arrested if he was anywhere in the vicinity of a school or playground. Sometimes when he shaves he will leave a moustache and tell me he's going to grow one. Even though I know he's only trolling me, it still winds me up. If it came to him going through with it, I would happily shave it off while he slept.
    I shave every other day - just to give the auld skin a break. But all the beardheads that I know are basically sexual introverts or complete pervs. Having read over this I realise that I'll encourage the wrath of the manufactured indignation omnibus.

Unless you are a personal friend of Kris Kristoffersson, Merle Haggard or Chase from Falcon Crest you'll face no wrath from me :)

Ok then! I take it for granted that you are not afraid of being found too barefaced!
    Why hide a beautiful face?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Had a **** beard before it was popular mates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Getting real tired of seeing every 2nd lad looking like Colin McGreggor these days. When is this look going to just feck off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭fermanagh_man

Nothing like a ginger beard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,074 ✭✭✭pmasterson95

smash wrote: »
    Getting real tired of seeing every 2nd lad looking like Colin McGreggor these days. When is this look going to just feck off?

When McGregor becomes unfashionable.

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,158 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Nothing like a ginger beard
    Thank God! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

They look ridiculous on some people though.

Jared Leto grew one and bizarrely it just made him look like Katy Perry with a beard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

kneemos wrote: »
    Bikers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,638 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

Can't wait for the beard to become unfashionable so that mine once again becomes a rarity rather than the norm.

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

I love my beard. couldnt give a fuck how it looks. I just hate shaving and love scratching it. Even when it's not itchy. Sometimes i keep pens in it too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭geraardo

I have a beard because i hate shaving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭conorh91

It's far better than the metrosexual phase that happened back in the early-mid noughties.

I see no problem with it myself, apart from the awful ginger beard phenomenon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

I don't identify myself as growing a beard, or being part of a hipster/trendy movement who wears it as an accesory... sometimes I have hair in my face and sometimes I don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

I have a beard because I am awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭Pat_custard

Have you ever looked back at pictures of parents when they were young and EVERYONE had a long mop of hair? It's gonna be the same for this generation

"daddy why do you have a dead animal on your face?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭traprunner

Have you ever looked back at pictures of parents when they were young and EVERYONE had a long mop of hair? It's gonna be the same for this generation

Because the top of my head is bald and I want to feel part of the hairy gang.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

" that's your mother, you little sh1t!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭thomas anderson.

Another thread for jealous people who cant grow beards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

I was making stupid threads about beards before making stupid threads about beards was cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭circadian

I'm currently rocking an awful beard, I'm also rocking two broken arms. Once I have movement restored I'll be delighted to be rid of the bloody thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Too many Keanu Reeves style excuses for beards these days too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 897 ✭✭✭NyOmnishambles

Ginger beard wearer and proud here, though I am actually ginger so it doesn't look too out of place, not like those weirdo genetic freaks whose beard is a different colour to their hair

I shaved mine off a while ago as I didn't really want to be associated with all the gobsh!tes who have it because it is trendy

I have had one on and off for years because it suits me and it also makes my handsome baby face seem a little older

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

I've had a beard for about ten years. And I'll probably have one for another ten. I couldn't give a **** about trends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

Ginger beard wearer and proud here, though I am actually ginger so it doesn't look too out of place, not like those weirdo genetic freaks whose beard is a different colour to their hair

I shaved mine off a while ago as I didn't really want to be associated with all the gobsh!tes who have it because it is trendy

I have had one on and off for years because it suits me and it also makes my handsome baby face seem a little older

Im like that, though it was much more pronounced when I was in my late teens. My beard itself, was multiple colours. A deep ginger from ear to ear across my jaws and chin. Aryan blonde mustache and anything on my neck was as black satan's soul. I looked like an upside down german flag.
    Add into that dirty blonde hair, dark back hair and pubes of such a bright red i could read in the dark with them.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I've been growing beards for about 15 years now.
    Mainly from lazyness.
    I can't even remember the last time I've had a clean shave, it's been a few years now.
    I would occassionally trim it down with a 'raw' blade on my trimmers if I have to look tidy for a work trip, or if I get p*ssed off with it.
    It's at the stage now where I need to get it tidied up a bit, trim the ronnie to stop me chewing on it, and take a bit of weight out of it jowls to make my head look less fat.

Beards rule. Mrs. _Bap is also a fan of it bizzarely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭BUBBLES1978

I absolutely focking love beards...all beards big ones small ones love the aul facial hair, love it so much I have to touch random strangers especially if they have a big one!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

I absolutely focking love beards...all beards big ones small ones love the aul facial hair, love it so much I have to touch random strangers especially if they have a big one!!!!
    Stranger, danger :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

I miss having a beard....but wont be doing anything about that until winter. Too warm to be growing insulation this time of year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭BUBBLES1978

Mesrine65 wrote: »
    Stranger, danger :eek:

i know!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 Wexicanfan

i think beards are great

Beards look good when you have a suit on, but not sports clothing. Beards make tracksuit-wearers look shifty & unreliable. Tracksuit wearers, take note.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭traprunner

Beards look good when you have a suit on, but not sports clothing. Beards make tracksuit-wearers look shifty & unreliable. Tracksuit wearers, take note.

I thought tracksuits did that without requiring a beard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,940 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Menas wrote: »
    I miss having a beard....but wont be doing anything about that until winter. Too warm to be growing insulation this time of year.

I never find an issue with the heat when having a beard,