Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

French protests

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,719 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

We hit a farmer protest here in France on way from the Ferry.
    Well organised, about 20 minute delay.
    They were systematically stopping all foreign trucks and checking the cargo. Police were there but standing back and Letting them direct trucks off to one side for checking. Check driver in front if us didn't want to stop but had no choice and seemed to be let on through.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Check out an on-the-spot report on the milk price thread today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭djmc

Can you image the backlash if farmers here let live pigs loose in supermarkets dumped slurry on their doors and burned tyres in the carpark.
    Their farming union must have some power to be left get away with it.
    Even stopping food imports from EU countries has to be illeagel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Count Mondego

_Brian wrote: »
    They were systematically stopping all foreign trucks and checking the cargo.

That's ridiculous carry on, how the fu#k were the cops allowing that?

They seem to have the backing of their government
    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3176008/Francois-Hollande-BACKS-militant-farmers-held-France-ransom-blockading-roads-imports-tourist-sites-wave-protests-food-prices.html
    Farmers there are respected and police don't interfere with their protest's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭twin_beacon

I think its a bad idea myself, all they are doing is turning the general public against them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,457 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I think its a bad idea myself, all they are doing is turning the general public against them.

The general public in France support their farmers not like here where we are despised by a good portion of the population.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

Base price wrote: »
    The general public in France support their farmers not like here where we are despised by a good portion of the population.

Yeah - a lot of French people would still grow their own veg, so they are more connected with agriculture, and don't seem to have the "food comes from a supermarket" attitude that exists here...

don't forget the free money the free money irish farmers get :p

We are more like the UK where all people want is cheap convenient food from one place ie. Large supermarkets
    Rte news prime time news have a field day here as well as the general public if farmers have a peaceful protest driving on a single lane or fine them for picketing a beef factory.
    The competition authority even takes the side against farmers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

I'd say a good portion of the population have enough going on in their lives not to be bothered about farmers, I'd say there's more begrudgery between farmers than against farmers.
    Just because people don't embrace ya doesn't mean they hate ya.
    Other sectors aren't concerned about us same as we're not concerned about them...:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

djmc wrote: »
    The competition authority even takes the side against farmers

I would think that the CA takes the side of big business...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭Nettleman

"Some" folks would never let a good crisis go buy without trying to get beef & lamb price down- Factories are worried, pity they weren't so worried when they were flaking their suppliers last year. They wont expect farmers to support them in their time of so called "need".
    But they still have USA and China (and all the related publicity) , so nothing to worry about really;)

http://www.farmersjournal.ie/meat-factories-worried-by-french-protests-186214/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Nettleman wrote: »
    "Some" folks would never let a good crisis go buy without trying to get beef & lamb price down- Factories are worried, pity they weren't so worried when they were flaking their suppliers last year. They wont expect farmers to support them in their time of so called "need".
    But they still have USA and China (and all the related publicity) , so nothing to worry about really;)

http://www.farmersjournal.ie/meat-factories-worried-by-french-protests-186214/
    France is Ireland's largest export market for lamb, taking in 18,000 tonnes of our sheepmeat every year, and second only to the UK for our beef exports with 55,000 tonnes annually.
    either the person who wrote the press release doesn't understand english or they are trying to make the problem sound bigger than it is

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

ganmo wrote: »
    either the person who wrote the press release doesn't understand english or they are trying to make the problem sound bigger than it is

Thats makes sense tho no?

1st = UK = 55k tons Beef
    2nd = France = 18k tons lamb (Well, 2nd for overall meat exports, but largest export location for lamb)

Or have I read it wrong?

yes they do get to the truth but the way they say it it reads like

France is our biggest market but UK is bigger

ganmo wrote: »
    yes they do get to the truth but the way they say it it reads like

France is our biggest market but UK is bigger

no, it says france is out biggest market for lamb, and our second biggest market for beef.

rangler1 wrote: »
    I'd say a good portion of the population have enough going on in their lives not to be bothered about farmers, I'd say there's more begrudgery between farmers than against farmers.
    Other sectors aren't concerned about us same as we're not concerned about them...:D
    In fairness the French don't view it the same way - the rural/urban divide is less pronounced there.
    I do have an interest on how other sectors are preforming and due to our smaller population it impacts on all of us.

In fairness the French don't view it the same way - the rural/urban divide is less pronounced there.
    I do have an interest on how other sectors are preforming and due to our smaller population it impacts on all of us.

Watched a programme on rte tonight about an old shop owner in Charlestown that was robbed, beaten up and tied up...bad enough but the biggest crime was the locals didn't bother about him for five days and he eventually died of the cold....kinda reinforces my point in a way.

Watched a programme on rte tonight about an old shop owner in Charlestown that was robbed, beaten up and tied up...bad enough but the biggest crime was the locals didn't bother about him for five days and he eventually died of the cold....kinda reinforces my point
    Rangler, imho your analogy in this case is dire and not reflective nor relevant to the discussion :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 130 ✭✭frogloch

Watched a programme on rte tonight about an old shop owner in Charlestown that was robbed, beaten up and tied up...bad enough but the biggest crime was the locals didn't bother about him for five days and he eventually died of the cold....kinda reinforces my point in a way.

Have to say I have great neighbours here and we all look out for on another. They've got my back and I've got theirs. We've all got each others mobile no. and if any travelling salesmen are around we'll know about it. Plus this has nothing to do with French farmers protesting.

Rangler, imho your analogy in this case is dire and not reflective nor relevant to the discussion :(

Just trying to be polite to you, so I'll start again.
    Do you not think that you post no.8 comes across a bit paranoid when in truth no one gives a .... especially using the word despise.
    Bit of a joke really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Suckler

Absolute nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Suckler wrote: »
    Absolute nonsense.

In fairness the average punter doesn't give a monkey's one way or the other. They don't think about farming or farmers from one end of the year to the next.

That's fine and I'd agree with you, but that's not what was written. Just the same as farmers don't give a monkeys what economists are up to or what the latest developments in bio-med R&D might mean for pharmaceuticals. Doesn't mean they despise them.

Farming and Irish people is intrinsically linked. The populace has a heightened awareness of where there food comes from and what goes in to it now perhaps more than in the last 20-30 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

That's fine and I'd agree with you, but that's not what was written. Just the same as farmers don't give a monkeys what economists are up to or what the latest developments in bio-med R&D might mean for pharmaceuticals. Doesn't mean they despise them.

Farming and Irish people is intrinsically linked. The populace has a heightened awareness of where there food comes from and what goes in to it now perhaps more than in the last 20-30 years.

Out of all the countries I've lived in and others visited, I find there is a bigger disconnect between the farmers and the rest of population in Ireland.
    Other countries love seeing farmers going about their work and always questioning about it when I tell some city dweller I'm from a farm and its wow cool I'd love to grow my own veg and raise a cow or two and have a few chicken.
    In Ireland I find the general reaction is oh how much is your farm worth. Do you have frontage.
    Completely different mindset and mentality regarding farmers, it comes from somewhere so it must be their parents or their social circle.
    Also a lot of kids when they get their college stuff end up resenting the fact they are from agri background. I have seen it first hand.
    You can see it on boards here re Culchies vs townies thread.

According to the press French farmers on strike are supported by 90 % of the public the French government and police.
    If Irish farmers did something similar how much support would we have.
    I have seen it in this country too people giving out about all the free hand outs and grant's farmers are getting for nothing

http://www.fwi.co.uk/news/french-farmers-spray-manure-on-cars-in-prices-protest.htm

According to the press French farmers on strike are supported by 90 % of the public the French government and police.If Irish farmers did something similar how much support would we have.
    I have seen it in this country too people giving out about all the free hand outs and grant's farmers are getting for nothing

French government says they support French farmers...shocker. Succesive Irish Governments can and will say the same. Why? Because they know they can't change what needs to be changed and will let the E.U. be the fall guy. It's win-win for them.

Various groups in Ireland have protested without in-turn supporting the other but voicing that they do support their grievance. It still doesn't prove that they despise each other or close to it.Every time I hear of a complaint from the HSE or a teachers union I take issue with it but I don't despise teachers or nurses carte blanche.
    Criminal damage from a gang of thugs and has no place in modern society. if the tables were turned and I was damaging your possessions because of high prices would you be as accepting and row in behind me?
    kupus wrote: »
    Out of all the countries I've lived in and others visited, I find there is a bigger disconnect between the farmers and the rest of population in Ireland.
    Pure conjecture to suit. I've lived, worked and traveled across most of the world by now and there is far more of a connect between Irish agri and the Irish people.
    Other countries love seeing farmers going about their work and always questioning about it when I tell some city dweller I'm from a farm and its wow cool I'd love to grow my own veg and raise a cow or two and have a few chicken.

I've met the same and more in Ireland. My work has taken me to near every continent and through a right mix of cultures and I've yet to see any justification for the nonsense spouted of farmers versus the rest.
    A man in Germany/Iran/India/Minnesota/Mumbai gets just as pissed off when he gets stuck behind a tractor for a few miles.
    In Ireland I find the general reaction is oh how much is your farm worth. Do you have frontage.
    Completely different mindset and mentality regarding farmers, it comes from somewhere so it must be their parents or their social circle.

The word of idiots being taken as the opinion of the populace? You need to change who you talk to. I've met plenty of idiots that spout worse and they come from towns, farms and everything in between. Ignorance of a few still doesn't mean majority despising.
    Also a lot of kids when they get their college stuff end up resenting the fact they are from agri background. I have seen it first hand.
    Resenting an agri background? That's more to do with how they were reared rather that public perception of farmers.
    You can see it on boards here re Culchies vs townies thread.
    You mean the thread of pub stories and urban legends. I'll get my made up stories elsewhere.

French government says they support French farmers...shocker. Succesive Irish Governments can and will say the same. Why? Because they know they can't change what needs to be changed and will let the E.U. be the fall guy. It's win-win for them.

Various groups in Ireland have protested without in-turn supporting the other but voicing that they do support their grievance. It still doesn't prove that they despise each other or close to it.Every time I hear of a complaint from the HSE or a teachers union I take issue with it but I don't despise teachers or nurses carte blanche.

Criminal damage from a gang of thugs and has no place in modern society. if the tables were turned and I was damaging your possessions because of high prices would you be as accepting and row in behind me?

Pure conjecture to suit. I've lived, worked and traveled across most of the world by now and there is far more of a connect between Irish agri and the Irish people.

I've met the same and more in Ireland. My work has taken me to near every continent and through a right mix of cultures and I've yet to see any justification for the nonsense spouted of farmers versus the rest.
    A man in Germany/Iran/India/Minnesota/Mumbai gets just as pissed off when he gets stuck behind a tractor for a few miles.

The word of idiots being taken as the opinion of the populace? You need to change who you talk to. I've met plenty of idiots that spout worse and they come from towns, farms and everything in between. Ignorance of a few still doesn't mean majority despising.

Resenting an agri background? That's more to do with how they were reared rather that public perception of farmers.

You mean the thread of pub stories and urban legends. I'll get my made up stories elsewhere.

My point being that there is no way the Irish government garda or public would tolerate the kind of stuff that is happening France.

And my point being that we are dead right not to tolerate it. Burning heaps of tyres on a motorway and harassing truck drivers carrying foreign produce? I'd gladly see anyone engaging in this sh1te lose their cash,assets, business and hopefully freedom for at least a few months.

by the sounds of it the truck drivers have enough bother with the illegals at the ports without the farmers too.

I was stopped by protesting farmers this morning at a milk processing plant. They were spraying what can only be duck slurry (the most vile smelling shyte that must have a half life of 100yrs!) from a 15k litre tanker and it was breaking the windows and flooding offices...
    Pure crazy.
    Anyhow I took out the phone to take some pics...immediately the cops came to me and asked me to stop or they would confiscate the phone.
    The police must be on the farmers side...

How is farming there are they much worse off than Irish farmers for instance.
    The supermarkets power to set prices at EU level does need to be questioned and tackled but what they are doing is crazy
    You would think it would turn the general public against them

How is farming there are they much worse off than Irish farmers for instance.
    The supermarkets power to set prices at EU level does need to be questioned and tackled but what they are doing is crazy
    You would think it would turn the general public against them

Farm profit/loss would be much the same but imho the French won't lie down and take it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

And so your first argument to me is to sAy its conjecture..... As everything you wrote that followed is as well. So we are at loggerheads with that one
    I write what I see and what I know.
    And I see a public perception in Ireland that is always at loggerheads with the farmers.

Middle and professional class people always complaining that food is too costly, farmers making too much. Begrudging farmers that sold land a few years ago to developers etc
    Without realising that it's the factories and supermarkets that call the shots

If you travelled so much I'm sure you'll know that a lot of city dwellers aspire to live in the country.
    I know cos I meet them every single day and without fail I mention where I from and their immediate reaction is ohhh countryside and when I say I'm from a farm they love to hear all the stories about cows calving sheep gettIng out of a four sided locked enclosure and wondering how they did it. Telling them graffiti artists are not allowed to spray walls in towns so they go out at night and practice on the sheep.
    They really love it.

There is a snob culture in Ireland when it comes to farming if you want to keep your head in the sand about it by all means do, but don't come on here and tell me there isn't.

..Professional class people
    No such thing
    I know cos I meet them every single day and without fail I mention where I from
    That must be riveting stuff..
    If you travelled so much I'm sure you'll know that a lot of city dwellers aspire to live in the country.
    Some do and some don't. Just as some country people want to live in the country but others have had enough of it and move to urban centres.
    Without realising that it's the factories and supermarkets that call the shots
    People are all too aware of who calls the shots. They don't pay they don't pay the farmers direct for their weekly shop do they? This also highlights your contempt for the populous, arrogance of you to state that people are so simple minded that they don't know how basic food stuffs are produced. Says more about your attitude to those who you deem should be thankful for your produce.
    There is a snob culture in Ireland when it comes to farming

It's like you're craving this divide. As if crying poor mouth that everyone despises farmers legitimises your point. It doesn't by a long shot.
    "Don't come on here".....
    Really.... :rolleyes:

@Suckler.
    It is bad logic/debate to go from the general to the specific. Likewise visa versa...

Much and all as we would like to think that Irish farmers are liked/loved/admired I would put it to you that it may be otherwise. Same story in the UK.
    Different story in France. (Even though they are a bunch of thugs that should be locked up!!). :)