Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Public Masturbator Caught On Camera Arrested

• 27-07-2015 3:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭

A Parisian actress named Camille Regnier was flashed on a train by a stranger and put the video up on social media with a long message complaining about men who masturbate in front of women on public transportation. The man was later identified and arrested.

A study of females who public transport in France earlier this year found that 100% of respondents experienced sexual harassment or assault on public transport.

Have you experienced this phenomenon on public transport in Ireland?

Is this phenomenon happening at the same level everywhere?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,516 ✭✭✭zeffabelli

Yes I have seen this on public transport, not in Ireland though.

I also know someone who had sex on the NYC subway after he watched Risky Business.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭MrWalsh

I dont use public transport much anymore but when I did, yes, Ive seen it more than once.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

I've seen a guy have a pull on the 49 in Dublin, and there are plenty of rush hour frotteurs on the tube in London. Unfortunately it happens just about everywhere.

I've seen a guy have a pull on the 49 in Dublin

That was my main bus route when I did use public transport!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,810 ✭✭✭✭jimmii

I was on the bus glasnevin when it happened once about a year ago. The driver stopped the bus and was trying to get the guards there he tried to stall the guy who had obviously copped what was going on. Eventually he just pulled the little lever that opens the door and went the driver chased after him but obviously couldn't really do much to stop him. Seems crazy to do it somewhere with so many cameras I guess these people aren't thinking straight really though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

A study of females who public transport in France earlier this year found that 100% of respondents

As an observation, whenever you see a study that says 100% of respondents your seeing a study that has too small a sample size!

Sort of curious if its generally directed at a particular person or would it normally be some sort of OCD type behavior (like is there a noticable difference between flashers and public masturbators) ,saw homeless lad taking a chop recently, it was incredibly grim but not directed at any of the (many) passers by AFAIK.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

As an observation, whenever you see a study that says 100% of respondents your seeing a study that has too small a sample size!

Sort of curious if its generally directed at a particular person or would it normally be some sort of OCD type behavior (like is there a noticable difference between flashers and public masturbators) ,saw homeless lad taking a chop recently, it was incredibly grim but not directed at any of the (many) passers by AFAIK.
    There was a lot of coverage of that study on French news earlier this year. Public masturbation was only a small part of it. It was all sexual harassment they were looking at.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭CaraMay

I just can't get into their mentality. It's so risky

• Closed Accounts Posts: 667 ✭✭✭OneOfThem

CaraMay wrote: »
    I just can't get into their mentality. It's so risky

I'd have thought that's the point? Or at least part of it. Like having sex outdoors, the thrill of the risk, etc.

Although I'd say with some of these guys it's also a power thing or whatever. Forcing a woman to see something sexual they don't want to see. That kind of thing.

Think I remember reading a thing that quite a lot of rapists that attack strangers start off with this kind of behaviour.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭CaraMay

Yeah I don't know about then escalating to rape but I do think it's next to impossible to stop.

MOD Post edited to removed quoted deleted post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

MOD Post edited to removed quoted deleted post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

Happened to me on the Luas last month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭bee06

I must have lived a very sheltered life so far. Never seen anything like that!

I was first flashed at as a very young child. Real stereotypical stuff, a man in a long coat hiding in some bushes on a country road, he stepped out and held the coat open, he was starkers underneath. I was probably 8 and very frightened, but I didn't really understand what was going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭pew

Yup happened to me in France when I was waiting for a bus to the airport before.

Never in Ireland though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Have been flashed at in France but never in Ireland.

They must be very odd in France.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

I haven't seen any flashers here in France (although one of my friends has) but I have been hassled by someone at the bus stop here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

MrWalsh wrote: »
    I was first flashed at as a very young child. Real stereotypical stuff, a man in a long coat hiding in some bushes on a country road, he stepped out and held the coat open, he was starkers underneath. I was probably 8 and very frightened, but I didn't really understand what was going on.

Happened to my younger sister last year when she was sixteen. Walking home from school, through the grounds of Beaumont Hospital, guy opens his jacket to show off his bits and starts fondling himself. We called the police and the sister was in the station to give a statement (the officer she dealt with was fantastic, and even let her come back up the next evening just for a chat because my sister was so upset), but nothing came of it.

I've seen it happen a few times. Twice on public transport.

Once when working in Supermac's. I was nineteen and my colleague (still my friend, years on) was sixteen. Old guy sitting at the table, watching us both on tills, while jacking off. Manager and assistant manager found it hilarious, so I called the police myself. He left. They had him on cctv but nothing was done and my colleague and I were told to stop crying (she was crying, I was calming her down), and get back to work. :rolleyes:

Happened to my younger sister last year when she was sixteen. Walking home from school, through the grounds of Beaumont Hospital, guy opens his jacket to show off his bits and starts fondling himself. We called the police and the sister was in the station to give a statement (the officer she dealt with was fantastic, and even let her come back up the next evening just for a chat because my sister was so upset), but nothing came of it.

I've seen it happen a few times. Twice on public transport.

Once when working in Supermac's. I was nineteen and my colleague (still my friend, years on) was sixteen. Old guy sitting at the table, watching us both on tills, while jacking off. Manager and assistant manager found it hilarious, so I called the police myself. He left. They had him on cctv but nothing was done and my colleague and I were told to stop crying (she was crying, I was calming her down), and get back to work. :rolleyes:

That's a very sensitive management team in that Supermacs. It's that kind of attitude - that nothing really happened - that lets these guys away with this stuff for years and years. Sometimes, until it isn't enough anymore and they risk worse.

I've been flashed a few times, once in a very scary situation. It's not something you can just forget immediately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭porsche boy

So has anyone seen a female flasher? Or is it just blokes that are deviants? I mean if I was to see a woman flash me down the park I can't say I'd be horrified, take aback maybe

You'll be more than taken aback if enough perverts get their jollies from shocking you. Once wouldn't scar you for life, a good few times as a child and then one or two more as an adult, and it loses it's novelty value. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭Dr. Zaius Dr. Zaius!

I saw the same man twice but at different times of the year masturbating in broad daylight. Both times I was getting the bus home from Dublin at Ulster Bank on Georges Quay and there he was, fiddling away.
    Couldnt believe my eyes. Anyone who gets a bus there knows how busy that street is on a Friday afternoon/evening.
    He was down on his honkers and dressed head to toe in black.

Both times I saw him I was sitting on the bus but the second time I wanted a winess so brought it to the attention of the chap sitting beside me. Anyway the man realised we were looking at him and got up and ran off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭fatknacker

Just whip the phone out and take pics / film them if they like to put themselves on show so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

I was getting a haircut once when suddenly everyone in the place turned to the window and started laughing uproariously. A flasher had gotten right up to the window and decided to expose himself to the whole place, only to be greeted by 20 women laughing at him. I missed the whole thing because I didn't have my glasses on. I hope it gave him a shock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

Once when I was around 20 I was sitting beside the window at the back of a bus when I realised the man beside me was masturbating. He was leaning heavily against me. I was afraid and felt trapped but too embarrassed to shout out anything. Eventually I got myself together and just stood up suddenly, pushed past him and got off at the next stop. That incident freaked me out and I felt ashamed that I didn't handle it better at the time either.

I've also been flashed twice. Once in my early 20s at the entrance to my estate when I was coming home from the library in college around 22.30. I got a shock initially but that was more to do someone appearing out of nowhere on a dark road. The guy only had one leg and was on crutches!

When I was 15 I was sitting at a bus stop outside Conyngham Road bus garage when I saw something moving in the bushes of the Phoenix Park opposite me. After a moment I realised it was a man masturbating while staring at me. Once he realised I had seen him he moved forward into clearer view. I felt disgusted rather than afraid so I decided to walk to the previous bus stop at Parkgate Street because it's much busier with people. The guy jumped down from the park wall and followed me but stayed on the opposite footpath. This was broad daylight and he was pulling at himself along a busy road! There were lots of people at the next bus stop so I stopped there and felt safe enough and thankfully the weirdo must have decided not to go any further.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

Besides the situation in the post before mine, I really can't understand why anyone would feel upset over something like that. It can hardly be classed as a sexual assault, nobody is doing anything to you. it may be rotten to see, or unpleasant, but crying, really? I don't see why.

And no I've never heard of this happening, anywhere tbh.

Some people just react unfavourably to being some perverts public **** fodder, the fault is hardly with them.

Gongoozler wrote: »
    Besides the situation in the post before mine, I really can't understand why anyone would feel upset over something like that. It can hardly be classed as a sexual assault, nobody is doing anything to you. it may be rotten to see, or unpleasant, but crying, really? I don't see why.

Itd be the fright that would upset me. Id be afraid that if someone was unhinged enough to masturbate in front of me (or even just flash in front of me), then god knows what they might be capable of.

Well, I've never personally cried or gotten upset at it, just been disgusted tbh, bit since I mentioned my 16 year old colleague crying -

I totally see why she did. A fairly innocent, virginal child knowing a man was getting off by looking at her? Yeah, that's upsetting, especially when you have to stay in view of the sick git to do your job.

Well, I've never personally cried or gotten upset at it, just been disgusted tbh, bit since I mentioned my 16 year old colleague crying -

I totally see why she did. A fairly innocent, virginal child knowing a man was getting off by looking at her? Yeah, that's upsetting, especially when you have to stay in view of the sick git to do your job.

It's just the fact that you're reduced to a thing, an object some stranger is using for their sexual gratification. That level of objectification, the inability to escape in the case of your story, and the attitude that it doesn't matter because you weren't touched physically. Harassment doesn't have to be physical.

Candie wrote: »
    It's just the fact that you're reduced to a thing, an object some stranger is using for their sexual gratification. That level of objectification, the inability to escape in the case of your story, and the attitude that it doesn't matter because you weren't touched physically. Harassment doesn't have to be physical.

You put it better than I could :pac:

Essentially that in a nutshell.

If you can't get out of a situation where you're being used for sexual pleasure against your will - of course that's upsetting! I'm a big girl, so I find that kind of thing disgusting rather than upsetting, but I totally understand why people would be upset by it.

It may not be sexual assault, but I'm pretty sure indecent exposure, especially to a minor, is a relatively serious crime!

Do you have a sister, daughter or niece? How do you think she would feel if she were walking along the street only to be confronted with some mac-wearing loser pulling the knob off of himself and staring at her? Would you tell her she had no right to be upset because he didn't touch her, even if he followed her down the street?

You'd be only delighted if some fat, smelly, sweaty, dirty woman sat next to you on the bus and stared intently at your crotch while fiddling with herself, yeah?

Gongoozler is female, just to clarify :pac:

I was not aware. The point still stands though; if a young female relative was upset after a run-in with a flasher would it Gongoozler tell her she had no right to be upset because she wasn't physically assaulted?

"I don't see why anyone would be upset" isn't a reasonable thing to say when actual sexual assault is common.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

It's sexually threatening behaviour from someone probably bigger and stronger than you, of course it could be extremely frightening.

I'm 4ft 11 and weigh less than 7 stone. I was flashed and had some disgusting things said to me one night on a railway platform, while I was alone and it was dark, and I was wearing heels. The guy was over 6ft and things could have very easily turned even nastier. Damn right I felt threatened, upset, and sexually intruded-upon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

I would have lived the rest of my life comfortably not knowing this was even a thing.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I'm not surprised by it myself. There's always loads of clips of guys **** on buses or rubbing against women in public on porn sites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,528 ✭✭✭ShaShaBear

My partner was on the bus before when a girl got up roaring and screaming when she realised th guy sitting beside her was hard at it. She ran to the front of the bus shouting for help and he finished into his hand and threw it at her.

Like, what?

ShaShaBear wrote: »
    My partner was on the bus before when a girl got up roaring and screaming when she realised th guy sitting beside her was hard at it. She ran to the front of the bus shouting for help and he finished into his hand and threw it at her.

Like, what?

Oh christ, the poor girl. That's just disgusting. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,528 ✭✭✭ShaShaBear

Oh christ, the poor girl. That's just disgusting. :(

There has to be all kinds of wrong in someone's head for them to even think to do that!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,661 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

My jaw dropped when I read what you posted. It's bad enough watching brief scene of it in Silence of the Lambs. Being attacked that way in real life is just unimaginably creepy and violating, tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 EVILE

Im Male
    I was on the dart before.Fair few people on it not packed.
    I was standing in the corner facing out and some woman got on stood right up against me with her butt pressing right up against my groin.I had nowhere to move she had space each side of me it was definitely on purpose.
    Several times so pushed her butt right into me for no reason.

Some guys might think great.
    I certainly wasnt impressed.
    This lasted 20 to 25 mins till i reached my stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

I'm 4ft 11 and weigh less than 7 stone. I was flashed and had some disgusting things said to me one night on a railway platform, while I was alone and it was dark, and I was wearing heels. The guy was over 6ft and things could have very easily turned even nastier. Damn right I felt threatened, upset, and sexually intruded-upon.

And you know, just the fact that it's even a fcuking thing in the first place.

Going about your business, getting from A to B on a busy, sweaty tube or standing on a packed bus not only having to worry about being late for work because of delays or whatever but also, jesus, hope there aren't any sick perverse mentallers here who might fancy a grope or a **** in my honour.

I've been flashed a few times. First time at 20 when I was visiting a friend in Spain, on the way home from a night out, we thought it was hilarious. Second time jogging through a suburban neighbourhood in New Jersey when I was on J1, dude was probably old enough to be my grandad, not so hilarious. And I've dealt with tube gropes and prolonged, creepy stares and invasion of my personal space when it was unnecessary and it was clear the guy was doing it for his own jollies.

And it's not a safety thing for me. The dude could be 3 foot 2 and half my weight and it still wouldn't be funny, or OK, or normal or acceptable to be disrespected and dehumanized so brazenly and so casually in public. I don't need to see anyone's d1ck, or feel anyone's erection pressed up against me on a bus, or deal with the sick stares of creepy motherfcukers who get their kicks from ogling and intimidating fully-clothed women as they go about their day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 766 ✭✭✭ger vallely

Back in the mid nineties myself and a friend lived down the south of The Netherlands. Many times on our way to work we were flashed. We had a long cycle to work, through deep rural areas. Trucks and lorries would pull over a bit ahead of us, the driver would get out and stand getting himself off. We were very shocked the first couple of times but eventually we learned to either ignore them or laugh at them. Not too sure how I would have dealt with it alone. Do these men go home to wives and children, can they be 'normal' in other aspects of their lives? I can't imagine they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

Happened to my friend recently in a local park. She called the police who were brilliant and very thorough, came and interviewed her for 40 minutes.

They also told her that in a different area of the city (one of the most affluent) there was a serial flasher who was caught as so many women came forward to report and the police were able to build a case.

Please don't feel silly or ridiculous reporting these cases it's not funny it's not trivial or inoffensive it's indecent and unlawful and these men should be dealt with accordingly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

Something else I don't understand is why nobody else reacts to support the victim at the time perhaps some of the cases weren't obvious but when it is doing nothing condones and supports the actions in my opinion.

Not sexual but that story a while ago about the woman who was robbed and beaten on the Luas in front of other commuters was disturbing, the driver ignored her pleas initially as did the other commuters.

What is wrong with people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

cloudatlas wrote: »
    Something else I don't understand is why nobody else reacts to support the victim at the time perhaps some of the cases weren't obvious but when it is doing nothing condones and supports the actions in my opinion.

Not sexual but that story a while ago about the woman who was robbed and beaten on the Luas in front of other commuters was disturbing, the driver ignored her pleas initially as did the other commuters.

What is wrong with people.

People generally are sh1t in these uncomfortable public situations. I think it's technically called Bystander Syndrome.

I met with a friend last week who was telling me that on her way in, a family of four verbally assaulted, mocked and cajoled a man with a disability on the tube. Right there in front of her.

And "what did you do?"
    "I was just kind of shocked and confused...couldn't believe what I was seeing...didn't want to make the situation worse..."

That's a standard reaction for most people I'd say. My mate would give anyone the shirt off her back under any different circumstances. But a public altercation or assault or violation or indecency...well we're not quite sure how to handle that, though we do pretty well retrospectively.

Sometimes it's out of genuine fear for your own safety, sometimes it's just freezing on the spot and letting the Bystander thing take hold.

beks101 wrote: »
    Sometimes it's out of genuine fear for your own safety, sometimes it's just freezing on the spot and letting the Bystander thing take hold.

Sometimes you're just not taking in and processing what's going on. I remember being at a shopping centre and a woman was coming up the travelator with her trolley in front of her. She stopped and said 'HELP' and I looked at her and what was wrong just didn't click. I suppose because I was looking at her face and not the bigger picture.

It wasn't until she yelled for someone to hit the button that I copped on that she couldn't get the trolley off it and people were starting to pile up behind her, bottlenecking dangerously with trollies and buggies etc. Even then I was slow, and some faster thinking person got to the emergency button (I was still at the 'button...hmmm...what button?) before me.

So it's probably a case with a lot of people that they're just not processing the situation.

Or like me, they're just thick! :(