Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Power City - 40" LED TV with SAT tuner & 2yr warranty -€329

• 26-07-2015 2:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,153 ✭✭✭✭

just picked up above set for the old mans place. 2yr warranty is a nice bonus plus the integrated satellite tuner for those with a potentially redundant sky dish. Set up very handy and seems a decent buy for the money. €339 is the advertised price but just ask any of the salesmen could they do something for ya. You'll get at least a tenner off.

Linky

356395.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,755 ✭✭✭degsie

Where?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

So, you can run a cable from the dish direct to the TV?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,806 ✭✭✭GerardKeating

degsie wrote: »
    Where?

and Brand/Model etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭NATLOR

Its a Walker from Power City

Link

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

There's a Tom Cruise HD channel?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

lertsnim wrote: »
    There's a Tom Cruise HD channel?

Sky rename their channels periodically, didn't one of the film channels become the star wars channel at one point or something. One of the sports channels is currently the "Ashes" channel.

Lovin' the woodchip wallpaper, haven't seen it in years!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,401 ✭✭✭DublinDilbert

I assume the sat tuner will pick up all the uk freeview channels?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,685 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

It should do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

So, you can run a cable from the dish direct to the TV?

Yep, though the programme guide will be limited to showing you what's on now & next - no 7-day epg etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

I assume the sat tuner will pick up all the uk freeview channels?

Freesat and some FTA I'd imagine. Not quite the same as freeview (no dave, dave ja vu, Yesterday and a couple of others I think)

Perfect, freesat was what I was thinking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,153 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

degsie wrote: »
    Lovin' the woodchip wallpaper, haven't seen it in years!

Sorry folks for dimensional issues on pic. Will resolve once home ! Grand yoke for the price, seriously. Walker ( thanks Natlor ). Forgot the bloody link.

FTA. Channels need sorting of course but the UI is decent and 2 programmable RC buttons allow for simple 1 button switching between Saorview / Sat channels. Easisest way is to just use the FAV option to eliminate all the duplicate / God channel sh1te and once thats done, the 1 button switch is all you'll need. Sound more than adequate - though the woodchip wallpaper ( with about 7 coats of paint ) obviously helps with the rooms acoustic properties :D

FWIW, I installed the dish / antenna last year for the folks with the Ariva Combo / and 2 sat/tv combiners for single cable installation. I'll flog that now and get a few bob back for the old man. Much easier for them with just the one RC now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,489 ✭✭✭Curb Your Enthusiasm

More importantly, their website is absolutely disgraceful. Possibly designed back when the internet was first released.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,330 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

Techmaster wrote: »
    More importantly, their website is absolutely disgraceful. Possibly designed back when the internet was first released.

Assuming you mean Power City - that's their new website - the previous one was even worse.

Same TV without the satellite tuner is 299 (if you have Sky or UPC you probably don't need the sat tuner).

loyatemu wrote: »
    Assuming you mean Power City - that's their new website - the previous one was even worse.

Same TV without the satellite tuner is 299 (if you have Sky or UPC you probably don't need the sat tuner).

I want to know who designed it. It looks like something you'd do in your 40 minute computer class at school!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭acon2119

Is Freesat not better than Freeview? I don't know much about Freeview to be honest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

I would say they compliment each other. Both have advantages. It's not much of an issue for most in this country as only a few can get Freeview.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,797 ✭✭✭sweetie

I dunno, how does it compare to a name brand LED telly. They seem to be available in the low 400s these days.

sweetie wrote: »
    I dunno, how does it compare to a name brand LED telly. They seem to be available in the low 400s these days.

Personally, I'd go for a name brand TV for about 50-100 euro more. And something that has more than a 50hz refresh rate on it - jaysus!

Any recommendations on something with satellite/freesat on board? Was on to richersounds and they were talking serious money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Any recommendations on something with satellite/freesat on board? Was on to richersounds and they were talking serious money.

You may be better off picking up a Freesat branded box like the one below.

Freesat is a joint venture between BBC & ITV & delivers an end user experience that's way ahead of what you'll typically find on generic Free to Air boxes.

http://www.freesat.co.uk/what-is-freesat

If you wanted something with recording functionality take a look at the second link (though you'd need 2 cables coming from your Sat dish to get full use out of it & you'd have to bring it in via Parcel Motel - it's a refurb with a 1yr warranty, very nice bit of kit though)

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Manhattan-HD-S2-Digital-Satellite-Receiver/dp/B00EAOZTCG/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1437946181&sr=8-1&keywords=freesat

http://www.humaxdirect.co.uk/refurbished/hdr-1000s-500gb-dd125d.html

its not exactly "more importantly" now, is it? The power city website design whinge is getting old at this stage. We all know it's crap, always has been, but don't let that take away from a deal.
    sweetie wrote: »
    integrafed sat and more importantly the 2 yr warranty, are key here.
    i was watching the stick wars on RTE HD yesterday and I have to say it looked damn good. I've had a samsung 46" 50hz now for 5yrs and the refresh rate doesn't bother me. There is of course a difference when you move to the higher end models but you're getting into money. We're talking a shade over 300 quid here, remember.
    I did see a shed load of 40" sharp aquos in tescos yesterday for €349 if that floats your boat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭Paddytheman

I want to know who designed it. It looks like something you'd do in your 40 minute computer class at school!

You know those dodgy e-mails you get asking for bank details etc. and they are always written in broken, misspelt english as this guarantees they attract a certain type of punter of a certain demograph, well I'm thinking these guys are using the same tactic...

Independent test, hardly surprising...

vphhrp.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭pauldavis123

Not a bad deal at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

NATLOR wrote: »
    Its a Walker from Power City

Link

walker, walk away

sh!t make

fryup wrote: »
    walker, walk away

sh!t make
    Very informative post, well done you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭Heraldoffreeent

I see they also do a 50" as well.

http://www.powercity.ie/?par=10-14-WP50VS2

I've a gaff down the country which only gets visited a handful of times a year which that'd be handy for especially with the built in sat box.

Does it only being 50hz make more of an obvious impact the bigger the TV?

Someone else may know the technical details, but AFAIK broadcast TV standards (satellite, saorview etc) is all 50Hz anyway.

loyatemu wrote: »
    Someone else may know the technical details, but AFAIK broadcast TV standards (satellite, saorview etc) is all 50Hz anyway.

That relates to a different measurement.

dodzy wrote: »
    Very informative post, well done you.

Your OP wasn't exactly the most informative post either. No brand name or shop name listed, congrats lad!

Yeah, got that, cheers.

That relates to a different measurement.

Thanks - informative as ever.

http://uk.pcmag.com/tv-home-theaters/11612/feature/hdtv-refresh-rates-explained-60hz-120hz-and-beyond

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

acon2119 wrote: »
    Is Freesat not better than Freeview? I don't know much about Freeview to be honest

Freeview is the digital terrestrial signal broadcast in the UK which can be picked up by an aerial much like Saorview here, some people along the border and in areas of Wexford can pick up the signal. you need a freeview decoder which most newer televisions have built into them.

FreeSAT is the satellite service offering free to air channels via satellite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,833 ✭✭✭ballyharpat

I have this tv, The picture is great. The HD on it is fantastic.
    Only issue I have is that it takes a while for the program listing to com up on it on the freest.
    The quality is great, with a 2 year warranty, I would consider it a 'name brand' tv. I also have a Samsung and an AOC, both 32", the picture is superior on this as is the slim border around the screen.
    I've had it about a month….

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Usually on these types of cheaper TV's the picture quality is pretty good, great even sometimes, but the sound isn't so great. What's the sound like on this out of curiosity?

Honestly, I used it yesterday, and for the money, it really is fine. Better that I expected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Sorry bit off track, how much work is it to get a satelitte set up?

What channels can you get? Need a new tv and debating this but would like to understandmore

The sound is fine, better than my samsung, having said that, most people that are tv fanatics, would be buying a sound bar or surround system anyway, I'll probably get a blue tooth one myself, but I hate looking at stuff like boxes and speakers, which is why I went for built in tuner anyway…..TV is hanging cleanly on the wall.

naughtb4 wrote: »

What channels can you get? Need a new tv and debating this but would like to understandmore

probably e100 to get a dish and cable run to the tv, that's all you need for this tv….other tv's need a box etc.

I did find the channel scan etc, very easy.

The customer service is great as I had to ring to find out about how to favorite channels, they rang me back later that evening and it was an Irish guy that was the engineer-very unusual.

Dish, cable and saorview antenna. A few connections and 2 combiners. That's all the equipment you really need. Materials would run you approx 60-70€.

Thank you, is it self install, or better getting someone to do it?

i've done quite a few at this stage. If you are handy it's a relatively straight forward job. Dish alignment is the only real part that's a bit tedious but a sat meter eliminates any time wasting here. Where are you based?

dodzy wrote: »
    i've done quite a few at this stage. If you are handy it's a relatively straight forward job. Dish alignment is the only real part that's a bit tedious but a sat meter eliminates any time wasting here. Where are you based?

Based in Donabate. Think I will pick one of these up at the weekend.

I would say I am a complete beginner at this (and DIY)! Is it freesat or a fta set up you are using?

Thanks btw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭brightkane

Can anyone post the exact dimensions of it? I have an exact space that I have an old 37" philips in and would rather replace it with this. When the philips is on the whole room heats up!

Just need width and height . Cheers

brightkane wrote: »
    Can anyone post the exact dimensions of it? I have an exact space that I have an old 37" philips in and would rather replace it with this. When the philips is on the whole room heats up!

Just need width and height . Cheers

Was onto them this morning (very impressed with Cus.Service) and its
    H (with base) x 587mm
    H (without base) x 545mm
    W x 923mm

Only .9 of a cm too big for me :(

Based in Donabate. Think I will pick one of these up at the weekend.

I would say I am a complete beginner at this (and DIY)! Is it freesat or a fta set up you are using?

Thanks btw

FTA.

Freeasat is better, for sure, but you won't get Freesat integrated TVs in this price range.

If you are a novice, then leave it to someone else. Apart from that, you most likely wont have the necessary tools to complete the job. If you need any advice, just bang me a PM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,061 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

How quickly do the channels change when channel hopping? That's what I find to be the main drawback of cheap tvs, Hanspree are brutal for this...

Thargor wrote: »
    How quickly do the channels change when channel hopping? That's what I find to be the main drawback of cheap tvs, Hanspree are brutal for this...
    I know exactly what you are talking about. It's quick. User Interface is very good and responsive. As I mentioned earlier, there are also 2 'hotkeys' that allow for rapid transition between sat & terr which is a bonus.