Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Automatic scraper

• 26-07-2015 1:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭

With the new TAMS scheme I have been doing some thinking about up grades. One is to put in auto scrapers. At the mo we use the small tractor which is grand as the cows go out during the day. Haven't looked to have them before as during the winter a number of the cows tend to lie in the passage and we would often find one after calving in the morning so would probably run them in manual mode until the cows go used to them.

I want to put in a straw bedded house with a feed passage. Would make sense to put in one systems to drive the 3 scrapers.

What kind of price are they?

What are the good makes?

2 cubicle house 8ft wide and 3 bays long, and 1 in the straw shed 4 bays long would probably go with one 10ft wide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

yellow50HX wrote: »
    With the new TAMS scheme I have been doing some thinking about up grades. One is to put in auto scrapers. At the mo we use the small tractor which is grand as the cows go out during the day. Haven't looked to have them before as during the winter a number of the cows tend to lie in the passage and we would often find one after calving in the morning so would probably run them in manual mode until the cows go used to them.

I want to put in a straw bedded house with a feed passage. Would make sense to put in one systems to drive the 3 scrapers.

What kind of price are they?

What are the good makes?

2 cubicle house 8ft wide and 3 bays long, and 1 in the straw shed 4 bays long would probably go with one 10ft wide.

We have a 4bay for Bullock/bulls with passage and raised straw area at the back. Would be interested in what lads think of them and are they value for money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Like all things in life, scrapers are great when working right but a complete h@@r of a yoke when not.
    From my experience cows get used to them very quickly. It may not solve your problem of cows lying in passages as the few that did that here just lay at end of passage past where scraper stopped to return to base.
    Alfa/delaval ones here and plenty of bits of hassle.
    And soon you too will learn to 'surf' as it has been called on here.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭C0N0R

What about the Lely robotic ones?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

C0N0R wrote: »

One step at a time...ha ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,715 ✭✭✭Bellview

yellow50HX wrote: »
    One step at a time...ha ha

use Dairypower here over the past 7 / 8 years. we have found them good... the cows had no issues with them and the benefit is that they are cleaner as we have a few ladies that decided lying on path is better than a rubber mat..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭castletrader

Is there a grant available on Tams 2 for replacement scrapers at the moment and if so when is the closing date? Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

C0N0R wrote: »

There are two models - the basic model which cleans the slats, and the more expensive model which sprays water ahead of where it is cleaning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,345 ✭✭✭Grueller

Dairy power here since 2002. Cubicle passages 3 bays long by 8 feet wide. Totally trouble free bar a seal in each ram being done about two years ago on each.I never allow sh1t to build up around the end of the box where the ram comes in and out. I reckon this has really prolonged their working life.
    Wouldnt be without them now. They cost 2200 fitted but cant remember was that punts or euro as that was the year of the change over.