Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Men in the bra & knickers section

• 26-07-2015 12:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭

I was shopping with the mrs in pennys and she wanted to get few things . I wandered over to the mens section but there was nothing there of interest...so i wandered over and found her in the bra and knickers section...she has a habit of wandering and letting me so a few times i looked like a perv next to purple bra's..i was getting some amount of "you dirty fecker" looks

Is there an etiquitte here? Are some women paranoid that i was looking at what bra size they were picking up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

It's Ireland's biggest lingerie section.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,074 ✭✭✭pmasterson95

I hear its Irelands largest lingerie section

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,074 ✭✭✭pmasterson95

Hammer89 wrote: »

Well **** you

• Site Banned Posts: 777 ✭✭✭Youngblood.III

Next time, wink at them and put on your dirtiest smile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,725 ✭✭✭✭blueser

Specialun wrote: »
    I was shopping with the mrs in pennys and she wanted to get few things . I wandered over to the mens section but there was nothing there of interest...so i wandered over and found her in the bra and knickers section...she has a habit of wandering and letting me so a few times i looked like a perv next to purple bra's..i was getting some amount of "you dirty fecker" looks

Is there an etiquitte here? Are some women paranoid that i was looking at what bra size they were picking up?
    You were "with the mrs"? Riiight. We believe you.

Honestly, we do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

I used to feel like that at one time but couldn't give a fook now!

Sure what difference does it make looking at a bra unless there's a pair of tits in it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Try using the ladies when the gents is full. Then you'll know dirty looks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

Father ted Christmas special :-D

I think I am missing what the issue is?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I think it's a great sign of immaturity if you are self conscious of walking through the underwear department of a store. It's only underwear for goodness sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭Baraics Pollox

Didn't see that one coming at all!
    Hammer89 wrote: »
    I hear its Irelands largest lingerie section

When in that section myself I usually find a corner and wait/creep in it :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭ygolometsipe

Well as long as your not actively **** then your ok, dunnes will kick you out for that sh1t.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Well as long as your not actively **** then your ok, dunnes will kick you out for that sh1t.

Tell me about it. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

Broad smile (no teeth) wide eyes and never break eye contact. You should be on your own in no time at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Justb tell them you're sniffin out a few bargains.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

I used to work in the lingerie department of a shop and most of the men seemed fine with being there but some of them just looked so awkward. It was especially funny around Valentine's Day when they'd arrive in by themselves, avoiding eye contact with everyone, to buy whatever red lingerie was in store for the occasion. Sometimes a couple would come in and the woman would make the man sit outside the fitting room so she could come out and model the bras for him. :rolleyes: Usually they'd try to go into the fitting room together first. Eh, no.

You'd be surprised at how many women are embarrassed to buy lingerie though. They're much more noticeable than uncomfortable men.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

There's no etiquette. Take no notice of those silly bints and continue your fap next to the bra and knickers boxes with the pictures of well endowed/peach-arsed pretty ladies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

You shouldn't buy your bras in Penneys, the quality is absolutely shyte. Unless you're an AA cup that is, otherwise they'll probably actually damage your boobs.

I do hear they have Ireland's biggest lingere selection however.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

I think it's a great sign of immaturity if you are self conscious of walking through the underwear department of a store. It's only underwear for goodness sake.

In fairness to the OP, he felt he was getting Looks from the women there. If he was, then its their problem, not his.

I would pay no more attention to a bloke in there than a woman, unless he was deliberately being a pest. Wouldn't pay any mind to a bloke buying lingerie either, beyond a mental 'huh. Fair play to you' if I noticed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Okkkkkkk dr phil

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Samaris wrote: »
    In fairness to the OP, he felt he was getting Looks from the women there. If he was, then its their problem, not his.

I would pay no more attention to a bloke in there than a woman, unless he was deliberately being a pest. Wouldn't pay any mind to a bloke buying lingerie either, beyond a mental 'huh. Fair play to you' if I noticed.

It's his imagination! The suppressed self consciousnesses. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,454 ✭✭✭NSAman

Best thing to do in this situation is:

Start making guteral groaning noises, licking your lips while picking up bras and panties...the looks of shock you get is hilarious...especcially if an assistant comes over and asks "can I help you Sir?".... just say "just looking...hmmmmmmmmm"

They run..;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭knird evol

NSAman wrote: »
    Best thing to do in this situation is:

Start making guteral groaning noises, licking your lips while picking up bras and panties...the looks of shock you get is hilarious...especcially if an assistant comes over and asks "can I help you Sir?".... just say "just looking...hmmmmmmmmm"

They run..;)

Get a good build up of spit in your mouth. Then let a big trail of drool down your chin and on to your shirt. Make sure your belt is swinging open and the button of your jeans/trousers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

AH answer- Stand beside the 44gg bra's. Anyone asks just say your waiting for the ladies that need them to come by.

Serious reply- I was in a store with my 13 year old looking to buy her her first bra. Got a few dirty looks but I just ignored it. My mothers friend works there and she came over and rather loudly(so the bitches could hear) asked my daughter "how are you doing (name) since your mother passed away last month, isn't your dad very good for coming here to help you. Cue 3 bright red faces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Is there an etiquitte here?

Apart from the trenchcoat and fake arms, no there isn't really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,437 ✭✭✭FAILSAFE 00

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

I think Caitlin Jenner has freed men of the tyranny of looking like pervs if they're perusing the ladies underwear section. These days there's bound to be a least a few open minded women who'll assume that you're buying for yourself OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭fatknacker

I hate when I'm trying to shop and some gal has dragged her fella along for no reason. He's just there, in the way looking bored. Why not go somewhere else while she's rifling through every single item on the railings?

I prefer shopping alone, it's just easier . Wouldn't put my fella through it, we both know he doesn't like it. Not sure why couples do this.

One of the funniest things I've seen though was when two couples, unknown to each other, each had their fellas trailing along looking uncomfortable and awkward...they both made eye contact with each other and made the same expression back of knowing despair :D a wordless exchange between the two lads said everything about the situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭PippaChic

ken wrote: »

Serious reply- I was in a store with my 13 year old looking to by her her first bra. Got a few dirty looks but I just ignored it. My mothers friend works there and she came over and rather loudly(so the bitches could hear) asked my daughter "how are you doing (name) since your mother passed away last month, isn't your dad very good for coming here to help you. Cue 3 bright red faces.

I'm so sorry for your troubles Ken. Good on your mum's friend:)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

Thinly veiled 'small boobies' thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

Tedesco33 wrote: »
    Why would people give dirty looks to a man in the lingerie department?

Because it's a bit bloody annoying, to be out buying your lingerie and there's a stream of chaps hanging around looking massively awkward and uncomfortable and getting in the way and in turn making you self-conscious through their own obvious discomfort.

It's the same in women's changing rooms - any time I'm in TopShop there's a stream of bored-looking men hanging around outside, watching women go in and out with their items, sometimes staring (no doubt out of absolute sheer bone-gnawing boredom), sometimes shuffling around looking like they'd rather be at their own funeral than there, and yet they'll sit there for HOURS if needs be while the missus puts on a fashion show.

I'd never shoot dirty looks at the poor bloody idiots, but I get why it can be a hindrance to women. You're not exactly shopping for groceries like, you're trying to find a specific bra in a specific size or maybe a bunch of lacy underwear or perhaps a pair of spanx, a bit more privacy is appreciated.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

I agree. I see little point in dragging along a man while I shop. Sure what interest would he have in it? None is the answer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

Only someone wears saggy grey, elastic gone keks or Dunnes Store's "old reliables" would ever say "It's only underwear for goodness sake "

Underwear can have incredible power (insert VERY big grinning smiley here! !!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

I wonder would they allow a man into the dressing room with a pair of women's knickers or a bra to try on. I'd imagine some would, some wouldn't. I further wonder how often men of various persuasions have done this, given the times we live in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Hold one of the purple numbers up to your chest and ask for an opinion to the next gawker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Penny's have a lingerie department?
    €2 knickers and bra combo, one size fits all, 100% Lycra, made in Childistan for 20c.

NO REFUNDS

ToddyDoody wrote: »
    I wonder would they allow a man into the dressing room with a pair of women's knickers or a bra to try on. I'd imagine some would, some wouldn't. I further wonder how often men of various persuasions have done this, given the times we live in.

How you gonna get all your junk in the trunks?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

efb wrote: »
    How you gonna get all your junk in the trunks?

Touchè poster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,725 ✭✭✭✭blueser

eternal wrote: »
    I agree. I see little point in dragging along a man while I shop. Sure what interest would he have in it? None is the answer.
    Oh, I dunno!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,313 ✭✭✭✭branie2

No mention of it in the Catholic Scandal?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 367 ✭✭justchecked

If anyone asks, just tell them to call you Caitlyn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,415 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

efb wrote: »
    Penny's have a lingerie department?
    €2 knickers and bra combo, one size fits all, 100% Lycra, made in Childistan for 20c.

NO REFUNDS

I wouldn't like to shop anywhere that did refunds or returns on underwear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,415 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Passive **** all right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,301 ✭✭✭✭gerrybbadd

Just keep your hands out of your pockets, you'll be grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭DeadHand

beks101 wrote: »
    Because it's a bit bloody annoying, to be out buying your lingerie and there's a stream of chaps hanging around looking massively awkward and uncomfortable and getting in the way and in turn making you self-conscious through their own obvious discomfort.

It's the same in women's changing rooms - any time I'm in TopShop there's a stream of bored-looking men hanging around outside, watching women go in and out with their items, sometimes staring (no doubt out of absolute sheer bone-gnawing boredom), sometimes shuffling around looking like they'd rather be at their own funeral than there, and yet they'll sit there for HOURS if needs be while the missus puts on a fashion show.

I'd never shoot dirty looks at the poor bloody idiots, but I get why it can be a hindrance to women. You're not exactly shopping for groceries like, you're trying to find a specific bra in a specific size or maybe a bunch of lacy underwear or perhaps a pair of spanx, a bit more privacy is appreciated.

Agreed.

Men should be banned from public places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭Aineoil

A Fr Ted moment?

Apart from the trenchcoat and fake arms, no there isn't really.

Wait a minute, he's got fake hands!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,313 ✭✭✭✭branie2

I'd imagine it would be just as embarrassing for pre-pubescent boys if they were there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

It's your own stupid fault for messin' with the bras. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Gesticulate you're not a perv OP by going red and and pretending to look for an exit sign.