Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Outside of the boot kicks

• 25-07-2015 9:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭

Players should be automatically dropped now for on this crap. I see it in training every day. These lads can't hit the ball on the inside or straight. Absolute showboating and completely unneccesary. Your not Leo messi lads. You don't need predator boots lads,you need a kick up the hoopnand told to cop the f**k on ffs.

Today's match between wmeath and Fermanagh! None of them should ever play ball again.they were to a man useless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

I don't think it's showboating.I found myself that I could often get a lot more distance if I kicked the ball off the outside of the boot than the traditional inside of the boot curling shot.

Also the type of shot a player takes depends on the way the players body is facing when he gets the ball.

I suspect that may be the reason players do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭cardinal tetra

If you can't kick a ball straight, you have no place on a football field

I don't think it's showboating.I found myself that I could often get a lot more distance if I kicked the ball off the outside of the boot than the traditional inside of the boot curling shot.

Also the type of shot a player takes depends on the way the players body is facing when he gets the ball.

I suspect that may be the reason players do it.

I think you'd also find if you kicked an Aussie Rules style drop punt you'd get the same distance but with much better control.
    Its obviously better suited to their ball but they've proved playing us it also works with the round ball.

For whatever reason in football its either the inside or outside, instead of just using a drop punt from the weak side/straight angle shot.
    Players would give themselves a better chance using the drop punt when the inside option isn't on.

If you can't kick a ball straight, you have no place on a football field

You'll very rarely get an opportunity to kick a ball straight in a game almost every time you kick the ball you generally have to use the inside or the outside of your boot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭davegrohl48

Across many billions of kicks I think we've figured out how to kick a football. Inside/outside. Straight on for short bounce passes or when in close shooting for a point. From beyond 30 yards inside or outside is best.
    The outside kick is not showing off, Paul Flynns low trajectory 50 yard pass to Brogan in the 2013 final is only possible outside of the boot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭cardinal tetra

Across many billions of kicks I think we've figured out how to kick a football. Inside/outside. Straight on for short bounce passes or when in close shooting for a point. From beyond 30 yards inside or outside is best.
    The outside kick is not showing off, Paul Flynns low trajectory 50 yard pass to Brogan in the 2013 final is only possible outside of the boot.

Right well explain Westmeath vs Fermanagh to me today.

I understand how to kick a ball. I understand how to kick a ball in each position and the technique you can use in each situation but what I cannot understand is that match today. I think Fermanagh had 189 sides in the opening half, each kick more <snip> then the last. Each shot the culmination of nobody pulling these lads up on how to kick a ball and when to kick a ball.

And then for west Meath???? Jesus Christ almighty. How they beat Meath was an absolute anomaly. Joe Dolan himself must have casme down and lent a hand because them shower of blithering idiots couldn't beat a bunch of under 12s. Bog men with breasts. That's about the height of it.all gym work and the skill and tactical nous of a blind castrated dolphin.

Right well explain Westmeath vs Fermanagh to me today.

I understand how to kick a ball. I understand how to kick a ball in each position and the technique you can use in each situation but what I cannot understand is that match today. I think Fermanagh had 189 sides in the opening half, each kick more <snip>then the last. Each shot the culmination of nobody pulling these lads up on how to kick a ball and when to kick a ball.

And then for west Meath???? Jesus Christ almighty. How they beat Meath was an absolute anomaly. Joe Dolan himself must have casme down and lent a hand because them shower of blithering idiots couldn't beat a bunch of under 12s. Bog men with breasts. That's about the height of it.all gym work and the skill and tactical nous of a blind castrated dolphin.

Westmeath played well against Meath and played badly today.

Believe it or not that happens quite a lot in various sports.

Also Westmeath were missing their best player today.

Fermanagh just had a bad shooting performance in the first half.It can happen , they played very well in the second half.

Westmeath had plenty of skill against Meath sometimes things just don't work out on particular days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

If teams worked on the skill it would increase the % of success.

But its easier to devote time to other stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,352 ✭✭✭threeball

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    If teams worked on the skill it would increase the % of success.

But its easier to devote time to other stuff

If you haven't mastered the skills by the time you get called up to intercounty you have no business being there in the first place.