Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tour de France 2015 Stage 21 Sevres - Paris *contains unmasked spoilers*

• 25-07-2015 8:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭

stage_21_profile_670.jpg

stage_21_map_670.jpg

image.jpg

Final stage, at long long last :)

With Froome's lead over minute, there is no chance whatsoever of a GC battle tomorrow. The stage will be largely a procession and chance for photo ops, before the race heats up during the 10 laps of the Parisian city centre for the final sprinters' battle. The green jersey is also wrapped up by Peter Sagan, so it will be all about the big bragging rights of winning on the Champs Elysees.

Andre Greipel has looked the best flat-out sprinter throughout this tour, and has already picked up a hat-trick of sprint wins. That said, nobody knows winning on the Champs Elysees like Cav does. The real question on my mind is whether Sagan can finally pick up his deserved stage win, although the odds are quite heavily against him now.

Oddschecker: Greipel 11/8, Cavendish 9/4, Sagan 6/1, Kristoff 7/1, Degenkolb 11/1

Stage Winner 36 votes

Greipel
    0%
    Cavendish
    33%
    el telHeisenberg.steclearyZzippystipes212wanderer 22funnights74DarkglassesThisRegardEncrypted Pigeonuphillonlypelevin 12 votes
    Kristoff
    16%
    ednwirelandInquitusboegeMelodeonme89Undercover Elephant 6 votes
    Sagan
    2%
    bazermc 1 vote
    Demare
    36%
    [Deleted User]Raoul DukeStevieGriffCptMackeyg0gmarvin80IcepickArrow in the KneeTrev De revJakey Rollingcats pyjamasmhiggy09Spurion 13 votes
    Other/breakaway
    0%
    Th-th-th-th-thats all folks!
    2%
    Fish out of water 1 vote
    Degenkolb
    8%
    pajorPudsy33neris 3 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

Thanks very much to you and the others, who posted the previews for the last three weeks.
    Very informative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Cavendish
    Eamonnator wrote: »
    Thanks very much to you and the others, who posted the previews for the last three weeks.
    Very informative.

Yeah thanks to everyone who made them after I had to step back. Been a pleasure chatting with ye as always. Really makes the Tour an awful lot more fun for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,573 ✭✭✭pajor

Degenkolb
    Yeah thanks to everyone who made them after I had to step back. Been a pleasure chatting with ye as always. Really makes the Tour an awful lot more fun for me.

I don't frequent this forum much as I'm a lazy bollocks and can't really afford a proper bike.. But these threads definitely add something to to following any of the big races. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭Arrow in the Knee

Demare
    We could do with a poll Darkglasses.

I would like a breakaway:rolleyes: to win just for the craic.

Cavendish
    We could do with a poll Darkglasses.

You're welcome, as always :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭StevieGriff

Demare
    Few punt put on Sagan for the craic. He might have better legs than Cav and Greipel after the Alps...or so I hope haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭stecleary

Cavendish
    I'm guessing Greipel but would love Segan to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭Kavrocks

No Degenkolb for the poll?

Demare
    Kavrocks wrote: »

Do you really think he has any chance of winning?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭Kavrocks

Do you really think he has any chance of winning?
    More chance than Demare and Kristoff!

Demare
    More chance than Demare and Kristoff!

Your right there

Cavendish

Added, just ask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,507 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

I was over in Paris a couple of months ago. The Champs-Elysees leading up to the Arc de Triomphe is anything but flat!!

It would great if Sagan could win, but I don't think he has the overall speed compared to Greipel and Cav.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,507 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭Icepick

Demare
    rain coming to Paris

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,572 ✭✭✭DominoDub

Wet cobblestones on the Champs Elysees :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Cavendish
    Heart says Sagan, head says Greipel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,513 ✭✭✭Melodeon

Kristoff
    Police open fire on car at Tour de France

:eek::eek::eek:

Someone crashed a car into the barriers at Place de la Concorde and drove off after the police opened fire on them:
    http://www.breakingnews.ie/world/police-open-fire-on-car-at-tour-de-france-688224.html

Tour organisers say it won't effect the running of the stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Kristoff
    Pissing rain and miserable in Paris at the moment, same here in Dublin!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭mhiggy09

Demare
    Watching la course atm and there has been a massive crash. Its been raining all morning. Could be dangerous for the tour later. Froomes tour still isn't won yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭g0g

Demare
    Out of curiosity, with all this talk of the etiquette with the Tour...

What would happen if Froome crashed and injured himself? I presume if it's a mechanical problem then others would wait, but what if he fell and broke a bone or something? And no I'm not trying to tempt fate, just genuinely curious. Don't they do the photos of the jersey winners early in the day with champagne etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,661 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

I always thought that if I was riding in this stage in the tdf, I would gun it from the start in a breakaway and try to get onto and around the circuit so you would be a lap ahead when he peloton arrive. Then just roll along with them for the win! Think its seven mins a lap, so would need to absolutely batter away from the start

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Cavendish
    And miss the obligatory glass of champagne in the peleton?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭bazermc

Sagan
    Chating with my dad this morning

He said "wasn't that a great battle between Chris broom and the Chilean fella"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

Would cap off a fine Tour if Sagan won here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭uphillonly

Cavendish
    Greipel. Cav had Renshaw for all 4 wins & he's gone, although he did win his only stage this year without his leadout.

Women's La Course live on Eurosport now, a few crashes already on the wet roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭g0g

Demare
    Some amount of crashes in the ladies race, they're like skittles. Anyone seen forecast for later?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,699 ✭✭✭omri

g0g wrote: »
    Some amount of crashes in the ladies race, they're like skittles. Anyone seen forecast for later?

Just watching that - they're dropping like flies, surface very slippy...

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,173 ✭✭✭wanderer 22

Cavendish
    omri wrote: »
    Just watching that - they're dropping like flies, surface very slippy...

Carnage; they must all be on gatorskins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,699 ✭✭✭omri

colm18 wrote: »
    Carnage; they must all be on gatorskins

Nah Armadillos most likely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,836 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Degenkolb
    If it's raining, the time is taken for the first time over the line on the Champs. Then they race on for the stage victory.

Kristoff
    Pudsy33 wrote: »
    If it's raining, the time is taken for the first time over the line on the Champs. Then they race on for the stage victory.

So if its raining they neutralise the GC completely after the first lap? Is that what that means?

Degenkolb
    Inquitus wrote: »
    So if its raining they neutralise the GC completely after the first lap? Is that what that means?

Pretty much. Once the reach the line on the first lap of the finish circuit, those time gaps are the ones which count.

I think...

Edit: See here

Check out @ProCyclingStats's Tweet:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭Undercover Elephant

Kristoff
    Great to see Marianne Vos getting excited about her team mate. What a role model for your daughters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,573 ✭✭✭pajor

Degenkolb
    Classification to be decided after crossing the finish line the first time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,502 ✭✭✭spock.

Bardet will receive the super combative award.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭bazermc

Sagan
    pajor wrote: »

But they still have to finish the stage??? . So a bit like the 3k rule on a flat stage.

Degenkolb
    pajor wrote: »

Brian Smith, the DS of MTN, is saying on Twitter that they in fact haven't decided for sure that they will enforce this rule yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,084 ✭✭✭✭neris

Degenkolb
    id say kelly wont be missing carltons crappy jokes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,502 ✭✭✭spock.

I voted for Degenkolb. The rain should suit him.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

A classic there from Kelly

Kristoff
    Kirby talking about shortening the course, is that feasible? this stage is certainly going to drag on way past slowest predictions.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

What was that thing they were showing on froomes bike beside the computer?

Kristoff
    godtabh wrote: »
    What was that thing they were showing on froomes bike beside the computer?

He has a Go Pro on today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

Is it OK, to say, that this stage is boring?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭afatbollix

It's always a boring stage until they get to the circuit area where you will have break aways and the sprinters trying to catch them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭unichall

Eamonnator wrote: »
    Is it OK, to say, that this stage is boring?

To help keep the boredom at bay I have a final stage tour trivia question. Google if you want but that's no fun.

Q: Has a yellow jersey winner ever won the final stage on the Champs Elysées?

Kristoff
    unichall wrote: »
    To help keep the boredom at bay I have a final stage tour trivia question. Google if you want but that's no fun.

Q: Has a yellow jersey winner ever won the final stage on the Champs Elysées?

Yes Hinault beat Zoetemelk

http://www.ina.fr/video/I00009820

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,661 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Greg lemond won a TT on it, if that counts...

has the stage been shortened?