Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sportsmanship

• 24-07-2015 8:29pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 647 ✭✭✭

My younger cousin played a tennis tournament recently. He was involved in a great game and was arising from the dead against a smashing young player. A controversial call was made in his favour and he piped up. That was definitely in. It swiped the white! We went for chips after and I asked him why. "Gotta win clean". He's now determined to come back next year and beat this lad.

I remember when Paulo Di Canio had a free goal but caught the football instead of pulling the trigger as the keeper was outside the box and injured.

What shows of sportsmanship do you respect?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

When Henry owned up after that handball and Ireland went through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Major Karl Von Steiner applauding Luis Fernandez wonder goal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Ireland 'graciously' accepting defeat against France in that World Cup qualifier in Paris............:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,959 ✭✭✭diusmr8a504cvk

Can't think of any but respect to your cousin, I always play clean but I don't even think I'd have done that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Well, when it comes to dueling, I always take the 10 paces, before I shoot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Extreme sportsmanship is a bad idea in a lot of ways as if everyone doesn't hold the same high standards as yourself you end up being punished for being sporting rather than rewarded and in a team sport could end up costing our team mates for your own personal beliefs.

The officials are there to implement the rules and they should be let do so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

There's winners and there's people who value "sportsmanship"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 647 ✭✭✭RichardCeann

There was a Liverpool striker, I'm thinking Fowler, that argued with the ref when he was about to send off Dave Seaman and give a peno. He missed the resulting peno but our lad Jayo Mac buried the rebound.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

Drogba refusing to shake any of Barca's hands after Chelsea lost at one of the semis I think it was in CL. John Terry being a racist bastard and Ronaldo petulantly crying into his cornflakes when he's not allowed attempt a penalty to score a hat trick or being sent off earlier than he expects. Zidane's unfortunate exit from a star studded career in WC 2006. All non sportsmanship like behaviour which puts the game of football to shame.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

You can't get more sportsmanlike than Corinthian Football Club.
    So principled, in fact, was Corinthians’ ethos that some of the club’s practices now seem comical, and belonging to a bygone age. If, for example, their opponents lost a player to injury or dismissal, they would immediately and voluntarily remove one of their own men from the fray to retain a fair and level playing field. Even more amazing was their steadfast refusal to score from penalty kicks, which they would tap back to the opposition goalkeeper, content in the belief that no-one would ever attempt to gain an unfair advantage by deliberately fouling an opponent. Penalties, in Corinthians’ view, were ‘ungentlemanly’.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

When Nibali waited to see Froome get a mechanical issue in Le Tour today before attacking and going on to win the stage.

#RespectTheYellowJersey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭NotCominBack

Good losers make often losers, win at all costs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,731 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

There was a Spanish runner who was in second place behind an opponent who made a mistake about the finishing line (which was still about 100 yards ahead) and started to slow down assuming he had already finished and won. Rather than overtake him, the Spanish runner pointed out the actual finishing line, allowing the opponent to win the race he would otherwise have lost.

That was impressive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

While not around to see it (before my time)
    Ray cummins (?) hand passing the ball over the bar when through on goal in a Munster final in the early 80s when cork were winning by 30 odd points is still spoken of in hated terms as while sportsmanlike....it's felt he was laughing at Waterford

Honerable mention to tipp in Munster final (2012?) who after scoring there 7 goal against Waterford substituted their goalie :rolleyes:.....even I felt it was time to leave At that point :O

osarusan wrote: »
    There was a Spanish runner who was in second place behind an opponent who made a mistake about the finishing line (which was still about 100 yards ahead) and started to slow down assuming he had already finished and won. Rather than overtake him, the Spanish runner pointed out the actual finishing line, allowing the opponent to win the race he would otherwise have lost.

That was impressive.

It was idiotic from both of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭HardenendMan

Depends of the context for me. If a footballer gets a generous decision his way I say take it. Henry's handball was a bit far though. I think he wouldn't do it again...was fairly instinctive.

Snooker is a great sport for sportsmanship. If a player fouls by slightly brushing sleeve/cue off a ball they will tell the ref. Or when the ref is replacing a ball for a retake of a miss they will be genuine in helping get the ball in the correct spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,731 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

It was idiotic from both of them.

That's the spirit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Cricket

Adam Gilchrist hit the ball with his glove in the world cup semi final and was caught by the fielder. The umpire said not out but he walked and said he was out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,415 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

osarusan wrote: »
    That's the spirit.

To be fair misjudging the finishing line is pretty ****ing dumb. I remember a jockey doing the same in a big race at Leopardstown a few years ago. Nice of the other guy to point out his mistake but doubt I would do the same.

Ray cummins (?) hand passing the ball over the bar when through on goal in a Munster final in the early 80s when cork were winning by 30 odd points is still spoken of in hated terms as while sportsmanlike....it's felt he was laughing at Waterford

Honerable mention to tipp in Munster final (2012?) who after scoring there 7 goal against Waterford substituted their goalie :rolleyes:.....even I felt it was time to leave At that point :O

Fecking Caaark. Kerry destroyed you and Dublin will when given the opportunity.

Peoples Republic of arseholes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

Snooker is a great sport for sportsmanship. If a player fouls by slightly brushing sleeve/cue off a ball they will tell the ref. Or when the ref is replacing a ball for a retake of a miss they will be genuine in helping get the ball in the correct spot.
    Golf is similar in the expectation that players will own up to technical fouls that might not be spotted, and the fact that players generally meet that expectation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Armchair Andy

This is probably the best example of sportsmanship Ive ever come across.

A bit long but worth it. Mallory Holtman, Id shake your hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭HardenendMan

Golf is similar in the expectation that players will own up to technical fouls that might not be spotted, and the fact that players generally meet that expectation.

That's true. And they never try and bend a rule. If they are in doubt they always call an official over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

A young lad from my local Schoolboys club, Ringmahon Rangers, got wide acclamation for this last year and rightly so.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/oreilly-hailed-for-wonderful-act-of-sportsmanship-262465.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,415 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

That's true. And they never try and bend a rule. If they are in doubt they always call an official over.

And if you don't some prick watching on telly will ring up and rat you out as happened to Padraig Harrington a few years back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭Buck Melanoma

Kilkenny substituting their goalkeeper so Waterford could score a goal in the 2008 hurling final. Even they felt sorry for Waterford. True sportsmanship.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

There's been loads in snooker (admitting snooker cue touched cue ball even though ref or opposing playing never seen it, ignoring miss calls on snookers) but remember the following from last year quite well and never seen it happening before or since (crucial point too).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,692 ✭✭✭✭siblers

My younger cousin played a tennis tournament recently. He was involved in a great game and was arising from the dead against a smashing young player. A controversial call was made in his favour and he piped up. That was definitely in. It swiped the white! We went for chips after and I asked him why. "Gotta win clean". He's now determined to come back next year and beat this lad.

I remember when Paulo Di Canio had a free goal but caught the football instead of pulling the trigger as the keeper was outside the box and injured.

What shows of sportsmanship do you respect?

Regarding Di Canio, he had like 3 players in the box going for the ball, the ball was also behind him and would have required something spectacular to score..always thought they overhyped it as it most definitley wasn't a clean goal scoring chance.

Louth supporters graciously accepting defeat in 2010 by a superior Meath team in a Leinster Final noteworthy for the impartiality of the referee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Goalkeeper's lace comes undone in a game between two Saudi Arabian teams and the striker from opposing team ties it for him.
    Ref then accuses the goalkeeper of time wasting awards a free kick but...

siblers wrote: »
    Regarding Di Canio, he had like 3 players in the box going for the ball, the ball was also behind him and would have required something spectacular to score..always thought they overhyped it as it most definitley wasn't a clean goal scoring chance.

He was waving his hands well before the ball was in flight.

This one is quite cool in a game between two Saudi Arabian teams.
    Goalkeeper's lace comes undone and striker from opposing team ties it.
    But as goalkeeper is patting him on the back to thank him,
    he steps outside the box and so a free kick is awarded..

What the hell was going on there? Poor goalie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

A recent one from this year's Irish Chess Championship:

(Please note, I am not a mind reader and it's possible the two chessmasters B and C both just blundered. One must draw one's own conclusion.)

Rival players A and B are both vying for the record for winning the most Irish titles.
    In the final round, Player A has finished his game and can only be caught for the title by Players B or C who are playing each other. If B wins, he wins the title outright, if C wins he wins the title outright, and if B and C draw then C shares the title with Player A.

In the endgame, Player C is winning and offers a draw. Player B refuses, despite being behind and having no winning chances. Then Player B plays a move which allows himself to be mated (ie. C could win), but instead Player C makes a different move and forces the draw, so A and C share the title, and A gets the record for winning the most titles.

Ficheall wrote: »

(Please note, I am not a mind reader and it's possible the two chessmasters B and C both just blundered. One must draw one's own conclusion.)

Rival players A and B are both vying for the record for winning the most Irish titles.
    In the final round, Player A has finished his game and can only be caught for the title by Players B or C who are playing each other. If B wins, he wins the title outright, if C wins he wins the title outright, and if B and C draw then C shares the title with Player A.

In the endgame, Player C is winning and offers a draw. Player B refuses, despite being behind and having no winning chances. Then Player B plays a move which allows himself to be mated (ie. C could win), but instead Player C makes a different move and forces the draw, so A and C share the title, and A gets the record for winning the most titles.

Maybe C just f**ked up ?

Kilkenny substituting their goalkeeper so Waterford could score a goal in the 2008 hurling final. Even they felt sorry for Waterford. True sportsmanship.

Waterford were the only team to score a goal againest them in the championship that year :)

We ruined there 100% defensive record :pac: :pac:

*the only positive from that day :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Golfers will usually call fouls on themselves. The same is seen in cue sports like snooker.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Jake Rugby Walrus666

Ficheall wrote: »

Presumably Player C doesn't like Player B - or was a friend of Player A ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Roger_007 wrote: »
    Ireland 'graciously' accepting defeat against France in that World Cup qualifier in Paris............:rolleyes:

Ireland won that game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

Tiger Woods conceding Molinari's putt at the end of the 2012 Ryder Cup Singles matches.

Had Molinari missed the putt then Europe would have only retained the Cup. Woods conceded the putt, which was a very missable putt, so Europe actually won the Cup outright.

He pissed everyone on the US team off but showed sportsmanship towards the Europe team (and a trolling masterclass to the US team :)) after a remarkable comeback, feeling I guess that they deserved to win outright. He took some flak for his decision but being Tiger, not a single f**k was given that day. Legend.

valoren wrote: »
    Tiger Woods conceding Molinari's putt at the end of the 2012 Ryder Cup Singles matches.

Had Molinari missed the putt then Europe would have only retained the Cup. Woods conceded the putt, which was a very missable putt, so Europe actually won the Cup outright.

He pissed everyone on the US team off but showed sportsmanship towards the Europe team after a remarkable comeback, feeling I guess that they deserved to win outright. He took some flak for his decision but being Tiger, not a single f**k was given that day. Legend.

Or else Tiger Woods doesn't really give a toss about the Ryder Cup and didn't really care whether USA drew or lost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

Was Cummins ever asked about this as he always strikes me as a sportsman like type of fella?

tipptom wrote: »
    Was Cummins ever asked about this as he always strikes me as a sportsman like type of fella?

Honestly I dunno...I know it's spoken of not of him being wrong as such....in sure no bad was meant of it.....just another bad memory in a particularly bad day for Waterford hurling :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭bop1977

Senna pulling over a freeing a driver during qualifying:
    https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=EOGiguIUyZ4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

Or else Tiger Woods doesn't really give a toss about the Ryder Cup and didn't really care whether USA drew or lost.

He cost the bookies a fair few bob too. :)

His private disdain for team matchplay is well known.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

TBH who ever knocks lumps out of Theirry Henry will win my respect. An unapologetic cheater if ever there was one. After he admitted to the handball his defense was "the referee did not see it".

The equivalent is me assaulting someone and blaming the guards for not stopping me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 305 ✭✭Jimminy Mc Fukhead

steddyeddy wrote: »
    TBH who ever knocks lumps out of Theirry Henry will win my respect. An unapologetic cheater if ever there was one. After he admitted to the handball his defense was "the referee did not see it".

The equivalent is me assaulting someone and blaming the guards for not stopping me.

There's lots of unspotted fouls in every football match. No one owns up to them. Including Irish players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

There's lots of unspotted fouls in every football match. No one owns up to them. Including Irish players.

Yea but there are levels of fouls. Using your hand to guide the ball into the goal is a particularly bad one. Football in general needs to clean up its act. The amount of diving that goes on is absolutely unreal. It's becoming a dirty sport. I also think Henry trying to shift blame to the ref was particularly scummy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

It has become part of the culture of soccer - more's the pity.

Yea but there are levels of fouls. Using your hand to guide the ball into the goal is a particularly bad one. Football in general needs to clean up its act. The amount of diving that goes on is absolutely unreal. It's becoming a dirty sport. I also think Henry trying to shift blame to the ref was particularly scummy.

Steady on there Eddy.
    I have yet to see a player in any code of football go up to the referee and admit to committing a foul.
    You see players in GAA taking 5 or 6 or more steps with the ball before scoring a goal.
    There was the famous goal that Meath 'scored' in the Leinster final a few years ago.
    You see many off the ball incidents the referees don't see.

What you never see is any player admitting that they committed a foul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

I don't think he guided the ball in to the goal,did he,?I think he cross it after he"prevented" it from going out.

Think I would be hypocritical of me going over the top about this cause I had a great laugh when Maradonna done it to England and he punched it straight in to the net,Karmas a bitch!tongue.png