Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things you hate spending money on

• 23-07-2015 8:22pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 35

I was just thinking today of the things I hate spending money on. It really annoys me in a coffee where they charge you extra for an extra slice of bread with soup!! 1 slice is not enough!!

Anyone else have any other ones?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,628 ✭✭✭Señor Fancy Pants

Getting charged an extra €0.50 if I buy phone credit in a shop.

"€10 phone credit please shoppie"

"No problem Sir, that will be €10.50 please"

"Well fcuk!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I hate spending money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Plastic bags.70c for an actual the fcuk plastic bag!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Spending another euro on bag for life every time I go into a shop,when I have about ten grands worth of them in a press at home.

Edit:Sorry kneemos,bet me to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,959 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

55quid to see a doctor, i pay my taxes, prsi and USC and still have to pay this rip off fee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

kneemos wrote: »
    Plastic bags.70c for an actual the fcuk plastic bag!!!

+1 It was originally only Dunnes who never seemed to have the 22c ones in stock. Now tesco are guilty of it too. Bought some in Argos the other day, from the self service, and requested a bag. They gave me my purchase in a black sack. Wtf.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 52 ✭✭Justice4Adolf

Spending another euro on bag for life every time I go into a shop,when I have about ten grands worth of them in a press at home.

Sorry kneemos,bet me to it.

Also on the shelf in the self same shop is a role of plastic bags for €1.49

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

car insurance, they probably would find a way not to pay out when I ever actually need it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

Anything to do with the car.
    I feel it's and absolute black hole for money, but living in rural Ireland I've no choice.

I'm considering an electrical car, to cut down on the running costs.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,351 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

TV licence. It pains me to hand over €160 every year to fund channels that I might watch once in a blue moon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Also on the shelf in the self same shop is a role of plastic bags for €1.49
    Im too busy to be fannying about the shop looking for rolls of plastic bags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭yogi37

Getting charged an extra €0.50 if I buy phone credit in a shop.

"€10 phone credit please shoppie"

"No problem Sir, that will be €10.50 please"

"Well fcuk!"

This used to drive me up the wall. Got a bill phone then so no longer have to put up with it anymore. I often wondered if I looked like a knob when I said "no thanks, you can keep your credit".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

My kids...

I work all week earning it.... Then they want to spend it all on sweets, computer games and phone credit... It's just not fair...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

+1 It was originally only Dunnes who never seemed to have the 22c ones in stock. Now tesco are guilty of it too. Bought some in Argos the other day, from the self service, and requested a bag. They gave me my purchase in a black sack. Wtf.

Dunnes having a long running row with Revenue, so no bags that attract the charge available. Levy doesn't apply to bags 70c and over.

Dunnes are shysters

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭Wang King

Weddings.... €150-200 in a card for a horrific 3 course meal ......not sure about the bride, but I'm definitely getting screwed!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 52 ✭✭Justice4Adolf

Im too busy to be fannying about the shop looking for rolls of plastic bags.

Yeah, you're probably sweating with the security man hot on your heals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

Inter generational dole scroungers

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 969 ✭✭✭JacquesDeLad

Bottled water in airports.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 832 ✭✭✭HamsterFace

Car tax! Have a nice 1.8 but only drive at the weekend, hate the amount of tax I pay!

I'm happy to pay for water but not until everyone is paying, I'm Looking forward to the day when the pay for nothing brigade have to pay at least something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Any charges associated with banks, particularly missed direct debit charges, robbery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

efb wrote: »
    Dunnes having a long running row with Revenue, so no bags that attract the charge available. Levy doesn't apply to bags 70c and over.

Dunnes are shysters

You mean Dunnes get 70c for one of their poxy bags!!

FCUK ME.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Underpants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,963 ✭✭✭long_b

Extortionate mobile broadband charges for when you go over your limit.
    They make sure not to give you a "Cut me off after I've used my allowance" option

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

Women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭closcriobh

Razor blades. Every time I go and stock up they seem to have gone up in price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,016 ✭✭✭mad m

Loads of stuff,

Commission on changing money in banks,
    Bank charges especially if you want a draft note, an extra 2+ euro please...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Any charges associated with banks, particularly missed direct debit charges, robbery.

Agreed, my quarterly charge of about 50 euros is so annoying, I had it for free up until recently

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Ketchup sachets, little butters,etc.

Can live without ketchup but mini butter in staff canteen costs 20c - same price as the bleeding toast.

I usually try to hide a rasher under some beans before paying to make me feel better about it. One day I hope to have worked my way up to a bottle of orange juice under the beans. I don't even like beans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭digzy

parking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Air for tyres.

Few places you can still get it free, but when I need it, I always seem to be near a god damn place that charges for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Condoms. I mean, how are you expected to use all of them before the expiration date? Thievery of the highest order.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Massimo Cassagrande

Insomnia coffee from the coffee-woman counter because the self-service machines are all broken. €2.50 for the same cup of coffee as opposed to €2 from the self service. I can get my own, fix yer feckin machines...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭mailforkev

Music and movies.

I know that downloading it is theft but I hit college age just as Napster came on the scene and really became accustomed to just getting it for free from t'internet.

The sheer ineptitude of the entertainment industry in harnessing the internet left over a decade for me to forget you once had to pay for CDs etc.

At least now there's legal ways like Spotify and Netflix. If you charge a reasonable price then I'll pay. I do go to the cinema a good bit too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Air for tyres.

Few places you can still get it free, but when I need it, always seems to be a god damn place that charges for it.

That's inflation for you!

Insomnia coffee from the coffee-woman counter because the self-service machines are all broken. €2.50 for the same cup of coffee as opposed to €2 from the self service. I can get my own, fix yer feckin machines...

You deserve it to be honest if your drinking that Shiite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

Socks. I actually like when people buy me socks as a present because it means I don't have to spend my own money on them. No idea why I hate spending money on them though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,461 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Razor blades (really expensive)
    Service charge on tickets
    Plastic bags

If I have to pay extra for something I pay it without fuss I don't give out to the shop assistant but in your head it eats away inside u.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 803 ✭✭✭jungleman

Toilet paper. It's something I take for granted, always thinking is just there. Then when it runs out, I resent paying money for something which I literally use to rub on my dirty hole.

I also hate buying it because when someone sees you walking around Tescos holding toilet paper, they know that you are planning to shít later and are planning ahead.

All in all, **** you toilet paper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Service charge on tickets.

Bugs the **** out of me. Not sure if they still call it a transaction fee. Yes, I'm buying four tickets but I'm only making one transaction.

Bastards!

• Site Banned Posts: 777 ✭✭✭Youngblood.III

Property tax...sickens me, paid 23k in stamp duty in 2006 for my house..fcukers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭NicoleW85

Tolls & car parking. Surely the ROAD TAX we all pay annually would cover that kind of carry on too?
    I know naff all about politics. Nor do I give a damn about politics. But seriously, charging people to drive on a road & then park in a small space where you run the risk of having your vehicle scratched/damaged is beyond me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

My kids...

I work all week earning it.... Then they want to spend it all on sweets, computer games and phone credit... It's just not fair...
    Put the fcuking boot down. They're children by the way ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Slippers....cannot for the life of me bring myself to buy them....prefer to wear indoor runners or barefoot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭NicoleW85

Oh and bloody engine mounts/anti roll bar bushings/wishbones etc - the feckin joys of living in rural donegal - the auto shops see us comin!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 Riddler87

120 euro on Apoca car clamps...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,628 ✭✭✭Señor Fancy Pants

Also, hotel mini bars!

I fcuking love the things! It's the first thing I do when I get to a hotel room....raid the hell out of it then complain (to myself) when I have to pay for it at checkout.

Mini bottles of spirits, a bar of chocolate, handful of nuts (heh), two mini cans of mixer....that will be €100 please.

I never learn :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Rackstar

Jacks roll
    Tin foil
    Plastic bags
    Water

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

No one mentioned cigarettes yet €4k yearly is what my wife spends on them :mad: Put the boot down :D

1.42+ at the petrol station, grrrrrrrrrr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,008 ✭✭✭VandC

Entrance fee to pubs or worse still paying to use the jacks somewhere (like they do in some certain shopping centres).