Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's the closest you came to killing someone....accidently?

• 22-07-2015 9:04pm
    Site Banned Posts: 777 ✭✭✭

I used to work with heavy plant before. I jumped up on a forklift truck in a garage to move it..asked the mechanic was it safe to move, he said yes. I started it, it jumped forward at speed and hit the wall where the mechanic was standing only seconds before...then he says "oh ya, that is in for new brakes"
    If it hit him it would have cut him in half.... I wasn't right for a few hours afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭GalwayGrrrrrl

I accidentally trod on my baby boys head when he was playing on a mat on the floor. He is ten now and I still feel bad about it. Thankfully I was wearing slippers at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,825 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Haven't nearly killed anyone myself but some genius knocked me off of my motorbike years ago, I went over the cars bonnet and landed on my backside and the driver applied the brakes just in time to not smash into my back,I'd say it's as close so he has come.

Glazers Out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Went to see U2 in the states a couple of months back and was standing right behind my girlfriend.
    Just for the craic, I pulled her T-shirt up and flashed her boobs at The Edge.
    Clown walked clean of the stage and fell into the pit area, near creaming himself on an amp.

• Site Banned Posts: 777 ✭✭✭Youngblood.III

Went to see U2 in the states a couple of months back and was standing right behind my girlfriend.
    Clown walked clean of the stage into the pit area and near creamed himself on an amp.

Photos or gtfo

Her....not the "edge"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭RedXIV

Driving home one evening with the family and felt myself nearly nod off at the wheel. Scared the bejesus out of me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭RomanKnows

I mangled a local child while driving a motorbike at high-speed through a small town in Mexico. It was horrific. She jumped out in front of the bike. I was tripping balls on peyote at the time, but this instantly snapped me back to reality. Broke her leg in two places.

We got her to a hospital, and the doctors managed to save her leg. It was gross. The family had health insurance though, so it was ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,233 ✭✭✭shamrock55

RedXIV wrote: »
    Driving home one evening with the family and felt myself nearly nod off at the wheel. Scared the bejesus out of me!

This has happened to me more times then then i care to remember, not with family in the car though just myself,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,711 ✭✭✭C.K Dexter Haven

O'Connell Bridge, Dublin.

Anytime of day.

It's a lottery who survives. It seems the slower you drive, the braver the pedestrian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

I accidently shot a man in Reno,just to watch him die.

RomanKnows wrote: »
    I mangled a local child while driving a motorbike at high-speed through a small town in Mexico. It was horrific. She jumped out in front of the bike. I was tripping balls on peyote at the time, but this instantly snapped me back to reality. Broke her leg in two places.

We got her to a hospital, and the doctors managed to save her leg. It was gross. The family had health insurance though, so it was ok.

Edit...who am I to Judge...tg kid was ok

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭Diamond Doll

When I was a kid, my sister and I set the sitting room carpet on fire. It wasn't just a little bit singed, we had a full-blown fire going in one of the corners and were warming our hands off it when my mother walked in. We could've easily ended up killing all three of us.

I imagine there have been near-misses when I've been driving, can't think of any off the top of my head though. If there have been any, I've been unaware of them.

I accidently shot a man in Reno,just to watch him die.

Are you Spartacus?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 255 ✭✭Mechanical Clocktail

It would have been while driving anyway. Driving is dangerous. Everytime you walk beside a road you're trusting a bunch of strangers not to be momentarily distracted and kill you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,360 ✭✭✭stampydmonkey

Went to cross the road when I was about 9 and younger brother was 5. Told him to go really fast. He went and a car jammed on the brakes...don't know how I didn't see it....stopped maybe a foot from him. .was petrified..and very lucky it didn't end very badly. Safe cross code all the way from then on.

Also sent the same brother down a slide in a water park in portugal. Didnt realise how deep it was at the bottom. He went first and I followed. By the time I got down the life guard was drenched and pulling him out. Needless to say got a bollocking...was a little dense when I was younger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Her....not the "edge"

Would but boob pics are banned. Edge looking at her best I could do.

If you squint really hard, you can see her in this video though.

Would but boob pics are banned. Edge looking at her best I could do.

If you squint really hard, you can see her in this video though.

Np...pm????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,733 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Well there was this guy who was annoyi......oh, accidentally? Then, ah, never mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

I asked for advice on boards once, I ended up burning the house down...worse still it didn't cure my toothache....probably should have used more petrol.

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    I asked for advice on boards once, I ended up burning the house down....

nah- shudda gone to music forum- "Burning down the house?"- they're experts on Talking Heads;)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

I used to work with heavy plant before. I jumped up on a forklift truck in a garage to move it..asked the mechanic was it safe to move, he said yes. I started it, it jumped forward at speed and hit the wall where the mechanic was standing only seconds before...then he says "oh ya, that is in for new brakes"
    If it hit him it would have cut him in half.... I wasn't right for a few hours afterwards.
    You need to watch this training video.

Meet Klaus. Klaus recently became a certified forklift driver. Today is Klaus' first day driving a forklift. He has been looking forward to this day for some time. He wants to be the best forklift driver ever.

However, Klaus will find himself in the middle of a horrifying sequence of bloodshed and destruction.

When I was small I set the living room curtains on fire. Accidentally, not deliberately. I really liked scented candles and thought I'd light one to enjoy while watching Saturday morning tv. Lighters and four year olds are a dangerous combination. I had the good sense to roar for my dad when the curtains went up, and the damage wasn't too bad. I'm still smarting from the telling off though.

There were five other people in the house, so I could have killed all six of us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 462 ✭✭wylie

I nearly killed two old codgers late one night. I was on a motorbike and came around the corner while they were crossing. I was going to way fast to stop. when one seen me and stopped but the other kept walking. I had to go between them.

RomanKnows wrote: »

Is this serious?

I worked in the kitchen of a hospital and kept mixing up the salt and the cyanide.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

Not one of my proudest moments but one night outside a club after a night out this guy was hassling my friend and his girlfriend and they were too shy and sensible to speak up to him. However me a little worse for wear stood up to him and told him to back off...this guy then turned his attention to me and started shoving me and then spat in my face. I then proceeded to just leather him with punches to the face until he got knocked down and he hopped his head off the ground extremely hard. Out cold, I was certain he was a goner. After about twenty or so seconds, which felt like bloody hours, he started to twitch his eyes and opened them. By now his friends were here now and thankfully more concerned about getting him home rather than ganging up on me. I offered to go to the hospital with him but they said it was fine and that they were going back to a party so I shook his hand and left. I can still hear that smack though, even though I was drunk I was scared senseless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,755 ✭✭✭degsie

Not one of my proudest moments but one night outside a club after a night out this guy was hassling my friend and his girlfriend and they were too shy and sensible to speak up to him. However me a little worse for wear stood up to him and told him to back off...this guy then turned his attention to me and started shoving me and then spat in my face. I then proceeded to just leather him with punches to the face until he got knocked down and he hopped his head off the ground extremely hard. Out cold, I was certain he was a goner. After about twenty or so seconds, which felt like bloody hours, he started to twitch his eyes and opened them. By now his friends were here now and thankfully more concerned about getting him home rather than ganging up on me. I offered to go to the hospital with him but they said it was fine and that they were going back to a party so I shook his hand and left. I can still hear that smack though, even though I was drunk I was scared senseless.

Hardly 'accidental' now, was it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Clown walked clean of the stage and fell into the pit area, near creaming himself on an amp.

You sent The Edge over the edge? That's class!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭sinead88

My family went on holidays with another family years ago. We were all going swimming one of the days, but I hadn't learned to swim yet. Without thinking, I jumped right into the pool to meet my friend but it turned out to be the deep end so I started struggling. She had armbands on, and somehow my survival instincts kicked in or something so I sort of held onto her so I could float. She ended up being pushed way under water on account of my death grip, so by the time the lifeguard pulled us out, she needed chest compressions to get her to cough up all the water. I was completely grand and spent the rest of the trip apologising.

degsie wrote: »

Surrrup

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

degsie wrote: »

I certainly didn't intend to knock him out cold and I definitely didn't wish he'd hop his head off the ground, but I'll admit I lost it when he spat in my face, it's something that infuriates me...adding drink to that fire and it was an accident waiting to happen. As I said, I'm not proud of it at all, but I certainly didn't set out to knock him unconscious...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Used to wrestle my brothers when I was a young fella, WWF style. Amazing that none of us ended up with broken bones. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Broke a man's sternum trying to save him from choking, didn't work and he died anyway. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

Nearly burnt the school down accidentally.

Was doing metalwork using an oxy-acetalene oven to heat the metal. The teacher had fecked off somewhere.

I'd done enough so thought I can't leave this thing roaring away. So I turned off the oxygen :o. Acetalene flames now licking the ceiling.

Right on cue Tufty (the teacher) returns "Gas off first"

Too late. Anyway he saved the situation but there was still a huge burnt patch on the ceiling up till the day I left.