Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2009 Polo 1.4 tdi

• 19-07-2015 10:11am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭

Been looking at cars for a while now (would be changing from a 1.0 to something with more power). I saw a low mileage 2009 Polo 1.4 tdi 80hp for €7900 asking. Would I be right thinking the price is a bit high? I'll be even happy with an Ibiza or Fabia but very few examples of 1.4 100hp or 1.4 and 1.9 tdi's for sale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Cordoba?
    I had one of these new 2008. Had it for 2.5 years and found it a great little car. Very economical and pokey enough for the size of it.
    Same engine etc. as the polo.
    She is the sport model which is what I had , (80bhp)

https://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/seat-cordoba/9790338

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭padyjoe

Yes, Cordoba is an option too. Nice car with a bigger boot compared to my Yaris. I wouldn't mind which one TBH if I could find a decent one for a reasonable price!
    I have even thought about of going up north and importing one. It seems more choice to be had around the same price and vrt added.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭thierry14

I would look at diesel fabia vrs and ibiza fr/cupra diesel

Quick, reliable, economical.

Astra Sri is good too, but not as reliable.

As is the Auris t180, civic 2.2 i-dtec are good too, but not great on diesel

If you want a bit of power and grunt don't get a 1.4/1.6 diesel, they are rubbish compared to above and even more expensive in most cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

It's all relative though, op is coming from a 1.0 Yaris

Thanks! Would you believe or not I have those Vrs's and FR's on my radar. But maybe they're too much forward then. Viewed that Polo yesterday, in great nick but suprised by the rattliness of that engine(I knew 3 cylinder). I just couldn't justify of paying 8 grand for a compact car. I'd rather get something one size bigger for that money. I wonder would I be classed as a boyracer(I'm close to 4x now.) if I got a quicker car? I don't have a midlife crisis, but missing the fun sometimes.

padyjoe wrote: »
    Thanks! Would you believe or not I have those Vrs's and FR's on my radar. But maybe they're too much forward then. Viewed that Polo yesterday, in great nick but suprised by the rattliness of that engine(I knew 3 cylinder). I just couldn't justify of paying 8 grand for a compact car. I'd rather get something one size bigger for that money. I wonder would I be classed as a boyracer(I'm close to 4x now.) if I got a quicker car? I don't have a midlife crisis, but missing the fun sometimes.

Octavia vRS diesel then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Unless your driving requires a rattly diesel then consider a petrol car. Plenty of small capacity yet "nippy" petrol engines out there.

bazz26 wrote: »
    Unless your driving requires a rattly diesel then consider a petrol car. Plenty of small capacity yet "nippy" petrol engines out there.

Funny thing is. my diesel engine is quiet enough at cruising speed whereas I have been in petrol engined cars at the same speed and they were revving their nuts off.

Toss up which one was quieter to be fair.

The deeper gets one into something the more confused you get. :-) At the moment I don't do more than 6-7k miles a year. I've never had diesel before. I don't mind which engine under the bonnet if it's reliable and pulls well. And can be maintained for reasonable money. I don't like flashy, my type is a wolf in sheep's clothing. The Yaris fun as well once the rpm between 4k and red line (and 'racing against me' only) but she's out of puff very quick. :-(

Yes, the diesel is more relaxed on the motorway. That's true.

vectra wrote: »
    Funny thing is. my diesel engine is quiet enough at cruising speed whereas I have been in petrol engined cars at the same speed and they were revving their nuts off.

Toss up which one was quieter to be fair.

Well I drove a 15 Golf recently with the new 1.4 Tsi 150bhp engine and it was so quiet and refined especially at low speed compared to the diesel rattle bags I'm used to.

ok
    fair enough
    a new golf compared to what?

vectra wrote: »
    ok
    fair enough
    a new golf compared to what?

My F10, previous Passat CC.

I did specify cruising speed.
    Low speed diesel is always going to be noisier.
    My F10, previous Passat CC.

mice cars :)

True, I've been driving diesels for so long now that any petrol sounds silent in comparison.

Jaysus lads, don't engage in a petrol vs diesel battle! I'd like to have few examples thrown in: fun for reasonable cash. Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Drive as many cars as you can so you can get perspective.
    I would suggest:
    Mini
    Audi A3
    VW Golf
    Kia pro ceed
    Hyundai i30
    Volvo C30