Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you want to live in a country run by an 'After Hours' Government?

• 18-07-2015 5:37pm

Lets see ... harsher prison conditions and stricter sentencing, rigid secularism, reduced welfare assistance, reduced spending on overseas aid, the total eradication of Amnesty International and hipsters ... what else am I missing?

If AH-user opinion ran the country, would you want to live in it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

Going by the level of moderation it would be quite Stalin-esque

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,101 ✭✭✭Rightwing

Lets see ... harsher prison conditions and stricter sentencing, rigid secularism, reduced welfare assistance, reduced spending on overseas aid, the total eradication of Amnesty International and hipsters ... what else am I missing?

If AH-user opinion ran the country, would you want to live in it?

You mean a Tyrant? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

I'd be a civil war that never ends.
    The people of AH are quite varied in the opinions we have.
    There's no way we'll agree on one thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

The Garda would be ED 209s and treat protesting as a capital offence. The M50 would be a playground. We would have no infrastructure in Rural areas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Eh no

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Tombi! wrote: »
    There's no way we'll agree on one thing.

I disagree

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

So who would the Taoiseach be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭Gmol

Wibbs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

the solution to every crisis would be 'burn the house down'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

I disagree

Ah, FFS. See, if I were in charge people like you would just be in jail or be let go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

Facekicker

I don't think anyone epitomizes AH philosophy like Jonjo the miser.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

You're missing a sense of fun and an ability to see through agendas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

We would have no infrastructure in Rural areas.

That's because the feckers would only complain that it would be a blight the landscape and devastate tourism! After all, nobody wants to look out their kitchen or living room window and see infrastructure out there! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055726159

The Citizen!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

Minister for justice: buffybot.
    minister for health: woopsadasiedoodles.
    Minister for finance: Mr E

My selections

Ruu wrote: »

Nah, he can be our costumed vigilante. We just need to get a giant spotlight with a 'C' in the middle of it. Who wants to be in charge of raising funds for that bad boy from the AH constituents??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 611 ✭✭✭brianwalshcork

Billy86 wrote: »
    Nah, he can be our costumed vigilante. We just need to a giant spotlight with a 'C' in the middle of it. Who wants to be in charge of raising funds for that bad boy from the AH constituents??

Let's call a spade a spade here, you mean taxation right? I foresee problems for your second term election campaign already

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 969 ✭✭✭JacquesDeLad

Greece tried this already and look what happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭Aineoil

Ireland run by people in AH. That would be brilliant. Not.

It would descend into utter choas after a week.

Wouldn't mind a fancy senate seat to pontificate from all the same...

, rigid secularism,

Actually, no, not that rigid.

Apologists for radical Islamic nutters are fine, because, you know, Israel this, Israel that, something something something, blah blah blah X infinity. The hippies and the D4 students want their "aid floatilla" to get through but aren't that bothered about the other Palestinians with an even worse life in Lebanon, etc.

They tend to frequent the politics forum more

Apologists for radical Islamic nutters are fine, because, you know, Israel this, Israel that, something something something, blah blah blah X infinity.
    If you think AH is a place where a balanced view of Islam is indulged, then we must be reading different threads altogether. Mention the Islamic faith at all, and people will have no hesitation in telling you how little they think of the religion and even its adherents.

In fact I can't believe I left Muslims, travellers and asylum seekers out of the OP!

I also forgot socialists, cyclists & Caitlin Jenner.

Let's call a spade a spade here, you mean taxation right? I foresee problems for your second term election campaign already
    That's where Im getting political here, I never said that - I - was going to introduce this change, just that someone has to. I just need someone to fall on their sword for me, so I can stand tall on their corpse. ;)

And let's not forget possibly the most prevalent bunch this year given the referendum, the "won't somebody PLEASE think of the children!" Christians and "cultural traditionalists". ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

The very idea of it is horrifying...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭BlaasForRafa

End of the road can be opposition spokesman on EVERYTHING :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Taco Chips

Nope, some of the worst opinions I've ever seen have been here on AH. I would dread the thought of some of these people being in a position of power.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

Yes.
    They'd be too concerned with mindfulness and discussing the minimum requirements of liberalism, to notice me plotting their destruction. I promise a pyrotechnics display that would be worthy of remembrance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

Lord of the Flies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,282 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Lord of the Fleas

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

The only way to see a cyclist would be to view a stuffed one in a museum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

I wanna be minister for justice and defence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

I'd rather fancy my chances in Somalia to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

What a stupid thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

so AH beers night would be like the Dail bar..?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭Irelandcool

idk I just run it either communist orfacist style (even though I am neither those) just for the hell of it and see how long till I am over thrown.
    Just be a really trolly taosieach.