Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is the media making Merkel a villain? Is she one?

• 16-07-2015 7:20pm

The twice-married 'evangelical' chancellor yesterday spoke out against gay marriage, saying Germany would not be following Ireland's lead in holding a same-sex marriage referendum.

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/europe/angela-merkel-gay-marriage-vote-germany-10389762.html
    “For me, personally, marriage is a man and a woman living together. That is my concept, but I support civil partnerships."

...Explaining further, the German leader said: "I don’t want discrimination and [I want] equality, but I make a difference at some point."

And today, the media have criticised Merkel for her response to a crying refugee girl

http://www.bbc.com/news/world-europe-33555619
    German Chancellor Angela Merkel is facing criticism over her treatment of a young refugee who had been threatened with deportation.
    At a forum for young people, Mrs Merkel tells the Palestinian girl, Reem, that not all migrants can stay in Germany and "some will have to go home".
    Mrs Merkel then strokes Reem, who is now crying, on the back.

Mrs Merkel replied that "politics can be tough", adding: "You are an extremely nice person but you also know that there are thousands and thousands of people in Palestinian refugee camps in Lebanon."

Opinions?

I don't find Merkel's opinions on gay marriage at all defensible, and I think her attitiude to the crying refugee was well-intended, she was a bit too blunt and forthright.

What say ye? Is Merkel a villain, or is this a backlash following the dogged German approach to the Greek crisis?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Christian Democratic Union of Germany ... What a shock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Christian Democratic Union of Germany ... What a shock.

That was my first thought

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

I've never heard of an evil German.

Die Reem, die.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭pauliebdub

She's very German, much more of a thinker rather than a feeler and comes across as being a bit cold and lacking empathy. She's very popular in Germany though and knows how to appeal to her electorate. I would never vote for someone as conservative as her but I don't think she's a monster either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭Fudge You

I hate the way some Irish people blame her, for what happened in Ireland in the last 7 years.

Merkel ya bleedin' scumbag!!!

pauliebdub wrote: »
    She's very German, much more of a thinker rather than a feeler and comes across as being a bit cold and lacking empathy.

Youre very Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

No repect for the woman she deserves the tags

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

You can tell she is an "Ost", watches every penny she does.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

pauliebdub wrote: »
    She's very German, much more of a thinker rather than a feeler and comes across as being a bit cold and lacking empathy. She's very popular in Germany though and knows how to appeal to her electorate. I would never vote for someone as conservative as her but I don't think she's a monster either.

Her nudey pics were great :D

While I fully supported what happened in Ireland, I don't think she's a villain yet. I'd be interested in seeing how their civil partnerships compare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Angela Merkel arrives in Athens
    airport.
    "Nationality?" asks the
    immigration officer.
    "German," she replies.
    "Occupation?"
    "No, just here for a few days."

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 969 ✭✭✭JacquesDeLad

Strong female leaders are always resented by weak insecure men.

I wish it weren't true but it is.

What's that got to do with Gay Marriage ? We cant criticise as she is female ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,081 ✭✭✭sheesh

I think she is great!

Are you talking through your big hoop???
    I have no idea what are you on about...

Is it ok for other females to resent her???

Are females insecure, if they resent strong male leaders??? See how silly this question sounds?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Wonder how the population of Ukraine see her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

My supervisor met her as foreign secretary of a scientific society and said she's actually a very warm lady. I admire her because she's a strong leader and a very clever scientist.

Where she falls down is her tendency to exhibit the German malady of blaming every country for their own misfortune without applying the same rules to Germany.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

I'd like to hear you say that out loud in a Derbyshire pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Taxburden carrier

I,for one ,welcome our new insect overlords.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

She isnt the worst German leader ever and she likes beer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

mikom wrote: »
    I'd like to hear you say that out loud in a Derbyshire pub.

Or Sheffield or Durham :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Jon Stark

Yeah that's it, you've got it spot on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

steddyeddy wrote: »
    Or Sheffield or Durham :D

He wouldn't make it out of the first one.....

steddyeddy wrote: »
    Where she falls down is her tendency to exhibit the German malady of blaming every country for their own misfortune without applying the same rules to Germany.

In that respect she is correct and everyone knows that uncomfortable truth behind the political smiles.

Her opinion on same sex marriage scares people because of the power she is perceived to wield.

Frau Merkel is no threat to SSM. Don't be so scared of the Isern Kanzlerin.

I presume, because of the reference to SSM, you're talking about gay men?

Well Margaret Thatcher, who is probably the epitome of a strong female leader, was probably the closest thing the conservative party has had to a gay icon... more because of her image than her politics, of course. Not that gay men can't be macho, but I think that's what you're getting at.

Gay or straight, I find leaders like that are more beloved among socially-awkward, mid-ranking bespectacled civil servants than, say, coal miners ...

I presume, because of the reference to SSM, you're talking about gay men?

You don't have to be gay to think SSM is a good thing but perhaps I was being sexist in suggesting that only men feared her influence.

Apologies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,037 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Merkel is just a common or garden European Conservative.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

Was only looking at Germany yesterday and the funking size of the country its huge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,399 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Shes been an astonishingly successful Chancellor in Germany, admirable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,037 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

TallGlass wrote: »
    Was only looking at Germany yesterday and the funking size of the country its huge.

It used to be bigger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭jjC123

In general, I like her,but I don't agree with her views on SSM at all.

I am also a huge science nerd (and a female) and she is a physical chemist who went on to become the first female Chancellor of Germany and the 2nd most powerful person in the world, according to Forbes. So I really can't help but respect her. Alot.

Shes been an astonishingly successful Chancellor in Germany, admirable.
    All the same, if the Taoiseach of our own country came out with such a statement, he'd likely be lampooned as an embarrassing Irish eejit.

And if FG renamed themselves the Christian Democrats and were headed by an evangelical Christian, I suspect they'd haemorrage liberal voters.

What surprises me is that such an influential figure in European politics, and in fact Irish politics, can get away with this; I suspect she's tremendously popular in Ireland in a way no Irish politician would be... especially amongst liberals.

I'm not sure why that is. Her very orthodox views have a big influence on European social policy and the Eurozone.

I don't want to see her demonised for her views. I am sure she is sincere and well-meaning. But lets face it, even Harney and the PDs were more electable than Merkel would be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

Merkel is the finest post Cold War politician that Europe has seen. A leader of extraordinary intellect and vision. The Christian Democrat parties in Germany have been the anchor of reason and practicality since the country was reunited. History will treat her very kindly.

She isnt the worst German leader ever

Just when I was hoping everybody in a thread relating to Germany was, for the first time, trying to be original.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,981 ✭✭✭KomradeBishop

Whatever about her personality or domestic politics, she's the leader of the country that just slammed Greece with a modern-day Versailles treaty, and which actively vetos reform of a monetary union, that inherently benefits Germany (making them artificially competitive on exports/trade) and holds all other Euro countries down (making them artificially less competitive to Germany, on exports/trade).

Not enough people realise this yet, but the economic crisis for periphery countries was practically built-in to the Euro (probably out of stupidity more than malice), and it's Germany blocking any possibility of reform (and who will probably permanently block reform within our lifetimes), where the only real reform that will fix it is moving towards fiscal union.

All the same, if the Taoiseach of our own country came out with such a statement, he'd likely be lampooned as an embarrassing Irish eejit.

And if FG renamed themselves the Christian Democrats and were headed by an evangelical Christian, I suspect they'd haemorrage liberal voters.

What surprises me is that such an influential figure in European politics, and in fact Irish politics, can get away with this; I suspect she's tremendously popular in Ireland in a way no Irish politician would be... especially amongst liberals.

I'm not sure why that is. Her very orthodox views have a big influence on European social policy and the Eurozone.

I don't want to see her demonised for her views. I am sure she is sincere and well-meaning. But lets face it, even Harney and the PDs were more electable than Merkel would be.

While some might imagine and dream of a Socialist utopia, she grew up with it.

I take experience over fairytales anytime. :)

She's still pretty Socialist. :rolleyes:

If the Greeks said about the Irish what they've said about the Germans, they'd have the most Social Media'd charcoal embassy on the planet.

A Taoiseach like Gerry Adams would call for calm but understand why someone, unrelated to Sinn Fein, would launch an improvised barrel bomb attack on a Greek restaurant in retaliation.

She's more Socialist than Gerry imo.

While some might imagine and dream of a Socialist utopia, she grew up with it.

I take experience over fairytales anytime. :)

She's still pretty Socialist. :rolleyes:

If the Greeks said about the Irish what they've said about the Germans, they'd have the most Social Media'd charcoal embassy on the planet.

A Taoiseach like Gerry Adams would call for calm but understand why someone, unrelated to Sinn Fein, would launch an improvised barrel bomb attack on a Greek restaurant in retaliation.

She's more Socialist than Gerry imo.
    No idea what's going on in that post... Merkel's apparently a socialist with random references to Gerry Adams...?

When you've no ideas... look to Sinn Fein. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭Public_Enema

Merkel is the finest post Cold War politician that Europe has seen. A leader of extraordinary intellect and vision. The Christian Democrat parties in Germany have been the anchor of reason and practicality since the country was reunited. History will treat her very kindly.

Such overinflated praise leads to believe you may have hit the cider earlier than normal tonight. German history will treat her kindly but that's it. She did a good job of protecting her banks, from the losses they should have faced for their high risk credit provision. The Euro project has been a win-win for the Germans, their banks gambling have been covered by European taxpayers, and non more heroically than the Irish. But after what has happened to Greece this past week, the mask has slipped somewhat and many people across Europe were disturbed by what they witnessed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

So she actually told the girl the truth rather than saying "ah shure come on over and bring your cousins". God forbid a politician actually not take the easiest route

And what does twice-married have to do with it? She's Lutheran, they allow divorce.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

She's a cnut. Most Germans are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,723 ✭✭✭MightyMandarin

Such overinflated praise leads to believe you may have hit the cider earlier than normal tonight. German history will treat her kindly but that's it. She did a good job of protecting her banks, from the losses they should have faced for their high risk credit provision. The Euro project has been a win-win for the Germans, their banks gambling have been covered by European taxpayers, and non more heroically than the Irish. But after what has happened to Greece this past week, the mask has slipped somewhat and many people across Europe were disturbed by what they witnessed.

I think you're the one who's had too much cider tonight.

She's effectively become Europe's leader through no fault of her own; Cameron is afraid to be seen in Brussels because a large portion of his party hate seeing Britain in the EU, and Hollande and France's economy is not strong enough to lead. The shinners love to portray her as a bully who's hellbent on controlling Europe when she's anything but.

The Euro crisis has been a disaster for Germany and Merkel; they've lost a heap of money pumping bailouts into Greece which they may never earn back, confidence in the european economy is at rock bottom, and Merkel faces destroying her otherwise great leadership by continuing to give even more money to the clowns from Athens.

I wasn't disturbed by what happened this week. I'm glad that arsehole Tsipras got what he deserved and hopefully the Greek people will learn what happens when you vote these left wing nutjobs into Govt.

goose2005 wrote: »
    So she actually told the girl the truth rather than saying "ah shure come on over and bring your cousins". God forbid a politician actually not take the easiest route
    Nobody in the thread claimed that was the alternative. Some people would probably form the opinion that adults should try maintain some sensitivity around crying refugee teenagers facing deportation.
    goose2005 wrote: »
    And what does twice-married have to do with it? She's Lutheran, they allow divorce.
    Some allow remarriage after divorce, others don't.

Of course, some Lutherans also approve of same-sex marriage, I'm not sure whether Merkel's personal church is more evangelical on either issue.

Either way, rejecting one and approving the other comes across as a self-serving bias. Rejecting one and not the other doesn't seem like a consistent view on the sanctity of marriage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,755 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

The best leader among the powerful nations, I'd vote for her if i was German and history will judge her well imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

She's a cnut. Most Germans are.

Wouldn't go that far now. Tar and brush etc... Enda Kenny springs to mind, what did he say yesterday regards Irish water? Something along the lines of the people once other people pay for it they don't care, ah sure Enda who paid for the bank bailout.

I just hope the Germans don't think we are all like Enda. Which leads me onto my next question, is been a TD more like a social thing? Once your a popular type of person you'll get voted in not really have a clue whats going on, get a few of the lads that maybe have an idea of whats going on to tell you what they think is going on?

Or is it just become a TD then make up a load of promises to the people then don't do anything what you said.

As far as I am concerned it might aswell be FF in power at the moment, they had bully boy tactics and FG have them also, is it just unheard of that a political party can understand that the electorate might know whats going on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 604 ✭✭✭Vandango

The Euro crisis has been a disaster for Germany and Merkel; they've lost a heap of money pumping bailouts into Greece which they may never earn back

Ah will you stop, no country has benefitted as much as German has under the Euro. You think they've lost a lot of money in Greece? Yet just think of all the money the Irish taxpayer saved them, by shielding those big German creditors from the losses they should have taken. Yes revisionist spin tries to deny that reality, but it is what it is.

Merkel faces destroying her otherwise great leadership by continuing to give even more money to the clowns from Athens.

Oh you mean the clowns that were willing accepted into the Euro by Geramny? The clowns that Goldman Sachs fraudulently cooked the books for, to help gain admittance to the Euro club. And the German banks, knowing all of this and with the full knowledge of Greece's poor record of economic management, willing dealt out lots of cheap credit. And why? Because obedient puppets like Merkel would obey. Puppets like her and Lenihan & co, nationalised their private debt and transferred that private debt onto the shoulders of the eurpoean taxpayers.
    I'm glad that arsehole Tsipras got what he deserved and hopefully the Greek people will learn what happens when you vote these left wing nutjobs into Govt.

Isn't democracy a bítch? Yes lets punish the people for not leaning to the the far right obedient drone mantra. Hitler needed to use tanks and planes to bring nations to heel. Today Merkel and her ilk merely need to use ATM machines. Something did change in europe after what happened last week and it has left a very bad taste in people's mouths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

A European leader who is popular at home is likely to be distrusted in Europe.Yes she is an Ossi,but she has the soul of a Schwabian gelbfusser wife.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Hans Bricks

She upset a Palestinian refugee. That's bound to get the blog and twittosphere champagne socialists into a frenzy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,419 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Vandango wrote: »
    Something did change in europe after what happened last week

Yes, the crackpots of Sinn Féin, Podemos and Syriza have been crushed by our German friends and we owe them a great debt of gratitude for this.

The Germans played very well. I endorse fully their no-nonsense approach against Greece - a country that is the sponger of the European taxpayer and should not be in the euro in the first place.

I guess we will leave it to Germany to say the last rites on their euro membership when taxpayers in Ireland would have to pay €1.4bn contribution to bail out such a feckless country.