Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dating rich womens

• 12-07-2015 12:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭

Whats the story these days, 21st and all that, anyone have any experience with male dating female who earn around 1.5 times - double his salary? Is it friends or short term at best? Similar education, interests, ambition etc. but just the particular carreer areas have different wage brackets :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

So you're asking about experiences dating females that make more money than you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭FISMA.

Interslice wrote: »
    Whats the story these days, 21st and all that, anyone have any experience with male dating female who earn around 1.5 times - double his salary? Is it friends or short term at best? Similar education, interests, ambition etc. but just the particular carreer areas have different wage brackets :confused:

Strictly forbidden, totally taboo. Stay away from her, but pm me her details.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭Trudiha

It’s fantastic, they have no end of shiny stuff you can play with and, mostly, they want to go places in their much better car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Give up your old sexist stereotypes OP.

They are not called "womens", we call them "wimmins" now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

I'd love to be a kept man.

My dream is be a man of leisure, have the dinner on the table for when my wife comes home looking to bang me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Boring username

I would never date a rich woman for her money, power, looks or success. Mostly because they would have nothing to do with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I would date a rich woman for her personality

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

It's only the 12th OP, a bit of time before you have to worry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Why should it make a difference? It's the personalities and shared interests that matter. And who knows, maybe they'll have a child, and it will suit both better for the male to be a stay at home father and the mother to be the wage-earner. I see no harm in that if it works for the couple, and it will, slowly, revolutionise issues with males as the caregivers in law and society as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭fatknacker

Double what you make on the dole is not exactly being rich.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Rock 1234

Money isn't the be all and end all in a partner, what is much more important is personality, kindness, respect if she has all those qualities then you have nothing to worry about but it natural for a man to feel inferior if the woman earns more than him, Good Luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭Trudiha

If you're a member of the poor An Garda Siochana, I understand that the uniform makes up for a lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Is it ok for women to go out with men who earn more than them?

And what about gay couples?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Its great op

She pays for sex and pays double at the weekends..then when finished i can take her credit card while she cooks the dinner..her great grand daughter has an issue with us alright..fcuk it i dont see her as the 96 yr old as the rest..shes my boo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

Why would it only be friends or short-term?

Rock 1234 wrote: »
    Money isn't the be all and end all in a partner, what is much more important is personality, kindness, respect if she has all those qualities then you have nothing to worry about but it natural for a man to feel inferior if the woman earns more than him, Good Luck.

Why is it natural for a man to feel that way?

Surely that day is long gone, or at least should be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Money is a lot like a vegetable patch.

It's not the size of it that counts, it's how floury your spuds are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,815 ✭✭✭imitation

Is she taller than the man in the relationship as well ? Im sure there is an emasculation check list somewhere that can be used to sabotage any would be relationships with all these insignificant problems.

My friends don't talk about their salaries, so I've no idea who earns what.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭Interslice

biko wrote: »
    So you're asking about experiences dating females that make more money than you?

More or less ye, and did anything ever come of it or was it just a bit of fun, or not.
    Why would it only be friends or short-term?

The endless quest to understand the female mind continues:P.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭Nadser

I'd love to be a kept man.

My dream is be a man of leisure, have the dinner on the table for when my wife comes home looking to bang me.

PM me, you sound like my kind of man! :-P

Candie wrote: »

I don't know if it is. Subconsciously at least a women is far less likely to find a man who earns less than her attractive. In my head anyway. I know of one or two but they been seeing each other from college and the difference isn't huge and happened over time. I'm 29 so meeting a career focused wimmen(stand corrected;)) at this age is a bit of a different ball game than 2 19 year olds. Most seem to have at least a range of what they want in their head. Probably even a few weirdos with checklists!

I don't know if it is. Subconsciously at least a women is far less likely to find a man who earns less than her attractive. In my head anyway.

Uh huh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

I had one experience of dating a girl from a wealthy family.. she got a sports car for her birthday, she liked to go to Lilli's Bordello and Leeson Street night clubs.

Her family used to go Christmas shopping to NY and they lived in an enormous house in a very 'desirable' address in Dublin.

It didn't last too long, I got on well with her but I couldn't click with her friends, she became a different person when she was in their company ie. a bit of a snob.

I had one experience of dating a girl from a wealthy family.. she got a sports car for her birthday, she liked to go to Lilli's Bordello and Leeson Street night clubs.

Her family used to go Christmas shopping to NY and they lived in an enormous house in a very 'desirable' address in Dublin.

It didn't last too long, I got on well with her but I couldn't click with her friends, she became a different person when she was in their company ie. a bit of a snob.

She sounds like you were better off out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

More or less ye, and did anything ever come of it or was it just a bit of fun, or not.

The endless quest to understand the female mind continues:P.
    Once they really like each other, her earning more than him won't be an issue. Well it certainly shouldn't be anyway. It's really not of much concern in the grander scheme of things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭Jotunheim

My friends don't talk about their salaries, so I've no idea who earns what.

How do you know which ones to date for the purposes of emasculating them so? About time you and your friends had a proper talk, get your priorities in order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭Katgurl

Earning 1.5-double isn't that much of a divide imo. If he was on 30k and her 200-300k then yeah might not be too practical as she'd either have to compromise her lifestyle or finance his. Plus, she's going to be extremely career driven, ambitious etc and he may not.

But even under those circumstances I can't see why it would be a show-stopper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭bee06

I don't know if it is. Subconsciously at least a women is far less likely to find a man who earns less than her attractive. In my head anyway. I know of one or two but they been seeing each other from college and the difference isn't huge and happened over time. I'm 29 so meeting a career focused wimmen(stand corrected;)) at this age is a bit of a different ball game than 2 19 year olds. Most seem to have at least a range of what they want in their head. Probably even a few weirdos with checklists!

I earn more than my husband and always have. We're in different careers so it's just how it is. Has never made any difference to either of us. We were both working went we got together as well.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Katgurl wrote: »
    Earning 1.5-double isn't that much of a divide imo. If he was on 30k and her 200-300k then yeah might not be too practical as she'd either have to compromise her lifestyle or finance his. Plus, she's going to be extremely career driven, ambitious etc and he may not.

But even under those circumstances I can't see why it would be a show-stopper.

I earn a fair bit more than my oh and always have

He's actually very supportive and does stuff to make my life easier as I travel a lot

It doesn't really make a difference day to day tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

Peadar O'Donnell had the right idea, preached hard left Marxism ( emigration to be outlawed as in the GDR etc. etc.,) and dated and married a Dublin heiress, swanning around the capital in a flashy car while rubbing shoulders with the great and good here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

I think one partner earning a lot less or being more financially insecure than their partners does have issues, it fcuks with life plans (renting, mortgages big holidays cars kids etc)and its harder to make big reciprocal gestures, neither you or your partner has to be materialistic for it to cause issues, that said if your both financially secure and its just a difference in earnings maybe that wouldn't happen.

Out of the couples I know I guess its probably 50-50 who earns more, that said I think when it comes to having a family its probably harder if the guy earns less, even with equal parenting pregnancy is happening to the woman and babies seem to cost a lot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

If the idea of a woman earning more than you - or a man earning less - is a problem because you think it should be the other way around you have a lot of growing up to do and should probably avoid relationships until you mature a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭seenitall

A very good friend of mine has 4 kids with her husband whom she met when they were both 17-18, and as life transpired, she is the one bringing home almost all of the bacon. She's a very driven woman career-wise and provider role-wise though, and knowing her well, I'm quite sure she'd be the same even if he were more ambitious jobswise, which he isn't. He's quite happy to be a stay at home dad, and doing an odd job here and there, when an opportunity calls.

It all worked out for them. You could never see a couple more in love with one another after 20-odd years together, or treating each other with more affection and respect and complete serenity, especially notable as they now have 2 toddlers in addition to two older kids to handle. I'm in awe of all that! I just sit back and marvel whenever I'm in their company.

The point is - there's no rulebook anymore, OP, and thank goodness for that. It's whatever works. Having a loving partner in life is the main thing. If the love and respect and partnership are there, everything else will fall into place one way or another.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I think one partner earning a lot less or being more financially insecure than their partners does have issues, it fcuks with life plans (renting, mortgages big holidays cars kids etc)and its harder to make big reciprocal gestures, neither you or your partner has to be materialistic for it to cause issues, that said if your both financially secure and its just a difference in earnings maybe that wouldn't happen.

Out of the couples I know I guess its probably 50-50 who earns more, that said I think when it comes to having a family its probably harder if the guy earns less, even with equal parenting pregnancy is happening to the woman and babies seem to cost a lot!

Not necessarily

I take the approach of paying expenses on a split basis as a percentage so if I earn 100k and my oh earns 25k I pay 80% of the expenses and they 20%

That means that proportionately we both have decent spending money

I do tend to pay for holidays if we go on one which is rare as days off mean no pay for me

He tends to go overboard for birthdays and Christmas more so than I, and the stuff he does week by week such as sorting out my dry cleaning or getting my shoes mended when I can't as I'm awat with work mean a lot to me

Were both of us like me, life would be a ball of stress or we'd have to have cleaners etc

We will be looking for a mortgage in a few years but are agreed on what we want and happy with it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

Stheno wrote: »
    Not necessarily

I take the approach of paying expenses on a split basis as a percentage so if I earn 100k and my oh earns 25k I pay 80% of the expenses and they 20%

That means that proportionately we both have decent spending money

I do tend to pay for holidays if we go on one which is rare as days off mean no pay for me

He tends to go overboard for birthdays and Christmas more so than I, and the stuff he does week by week such as sorting out my dry cleaning or getting my shoes mended when I can't as I'm awaynwithbwork mean a lot to me

We're both of us like me, life would be a ball of stress or we'd have to have cleaners etc

We will be looking for a mortgage in a few years but are agreed on what we want and happy with it

I don't think its unworkable at all but I do think it adds an extra layer of stress, I'd guess the thing is that as a unit your financially comfortable (125k combined salary), if one partner is on 40 and the other on an insecure 20 its a not really the same.

Ah I was using that as an example, they are not actual figures

I'm not willing to post the actuals, I just used those to illustraate how I approach it

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Candie wrote: »

It's still illegal for a woman to earn more than 77% of what a mn earns, I'm fairly certain.