Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Crime and Policing Analyst campaign

• 11-07-2015 9:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9

Just wondering has anyone else applied for the Crime and Policing Analyst campaign with the Guards?
    I had a look back at threads from 2007 and 2008..and there appeared to be a recruitment campaign then. Was that the last campaign?
    How many people do they generally take on at a time?
    What is the first round? Aptitudes online?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 184 ✭✭Holysock

They're recruiting now for EO grades of this position as part of the EO 2014 competition (there's a thread here about it). It has so far involved aptitude tests and filling in an application form with details of your research and data analysis experience. Next stage is interviews at the end of this month. Not sure if they are also recruiting outside the EO comp. They advertised for the senior Crime and Policing Analysts on PAS a few months ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 hailo1234q

Thanks for that Holysock, I applied for this HEO role. Application form was very detailed, but just trying to suss out if interviews or a blunt aptitude test as was for the general EO/CO campaigns in recent times be the most likely step next?
    Anyone have experiences of this campaign from previous years?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭kilburn

The roles were advertised separately also on public jobs outside the EO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭FunshineBear01

I applied for this role through PAS. I was unaware that they were recruiting for EO grades for this position through the general call. I have aptitude tests the week of July 27th. Does anyone know how many positions are available? Thanks :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭thefinalstage

Is the competition still open for this?

No, the Senior Crime and Policing Analyst competition closed at the end of June. I don't know anything about general civil service recruitment.

Anyone got any links to practice tests similar to the examples given?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭KCC

So how did everyone find the tests? I didn't apply but know someone who did and they said it was hard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭IUA14

I have my aptitude tests on Tuesday, anyone taken them already and how did they find them?

I have mine on Tuesday too. Would love to hear from people who have already done them.

Did them last week it's very hard to complete them within the time allocated.

Numerical tests are ok just use your commonsense and read it carefully.

The verbal reasoning are very tricky some could be considered to be false or cannot say from the info given

Thanks Kilburn. Was the numerical test similar to the practice one? Any idea when you'll hear? I suppose everyone has to do the tests first.

Thanks Kilburn. How do you think you got on overall?

Slightly worried about them now since it seems progress at the next stage is 100% weighted on these assessments.

They said the results should be out early August.

Numerical tests I think went well not sure on the verbal ones.

Sounds positive. Were the numerical ones like the practice SHL ones?

Yes they were similar lots of charts and having to add various figures then divide/multiply to get answers practice mean and median stuff outside of shl exams to get familiar with the concept

Thanks a million Kilburn, I appreciate the tips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Berfox

Hello,
    Just wondering has anyone who done the aptitude test hear anything back yet?

I haven't heard anything yet.

I would imagine by the end of the week or early next week we would hear something.

Anyone heard anything yet?

Nothing yet, really making us wait...

Nothing yet but they were very vague when I done my test,they just said August. Did anyone hear anything different? Thanks : )

They said August to my group as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭DuckyFuzz

They said early August to mine!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 jamesmac88

maybe try emailing them

Yeah they said early to mid August to my group too.

Just got an email back from recruitment services and they said end of August results to be posted on our message boards : )

Thanks Berfox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭ezra_pound

I'm through

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭ezra_pound

Check your public jobs messages

Just checked mine and was told I passed the qualifying stage and they will be in touch in September to see will I be shortlisted for the next stage based on my application form : )

Ya same, passed.

Fair play Yeboah, some result.

Cheers for the update to check, haven't got an email yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 teradata

does anyone know if it matters where you rank after round 1 as long as you pass? also how many people attended stage 1?

I received a message last night saying I got to the next stage and will hear in September.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Through here also. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 Travel_Mad

Has anyone been invited to the interview yet?
    Not sure whether your rank after round 1 matters. I hope it doesn't, as I am way down the list...

Travel_Mad wrote: »
    Has anyone been invited to the interview yet?
    Not sure whether your rank after round 1 matters. I hope it doesn't, as I am way down the list...

Nothing yet. I expect to hear something by the end of the month. I was up in PAS a few weeks ago for an interview (different post) and they look to be very busy there; with local authority posts, gardaí, etc.

Haven't heard anything yet...was hoping there would be some news this week if they are hoping to interview later in September.

I had emailed them for a timeframe at the end of August as I had travel plans and they responded saying shortlisting is expected to take place late August/early September and then expect to have interviews later in September.

Just got a message from Public Jobs to log in to my profile. This is what I found:

With reference to your application for the above-mentioned position, I am
    pleased to inform you that you were successful at short listing stage and will be invited to attend the next stage of the selection process i.e. Assessment Centre.

It is expected that this Exercise will take place in early to mid-October. We will be in touch with you with additional information on the next stage of the process in due course.

So, I'm still in the running! I'm an old hand at public jobs exams and interviews at this stage, but I've no idea what an "Assessment Centre" entails!

I got the same. Any idea what this might entail? Is it an interview?

Through here aswell thankfully. I would assume part of this stage will be the interview but who knows. Really hoping they give dates soon, I have been putting off booking flights until I heard back and its getting expensive ha.

I am through too! Hopefully they'll explain what exactly the assessment centre involves in 'due course'. Hope they'll set the dates soon too. The whole process is already taking ages...

Does anyone know how many external posts are available? I presume the union has ring-fenced a certain proportion of these jobs for internal candidates?

Looks like seven posts at this (HEO) level, according to the CPSU. (see page 5)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭Yeboah

Katio2015 wrote:
    Does anyone know how many external posts are available? I presume the union has ring-fenced a certain proportion of these jobs for internal candidates?

I am an internal candidate..work very closely with current analysts in a very simular environment. Ranked very highly after tests but have not been shortlisted.

Yeboah wrote: »
    I am an internal candidate..work very closely with current analysts in a very simular environment. Ranked very highly after tests but have not been shortlisted.

Sorry to hear that. If it's any consolation I recently interviewed in PAS for a job I am - in all but name - doing already ... and I was turned down! The mind boggles sometimes.

Aglomerado wrote: »
    Sorry to hear that. If it's any consolation I recently interviewed in PAS for a job I am - in all but name - doing already ... and I was turned down! The mind boggles sometimes.

That's terrible. Hope you'll have more luck this time round! This is my first time applying through PAS, so not sure what to expect:-)

Anyone still got the original information booklet on this position by any chance?

IUA14 wrote: »
    Anyone still got the original information booklet on this position by any chance?

Yep, got one. Cannot attach it through here but can email it to you if you still need it.