Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tour de France 2015 Stage 8 Rennes - Mûr de Bretagne *contains unmasked spoilers*

• 10-07-2015 9:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭

tdf_stage8.png

PROFILCOLSCOTES_1.png

The lumpy sprinty days continue, with a very similar finish as the stages into Le Havre and Huy. The actual Mur de Bretagne is over a kilometre long, beginning fairly gently before going above 10%, peaking at 15%. The final sprint is fairly level at about 2%. This will be too much for the likes of Greipel and Cavendish for certain. The bookies have put Sagan in as favourite, but I would see the climb as being too much for him. Instead, we are likely to see another shoot out between Joaquin Rodriguez, Chris Froome, Alexis Vuillermoz, Alejandro Valverde and hopefully also Dan Martin.

Oddschecker: Sagan 7/2, Valverde 13/2, Rodriguez 9/1, Gallopin 10/1, Froome 10/1, Martin 14/1

Stage Winner 33 votes

Peter Sagan
    0%
    Alejandro Valverde
    9%
    IcepickGonkyisitraining 3 votes
    Joaquin Rodriguez
    6%
    ROK ONSubpopulus 2 votes
    Tony Gallopin
    15%
    lukegjpotterletapeTrev De revspock.devonp 5 votes
    Chris Froome
    12%
    LionbackerdaramikeTalib FiascoMPFG 4 votes
    Dan Martin
    6%
    steclearyDarkglasses 2 votes
    Greg van Avermaet
    39%
    desertcircusInquitus68 lost soulsicomRobFowln-dawgTobyglenMelodeondastardly00NadserArrow in the KneeKoobcamj0hn1 13 votes
    Vincenzo Nibali
    6%
    Brian?D9Male 2 votes
    One of the Yateses
    6%
    Reginald P. DuMklairondavis 2 votes
    Is that flour, Luca?
    0%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,999 ✭✭✭68 lost souls

Greg van Avermaet
    Heart says Martin, velogames hope lie on him and Froome putting in a performance, head says Sagan

Edit: it truly is Ramon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

Autocorrect's a ducker, aint it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,502 ✭✭✭spock.

Tony Gallopin
    Rodriguez for me.
    I'd love to see Dan win it though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,606 ✭✭✭MPFG

Chris Froome
    Froome could win this

Hope it is Dan Martin though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭daramike

Chris Froome
    With the TTT the following day don't be surprised if a break wins. Gaultier and Simon would be my pick from a break. The finish is too hard for Sagan.I expect Rodriguez, Martin,Froome and Gallopin fight for the win if a break doesn't make it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭SummerRebel

Well it won't be Luca Paolini anyway!! wtf was he doing cocaine for??

Maybe blood kept in a fridge from pre season partying came back to bite him :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭Arrow in the Knee

Greg van Avermaet

Maybe blood kept in a fridge from pre season partying came back to bite him :p

They used to take cocaine back in the day to keep them going during the tour while having a spare tyre around their shoulder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

Chris Froome
    Gallopin for me. I think this is a good test to see where the GC lads are at too, especially Contador who struggled a few days back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,506 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Greg van Avermaet
    This has to be Dan's best chance for a stage win. Not as steep as the Mur de Huy. And the road is wide, so he won't get trapped in if when he's badly positioned at the bottom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

Gallopin for me. watched the highlights of this finish back in 2011 on youtube. Contador was well up there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Dan Martin
    JA Flecha picks out Michael Matthews as one to watch? Maybe the heat is getting to him.

Chris Froome
    Dr. Bre wrote: »
    Gallopin for me. watched the highlights of this finish back in 2011 on youtube. Contador was well up there

I remember watching that stage and thinking Contador could have well done the Giro-Tour double that year but alas it wasn't to be. He did peak for the Giro that year though and it showed in the 3rd week in the Tour. It'll be interesting to see how he does this time around given he wasn't as dominating in this year's Giro as he can be but obviously went deep into the reserves.

Dan Martin
    If you fancy the break, Perichon is 175/1 on PP, not bad e/w

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

I'm liking the Greg Lemond segment this year now that he's the one being interviewed and not trying to anchor the show. It was awkward viewing last year...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,971 ✭✭✭fat bloke

That's the maddest thing I've ever heard of. What the fcuk was he thinking? Why in the name of God would you need or do coke (apart from Cola) during a grand tour???!

There were people saying that it was a masking agent, but that's insane in itself, why take something illegal to mask something illegal. That's like shooting someone to take the focus off a robbery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

Really haven't made my mind up on the BMC team helmets yet :confused:
    cg5hTY4.jpg

Dan Martin
    fat bloke wrote: »
    That's the maddest thing I've ever heard of. What the fcuk was he thinking? Why in the name of God would you need or do coke (apart from Cola) during a grand tour???!

There were people saying that it was a masking agent, but that's insane in itself, why take something illegal to mask something illegal. That's like shooting someone to take the focus off a robbery.

Meant to be a bit of a party animal, at least according to Ned Boulting

https://twitter.com/nedboulting/status/619631119651205120

Chris Froome
    Gosh Paolini is really a doo dah but he could be a bit of craic on a weekend away . Maybe he'll hit Alp d'Huez and Irish corner ?
    Wonder if he'd be up for learning the Fields of Athenry.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

What time is due to finish? Have to catch a train at 4:30

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 639 ✭✭✭funnyclub

I see Cav is on his old venge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

Joaquin Rodriguez
    Meant to be a bit of a party animal, at least according to Ned Boulting

https://twitter.com/nedboulting/status/619631119651205120

Ah, he was only havin a bit of craic . . . crack!!!

I'm here all week folks.

Chris Froome
    Interesting break here...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,836 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Garmin drilling it, Martin must be up for it

Chris Froome
    Are Cannondale Garmin not riding a bit too early for them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭Nadser

Greg van Avermaet
    I know, I have a sinking feeling Dan "won't have the legs" for the finish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭Arrow in the Knee

Greg van Avermaet
    MPFG wrote: »
    Are Cannondale Garmin not riding a bit too early for them

I agree.

Nadser wrote: »
    I know, I have a sinking feeling Dan "won't have the legs" for the finish.

No mad 20% ramps this time so no reason he can't get up it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭mhiggy09

Cannondale garmin arnt making any headway, they should let some1 else do the work and help then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

Joaquin Rodriguez
    Yet again Garmin seem to be committing tactical hari kari.
    Hope Im wrong but I can see this ending badly.

I though Valverde will win this - and given that I haven't seen him at all today I am feeling more confident in that.

Dan Martin
    Bunch of riders being dropped, including Mark Cavendish.

Edit: And Degenkolb :o

Dan Martin
    Starting the final climb. Dan HAD to be in a good position there. Sky up front though.

Dan Martin
    GOOOO DAN!

goo dan gooooo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

2nd

Dan Martin
    Ahhh well

fk he went to late and couldn't catch the ag2r rider

Dan Martin
    Looks like Nibali lost another chunk of time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Greg van Avermaet
    Sometimes he's tactically brilliant, last year at Lombardy for instance, but other times he is tactically inept, like today, shame, great ride by Dan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

Damn it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,573 ✭✭✭pajor

Dan gains 5 seconds though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,763 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Greg van Avermaet
    pajor wrote: »
    Was there a time gap?

Yes Nibali defo gapped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 643 ✭✭✭REBELSAFC

I think we will all have to chip in and buy Dan a new watch. His timing let him down again.

Chris Froome
    Nibbles back about 9 seconds to the Froome/Contadr group. Anyone see where Quintana was?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

pajor wrote: »
    Dan gains 5 seconds though.

Wont matter way down on GC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,185 ✭✭✭nilhg

Unfortunately I think Dan's skills at navigating through the bunch rival mine, that has to be one that got away.

Dan Martin
    1 Vuillermoz
    2 D Martin+5
    3 Valverde+10
    4 Sagan
    5 Gallopin
    6 Van Avermaet
    7 A Yates
    8 Froome
    9 Mollema
    10 Van Garderen

He was boxed in against the barrier the whole climb. He's obviously in super form but that's disappointing.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

He looked pissed at the end which I think is a good sign. He knows he needs to improve

Chris Froome
    Sagan in green by 3 points. A monster TTT by Saxo and a poor TTT from Sky should have him in green, white and yellow Sunday night. Amazing achievement if it happens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭lukegjpotter

Tony Gallopin
    Vuillermoz beat him in Huy too.
    If this was WWE, there's be a long running feud between them.

Nibali lost another 10 seconds on Froome, Contador, TJVG and Quintana.