Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you lock your doors when your at home

• 03-07-2015 10:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭

Got into this debate with a Few pals earlier.

I was telling them at my home place they dont..im from the country..even when herself locks the door here when were inside it sometimes feels like a prison

Do you lock the doors when yer inside

P.s not looking to rob the joint

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Na, even when I'm out

They'd have to start carrying in before they start carrying out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Filmer Paradise

Nope.

In fact I'd pity anybody trying to rob my gaff.

It's so untidy they'd break their necks tripping over stuff strewn about the place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Lock the doors?

My da still leaves the key in his ignition of the motor, and in my granny house, the key is rusted into the front door.

True.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭Miss Demeanour

Always!!!

I leave all the windows open though just in case I lose my key.......

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,545 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Yes. I see no downside to having the doors locked at all times.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭bee06

I would if I was home alone for the day and we do when we go to bed but other than that no. Live in the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

If one of my exterior doors is closed it's locked. Otherwise I'll forget to lock up when I go to bed and wake up with the house full of murderers, rapists, and junkies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

FIRE!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭CailinGaillimh

Yep! All doors locked, to the extent that I've been known to have locked my poor brother out when he's been out on the town...oops!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,095 ✭✭✭✭omb0wyn5ehpij9

I live in an apartment block so the door of my apartment is always locked

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

Specialun wrote: »
    ..even when herself locks the door here when were inside it sometimes feels like a prison

I feel exactly the same. I personally would lock the door right before bed but my boyfriend locks it every time he comes in and out (he smokes outside). Even when we get into the car he centrally locks it. I immediately unlock my door. I hate being locked in!

All fine and dandy until the morning you wake up to discover someone has stolen the WHOLE DOOR!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,747 ✭✭✭irishmover

kylith wrote: »
    If one of my exterior doors is closed it's locked. Otherwise I'll forget to lock up when I go to bed and wake up with the house full of murderers, rapists, and junkies.

You shouldn't talk about your own family like that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

You would want to be seven shades of retard not to lock up your home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

listermint wrote: »

Was that the first book before 50 shades of gray

listermint wrote: »
    I'd dispute that actually. Only a tiny percentage of the population are robbers, so if more people were able to spend a few hours taking a wee nosy through their neighbours' gaffs when they are out it would surely mean burglaries would go down, not up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Always unless I forget.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Yes I lock my door. Only unlock to enter/exit then lock again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

Do country folks front doors not lock automatically when they're closed?

It would take more effort to keep the door unlocked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

And people wonder why gangs like doing rural burglaries. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Specialun wrote: »
    Do you lock your doors when your at home

Rarely. I'm usually surrounded by my wolf pack of German Shepherds. So humans don't tend to set foot on my property, unless I invite them of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Not when I'm at home and I'll leave them open during the warm weather to let the air through the house. Maybe if I lived in a city I might be more security conscious but I don't feel the need to where I live.
    My father is an awful worrier and is always getting on to me about it though. He thinks someday he will call to find me slaughtered on the kitchen floor. His own home is hermetically sealed day and night whether he is there or not. God forbid there is ever a fire at his house as he wouldn't have a hope of escaping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Victor wrote: »

Makes sense to leave the door unlocked,that way they don't have to break in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

Victor wrote: »

If we will be robbed it will be by someone who will have the intent to rob our house, so I am pretty sure the lock won't be that much of a hassle. Or maybe they will just go to the back of the house and break the window.

We lock at night. Sometimes during the day but considering the patio door is almost always open I am not sure it makes much difference. :D Somehow I think the dog, alarm and electronic gate are more effective.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

Never do, how else can I shoot an intruder in my house without getting locked up?* Polishing my gun*

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,545 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

FIRE!

I'm talking about a door, not a safe.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Yes, have been burgled a couple of times so am a bit paranoid about home security.

Menas wrote: »
    Yes, have been burgled a couple of times so am a bit paranoid about home security.

I've been burgled once and I feel the same way. Nothing worse than coming home only to find some piece of human refuse has pilfered the things you worked hard to procure while invading your sanctuary so to speak.

I woke up once to find a burglar in my bedroom....that was fckin freaky...:eek:
    But we caught him and held him until the garda arrived. Turns out he had been released from prison for the weekend to attend his mothers funeral. Went on the rob to get money for drugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Only at night when in bed.

I woke up once to find a burglar in my bedroom....that was fckin freaky...:eek:

What happened?

It was a bank holiday weekend...about 15 years ago, we lived in an apartment in dublin 8.
    Woke up to find a fella in my room . I shouted (ie screamed) GET OUT..and he scarpered.

I woke up my flatmates and we went looking for the burglar in the grounds of the complex. After a while we saw him on the balcony of a neighbour...trying to break in there!
    So we woke the neighbour up...caught yer man and then the Garda arrived.
    Yerman had a bit of an accident with a Hurley while we were waiting for the Garda to arrive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

nm wrote: »
    Do country folks front doors not lock automatically when they're closed?

It would take more effort to keep the door unlocked.

Nope.
    Needs a key to lock it.
    Ours is never locked during the day when were at home.
    Herself likes it locked at night but mostly I couldn't be bothered.

It's a very rural location.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Yerman had a bit of an accident with a Hurley while we were waiting for the Garda to arrive.
    Several accidents I hope? Fair play to you for catching him.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Nah only at night. I have quite the open house policy and a select group of my friends - and the people who live in the "spare" house at the back of my land that I built - pretty much just come and go as if they half live here themselves. It kinda reminds me of my early teens when I watched "Neighbours" on BBC One for a short period - and they all seemed to just walk into each others house without ever knocking or getting invited. And I always quite liked that idea myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Splendour

I lock the kitchen backdoor at night but fly window is usually open and the patio door to my bedroom doesn't lock (I live in a bungalow) so not terribly secure.

Like Backwards Man, I have shag all to take (apart from my guitar) so not too concerned about security. On the couple of occasions I was broken into my doors were damaged and it cost me to get them fixed as not worth while claiming on the insurance so don't see the point in being too secure tbh.
    So my theory is, at least they can 'break in' without me having to fork out money for getting doors fixed!
    Also,have been known on a few occasions to go out and forget to close the doors, never mind lock them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Live in rural Ireland, alone, and I always lock the door.

In the past it wasn't locked but wasn't living alone then, started locking it after this person came selling stuff, knocked on the door, knew who the person was from previous experience and I didn't want the hassle of saying no for the umpteen time.
    The person opened the door and walked into the house to see if I would buy from them.
    Gave out to them for walking in, they ignored what I was saying and at that point it was always have the door locked.

Sometimes you wouldn't hear if someone was outside, and it feels much safer with a locked door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,443 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Nope, I live in the city and I get on well with all my neighbours, we all keep an eye out for each other -

I pretty much have an open door policy at home - anyone is made welcome. I had to laugh though at the guy who was checking apartment door locks for any left open (about three o' clock in the morning), and he tried to enter as quietly as he could, but I was already in the hallway and as soon as he came through the door I knew what he was at, still said "Hi there, you want to come in?". I think he was freaked because he froze for a minute looking at me before he backed out the door again :D

Though in saying that, I got home from work the other evening and there was nobody here. I went in for a shower and didn't bother with a bathrobe when I came out, next thing without warning the young lad and a big group of his friends burst in through the door leaving me scrambling for cover in the living room, screaming at them to get out :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭old_aussie

I always lock the front screen door, with the solid front door open most days. Like today, middle of winter the front screen door is locked and the solid front door is open.

I spend a lot of time out in the backyard(tending to the crop) and I don't want the moroarding hoards wandering in when I'm out the back.

Stops chancers from getting in uninvited.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

Yes.

Well i don't but she does.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

Front door is always locked.

When I'm at home, the garden door is always open during the day to allow my Japanese Akita's access to my utility/drying room where their beds & food are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Yes. There are too many opportunist scumbags around these days. I live in a nice enough town, well it used to be, until Regeneration happened in Limerick and the scum moved out to Clare. Since then I've heard of too many houses being burgled locally, often during daylight hours in busy neighbourhoods.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

Front door is locked once closed. Back door is open all day for the dogs but it's locked at night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Xaracatz

Occasionally. I always leave my keys in the door when I'm inside so that I can find them again. Sometimes I turn them and sometimes I don't. It's real Russian Roulette stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Zen65

Yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 781 ✭✭✭Not a NSA agent

Everywhere I lived has had a door that requires a key to open from the outside. Only door that had to be locked was on the balcony so not likely to have someone come in that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

If my front door is closed it locks automatically but I normally keep that open so my two year old can play in the porch if he wants. I keep the porch door locked though as our road is deceptively busy and I don't want him letting himself out when I'm not looking. Depending on the weather I keep the backdoors open most of the time so he and the dogs can wander in and out.

There was a serial killer that murdered someone just because their doors were unlocked. So, yes, doors are always locked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭mushu

Doors are always locked, and I close the windows if I'm going upstairs for more than a few mins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,733 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

When we are out, and at night time, yes. Otherwise no.