Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Practicing in parents car with parent in between EDT lessons?

• 01-07-2015 10:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭

Im just wondering since I wont be insured whats the repurcussion for this if caught? If it's just around the town and my mother is accompanying me would it just be a slap on the wrist? If not I fail to see how practicing in between lessons is possible for those of us who can't afford the ridiculous prices for a provisional insurance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,738 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

TheStook wrote: »
    Im just wondering since I wont be insured whats the repurcussion for this if caught? If it's just around the town and my mother is accompanying me would it just be a slap on the wrist? If not I fail to see how practicing in between lessons is possible for those of us who can't afford the ridiculous prices for a provisional insurance.

You could be looking at a minimum of 3 points and a fine, or else you could be given a ban.

If you've anything like this on your licence you'll struggle to be able to pay for insurance for the next 5 years, never mind paying for a few months while you're on a provisional.

Don't be stupid, insurance is there for a reason. Get yourself added on to your parents policy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,321 ✭✭✭alan partridge aha

What a silly thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,810 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Typical, 'I deem the price of insurance to be ridiculous therefore I don't need to pay it.'

Fcuk me, you have a lot learners deciding they don't need an accompanying driver, now some are deciding they don't need insurance. How about these people decide they don't need the car either and stay the fcuk off the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭mhackett102

Are you seriously considering driving on the roads without insurance?

Last year I paid €750 to get insured on my mothers car - and that was deemed "expensive" as the car is a 1.8tdci Mondeo. Thinking about it now, its not that much to be insured for 12 months and you can drive legally on the road.

If you get stopped at a checkpoint then guards will make a call to check are you insured on it - and god forbid that you are involved in any accidents on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

If you get stopped at a checkpoint then guards will make a call to check are you insured on it - and god forbid that you are involved in any accidents on the road.

The problem is the Guards will check the disc and wave him on.

That is why people chance it all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,738 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

wonski wrote: »

No they won't, especially if they see the L plates.

They've started cracking down on this big time, used to get away with a warning most of thethe time and now it's points and a fine straight away.

Its idiots like this who think "Ah it'll be grand I'll get away with it," that push up the premiums for of us and make it almost impossible for learners to get insured.

the road.

wonski wrote: »

_Tyrrell_ wrote: »
    No they won't, especially if they see the L plates.

They've started cracking down on this big time, used to get away with a warning most of thethe time and now it's points and a fine straight away.

Its idiots like this who think "Ah it'll be grand I'll get away with it," that push up the premiums for of us and make it almost impossible for learners to get insured.

I think you misunderstood my post.

If his insurance disc is up to date they will wave him on. I have never heard of Gardai calling Axa / RSA or any other insurer to confirm insurance details.

There is no cracking down or anything really. I could drive without a tax for months without being caught. Same with insurance and nct.

That is the reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭TheStook

Jaysus folks Im talking about driving in my mam's car with my mam once a week in between lessons for a month max until my test . How am I an "idiot" for asking? I was genuinely curious if there was another option for people like me, am I able to practice in a large residential estate for instance?

Really no need for such a hostile reaction, Im new to the road and was just asking. Im obviously not going to go ahead with it now as I didnt realize how serious it was.

Jaysus folks Italking about driving in my mam's car with my mam once a week in between lessons for a month max until my test . How am I an "idiot" for asking? I was genuinely curious if there was another option for people like me, am I able to practice in a large residential estate for instance?

Really no need for such a hostile reaction, Im new to the road and was just asking. Im obviously not going to go ahead with it now as I didnt realize how serious it was.

Was a little too harsh, agreed. Still stupid idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭JoeySully

Take driving in an estate as an example, lets say a child runs out on the road and you hit them causing serious injury, maybe the type that requires them to have round the clock medical care for the rest of their life.

Because YOU don't have insurance the parents of that child will have to pay for the initial medical expenses and then go through the long process of claiming off MiBi who are funded by ME and every other driver who pays insurance.

Stay off the road if you don't have insurance! thanks..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭Cushie Butterfield

Really no need for such a hostile reaction, Im new to the road and was just asking.
    There's every need imo. You may be new to the road & know nothing about insurance, but your mother should know better than to even consider letting you behind the wheel of her car with no insurance. Someone had to let you know that your plan is not only illegal, but also totally irresponsible.

Aye fair enough. Sorry folks. I can see how important insurance is. Pity it costs so fecking much for first time drivers though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 488 ✭✭The Diddakoi

We got a deal through Aviva, €500 euro for 12 lessons, and daughter is insured on our car.

http://www.aviva.ie/online/driving/driving-school/pricesandbooking/

There is no way I would let her go up the road with no insurance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 neverwrong

tosser,and as for the mother,car should be seized and make the two fools walk.

I never once drove in her car uninsured and I hadnt even taken the idea to my mother so no need for that. I apologized and realized how stupid it was. What else can I do? Or did you just read my first comment and scroll down to post that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭mdebets

_Tyrrell_ wrote: »
    You could be looking at a minimum of 3 points and a fine, or else you could be given a ban.
    Would the mother get the same (or even a more serious) punishment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭thesimpsons

wouldn't think so cos how would you prove that he had permission to take the car. The obligation is on the learner to have a licenced person with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭wardides

wouldn't think so cos how would you prove that he had permission to take the car. The obligation is on the learner to have a licenced person with them.

Which is a bloody ridiculous rule in itself.

But yeah don't drive anywhere without insurance. Very silly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭mdebets

I'd think it would be very hard to proof by the mother that the daughter didn't had her permission, if she is sitting next to her daughter in the car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

You must have motor insurance to drive a car in your own name or as a named driver on someone else's policy.

Failure to have motor insurance or driving without insurance in Ireland is generally punishable by:

A fine of up to €5,000
    5 penalty points and
    At the discretion of the court, a term of imprisonment not exceeding six months.
    The court may decide that you be disqualified from driving instead of incurring penalty points. In that case, you will be disqualified for 2 years or more for a first offence and 4 years or more in the case of a second offence committed within 3 years of the first.

You should note that where a member of An Garda Síochána (Irish police force) believes that a vehicle registered in Ireland (or outside Ireland) is being used in a public place without insurance, the vehicle may be impounded.
    http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/travel_and_recreation/motoring_1/motor_tax_and_insurance/motor_insurance.html