Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can you relate to the lifestyle

• 29-06-2015 12:28pm

Pretty much the only paper I buy now is the Irishtimes on Saturday so flicking through the magazine I started reading an article about the luxury good buyer for Brown Thomas she is dressed head to tow in the luxury brands they sell, none of whom I have ever heard of except for the iPhone. The whole tone of the article was having nice things is an amazing life style something to aspire to, surrounding your self in luxury.

I cant relate at all. Do lot of people think having such things is the be all and end all, the rout to all happiness is to have expensive stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

Definitely not. Your health is your wealth.

• Site Banned Posts: 777 ✭✭✭Youngblood.III

The article is a big advertisement, to convince us that these items will make us happy...its easier to pretend to be happy with your well off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

It is nice to have nice things, but it is not the be all and end all.
    There are certainly a lot of other things higher up the list. Physical and mental health in particular.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

mariaalice wrote: »
    The whole tone of the article was having nice things is an amazing life style something to aspire to, surrounding your self in luxury.

Consumerism is the new religion and creating a need for something that you don't really need, is the central tenet of this religion. If one can just see past the bullshít, then they've taken a big step towards real happiness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭maxwell smart

Didn't read the article but in fairness to the lady working for Brown Thomas she is using that feature as a sales tool. She might wear Penney's PJ's at home!

It's all about creating a need and a desire.

That doesn't mean it's not total bollix of course

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

A luxury goods buyer from Brown Thomas is hardly going to use her press exposure to say "True happiness comes from within, not from material acquisition" , in fairness.

The Irish Times Magazine is a rag though, it's full of that sort of shíte. Mind you, I got the Sunday Times yesterday and the Style magazine in that is forty times worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

Pretty much the only paper I buy now is the Irishtimes on Saturday so flicking through the magazine I started reading an article about the luxury good buyer for Brown Thomas she is dressed head to tow in the luxury brands they sell, none of whom I have ever heard of except for the iPhone. The whole tone of the article was having nice things is an amazing life style something to aspire to, surrounding your self in luxury.

I cant relate at all. Do lot of people think having such things is the be all and end all, the rout to all happiness is to have expensive stuff.

All part of the whiney ass,narcissistic generation we find ourselves in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭Duiske

Robsweezie wrote: »
    Definitely not. Your health is your wealth.

I have some health issues which mean I'll probably not have the best quality of life when I get to my late 50's/early 60's, assuming I even make it that far. Was sitting in the garden a few days ago with my 1yr old granddaughter and found myself thinking that I would gladly give away every possession I have if I could be sure of being at her 18th birthday party with the strenght to hug her, and the compos mentis to say "Happy Birthday, I love you". Possessions are just stuff that make us feel like we are doing ok. Family, health and love are what truly make us feel alive and happy.

The other thing I was wondering about is where are all the people who shop and buy in Brown Thomas on a regular bases, I live in a reasonable well off area and I know some wealthy people but they are not buying designer hand bags every day of the week and changing their BMW yearly, yet to keep a shop like Brown Thomas going there must be a large amour of very wealthy people in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

The other thing I was wondering about is where are all the people who shop and buy in Brown Thomas on a regular bases, I live in a reasonable well off area and I know some wealthy people but they are not buying designer hand bags every day of the week and changing their BMW yearly, yet to keep a shop like Brown Thomas going there must be a large amour of very wealthy people in Ireland.

Obviously the people a class above you and your friends.

kneemos wrote: »
    Obviously the people a class above you and your friends.

Yes but is their really that large a population of the very wealthy in Ireland is my point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

I'd say the ole Christmas Gift Vouchers account for like 75% of their income

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Yes but is their really that large a population of the very wealthy in Ireland is my point.

No, there is not. But there are enough people in the 'middle' who go in there a few times a year for a wee treat, or to buy a present for someone. I think I would fall in to that category to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Very many wealthy people about.
    Very many of them aren't obviously wealthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Anyone who's idea of "luxury" is draping themselves in BT tat has my sympathy. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

Even if I had a load of money I don't think I'd be bothered buying luxury handbags/shoes etc. I've never been able to relate to that sort of lifestyle.

Handbags are going to get bashed around, they get left on the floor in bars, people bang into you on the street, you drop them, they get rained on... I just don't see the point in spending thousands of euro on one, because either you use it as intended and it gets worn; or you prize it and only bring it to special occasions, which kind of defeats the point of spending so much on it. Same with shoes. A couple hundred euro for a special occasion? Fine. A couple thousand? Nah.

Yeah, I'd like to have some nice clothes, but there's a happy medium there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,785 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Even if I had a load of money I don't think I'd be bothered buying luxury handbags/shoes etc. I've never been able to relate to that sort of lifestyle.

Handbags are going to get bashed around, they get left on the floor in bars, people bang into you on the street, you drop them, they get rained on... I just don't see the point in spending thousands of euro on one, because either you use it as intended and it gets worn; or you prize it and only bring it to special occasions, which kind of defeats the point of spending so much on it. Same with shoes. A couple hundred euro for a special occasion? Fine. A couple thousand? Nah.

Yeah, I'd like to have some nice clothes, but there's a happy medium there.

Same here. Those Hermes scarves are lovely but I couldn't justify spending hundreds on one. Especially when the pashmina I bought on holiday for €20 does the same job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

I get the Sunday Times here some weeks and that paper has a similar effect on me. Seems to be staffed by two groups of people. A bunch of middle class social climber snobs who think the be all and end all of life is to make sheds loads of money, drive a bigger newer car than the Jones next door and generally feel superior about themselves. And then theres the hippy dippy younger journalists who just bang out about seeking out new "experiences", airbnbing, and social media. Oh and then theres the celebrity name dropping.

I think you have to be well off and British to get this shít. I fail on both counts.

Anyone who thinks certain brands equal happiness has a borked idea of what happiness is.

Maybe its an age thing I come from a background where if you had money you were discreet about it, in fact that was the epitome of social decorum.

Spending money on a good coat or shoes was seen as a good investment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

Not all wealthy people are the same and they don't all have same lifestyle.

Anyway if people can afford expensive stuff I don't have a problem. However I absolutely hate waste or disregard for stuff. If you buy something in bt or penny's just because you can and then never wear it or use it it is just as bad.

Candie wrote: »
    Anyone who thinks certain brands equal happiness has a borked idea of what happiness is.

I was watching this thing on the TV the other night about chefs and suppliers who's niche is keeping a bunch of overstimulated, bored five-year-olds - a.k.a. billionaire jet-set types - amused. Between buckets of Beluga caviar, those coffee-beans that are digested and excreted by some blasted monkey or other, and dreaming up ever more exotic and amusing ways to cook steak, I would have been wondering if these people were complete eejits or what, were it not for the fact that they are lip-wobblingly, bowel-evacuatingly, trouser-flappingly wealthy. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,816 ✭✭✭Baggy Trousers

I only go into Brown Thomas to look at the made-up assistants. They always give me durty looks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭Stone Deaf 4evr

such materialism is appalling.

posted from my macbook air.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,537 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

“We buy things we don't need with money we don't have to impress people we don't like.”

― Dave Ramsey

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

jimgoose wrote: »
    I was watching this thing on the TV the other night about chefs and suppliers who's niche is keeping a bunch of overstimulated, bored five-year-olds - a.k.a. billionaire jet-set types - amused. Between buckets of Beluga caviar, those coffee-beans that are digested and excreted by some blasted monkey or other, and dreaming up ever more exotic and amusing ways to cook steak, I would have been wondering if these people were complete eejits or what, were it not for the fact that they are lip-wobblingly, bowel-evacuatingly, trouser-flappingly wealthy. :pac:

Probably the latter. Life only offers so much novelty available to the privileged, there comes a point where it has to be invented, exclusivified, and monetised. :)

How else are they to know how special and deserving they are? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

What did the posh lady from Foxrock call the penis that had just been up her bum?
    Brown Thomas

Probably the latter. Life only offers so much novelty available to the privileged, there comes a point where it has to be invented, exclusivified, and monetised. :)

How else are they to know how special and deserving they are? :)

I dunno, it all sounds like a lot of hard work to me, thus completely missing the point. Any chance of a pint a' plain and a rasher sangidge?? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

Spending money on a good coat or shoes was seen as a good investment.

I get that, alright, both of those are worth shelling out for. But there comes a point where you can't be gaining much more for the money you spend.

I mean, if you spend a couple hundred euro on a decent coat, you'll usually get good value out of it. Are you going to get much more out of a €2000 coat? (Other than the brand-name, or a more exotic wool...)

I have noting against anyone buying that stuff if that what they want, it was just one of those occasions when you feel a jarring disconnect from the society you live in.

Maybe all those who bang on about the rich getting riche, the poor getting poorer and the middle ground disappearing are right.

On a lighter note maybe Aongus has an opinion on Brown Thomas it must be one of his spiritual homes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,731 ✭✭✭jam_mac_jam

“We buy things we don't need with money we don't have to impress people we don't like.”

― Dave Ramsey

Is that quote not from Fight Club?

If people have the money and want to spend it on what I'd consider frivolities, then let them at it. At least it creates employment. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

There are 6 billionaires. Probably quite a few multi millionaires and many millionaires.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭mailforkev

I buy a fair chunk of my clothes in BT.
    I'm not minted by any means.

I'd generally rather buy one nice thing, made in Europe or the US, than 3 or 4 disposable items made in a far eastern sweatshop. And I will pay a premium for that.

Nothing I buy has logos advertising the brand, I don't buy clothes to impress others. I'm not flash, I just prefer nice stuff.

If people have the money and want to spend it on what I'd consider frivolities, then let them at it. At least it creates employment. :)

In the words of a Mr. O'Carroll-Kelly, "I’d like to think that life is still about accumulating things, though. I suppose I’ve always been an idealist." :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

I only go into Brown Thomas to look at the made-up assistants. They always give me durty looks.

some rides alright... well worth rubber necking when walking by

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭Autonomous Cowherd

I live in the backward boonies in the west, where real men never wash their faces and get round on clapped out honda 50s with a beef nuts bag strapped to the windshield. My husband made a long voyage to Wicklow last Saturday and when he came home he remarked, ''Jaysis, the number of chubby feckers in khaki shorts and polo shirts getting into BMW's to jaunt around for the afternoon....It's a whole different world out there.'':pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

mailforkev wrote: »

I'd generally rather buy one nice thing, made in Europe or the US, than 3 or 4 disposable items made in a far eastern sweatshop. And I will pay a premium for that.

Nothing I buy has logos advertising the brand, I don't buy clothes to impress others. I'm not flash, I just prefer nice stuff.

Not sure why it has to be BT though, rather than the Internet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

Cormac... wrote: »
    I'd say the ole Christmas Gift Vouchers account for like 75% of their income

Reading through this, I immediately thought of the vouchers for BT and Debenhams I got for Christmas that are still lying at home. I need to get on that. :pac:

I live in the backward boonies in the west, where real men never wash their faces and get round on clapped out honda 50s with a beef nuts bag strapped to the windshield. My husband made a long voyage to Wicklow last Saturday and when he came home he remarked, ''Jaysis, the number of chubby feckers in khaki shorts and polo shirts getting into BMW's to jaunt around for the afternoon....It's a whole different world out there.'':pac:

He went from the Atlantic coast to Wicklow on a Honda 50? Better man than I, Gunga-Din! :pac::pac::pac:

mailforkev wrote: »

That's not really what the tone of the article was about buying well made clothes is a good idea you will have them for years and you will be the type to look after them. The whole tone of the article was aspirational life style that the bit I cant relate to at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭Autonomous Cowherd

jimgoose wrote: »
    He went from the Atlantic coast to Wicklow on a Honda 50? Better man than I, Gunga-Din! :pac::pac::pac:

lol. No, we are blessed with a 15 year old car that sounds like a honda 50 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭nelly17

If you consistantly have nice things I think it can diminish the value of nice things

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭Eponymous

Is that quote not from Fight Club?
    Not quite:
    Advertising has us chasing cars and clothes, working jobs we hate so we can buy $hit we don't need

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

I prefer to spend my money on experiences rather than items. Gigs, footballs matches, holidays etc are things I'll remember for the rest of my life and the people I experienced them with.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

She sounds like a sad ****er.........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

Reading through this, I immediately thought of the vouchers for BT and Debenhams I got for Christmas that are still lying at home. I need to get on that. :pac:

Do they not expire after six months or so?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

catallus wrote: »

Shut it!

I hope not. :(

catallus wrote: »

Various retailers have a habit of doing this, that is expiring vouchers after some period of time. My view on this is that I bought the thing, with money that had to be found somewhere, it's the same as a bank-draft and it's mine. Some Ultan Shirt manager-type who tries to persuade me otherwise is in for a less-than-pleasant afternoon. :D