Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Starting again...

• 19-06-2015 10:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭

I'm not even sure if i should write this here, but basically im a guy who has been through the wringer illness wise over the past 2 yrs, between illness upstairs and downstairs, if you follow my drift, im basically looking for the kick in the bum to get back out on the bike again.
    i was cycling 80km + 5 /6 days a week till i got sick, and i so want to get back out again.
    I really want to get back back a level of fitness and enjoy riding again, should i just clip in and head off? sounds easy....but hard to do...i know once i do it ill be fine.. thanks for reading, :)Dee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,608 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Have to start somewhere. Doesn't have to be 80+ or 5/6 days a week. Just tell yourself you're doing 1 cycle, 15k, then another, and another.

Perfect time of year to be thinking about it. Good luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,419 ✭✭✭NeedMoreGears

May I suggest you just go for it. It seems to me you enjoyed riding your bike before you weren't well enough to do so. So why not enjoy it again.

Maybe you won't win the Tour de France a second time but screw it, you'll probably enjoy yourself anyway.

Assuming your doctors agree, go child your bike and don't forget to see say weeee on the coners

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Best thing is to start off easy and see how it goes as you build up. Your body will tell you if you are overdoing it.

It will take time, but the fact you have been there before shoudl help accelerate your comeback, assuming you suffer no backlash from your ailments. I started back about a year ago zfter a few months out, although was still suffering from injuries I was carrying. I still have a few niggles and am certainly not at the level I was pre accident in terms of endurance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭kildare75

thanks very much, feck it, im going out on the bike in morning, thanks people, appreciate it, baby steps but im going to enjoy it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭disco1

80+ 5 or 6 days is too much.

Try to enjoy it....stop for a coffee or some water...take some photos of your cycle.
    Just make sure your enjoy it without any pressure .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Esroh

Set you goal to be. I 'll get out and Cycle
    Leave the speedo/gps turned off
    Do not set a time or distance. If you can use the bike for those short trips where the car is not really needed. Its amazing how easy it is to carry 2litres of milk on the bike. Let your Body refind itself on the bike without your Head fussing about the numbers.
    Take a camera and promise you'll stop and take a pic every spin. Take a look at the "Photo's taken on your cycle spin" This country is beautiful . And if you look at twitter the Pros take time to take in the views and take a pic.
    Give it a Month and let your pics be your log, you may surprise yourself as to where you've been and how far you've travelled.
    Enjoying cycling is what its about , give yourself the chance.
    Good luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

My tuppence... do what makes you feel pleased with yourself. If that means riding whatever bike you have at whatever speed feels comfortable, do it. If it means buying a sweet machine and pushing yourself, do it. If it means aiming training for some goal, do it. Or any combination of those. Just get out and ride, it feels awesome :-)

Just want to say a massive thanks for the replies, means a lot so genuinely thank you.
    Went out on the bike this morning and to be honest I shed a little tear at one stage, just felt so good to be back out again doing something I used to love, and still love I guess.
    Think I did 20km but I'm not sure and being honest I didn't really care, that will come in time as I step it up over the next few weeks. It was just great to get back out.
    Going to go back out in the morning as the legs don't feel too bad, but will be baby steps, but it's hard to top the feeling of being out on the road bike with the sun shining and a big smile on my face.
    So again fellow cyclist, a big thanks
    Regards Dee. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭disco1

Great to hear.

Keep it up and take your time. There is lads on here who probally don't enjoy cycling as much as they used to as there glued to garmins and ave speed...distance..time...meters climbed so on and so on.

Good to know your on the right track .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭Bloggsie

kildare75 wrote: »
    Just want to say a massive thanks for the replies, means a lot so genuinely thank you.
    Went out on the bike this morning and to be honest I shed a little tear at one stage, just felt so good to be back out again doing something I used to love, and still love I guess.
    Think I did 20km but I'm not sure and being honest I didn't really care, that will come in time as I step it up over the next few weeks. It was just great to get back out.
    Going to go back out in the morning as the legs don't feel too bad, but will be baby steps, but it's hard to top the feeling of being out on the road bike with the sun shining and a big smile on my face.
    So again fellow cyclist, a big thanks
    Regards Dee. :)
    well done, use the bike as a aid to overcome your ailments (i know that i do, the head space i get from mooching along cannot be priced, its immense). You could also pop a wee note on here to your fellow boardsies for encouragement & to show us how far you have come on.

best of luck & happy trails.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭equivariant

Well done OP. I have always found, in any sport/exercise, that the first session after a long layoff is the key. Once that is done, momentum takes over and you just want to do more and more.

Good luck and enjoy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,469 ✭✭✭TheBlaaMan

I scratched my head recently when reading a thread on here about earphones and them being banned in France: someone posted that (and I'm paraphrasing here.....) they like using them because when they are up in the Dublin mountains it drowns out the noise of the birds ....or something like that. Guys in my club seem besotted with Average Speed on a weekend spin.

@OP. You have clearly been thru tough times but are rediscovering the sheer joy of being out on a bike. Well done you. There is nothing to beat the simple pleasure of being under your own power, carbon neutral and all that...:) and the pleasure I gain from being out in the sticks on the bike heals my head more than any chemical can. Long may you enjoy it, and as other have said, take your time and enjoy the pain...!

Bloggsie wrote: »
    well done, use the bike as a aid to overcome your ailments (i know that i do, the head space i get from mooching along cannot be priced, its immense). You could also pop a wee note on here to your fellow boardsies for encouragement & to show us how far you have come on.

best of luck & happy trails.

Thanks again to all for the encouragement, it really means a lot,
    it amazing how a simple shove can motivate someone to get back doing something they loved doing, and love doing all over again.
    Im heading back out on the bike tomorrow evening for a cycle with two pals, who also used to cycle, but not for a year or so, and were just waiting for the phone call to get back out.
    Really looking forward to going out with some pals and have a good old chat on the bike.
    Life is very good, as is cycling, and im so happy to be where I am right now, enjoying it....
    ill keep ye guys and girls, updated every now and then. but I just really want to say a genuine and heartfelt thank you for all the advice and motivation to get back out on the bike.
    regards Dee :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 681 ✭✭✭wheelo01

THis is the first day I have seen your thread Kildare, but I have to say it is great that you managed to get out on the bike again and are due to get out again tomorrow. As most have said, keep it within baby steps and you will get into it and enjoy it more.
    as someone who only got into cycling for health/ leisure at the age of 41, I gotta say I really enjoy the learning about my capabilities every time out. The scenery is just an added bonus.
    Well done you, keep it up.