Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Gosafe areas

• 18-06-2015 9:20pm
    Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,523 Mod ✭✭✭✭

New Gosafe signs have been erected on the N72 near Killarney. (no signs there before)

Anyone spot more?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,449 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

The one on the N3 between Navan and Dunshaughlin has been extended to cover nearly the entire route.

Its a massive annoyance.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,523 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

No sign of these being put up on the Garda website either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Vicxas wrote: »
    The one on the N3 between Navan and Dunshaughlin has been extended to cover nearly the entire route.

Its a massive annoyance.

Yes because that horrid dangerous 2 mile straight stretch has been the scene of many fatalities and accidents.... My arse.

What a mangey shower of f*cks to extend that zone, all in the name of forcing people to use the motorway :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

dgt wrote: »
    Yes because that horrid dangerous 2 mile straight stretch has been the scene of many fatalities and accidents.... My arse.

What a mangey shower of f*cks to extend that zone, all in the name of forcing people to use the motorway :rolleyes:

Same on the N86 outside Tralee - Camp, huge straight road and luckily the drivers coming toward me gave me advance warning, little bastard hiding behind hedges!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭To Elland Back

So, we're all still giving out about more and more speeding offences getting detected rather than address our responsibility to obey the designated limit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

our responsibility to obey
    Governments just love this kind of thinking from its' sheep.

Savman wrote: »

I do my own thinking and have concluded I do not wish to impose pain and suffering on myself, my family or others if I can help it. I believe excessive speed contributes to accidents, so I don't do it. It's called social conscience. Anyone you doesn't examine and execute theirs is more suited your definition of a 'sheep'

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Savman wrote: »

What alternative would you suggest? Some sort of mad max freeforall?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Into The Blue

I do my own thinking and have concluded I do not wish to impose pain and suffering on myself, my family or others if I can help it. I believe excessive speed contributes to accidents, so I don't do it. It's called social conscience. Anyone you doesn't examine and execute theirs is more suited your definition of a 'sheep'

What's excess speed? The signs posted are a catch all for all the population.

You have very experienced drivers in well maintained cars all the way down to terrified drivers in 10yr old bangers who only drive because they have to.

If you can think for yourself then you should know what speed is excessive based on your own driving ability, the condition of your car, the road condition and the weather conditions.

Sticking to the signs posted does not allow for variances in any of these. As you say, think for yourself.

What alternative would you suggest? Some sort of mad max freeforall?

I wouldn't. I think the government has it right with concentrating on areas of previous road deaths. They should keep the go safe vans there until the black spots can be reengineered to a safe condition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

I believe very few accidents are caused by breaking the speed limit, people who are breaking the speed limit usually do it by at most 10kph, certainly not "excessive", most accidents happen because of people are not paying attention, texting or talking on the phone or not checking mirrors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Speed limits on some roads are really bad, no wonder people break the speed limit in places

What's excess speed? .

Speed limit = X
    Actual Speed X +10Kph = Excess Speed
    Adverse Conditions, Actual Speed X = Excess Speed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭savagethegoat

I saw this great scheme on the net for avoiding gosafe van fines.....apparently what you do is stick to the speed limit....don't know if it works though

Speed limit = X
    Actual Speed X +10Kph = Excess Speed
    Adverse Conditions, Actual Speed X = Excess Speed

Ask a stupid question..

Not your fault, don't sweat it

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,523 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

Rathmore village along the N72 is now also a GoSafe zone.

No sign of an update of the map though.

There are a lot of new signs gone up in North Cork in the past week.

Whereabouts? Live in North Cork but spent a lot of the last week in Kerry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

New one at the start of the second 2 lane part of the 2+1 heading north from rathduff to mallow.
    If they want to save lives on the N20, build the motorway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Pov06

I do my own thinking too and I drive at a speed that is safe and appropriate for the road.

Just because you exceed speed doesn't mean it's automatically dangerous and unsafe. There are plenty of inappropriate speed limits out there the classical being 80 km/h on back roads and then you drive on suburban roads and it's a 60 km/h on a perfect straight stretch of road???

the site by Roskeen Motors N72 which hasn't been used for ages now has signs again.

Also new ones south of Rathduff too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭ianobrien

"Excess" speed doesn't cause accidents. It's the speed difference between the majority of traffic and the accident waiting to happen. Going too slow also causes accidents as people get frustrated sitting behind someone going slower than the majority of traffic. It's fair annoying to listen to the "speed kills" mantra when the rate of speeding detections is dropping and the number killed is increasing.

It's the 60kph "safe" drivers on the old N roads that are the worsr. They have decided that they are going at a "safe" speed and everybody else should have to go at that speed. I encountered this yesterday and when I overtook them, they started to blow their horn and flash their lights. For feck sake I didn't go over 105kph on a 100kph limit road as I had the speed limit warning set to 105kph.

Anyway, rant over. The positioning of the Gosafe vans appear to be placed to catch the majority of detections. How come you never see them outside a school or a housing estate? How come you never see them parked in town where there are people shopping on a Saturday afternoon on a busy through road?

What's starting to happen is that people are starting to cop on to their usual spots and are simply driving harder in between these spots to "make up time".

because they are limited to where they canpark.....it has to be a safe location, which of course is in conflict with them being sited where there have been accidents!

ianobrien wrote: »
    "Excess" speed doesn't cause accidents. It's the speed difference between the majority of traffic and the accident waiting to happen. Going too slow also causes accidents as people get frustrated sitting behind someone going slower than the majority of traffic. It's fair annoying to listen to the "speed kills" mantra when the rate of speeding detections is dropping and the number killed is increasing.

It's the 60kph "safe" drivers on the old N roads that are the worsr. They have decided that they are going at a "safe" speed and everybody else should have to go at that speed. I encountered this yesterday and when I overtook them, they started to blow their horn and flash their lights. For feck sake I didn't go over 105kph on a 100kph limit road as I had the speed limit warning set to 105kph.

Anyway, rant over. The positioning of the Gosafe vans appear to be placed to catch the majority of detections. How come you never see them outside a school or a housing estate? How come you never see them parked in town where there are people shopping on a Saturday afternoon on a busy through road?

What's starting to happen is that people are starting to cop on to their usual spots and are simply driving harder in between these spots to "make up time".
    There is a Gosafe zone outside a school near here and I haven't seen a van there in months, but there was one outside the school tonight, at 8:45pm, during the summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,387 ✭✭✭glynf

FYI for anyone on the N11; A Gosafe van parks in front of the Woodlands academy entrance occasionally, just before the Bray south exit heading north on the N11 just before the 120kph zone. I have seen it there mainly in the AM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭pa990

glynf wrote: »
    FYI for anyone on the N11; A Gosafe van parks in front of the Woodlands academy entrance occasionally, just before the Bray south exit heading north on the N11 just before the 120kph zone. I have seen it there mainly in the AM.

GoSafe generally seem to be most active from 9pm on Friday to 9am Monday, with emphasis on 9pm to 5am.

That's just from my observations

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

A new sign on the R569 between Killarney and Kilgarvan also, going through the Rossacroo-na-loo wood. A disgrace all speed cameras should be got rid of, a revenue making exercise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭ofcork

There used to a van constantly between the halfway and innishannon in cork but hasn't been there for months,signs still in place there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,387 ✭✭✭glynf

pa990 wrote: »
    GoSafe generally seem to be most active from 9pm on Friday to 9am Monday, with emphasis on 9pm to 5am.

That's just from my observations

I have mostly seen it in the AM, I often pass by twice a day-first thing and sometimes early afternoon. Either way, pointless place for a van...never seen or heard of a serious accident there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭9935452

because they are limited to where they canpark.....it has to be a safe location, which of course is in conflict with them being sited where there have been accidents!

It can be a joke with them. At home there is a stretch of road that for the last 15 years there has been a load of accidents on, a two lane main road with twists and bends and coming down a hill so cars get speed uo. There has been no safe spot for the van to pull in.
    In the last few years the road has been straightened and widened, getting rid of the route causes of the accidents.
    Now that the road is safe , the van now has a space to pull in and is there regularly,
    It wasnt there when there was accidents

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 spanner555

At least 4 new areas gone up in east clare area;
    Kilkishen village.
    Ennis to scarriff road in at least 2 places.
    Gort road out of ennis.

I presume they won't go into action until the public have been fully informed via public advertising, on the garda website etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,277 ✭✭✭km991148

Stinicker wrote: »
    A new sign on the R569 between Killarney and Kilgarvan also, going through the Rossacroo-na-loo wood. A disgrace all speed cameras should be got rid of, a revenue making exercise.

They are all revenue making exercises!

GoSafe is doublespeak..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

New go safe zone between the roundabout at the crescent in limerick and god knows where....

Why can't they have an "end of DANGER zone" sign? As it is, that road reaches another roundabout, does the "DANGER zone" split and extend along both exits from that roundabout? Who knows!

I presume it's in response to people absconding from the hospital nearby and wandering out in front of cars. Would it not make more sense to provide a decent pedestrian crossing to the Supermacs instead of deeming it a flash for cash, sorry DANGER zone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Just noticed a camera sign erected on the R600. This is just outside Bandon town at the Old Chapel heading for Timoleague. This road is an 80km zone with only one fatality as far as I know in the last 5 yrs and that was during the freezing weather in 2010. Not many places for camera van to pull in unless its a shooting fish in a barrel scenario. Last year was the first time ever I came across a garda checkpoint on the said road. Tax and insurance with a garda up side road with a speed gun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭debabyjesus

10yr old bangers.

Lol what a stupid thing to say.

I reckon Go safe's 'detection rates' are through the floor as literally everybody knows where they park up and reduce speed just for those zones. The old N3 between Navan and Kells is a good example, two spots you need to slow down to 80kph on a road that used to be 100kph. I do it now without even thinking tbh. Hence they're now shooting fish in a barrel in places like the M3/N3 coming into Blanchardstown.

Lol what a stupid thing to say.

I reckon Go safe's 'detection rates' are through the floor as literally everybody knows where they park up and reduce speed just for those zones. The old N3 between Navan and Kells is a good example, two spots you need to slow down to 80kph on a road that used to be 100kph. I do it now without even thinking tbh. Hence they're now shooting fish in a barrel in places like the M3/N3 coming into Blanchardstown.

The whole post or just the bit about ten year old bangers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

ofcork wrote: »
    There used to a van constantly between the halfway and innishannon in cork but hasn't been there for months,signs still in place there.

Thats just to lull you into a false sense of security. Always watch the speed between Bandon and Halfway. Have spotted the van at 4 different locations in one day even late at night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭ianobrien

Thats just to lull you into a false sense of security. Always watch the speed between Bandon and Halfway. Have spotted the van at 4 different locations in one day even late at night.

Yep, and watch the speed on a fine Sunday afternoon as the traffic corp seem to haunt the road on fine Sundays. I hear them a lot by the Half-Way roundabout.

Any word on these new zones? Plenty of new signs up in Kerry but the areas are not on the Garda website

Yes I'm curious too. Where I had to negotiate 1 zone on my 20 mile trek to work, there are now 4.
    As has just been said though, no changes on the garda website. Haven't seen any vans in any of the new zones either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭johnayo

Saw sign at the start of the Sarsfield road just off the Wilton roundabout, heading towards Tesco. I'm fairly sure it's new. Not sure where the van would be located though.

johnayo wrote: »
    Saw sign at the start of the Sarsfield road just off the Wilton roundabout, heading towards Tesco. I'm fairly sure it's new. Not sure where the van would be located though.
    The R641 (labelled on Google as the N71 although it has since been de-trunked) from the Sarsfield Road Roundabout, to the Wilton Roundabout has always been a GoSafe zone.

Either those signs were always there or they have been replaced as the old ones were hit/damaged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,426 ✭✭✭billbond4

I asked them about a new area in athlone and got this reponse, so its basically that people are going too fast as I dont think there was any fatal collisions in the area.

#############################
    The placing of Gosafe vans are placed in areas for a number of different reasons, serious collisions as mentioned is one but also if the speed limits in that area are not been observed by motorists and this may have arisen when the area in question had been surveyed.

############
    Garda Press Office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Gwynston

The placing of Gosafe vans are placed in areas for a number of different reasons, serious collisions as mentioned is one but also if the speed limits in that area are not been observed by motorists and this may have arisen when the area in question had been surveyed.

These 'educated' people are responsible for enforcing road safety?
    God help us all. I gave up counting the grammatical errors in that statement after four!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,842 ✭✭✭Glebee

Anybody know if the speed vans have started patrolling in these new zones yet??? Have seen plenty of new signs but no vans in them yet. Still see them in the old spots alright..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

billbond4 wrote: »
    I asked them about a new area in athlone and got this reponse, so its basically that people are going too fast as I dont think there was any fatal collisions in the area.

#############################

############
    Garda Press Office.

So in other words, it's got NOTHING to do with road safety and everything to do with being seen to enforce speed limits no matter how crazily low they may be.

It's an absolute money making scam trying to squeeze every last cent out of the hard pressed motorist, and the sooner the public wise up to this the better. It's an awful pity all those marches over the past year weren't about this money making scam rather than Irish Water (which actually is useful for the country in the long run), because without a shadow of a doubt the speed camera thing is the greatest load of cobblers ever enforced on the Irish people.

Another new sign erected on the N23 just in the 60km/h zone between Farranfore and Kerry Airport.

Surely these new zones will be added to the map soon?

okay... so there was a van in one of these zones today (R352 between ennis and tulla co. clare) it's still not on the garda website.

passed it at maybe 5/6 mph over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭ciarsd

Expecting one shortly on the N7 around junction 3 to 2 city bound. There has been survey vans there on and off the past while.