Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Celebrity Masterchef

• 12-06-2015 10:26am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,165 ✭✭✭

Starts on BBC 18th June

Lineup this year:

Big Brother presenter Rylan Clarke,
    Girls Aloud's Sarah Harding,
    singer Mica Paris,
    80s one-hit-wonder Chesney Hawkes.

Strictly Come Dancing star Natalie Lowe and the show's former judge Arlene Phillips.

Actress Amanda Donohoe,
    Pussycat Doll Kimberly Wyatt
    Comic Syd Little
    Actors Scott Maslen, Sheree Murphy, Tish Potter, Craig Gazey, and Tom Parker from The Wanted
    TV presenters Sam Nixon; Andy Akinwolere, Yvette Fielding,
    Journalist Samira Ahmed
    Paralympian Danny Crates.

Cooking doesn't get tougher than this! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,607 ✭✭✭Meauldsegosha

Reminder all set for next week. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

Very quiet thread this!

I enjoyed last night's show. A large part of it was the the "celebrities" were mainly B-listers so that star status wasn't an impediment. And, in a competition, they were pretty non-competitive. They were having fun, and it showed.

They also boosted my confidence in my cooking skills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,165 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

Enjoyed last night. Was suprised at Chesney! Off topic - what on earth has Sheree done to her teeth - look really odd!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,230 ✭✭✭Merkin

Totally missed it! :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭frostyjacks

It was half way through before I realised this was the celebrity version. Didn't recognise any of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,185 ✭✭✭Snoopy1

I thought sarah harding looked very old, and i just wanted to scrub her face.
    Chesney was a suprise though

Snoopy1 wrote: »
    Chesney was a suprise though

Yeah, I had to do a double take with Sarah, she's not as how I remember her at all. Her face seems to have aged a lot in the last few years for some reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭Go Harvey Go

Dovies wrote: »
    Off topic - what on earth has Sheree done to her teeth - look really odd!

I think they've always been like that... :o:D

In any case, she's still stunning. :);)

It was half way through before I realised this was the celebrity version. Didn't recognise any of them.

Not even Rylan? :eek: :o:D;)

Yeah, I had to do a double take with Sarah, she's not as how I remember her at all. Her face seems to have aged a lot in the last few years for some reason.

Well, she is the oldest member of Girls Aloud... :o:o:D;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭daisybelle2008

Where can I catch this? Is it repeated?

Don't see it repeated on BBC, which is unusual for Masterchef. It'll have to be the iPlayer.

Twitter didn't hold back on Sarah Harding. Apparently she was quite fond of the old cooking sherry and a few lines of baking soda back in the day, hence the haggard look. She's ten years younger than Chesney Hawkes but it looked the other way round.

Rylan should be entertaining, I'm sure he'll be his usual quiet and introverted self.

So looking forward to Rylan! Bet he's rubbish though lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,043 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

Couldn't believe how young Chesney looked - I remember him from back in my childhood/teenage days, which isn't today or yesterday I can tell you :eek:

Sarah was just a bit OTT for my liking - roaring and shouting in the pro kitchen, I'm surprised someone didn't pick her up on that!

The others I've never heard of, but Chesey looks like a contender for sure - but does he have another trick up his sleeve or was that his one and only shot at a dish???

Haven't seen the second one yet, but going on the first it could be a good series.

Oh holy god, that tag-team round :eek:

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    The others I've never heard of, but Chesey looks like a contender for sure - but does he have another trick up his sleeve or was that his one and only shot at a dish???

:D:D:D;););)

Oh FFS!

That was entirely subliminal, I can assure you :eek:

I've just got to the last bit of the second show.

Has Sarah been at the sunbeds since the series started???

Despite the cheesy conotations Chesney Hawkes brings to mind from way back when, I'm liking him more and more.

Cannot figure out who Sheree reminds me of, but I'm hoping it'll come to me because it's driving me nuts!

Can't pick between Sheree and Tish, but I'm assuming Chesney to stay and Sarah (hopefully) to go.

Did anyone else tune in tonight?

I'm just catching up now - I've a feeling tonight's lot won't live up to last week's high standards.......

How on earth does that paralympian fella propose to cook with only one arm :eek: Fair play to him is all I can say!

Bet he does better than Amanda Donohoe though!!!

That tapas chef must be the cheeriest chef on planet earth :D

ETA - hah, the smile is beginning to fade from the tapas fella's face as he watches burned meat pile up on the shelf.....!!!

The burned meat made me cry a little inside, I hate seeing good food go to waste.

Amanda clearly doesn't have to cook very often, but she was one of my favourite actresses when I was growing up, so I'll forgive her.

I think I could have eaten that sharing platter for two all by myself from Aldo Zillis restaurant, it looked delicious.

So wanted Sid Little to be good and he wasn't bad!! Have to record tonight as Im out but the Paralympian is great!

How did Syd get through when he made an onion salsa with raw onion and tomato ketchup? :eek:

Unless I'm very much mistaken they're using frozen mixed veg for their mass-catering meal today (not that there's anything wrong with frozen veg - I live on the stuff - but this is MC!).

More car crash stuff this evening. I've only made it as far as Wimbledon so far, but there's no winners jumping out at me from this lot......

I really wish they'd show more of the actual cooking/recipes/ingredients, and less of the one-liners, high-fiving, and slitting open giant bags of raw meat.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,305 ✭✭✭Poochie05

I noticed a bag of sponge mix in the background as well, so Sam didn't even make the sponge! Get the impression there's a lot of help going on behind the scenes. But I suppose the mass catering task is more for entertainment, the real test in the meals they cook for the past contestants.
    Speaking of whom, Andi Peters is so annoying! 'In our day we had to cook for critics, not just previous celebrity contestants'

Andi Peters annoys the life out of me. He thinks he knows everything.

Scallops are a bit overused on Masterchef. It went through a phase where nearly every other starter was scallops, black pudding and a mint pea puree. There's not much skill involved in cooking them either, pop them in a frying pan and out again.

Didn't think anyone stood out tonight. Next weeks show looks better.

... Didn't think anyone stood out tonight...
    Or last night. This week was fairly uninspiring. While the contestants seemed like pleasant enough people, I just didn't feel engaged with any of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭robertpatterson

Don't think ill be visiting his restaurant any time soon

http://www.strawberrygardensfleetwood.co.uk/restaurant-and-functions/

Poochie05 wrote: »
    Speaking of whom, Andi Peters is so annoying! 'In our day we had to cook for critics, not just previous celebrity contestants'
    Andi Peters annoys the life out of me. He thinks he knows everything.

Why, he's always been annoying.

He was annoying when he was in the Children's BBC Broom Cupboard, he was annoying when he devised T4, and he was annoying when he produced Top of the Pops...

:o:o:D;)

Rylan is doing really well. Very surprised. Don't know why!

Yeah same here. Thought he would mess up big time. His hair did flop in the pro kitchen though. :P

Ah it's back to its normal coiffured self now! Arlene gets on my proverbials though!

That chicken dish from Rylan looks delish.

This week is much more enjoyable than last week: engaging characters.

The cooking doesn't seem too bad, either.

Well at least they could cook this week :D

I'd only heard of Arlene out of all of that lot - thought I'd hate yer man Rylan, but he's growing on me already! Who's Craig :confused:

Love the idea that Kimberley might just put it up to the pair of 'em and their in-a-rut ideas - she can clearly cook even if she is a bit alternative!

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    Love the idea that Kimberley might just put it up to the pair of 'em and their in-a-rut ideas - she can clearly cook even if she is a bit alternative!
    John, in particular, takes a strong stand on food combinations. You should not have fruit with fish. Really? Is a lemon a fruit?

I don't think they mentioned another of their forbidden combinations, the "two-carbs" one, when Rylan put pasta and bruschetta on the same plate.

Well they fairly crashed and burned in the invention test tonight :eek:

I'm just into the mass-catering exercise, and it doesn't look like it might be much better.....

Oh lordy :D

Haha, loving the dynamic between Andi and Craig :D:D

Do they seriously expect us to believe that they don't have electric mixers (of the industrial variety) in a commercial kitchen to do the likes of whipped cream and eggwhites? Seriously???

Those are the meanest portions of dessert I have EVER seen :eek:

In a plastic bowl sample cup to boot :eek:

Thought at one stage Craig was going to win the whole thing, then he seemed to crash and burn. His main just looked weird with all that pink and green.

Himself and Andy were a bit unfortunate, had they been in last weeks heat they might have both got through.

Scallops for starters again! Enough already.

...Scallops for starters again! Enough already.
    If you don't want yours, pass them over here, please.

I'd have had a problem with the invention test because in our house we are very keen on cherries as an accompaniment to duck.

Our preferred cherry dessert is a simple bowl of cherries. If we want to push the boat out a bit, cherries coated in chocolate. Never cooked down into a mush.

The first two rounds tonight were hilarious.

[Where did Rylan get those teeth?]

Scott's hair is ridiculous, bit old for that look.

Tom using his hands to mould the mash potato on the plate, eurghh.

Bit behind (had actually forgotten this was on until I saw the above post), but....

YAYY, Natalie Lowe, my favourite SCD dancer ever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,648 ✭✭✭honeybear

Les has to go

The pancake does not look nice

Still behind, but they all seemed to do well in the restaurant.

Who on earth was that wil half their hand covered in blue plaster, and what did they do to themselves??? :eek:

I'm seeing what the previous poster meant about Les needing to go.......

Natalie was so good humoured-wished Les had gone

Scott's main sounds 'orrible.

Just cannot get my head around veggie main courses. I'm sure they might be tasty, delicious even, but there's just something missing!

Who is Tom?

Who is Tom?

Used to be in 'The Wanted'.

honeybear wrote: »
    Natalie was so good humoured-wished Les had gone

Who's Les? Do we mean Keith?

God he looked too young for them, and I went to see them last year. Hangs head in shame

Who's Les? Do we mean Keith?

Yea, Keith (he's not much of a celebrity to me!)