Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ideas for lads day out?

• 12-06-2015 10:21am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭

So my mates and I all mid 30s sport ish, we're looking for something to do, we went zip line ing last time but one of the lads is afraid of heights so that's out this time, money is an issue so stuff like car racing for the day is a bit out.
    Go karting is fun but I really liked the zip line ing when we'd a laugh and helped each other get through it, so thinking is there similar?
    Any ideas welcome. Oh we're in Dublin and there 5 of us.
    Would be a Sat or Sun morning thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭cichlid child

Football Golf in Howth. Always good laugh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

rent a boat and go fishing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 623 ✭✭✭smeal

Bubble football! So.much.fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭gsi300024v

OH yeah forgot about that !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

Golf, Shooting range, Rock climbing/wall climbing.

Shooting range is fun alright, the climbing is out as not everyone sporty really and one anti heights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Does it have to be a day thing? A night of camping with a few beers and fire is great craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭messrs

gsi300024v wrote: »
    So my mates and I all mid 30s sport ish, we're looking for something to do, we went zip line ing last time but one of the lads is afraid of heights so that's out this time, money is an issue so stuff like car racing for the day is a bit out.
    Go karting is fun but I really liked the zip line ing when we'd a laugh and helped each other get through it, so thinking is there similar?
    Any ideas welcome. Oh we're in Dublin and there 5 of us.
    Would be a Sat or Sun morning thing.

have you tried this place

http://www.xtreme.ie/

Just saw you mentioned one of your mates if afraid of heights so may not be suitable

(apologies If im not allowed to link websites - delete if necessary)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,272 ✭✭✭Barna77

Paintball.

You'll be wrecked for a few days but well worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

If money is an issue I'd also give a camping excursion a go. A good place to go to is St. Johns wood, north of Athone on the Roscommon road. Its the only indigenous Irish forest left on the Island, looks like how the country would have looked as a jungle 1000 years ago, loads of long walks and a ruined Norman castle and Viking long port on the lakeside. Very cool place and a great place to spend the night with a few drinks around a fire with your friends. Just remember to tidy up afterwards and leave it looking untouched for the next visitor that goes there.

Make America Get Out of Here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭joollyparo

Mountain climbing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Barna77 wrote: »
    Paintball.

+ 1

Great craic for a day out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,779 ✭✭✭A Neurotic

You could sign up for one of those challenge courses like Tough Mudder or Hell and Back. Good craic and there's so many of them these days there's always one on soon enough.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,812 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,463 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

smacl wrote: »

seriously, all you had to do was read the first line of the first post :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

Barna77 wrote: »
    Paintball.

Also, if you go paintballing, bring enough numbers that you can put all of your own lads on one team. Much more fun.

There only about 5 of us so while this would be a good idea it's kinda out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭The Adversary

You could go paintballing with 5, I went a couple of years ago in a group of 5 and they split us up and put us on opposite teams. Think it was for the best because we got to talk and socialize with others and its always fun shooting your mate.

Although, if you decide to go paintballing I'd advise to wear proper foot wear, I was in a pair of runners and it was torture. Muck everywhere and freezing, and this was the middle of summer. I'd also advise to do a good bit of research on the place you're going as well. We made the trip up to an establishment in Carlow and they made you pay for extra paintballs (20 a pop) and they ran out after about half an hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭quietsailor

we're going on a offroading course up in Naas in Sept. It's 30 mins each at the wheel of a land-rover around a circuit. It'll be different and hopefully I'll learn something :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,518 ✭✭✭matrim

How about something like http://rafting.ie/