Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Malaysia earthquake: British woman arrested for 'stripping naked and causing quake

• 11-06-2015 3:36am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭

Thought I'd heard it all, till now.

Hopefully they will not be sacraficed to the "mountain gods" as a form of appeasement

A British woman is believed to be among a group of tourists arrested in Malaysia for stripping naked on a mountain, which locals believe caused an earthquake.

Sarawak Deputy Chief Minister Tan Sri Alfred Jabu told Malaysia's official news agency Bernama that the region's indigenous people believed that the group of about 10 foreigners had "angered the spirit" of Mount Kinabalu, causing the earthquake a week later.

Thought I'd heard it all, till now. Malaysia "truely asia"

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/home-news/malaysia-earthquake-british-woman-arrested-for-stripping-naked-and-causing-quake-on-mount-kinabalu-10309866.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

That's shocking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,938 ✭✭✭galljga1

Yeah, Malaysia has had drought, flooding and now earthquakes.
    How long will it be before they realise they are following the wrong religion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭joollyparo

that is so sick and backward!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭jay-me

joollyparo wrote: »
    that is so sick and backward!!!

Agreed! She should have had the common decency to keep her clothes on and appease the mountain god!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

When in Rome...

Title is a bit misleading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Why on earth were they stripping naked on top of someone's holy mountain to take photos anyway? Daft thing to do. I don't say they deserve jail over it, but they do deserve a clip around the ear. We wouldn't be overly pleased if a bunch of foreigners wandered naked into an Irish cathedral and made a racket. It's a matter of respect and manners.

Hopefully they will just be treated as silly foreigners that don't know any better and chucked out.

By the way, there's absolutely no indication that anyone will be sacrificed to appease anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,938 ✭✭✭galljga1

Samaris wrote: »
    Why on earth were they stripping naked on top of someone's holy mountain to take photos anyway? Daft thing to do. I don't say they deserve jail over it, but they do deserve a clip around the ear. We wouldn't be overly pleased if a bunch of foreigners wandered naked into an Irish cathedral and made a racket. It's a matter of respect and manners.

Hopefully they will just be treated as silly foreigners that don't know any better and chucked out.

By the way, there's absolutely no indication that anyone will be sacrificed to appease anything.

Have you never been up Croagh Patrick for the summer solstice?

galljga1 wrote: »
    Have you never been up Croagh Patrick for the summer solstice?

I have not! Do people regularly strip naked up there? Sounds fairly chilly on the nethers.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭frostyjacks

It's a sacred site, and tourists are asked to respect that I wouldn't be happy with a bunch of tourists posing naked in an Irish cemetery. I just hope the Brits don't turn it into some kind of cause célèbre; this bimbo is undeserving of any sympathy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

They were arrested for public indecency. Go naked in public on Ireland you get arrested for the same thing.

A lot of the locals still have animist beliefs that Islam actually frowns upon, but their opinion was irrelevant here. They weren't arrested for causing an earthquake but for public nudity. It's become a bit of a fad to strip naked on the mountain and the government are trying to put a stop to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Red Kev wrote: »
    They were arrested for public indecency. Go naked in public on Ireland you get arrested for the same thing.

A lot of the locals still have animist beliefs that Islam actually frowns upon, but their opinion was irrelevant here. They weren't arrested for causing an earthquake but for public nudity. It's become a bit of a fad to strip naked on the mountain and the government are trying to put a stop to it.

Some local chief was making the connection with the earthquake apparently.
    The Independent didn't recognise the difference for some reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

We wouldn't be overly pleased if a bunch of foreigners wandered naked into an Irish cathedral and made a racket.

Sounds good to me, when is this cathedral party kicking off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

I thought Malaysia was modern? Looks like it joins the list of countries thst a wall should be built around and all technology removed from them.

I thought Malaysia was modern?

If "modern" is being ok with foreigners making a nuisance of themselves..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Have I got this right?
    - this week's outrage- foreigners not following Malaysian customs.
    - next week's outrage- immigrants to Ireland being expected to follow ours.

Outrage outrage outrage!!!
    I'm incandescent with Internet rage and doublethink joe!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

why would a nude woman anger the mountain god, would they not be into that kind of thing... someone stripping off on top of you.

A week later, clearly it was anger that no other turned up in the mean time to appease it.

Have I got this right?
    - this week's outrage- foreigners not following Malaysian customs.
    - next week's outrage- immigrants to Ireland being expected to follow ours.

Outrage outrage outrage!!!
    I'm incandescent with Internet rage and doublethink joe!

Good heavens, I didn't realise it was a Dutch/British religious or cultural custom to strip on the top of mountains. Taking photos, yeah, and selfies, and god help us all if any country wants to ban cameras, but we should probably all publicise our need to air the bits before we go to other places, just so they know it's an inherent part of our culture.

Oh wait, it was a bunch of eejits messing about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

Really don't think Britain is in a position to be critical of Malaysia here. No mountain gods or muslims though so maybe that's the difference.

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/crime/naked-rambler-could-face-a-lifetime-of-imprisonments-after-european-court-ruling-9823945.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

Oh Malaysia, when will you come out of the stone age?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,406 ✭✭✭sjb25

Il need a link to all photos before il make a judgement :)

Seriously tho is a bit backward to say it caused a feckin earthquake but look they had been told it's a holy place for the locals the should have respected that holding them in jail a bit OTT tho

Oh Malaysia, when will you come out of the stone age?

Having morals is stone age to you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,423 ✭✭✭✭josip

10 buffalo please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

Having morals is stone age to you?

What do you mean exactly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

galljga1 wrote: »
    Yeah, Malaysia has had drought, flooding and now earthquakes.
    How long will it be before they realise they are following the wrong religion.

All of them are wrong, but anywayyyy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

A week later, clearly it was anger that no other turned up in the mean time to appease it.

Was completely spoiled by a tase of the good life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Meh, don't act the dick when visiting other countries and be mindful of the people and culture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Daycentttt......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Looks like yer man on the far right has an awkward semi:o

What do you mean exactly?

You're asking when will Malaysia come out of the stone age. The inference is that arresting this moron for stripping naked on a sacred site is somehow stone age, when it's simply a question of morals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

why would a nude woman anger the mountain god, would they not be into that kind of thing... someone stripping off on top of you.

It might be that the mountain does the five fingered shuffle and thus causes the quakes, but people are too embarrassed to admit it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Nodin wrote: »
    It might be that the mountain does the five fingered shuffle and thus causes the quakes, but people are too embarrassed to admit it.

wish I could last that long...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

Has nobody said pix or GTFO yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

News
    Out foreign is different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

yet another example of not behaving yourself when visiting other countries, ridiculous to tie in the connection to the natural disaster but she may get done for indecency

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

Tip: do not Google 'naked photo on malaysia'
    Christ on a Honda 50

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

Boobs :)

I'm not saying cleavage has magical powers or anything but the last time I wore a wonderbra, bad things happened in Nepal.

Connected? Can't rule it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,693 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I'm not usually one for taking the moral high ground and generally take any religious beliefs with a pinch of salt, but am delighted for this idiot. Imagine the national out-rage had some drunken tourists defamed Croagh Patrick (as redundant as it has becomee in terms of spirituality in modern Ireland) and plastered all over social media outlets. Now times that by a thousand in a country where religious beliefs, customs, and often downright fear that every natural disaster is triggered by an angry deity, is as much a fabric of modern life as it was in the the days of the Celts here.

Those involved deserve any punishment they will get.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 891 ✭✭✭Falcon L

Ignorant people believing in angry spirits. When will the human race mature?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Tip: do not Google 'naked photo on malaysia'
    Christ on a Honda 50

And thats with safe mode on!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

Falcon L wrote: »
    Ignorant people believing in angry spirits. When will the human race mature?

What about people who read shít on the internet and swallow it whole without using their god-given powers of incredulity?

There are, believe it or not, laws against such behaviours as outlined in the OP.

Section 294A of the Penal Code, as per the Telegraph's report:

http://cilisos.my/wp-content/uploads/2014/07/obscene-songs.png?8f2c00

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭the_monkey

disgracefull the way she has to apologise, gives credence to the absolute bollix that this somehow caused the earthquake...

I know what you're saying but really, it's a big 4000m mountain. It's four times the height of Ireland's biggest, Carrauntoohil, which has a cross at the top of it. I'd be hard pushed to get annoyed at some Malaysians getting their knockers out on the top of Carrauntoohil far away from the general population after having enough of an appreciation to actually climb it.

Almost every big mountain is religious and if you can't get naked in the most remote and unreachable places in the world, it's a bit sad. They weren't there making a porno.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Regardless of whether or not you share the tribes religious beliefs, and most of us don't, they knew they were violating a sacred site, yet another stupid internet trend.:rolleyes: If that photo were taken in a graveyard in Ireland there would be outrage and rightly so. I'm not a religious person, but if you visit other people's countries you have to respect their traditions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,603 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

she's pretty fit, in fairness to her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

the_monkey wrote: »
    disgracefull the way she has to apologise, gives credence to the absolute bollix that this somehow caused the earthquake...

She is not apologising for that, she is doing it for insulting their sacred area. Disgraceful people think she had the right to do what she wanted in another country regardless of their laws.

Other than Thejournal.ie making a complete balls of the article, as per usual, reading on other news sources, its some locals who blamed her for the earthquake, but this is not what she was arrested for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

Not her fault :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

I know what you're saying but really, it's a big 4000m mountain. It's four times the height of Ireland's biggest, Carrauntoohil, which has a cross at the top of it. I'd be hard pushed to get annoyed at some Malaysians getting their knockers out on the top of Carrauntoohil far away from the general population after having enough of an appreciation to actually climb it.

Almost every big mountain is religious and if you can't get naked in the most remote and unreachable places in the world, it's a bit sad. They weren't there making a porno.

I have been up this mountain and its quite achievable to climb it. It is a favourite for school groups to head up there. Although high it is not that difficult a climb.
    Why get naked and post photos on social media is beyond me. There could be a few hundred up there for sunrise so obviously they were spotted by others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭wes

The beliefs may be silly to us, but ultimately irrelevant as she and the others aren't being charged with causing an earth quake. Also, the tribal people have every right to not have people come to there sacred mountain and act the fool. The fact remains that she and her cohorts broke the law at a sacred site to the local indigenous tribal people.

We have indecency laws in a lot of Western countries btw, here is the one from the UK, where she is from:
    United Kingdom

In England and Wales, the offence of "indecent exposure" and other sexual offences were replaced by the more specific and explicit Sexual Offences Act 2003. The Act does not mention nudity as such and is worded so as not to apply to skinny dipping, nude sunbathing, and similar activities. Current laws apply only to genital exposure with intent to shock those who do not want to see them. The maximum penalty is two years' imprisonment, but this is extremely rare as most cases are dealt with by a fine.[8][9] Public nudity can also be punished as "disorderly behaviour" under the Public Order Act 1986.[10]

The situation in Northern Ireland is complex as some parts of this Act apply but others do not and the Assembly is considering new legislation.[citation needed]

Btw, you can in extreme cases get 2 years for it in the UK. So its not like what she did isn't illegal in her own country, so no real excuses imho.

She will probably have the book thrown at her as well due to doing this at a sacred site, and also as one of the other people who have since left the country went on a tirade about the whole thing, and generally acting like an idiot.